Baltimore, MD 
Druid Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: PapiChullo Hole #4 (Taken 1/2012)
3 / 405ft.   3 / 405ft.   3 / 428ft.   3 / 428ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
X-Holes add versatility

5+    4/1/2012   11/14/2008
Review By: turbo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Convenient layout with parking between front and back 9s. Always a game on any given day. Several great roller holes. Great drainage-even after heavy rain. All holes have 3 or more alternating basket locations. Extra targets allow placing two targets on several (alternating) holes.
Cons: Dog walkers are on the rise. Some players bring dogs along. Most are careful to clean up after their pets.
Other Thoughts: The course is in Metro Baltimore, but the course, itself, is in an idyllic setting. A recent review cited a holdup of two disc golfers at the course. The robberies were part of a crime spree by a group of teenagers in the general area - not specifically targeting the disc golf course. The crooks were caught two days later as their spree spread through north Baltimore. This was the 1st robbery I can recall at the Druid Hill DGC.

The original 9 X-holes (wooded) are being expanded (currently 15) and add versatility to the course, allowing golfers to add some x-holes to the regular round.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety!

1    11/2/2008   11/2/2008
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.2 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good layout and variety for the first 18 holes. Nice concrete tees and baskets. Lots of elevation changes and trees that make it just difficult enough. Fairly hard to lose a disc here. Lots of space off the tee to air out on most holes. Fairly good hole maps on the tees.

The 9 X holes are like another course back in the woods and offer more difficulty.
Cons: The X holes are a bit confusing as the numbers are mostly wrong and the baskets and tees are not as nice. Lots of broken glass on the X holes. Hole X9 tees off from the pavement and into the woods and into the basket marked 16. The X holes are split so that after hole 4 you start X1-X6 then go back to hole 5. Then after hole 12, X7-X9 is on the right side of the woods and brings you back to hole 13.

Signs for the next tee are very small. The tees do not let you know which way to tee off from. Some paint on the tee off side would be nice. No benches. Lack of hazards and OB.
Other Thoughts: The first 18 look easier than the are. The X holes look more intimidating, but aren't that bad. I thought I would be looking for my discs for a while, but never had a problem here. I could see the sun being a problem in the summer. Druid reminds me of a smaller Codorus. This was a fun course and will be back for more!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Home is where the Disc is

5+    1/3/2008   10/25/2008
Review By: lxdawg25
Played: 32  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/29/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great challenging course has a little bit of everything, Friendly people, Great Atmosphere,
X-Holes are great when you want to play a longer round, good for beginners and experts
This course has some great hole design with challenges for all different types of throwers. Playing this course as often as I have has helped me to develop a full and complete game. The concrete tee pads are a luxury that I did not realize this course had until I started visiting other courses. Great elevation changes and very nicely wooded. I usually opt out of the X-Holes to play 2 rounds in a row. Since moving away I've come to realize how important a good home course is. The variety in basket positions also adds to a nice challenge. It should also be stated that on a windy day this course plays very differently which will have you rethinking all of your normal shots.
Cons: Can be really frustrating on a bad day, Some pin locations are just devastating. I like to keep track of my scores and if my game is off just a little bit I'll go from shooting 3 over to something in the area of 15 or 16 over. Sometimes on the nice days it can be a bit too crowded. If your playing solo or in a small group you'll find yourself running up behind the groups of "old salts" a lot that travel in large packs and tend to throw multiple shots.
Other Thoughts: This is the reason I love Disc Golf, this course is just beautiful, great scenery great fun, great people, I started at this course and it keeps on challenging me today, inspires lots of creative shot types too. This will almost always be the standard by which I judge all other courses, and if I'm within 50 miles I will find a way to go play.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Downtown with open space

5+    9/4/2006   9/9/2008
Review By: Huck
Played: 38  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2008
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a great course. Nice elavation changes.
Nice mix of long and short, left and right, up and down.
This course will help you develop a complete game.
The holes are laid out to make good use of the trees available, most trees here make you change the shot you would throw.
Cons: There are a few contrived holes (squeezed in with out adding to the course). There are a few places to lose plastic (mostly right on 3 and 11) .
I am not a big fan of blind tees and there are 2 to 4 depending on which holes you are playing.
Parking sucks
Other Thoughts: It is at the ZOO!!! see the animals, play some golf...c'mon its great.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Surprisingly good city course

6/22/2008   6/23/2008
Review By: EggyToast
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Right in the city, full 18+ course, well-maintained, concrete tees and regularly moved pins, good variety
Cons: Limited parking on busy days, some holes close to traffic
Other Thoughts: I was surprised when I first played here, mostly because it's a very large course with no double-pins and very minimal overlap. Lots of big trees on the course provide nice obstacles without much threat of losing a disc, and when I visited recently and noticed all the pins had been moved, it was obvious that the course is well-maintained.

I live 5 minutes from this course, so it's perfect for a nice day when I don't want to be stuck in the car driving in order to be outside. If you're outside the city (beyond the beltway), the course loses a lot of its charm due to the relative closeness of Patapsco and Seneca (I'd knock it down to a 3.5 if I lived in Howard County), but it can't be beat if you live in Baltimore.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Best In Da Hood Course in America

3/6/2008   3/6/2008
Review By: John Merhi
Played: 40  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 26.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: For a city course, it's an oasis of beauty. It's well maintained, has beautiful trees, and offers a variety of shots. Killer elevation too!
Cons: Every now and then you might stumble across an empty crack vial or a spent condom, but it's rare anymore.
Other Thoughts: My favorite city course and IMHO, the third best course in MD behind Patapsco and Seneca.

I second all of Jaymon1's comments.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Classic City DG Course

2-4    11/30/2002   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 77  Reviewed: 77  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/11/2008
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well maintained, beautiful trees, good use of landscape, mostly open but not easy.
Other Thoughts: This is a nice, city course, with good teepads, well-maintained, plenty of space, good layout, good variety, and a good bit of up and down. The course plays mostly in the open, but enough trees come into play to make it interesting. Some of these oaks are HUGE and beautiful. A road, a graveyard, and the Baltimore Zoo also provide OB areas to watch out for.

This course is laid out well and akin to a ball golf course, with each nine coming back to the parking area. The variety is good too - in the course of a round you have to throw far and with precision, uphill, downhill, left, right. Pro tees and am tees are well marked and consistent, and the course is easy to follow. No hole is REAL long, but none are too short either. The only thing missing are water hazards.

I recommend anybody in the Baltimore area hit Druid Hill, especially if you're right in town. This course is well worth the trip.

Favorite Hole - #6 - Down a steep hill crowned with big old oak trees to the edge of a small forest.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.