Baltimore, MD
Druid Hill Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 315ft.   3 / 315ft.   3 / 339ft.   3 / 339ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Druid Hill

5+    7/25/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: PapiChullo
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Even though I'm in the county, Druid is the place I drive to and play at least twice a week. It's the best course in the Baltimore area, IMO.

- Multiple tee pads and baskets. The baskets get changed pretty regularly, so there's always a new challenge out there. Concrete tee pads are in great shape.
- Great place to introduce new players to the game. It has plenty of opportunities to score for better players, but is manageable enough for beginners to not get them discouraged.
- Few holes where you can get out and bomb it.
- Island green on the 18th is an option, but fun to play and has the potential to be the difference maker in a close competitive round.
- For the most part the people you come across are some of the nicest you can meet in Baltimore. Lots of older guys that have been playing the course for years that make the course great.
- Lots of practice baskets and practice space.
- Utilizes the elevation well for some uphill/downhill shots.
- 9 "X-holes" in the woods for added challenge.
- Signage on most holes and indicator for which position the basket is in.
-Parking is in between the first and last holes of each 9.
Cons: - Quite often very large groups (5+) play and can slow the course down, but generally not too bad.
- I've never had any problems in the park, but people come and chill in the back part, just can seem a little shady at times.
- X-holes are a little overgrown.
Other Thoughts: Druid is the best course in the area to hang out and meet lots of DGers of all skill levels in the area. Lot of guys that are willing to share knowlege and help out newer players. Lots of variety with the different tees and pin positions.

A couple of the holes when in the longest pin positions could probably be par 4s.

Play a round here if you're in the area!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Favorite Course to Play

5+    3/23/2012   3/26/2012
Review By: dashiellx
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Excellently maintained
Beautiful Grounds
Awesome community of players
Cons: Lots of opportunities to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: This is the first course I played and being less than 5 mins from my home is where I play mostly. The people there are very nice and as a beginner, I've had lots of people offer tips and advice on how to improve.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

1    5/26/2011   5/26/2011
Review By: sheepforwheat
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.8 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: This is a great well maintained course. Most holes are short.
Cons: Lots of opportunities to lose discs
Other Thoughts: When I tell non-dic golfing friends I am playing aat "druid hill" they always ask "is it safe?" I have never had a problem except for one homeless man who was sleeping on the course.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the Rough

5+    11/4/2010   4/4/2011
Review By: Jonnysweetness
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is simply amazing! Start off with the community, great DGers! They hold a "Triples" match play every thursday. Great fun, great throwers.

There are three practice baskets located at the beginning/end of the front 9. Great for when the course gets crowded.

The course is a great mix of touch shots, spike hyzers/anhyzers, bomb drives, technical tunnel shots, and all in between. The course does favor LHBH throwers or RHFH. But I like that. I don't want every basket to be in the natural hyzer path of my disc, no fun in that.

The course also incorporates 9 "X-holes" which are deep in "ungroomed" wooded areas. I do reccommend doing the X-holes but bring a course guide, because it will be next to impossible to navigate, but once you learn, they are great for advanced throwers.

The tee boxes are all concrete or asphalt which make for great accurate run ups, with no busted ankles. There are two fixed positions, the "metals" and the "woods." Woods I find to be the longer, more challenging of the two.

Every basket has multiple pin positions which are changed very often to keep the course ever changing.

A great course.
Cons: Parking. The parking is an issue, especially during competitions. Car congestion can add insult to injury on a shanked throw on basket #9.

It is in a rough part of town. They talked about "dumpin bodies in Druid" on The Wire. Just don't plan on any night time Glow Disc adventures.

There is an Animal Hospital on the right side of fairway #3. If you bomb a drive and shank right or the wind grabs your disc and it doesn't flip back, you need to call them and set up a time when you can retrieve your disc. Remember to mark all of your discs with a contact of some sorts.
Other Thoughts: There is talk of clearing out the X holes to make them a groomed, technical addition to the regular 18! I do hope this happens. Also in the works are 18 additional holes on the other side of the road from the entrance. If this happens Druid Hill will be one of the best courses on the East Coast.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 review

5+    11/22/2010   11/26/2010
Review By: Spartan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: First and for most, its a great discing community! Every time i've been there people and talk to you. For beginners, there are plenty of experienced players willing to give you tips to improve your game. Great glow disc fun as well if you stick around at night. The course is not spectacular but it has open, and wooded holes; left and right shots; incline and descending shots. In the wooded holes, you rarely lose your discs, unlike courses like Rockburn or Patapsco.
Cons: Not a great neighborhood is an understatement. There are no parking areas.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Druid Hill Park

5+    9/18/2010   9/20/2010
Review By: paul_dgcr
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 18.9 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Course has a good variety of holes. Some open fairways, but most have some type of tree obsticle. Couple of holes have elevation gain/losses.

Holes are tightly packed, but not too close.

Baskets seem to rotate from A-B-C locations fairly regularly.

Holes are easy to find and follow.

There are an extra 9 holes (X-Holes) that go through a heavily wooded area. These holes are a nice "change of pace", but can be a little hard to follow.

Front 9 and back 9 start from same location. If one is too crowded, you have the choice to start on the other.

Course usually has players on it. Easy to join with a group if playing alone.
Cons: No real negatives about the course except that the "A" basket positions tend to be very short. Upside is that the "A" basket positions allow for the possibilities of hole in ones

Most negatives are with the upkeep and non golfers near the course

Have been times where the course can get littered with nasty types of urban trash. Things you don't want to touch or have your disc touch.

Quite often, people (non golfers) will sit in their cars for long periods of time on roads near holes. Can be a little spooky.
Other Thoughts: Druid Hill Park is a huge urban park that, for the most part, is nicely maintained. There are other activities, like hiking and biking, that can be tied with golf to make it a full day of outdoor activity

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Diamond in the rough...

5+    7/31/2010   7/31/2010
Review By: Us Tubes
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 8/9/2010
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 27 holes, and over 30 baskets. Always someone playing. Great place to practice your game.
Cons: Grass is always high everywhere, always strange people sitting in their car. Used condoms and trash are a common sight while walking. Aside from the derelicts hanging around the road of the park, and the numerous homocides the area is no stranger of... I'd say your safe until the street lights come on.
Other Thoughts: Lots of holes, lots of activity. Great park for being in the middle of Baltimore city. The park is decent for being so old.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 It was ok

1    8/27/2009   8/27/2009
Review By: Acid Elvis
Played: 28  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.1 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Nice scenery. It is quite challenging for a newbie like me. Always ppl playing. Nice mix of grip and rip to precise shots.
Cons: Too many baskets everywhere!!! Print a map a take one with you it'll help.
Other Thoughts: We lost a disc over the fence on the X5 hole but we manged to get under it and retrieve it. Played Rockburn two weeks before and still is my favorite course so far

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Enjoyable couse, good for beginners

5+    6/5/2009   8/1/2009
Review By: dcleve
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: The park is very pretty, with rolling open slopes dotted with majestic trees. The course is well laid out, with little overlap between holes, and relatively intuitive flow from hole/hole. Most holes play differently form each other, so there is no feel of sameness.
Cons: Tees get muddy in wet weather. Limited parking.
Other Thoughts: Most holes are relatively short, and the more open nature of the park means that tree obstacles are usually not a significant challenge. This makes the course a good beginer course.

Several years ago the course managers extended several of the holes near the central woods region, which put them into a lot of poison ivy. I was pleased this year to see the PI had been eradicated.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 2 courses 1-18 and 19-27

1    7/12/2009   7/12/2009
Review By: prerube
Played: 200  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 6.9 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete tee pads and multiple tees. Multiple basket positions.
Nice amount of obsticles for any level player. Chance of dics loss is there, but very slight unless you need to take a risky shot. holes 18-27 are more isolated, wooded, and interesting (but not on the map)
Cons: There were tees and baskets everywhere! I always second guessed if I was heading to the right baskets and had to find the next tee. Signs are worn out and many baskets are not labeled. It is one of those courses you have to play numerous times to enjoy it with out confusion.
One of the tees for 7 was painted on the road and very hard to find.
More dogs than people out on the course and a few holes smelled strong of urine. An overflowing trash can of beer greeted guests at hole 1.
Several holes require you to throw across roads, walking paths and towards parked cars.
Other Thoughts: Course often holds tournaments on the weekends so check the schedule before visiting. Print out the directions to Rockburn just incase the course is too crowded.
(Course is very similar to Ellison Park in Rochester, NY)

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.