Stillwater, MN 
Arcola Heights Park Share
Uploaded By: erickmj Hole #4 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 152ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nothing special

1    5/5/2013   5/5/2013
Review By: deadbody
Played: 103  Reviewed: 61  Exp: 10.6 Years
Pros: Nice baskets. Nice signs (including ones leading the way to the next holes). Decent use of the trees that are there.
Cons: Dirt teeboxes. Super short.
Other Thoughts: Nothing special about this course. 9 holes, couple going left couple going rights. The last couple holes are a lot tighter, but still not that impressive. Shocking large amount of deer poop all over the course. They must hide here over the winter. If they let the grass get as long as it appears this would be an obnoxious way to loose discs (and I found one on hole 1 with no ink so I expect that is the case).

Short, but not bad

5+    5/1/2012   4/9/2012
Review By: rhettro
Played: 36  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 13.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/22/2013
Pros: Very nice innova baskets, easy enough to navigate, good use of small space, each time i have been it has been quiet and nearly empty.
Cons: very short, tee sign are nice but no maps, although maps aren't all that necessary. No tee boxes, most tee areas are sloped, bumpy, or too small.
Other Thoughts: I only started playing this course 2 weeks ago after i saw it pop up here on the site. Seemed very well maintained although nothing much has grown in yet, so we will have to wait and see on that one. Stillwater has 2 small courses and is a good distance from anything else so it is nice to have this course on the edge of town. I really want to see them lay some concrete tees. That would increase my rating a full star at least.

update:
The first six holes are not very challenging, only a couple have real "in the way" obstacles. The final three holes are heavily wooded and tight. Ive noticed it becoming a bit more popular, however Breke park is always more busy.

 Arcola Flats

1    3/10/2012   3/16/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 735  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 5.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) Nice looking tee-signs with Hole #, Par, and distance listed. No map on the sign, but it is hardly needed on these short self explanatory holes.

2) Port-o-potty and a garbage can by the first tee and your exit from the course after #9.

3) Rules sign at the first tee area also a good thing to see.

4) Nice newer Innova Discatchers are nice to see on this course because it helps pick out the basket. They look great and catch fine.

5) Directionals are used appropriately after Hole #6, 7, and 8 to direct you to the next tee. The rest of the course is easy to figure out where you are going.

6) Very beginner friendly course because of it's short length and relative difficulty of shots. Holes 7 8, and 9 keep the challenge there and show the beginners what else they might encounter on more challenging courses.

Cons: 1) The walking path around the park comes into play a couple times. I am not sure how frequent the walkers would be on there, but it is worth mentioning.

2) The mowing seems to be a little awkward. The big open area in the middle of the course will barely ever see a disc, yet the prairie holes only have one mower pass width fairway. It isn't a huge deal in the fall and winter, but in season disc searching might be difficult and take up a lot of time.

3) Heavy brush and trees on the sides of some of the fairways might also account for some frustration and disc searching. Being a beginner course this is a little frustrating to see.

4) The last few holes are challenging . . . maybe too challenging. It is a beginner course, but even I struggled with 8 and 9 and they were still around 200' long. It may not be an impossible shot but if you don't play a perfect shot you are looking at a bogey.

5) There was a lot of brush and cut branches off to the sides of a couple fairways. I would rather that stuff be disposed of in areas where discs will not end up, or chipped up to cover the high traffic areas like around the baskets.

6) This course just feels a little cramped, even though it was clearly for beginners. I am not sure if there is more property available, but as those evergreens on the last couple holes get bigger there will be almost no fairway, unless they start limbing them up from the ground so the high shot is taken away but the fairway becomes wider with the low shot.

7) There are lots of prickers annoying plant species in the prairie areas. I would imagine some poison ivy is possible but I played in the winter so I wouldn't have seen it.
Other Thoughts: I think this course has some potential if a few things can be straightened out. The fairways on 8 and 9 need to be better defined either by limbing up the evergreens or cutting a couple down to make legitimate fairways. I do not know if there is more land available but I would look to expand a coupe holes if possible because they are all just about the same distance and it becomes a little repetitive.

I do agree that with some improvements and more regular maintenance this course could peak at 2.5 discs but as of right now it is still only a 1.5. I do see the potential and can still appreciate that it is something for the beginners to play. However, I just hope they don't avoid the game because they are so annoyed with looking for discs in prickers and tall grass. Sometimes a course should be more "finished" before it is opened. Perhaps this is not the fault of the designer or the city who maintains the area, just a factor of reallocating funds and resources, and we can look for a better course in 2012!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice course

5+    11/11/2011   11/11/2011
Review By: tarzan612
Played: 110  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 11.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Flat, relatively easy 9 with some challenging obstacles on a few holes. Has some good holes for lefties and righties. Also has a scenic layout
Cons: No big drives, you can basically use a mid-range and putter on the whole course. No cement tee pads
Other Thoughts: Don't understand why it has such a low rating.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 ROUGH PITCH & PUTT

5+    9/17/2011   9/17/2011
Review By: E_Rock25
Played: 74  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 4.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Arcola Heights Park Is a new Pitch & Putt course just north of Stillwater. When I saw this course show up on this site I was very excited because the location has a ton of elevation and great scenery. Unfortunately when I got to the course I was let down by the layout and lack of elevation changes. I live within 20 minuets of the course and was also excited to have another course in the area, and was again let down by what it ended up being.

There are very few good things to say about this course, but I will give it a try.

-Good tee signs with distance and hole number. The course has the Innova course system installed.

-Brand new Innova baskets.

-Prota Potty and garbage cans on site.

-Could be a good course for beginner's if/when more work is done.

-Good course for working on upshots and putter only rounds.

-All holes are Ace runs
Thant's about it for Pros though unfortunately.
Cons: There is way more cons than pros at the moment. I am trying to give this course the benefit of the doubt because it is new but the money spent here could have been spent in a better location. The land is flat and full of tall grass with very few mature trees or natural obstacles.

-There are no tee pads here and the ground is not even level enough for a run up on most of the holes. Don't roll your ankle. The course is short so stand and deliver is not that bad but if this is going to be a beginner course they need to at least level the ground for some sort of tee pad.

-The fairways on most of the course are only one mower width wide. The tall grass makes finding disc very hard. I looked for a disc that was 4 feet from the fairway for over half an hour (longer than it takes to play the course). For this course to be beginner friendly they must do some more fairway work to make finding discs much easier.

-The rough is very rough. Lots of nasty plants, tall grass and stinging bugs. It is grassland with tons of flowers witch are pretty but attract all kinds of bees and wasps.

-The course is very short with no holes over 236ft.

-No elevation changes at all.

-Nowhere to expand the course.

-Most of the holes are very straight with small pine trees as obstacles that can just be throw over. Hole 7-9 have just a bit of shape but that is it.
Other Thoughts: If there is some major work done on the fairways and tee areas this course could be great for introducing people to the game. That being said it will never be more than a pitch and putt because there is nowhere to expand to. If they don't fix the fairways and pads this course is just a massive waste of money. I wish I could have the baskets for our awesome course in Somerset WI just 20 miles away. I really hope they do install tee pads and clear the fairways and rough a bit more because this could be a great putter only course. I really enjoy putter only rounds and I will play this course for that fact but I am not going to get my hopes to high. This course maybe could rate at a 2.5 but right now it's a 1 if not less.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 It's new, so...

1    8/28/2011   8/28/2011
Review By: Steve West
Played: 190  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 40.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatcher baskets and nice tee signs. A lot of interesting routes to the baskets. Appropriate distances for the type of course it is. Located in Stillwater, an underserved area of the Twin Cities. A large part of the course is mowed grass. Port-a-potty on site.
Cons:
Most of the cons will be worked out over time, I think. More mowing or more foot traffic will take care of a lot of it. But for now, the rough is really rough. Now that the park is being visited, perhaps the port-a-potty will be serviced more often than monthly.

A lot of the "trouble" is long grass (or maybe meadow, if you prefer) which is just annoying. Thistles and other thorny, stinging plants can be found. Some holes only have a path through the weeds to the target, and there is only a tiny space mowed around each target.

It is very easy to lose a disc, even if you have a spotter who saw where it landed. The grass eats it up, and the trees still have all their low branches.

The tee signs don't always seem to be in the right place, a few even appear to be in the middle of what would seem to be the teeing area.

The anthills haven't yet been beat down, and many of the little trees that were removed were cut of at ankle-breaking height above the ground. So, watch your step.
Other Thoughts: There are 9 unique, interesting holes laid out with good flow. The holes are all par-3 length, with a few that almost everyone will hope for a 2 on. It's all flat, so the challenge is to get around, through, or over trees while trying to stay out of the long grass.

It's fun, go play it, but be in a forgiving frame of mind when you do. After all, it's new.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.