Decatur, IL 
Nelson Park Share
Uploaded By: skyfire Hole #2 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 292ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun!

2-4    9/22/2012   9/22/2012
Review By: ElementZ
Played: 115  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 5.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First of all, Happy 1st Birthday to this course!

This course is set up on an old ball golf course, and it is a perfect piece of property for a solid disc golf course. The land is semi-hilly, semi-wooded, and very nicely taken care of. It has great flow and is a pleasure to walk and play.

The baskets are new, shiny, and catch great. While the tees are slightly smaller than I'm used to, at least they're concrete. The signs show distances, par, and give a rough idea of what the hole looks like.

What I liked a lot about this course is that there are no easy 2s, but getting a 4 is usually a smack in the face. It's a very fair but challenging course with a good variety of distances mixed in. There's usually more than one line to the pin, which makes choosing a shot a little difficult sometimes, but that definitely adds to the fun!
Cons: I was on the edge between 3.5 and 4.0 for this course, and ended up falling back on the 3.5. Here's why:

While there are several good holes (most of them), there isn't really a signature great hole that has massive elevation changes, a super cool line, or over water throws.

This is usually a pro, but there's a ton of land still available that should have been used to make this 24, if not 27 holes. The course could be a huge destination if it's expanded and takes advantage of this potential. I would say it's definitely possible for this property to have a 4.0, if not 4.5 rated course in the near future.
Other Thoughts: If you're in the area of Decatur, this course is a lot of fun to play and I'd honestly recommend it. The park is very nicely taken care of and the course is a pleasure to play. Luckily, I only live an hour away and I could see myself coming back here.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Another Solid Central IL Course

1    10/29/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 99  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 10.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is an excellent addition to a central Illinois area that is rapidly becoming a great disc golf destination. Pros of this course:

* Unique. Mostly open holes mixed with a lot of well thought out lines and obstacles that are rare on courses in similar terrain.
*Elevation: Pins are placed in the perfect spots to make the most of this feature. Makes putts tricky.
*Long... let the bombs fly!
*Loved holes 3, 8, and 9
*Lots of hole where you wonder "can I make that throw???"
Cons: *Non-woodsiness of the course means there are no holes that demand a specific line...reduces the overall challenge of the course
*Lots of places to potentially lose discs... the elevation at the course hides a lot of sketchy spots that you would steer clear of if you knew they were there.
*Hole 10 is pretty plain. No real exciting features other than a lot of distance
Other Thoughts: The day that I played this course, there was a TON of wind. Adds to the challenge of the course, but also to the frustration.

Overall a great course. Highly recommend!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Let's Recycle MORE Ball Golf Courses

1    10/8/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: sthomas128
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: **>>I LOVE seeing Ball Golf Courses getting recycled into Disc Golf Courses. They tend to have manicured, roller-friendly Fairways. This is a fairly long course, Like Brett said..."7 holes 340ft or more", unless you can really crush it, you'll need a roller and/or multiple shots to reach the longer holes.

**Since this course sits right on Lake Decatur there is LOTS of wind. 25-30mph the day we were there. Will definitely affect your disc/shot selection...

**Well thought out holes (with the exception of 18/1 (see-cons...))
**Good mix of lefty-righty holes.
**LOVE some of the pin placements on the edge of hills, will make you think twice about "going for it".
**several signature holes out there.
**Several sneaky holes (IE. man that's farther than it looks...)
GREAT JOB GUYS...
Cons: Hole #18 basket is 40-50ft to the right of #1 tee. #18 basket is behind a large tree begging for a big righty hyzer shot right over the top of #1 tee. You can see #18 tee from #1 so you can watch to see if anyone is teeing if you are aware of this.
Other Thoughts: The rough is, rough..., but, that's to be expected on a new course. It will get beat down in no time with some play

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Big D in Decatur

1    10/1/2011   10/4/2011
Review By: #19325
Played: 315  Reviewed: 168  Exp: 13.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nelson Park is located on an old ball golf course. The land has rolling hills, scattered trees, and some thick rough in places. Make sure you print the course map to find hole #1.

Brand new shiny Mach 3's.

Tee signs and quite a few garbage cans.

This course is pretty long. There are 7 holes 340ft or more.

Concrete tees that were installed correctly except # 16. See con.

I've played quite a few ball golf courses. This course has more interesting features than others that i've played.

There are a few fun downhill holes. I don't usually throw my mid range disc on a 350ft hole.
Cons: Currently the parking lot is not complete. Finding hole #1 will be very difficult.

The tee signs are blank right now.

Being on a ball golf course it lacks a true par 5 and has only one par 4. There are several holes that are tweener holes unless you can absolutely crush.

Depending on which way the wind blows you'll find out quickly how bad the Staleys plant smells. It's rough!

Hole #16's tee pad was installed facing the wrong direction. The hole was meant to be played down the left side.
Other Thoughts: This is a good addition to a large town that did not have disc golf.

Go Big Blue! Millikin University Rocs!!!

Decatur is the original home of the Chicago Bears.
http://www.ncaatop25.com/staley.htm

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A Lot of Fun!!!

5+    9/24/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: PDGApunk
Played: 86  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 15.3 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is on an old ball golf course that has a lot of rolling hills.

The course has a huge variety of shots. Some uphill, some downhill, some lefty, some righty, some long, some short.

The course will test your uphill and downhill game (driving, approaching, and putting).

My favorite holes would have to be 1,9,10,12, and 15... with 15 being my favorite.
Cons: A couple holes are too close together and could cause hazard... but they aren't so bad they need to be addressed.

-18's basket is a little to close to 1's tee because experienced players could throw it there.
-15's basket is on an edge of a hill that drops down into hole 4's fairway.

16's teepad is off center. The park district decided to make two fairways which helps the problem a little bit and makes the hole very neat looking but the hyzer route causes concern for hole 3's basket being blind right over the bushes. If you throw a bad shot, you could hit a person putting on 3.
Other Thoughts: The course is brand new and has a lot of thick tall grass off its fairways with a lot of thorny thistle. Some areas have some wicked poison ivy as well. But in the last month things have been getting better. The course will improve with time.

Trees are placed well but I would like to see more trees line some of the fairways in the coming years.

This park has a lot of land still not being used. I would like to see at least another 9 holes out there in other parts of the park.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.