Burt, MI 
Taymouth Park Share
Uploaded By: bygwyllay Hole #14 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 165ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
she's gone from suck to blow!

1    1/13/2014   1/13/2014
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 243  Reviewed: 236  Exp: 4.3 Years
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays through a large multi-use park. Parts of the course are disc golf exclusive, parts are NOT. be careful.

Baskets-- all present and accounted for. in decent repair. a bit tricky to see in the dense forest but passable with orange reflective tape.

Signage-- on many levels the signage is great, the maps, distance and par are listed and the distances are accurate. many "next tee" signs and "Tee" signs help you navigate (please see negatives here for routing and nav)

Cons:
Routing and Nav-- finding where the first tee is, is next to impossible. We walked around, in january, for almost half an hour. the facebook page has maps of individual holes but no overview map.

teepads-- non-existant. I'm sure they are super muddy when wet. and there is NO room for anyone else in your party to stand around the pad.

Challenge-- the challenge factor here is pretty low. holes are really quite short and uninspired. the lanes were clear (maybe due to being winter) but still impossible to find in places...
Other Thoughts:
this is a half-assed attempt to take a reasonable 9-hole course and squeeze in another 9 to make 18... they have done some things correctly but the rest is done so wrong, it's just inexcusable.

 NO NO NO NO NO NO NO!

1    7/27/2012   7/30/2012
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: GREAT signage! Brand new teeposts with huge, full-colour maps that have great graphics. Tons of Next Tee signs throughout the course as well, printed in bright colours and nailed high up in the trees so they are easily visible. Makes navigation a breeze.

Baskets are brand new as well, and the top of the target along with the the top of the basket rim are spraypainted yellow for easy visibility through the forest. They also have numbers on the centre posts but some of them are incorrect i.e. it says "3" but it is really the target for hole #5... I have a feeling this is from the redesign.

Holes #1, 10 &11 and 16-18 are decent holes out in the front part of the park, playing mostly under a canopy of mature trees. Fairly open shots with good distance and an obstacle or two in your way. Not challenging per se, but definitely not easy.
Cons: All the other holes on this course! It is my understanding that they recently redesigned this course and expanded it from a 9 to an 18 holer, extending play into the heavily wooded area behind the main park. While this is generally a good idea, it was executed horribly. To put it bluntly, I'm pretty sure a blind man could've designed a better course.

So let's chat. First of all, there are some basic concepts you must understand in order to create a disc golf course. One: there needs to be a fairway. It doesn't necessarily have to be a big one, but it has to EXIST. A hole cannot consist of a tee sign and a basket placed 150 feet apart from each other in the middle of the woods, with no discernable path whatsoever from one to the other. There has to be some sort of...DESIGN to the thing. You know, a SHAPE. And that brings me to number two: There is a difference between chainsawing a few trees and actually creating a LINE for a disc to follow. Sure, you can have some trees in the fairway to make it challenging for your fellow players, but it has to at least look like you made an effort to create some sort of PATH TO THE BASKET.

This is about as amateur hour as you can get, and without the bright signage smeared all over the landscape, you wouldn't even have an idea of where to go after you played one of these "holes". I would love to see an overhead shot of this place in the winter, with all the foliage gone. I bet it would look like a Jackson Pollock painting - a smattering of yellow teeposts and metal baskets dotting a sea of twigs.

Here is what it's like to play these holes: You walk up to a teepost. There is no actual tee. There isn't even a place for a tee to be. You and your two buddies are huddled around this post, because outside of that circle is dense forest with nowhere to stand. Then you look for the basket. It is very hard to see, because there doesn't appear to be any path through the trees... But then you locate the target, and look at the sign again, and hey! it says the basket's only 200 feet away, so why not? And then you throw a tomahawk in the vague direction of where the tee sign says to go, and pray it weaves its way through the thicket. And then you trample through, pick up your disc that went five feet, and throw another tomahawk, hoping it again slices through the jungle. Repeat. Repeat. Then you sink your putt, and the whole process starts over again on the next hole.

Completely asinine on every level. Please read this review and save yourself the pain of trying to play this course yourself.
Other Thoughts: Apologies, but I feel I needed to be over the top here in order for something to be done about this place. I understand the course is very raw - the paths cut from hole to hole have a ton of debris scattered everywhere. So the potential for something good is here, and I gave it an extra half-disc in my rating because of said potential. But until you open up the lines on the wooded holes (or create some, period) you aren't going to see me back here. Stay away until this is rectified, or just play the six in the front part of the park. Or just play Memorial Park in Frankenmuth. It's like 15 minutes away, and it's infinitely better than what's here at Taymouth.

P.S. If anybody needs help clearing some more paths and debris, let me know and I'll see if I can make it up there to help - I understand it isn't any easy job.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 expected alot better based on reviews

1    7/28/2012   7/28/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -baskets in decent condition.
-signage allowd you to see where the lines were.
-mix of wooded and open holes.
Cons: -horrible use of land.
-there was signage but it was consuing and only alittle helpful.
-wall of trees and bushes blocking all possible lines to the basket.
Other Thoughts: I dont even know where to begin with this course. I hated it. I read previous reviews and thought hey this would be a good place to stop sometime but I was wrong. First I didnt even know where to start and had to walk around a bit til I found hole 1. Second as I was going through the course there were atleast 5 holes that seems to be covered in trees in the fairway or thick brush making it almost impossible to get a good throw in. The signs were generally correct but with multiple pathways making it confusing. I felt like someone said lets buld a disc golf course in the middle of these woods without clearing many trees and we will throw some holes around it so it will even out. The best part of this course was leaving it and the only reason I stayed for all 18 holes was to make sure I would finish.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 worth playing once.

2-4    4/4/2012   4/6/2012
Review By: Mac423
Played: 15  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: -seemed to be little other disc golf traffic
-located in a very nice park, great for a family outing
-Good signage, and directional arrows showing where next hole is.
-Nice mix of LH/RH holes

Cons: -seemed slightly cramped into one side of the park.
- wooded holes seem to be an afterthought in the design. Most are very short, with no defined fairway, and no real line to throw. Basically pray ya make it thru all the trees.
-many holes feel like someone simply put in a tee stake, went about 300ft, and stuck a basket in place, lacks the feel of an actual laid out hole.
-hole eight is too close to road, hitting a passing car is a possibility
Other Thoughts: This course was worth playing once, but i would not recommend it to anyone not living in the immediate vicinity.

 I finally have a hometown course!

5+    2/12/2012   2/25/2012
Review By: the_pwnerator
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Great Hole Variety, especially for a 9 hole course.

-Wooded paths and fairways are starting to get worn in (They were very rough when the course opened).

-Never busy, have only had to wait at a tee once.

-Challenges shot placement vs. Pure distance

-Water hazards are there to challenge, but it's hard to lose discs in them.
Cons: -Can become very muddy after rain

-Signs too close to some tees

-Distances between holes are enormous. (18 holes would easily fit)
Other Thoughts: This course is my favorite around where I live. It's the closest to my house at around 5 minutes away. There is another course around 15 minutes, but that course is a pure distance course with little to no placement challenge.

As a beginner, this course has the perfect combination of medium distances and placement shots.

I hope this course continues to grow and we one day see 18 holes here.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice new course

1    1/8/2012   1/8/2012
Review By: InTheGroove
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mixture of wooded and open play. Five of the holes are in the woods. Good variety of narrow and wider lanes to throw through. While the wooded holes tend to favor the righty backhand, the open holes could go either way. Ranging from 175 ft to 375 ft, it offers a great range of play and disc use.
Cons: Some of the wooded fairways will need some tweaking as far as clearing of some of the tree stubs and maybe a few more trees to select to be removed. To get to the 8th tee, you have to walk toward the tee along the ball field. Use caution if someone is on it already.
Other Thoughts: Park was closed when I went on Sunday the 8th of January. I had to park on the shoulder of the road to play. Not sure about the park rules concerning that. I'm glad the course is in and close to home, and will be playing it many more times to come. Hoping another 9 holes will be put in as mentioned above.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Really nice up and coming course.

5+    9/4/2011   9/7/2011
Review By: fleeulrich
Played: 36  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good mix of holes for only being a nine hole course. Holes range in distance from 175 ft to 380 ft. Most holes will test the technical side of your game although holes 6,7,8 and 9 are mostly open and give you a chance to drive with a little more room for error. There are benches, and trash cans located near some tee areas. The signs at each tee are above average, and painted bright yellow making the next tee easy to see.
I have heard they going to make it a full 18 holes eventually.
Cons: Only 9 holes is a con for now. Mosquitoes are horrible when your in the woods, but that is almost expected. When I was there most everyone in our group thought the tee signs were too close to the tee area. After finishing hole 7 you either have to walk completely around a baseball field or walk through hole 8 fairway to get to hole 8 tee area.
Other Thoughts: Hole one is my favorite hole having you drive through a smattering of trees directly in front of the tee, then the hole is tucked into a pocket in the woods. All in all this is a fun new course, that has a ton of serious potential.
****UPDATE**
This course is a full 18 hole course now. They did a great job fitting the new 9 in, and the course has a real good flow. You cant get lost because the "next tee" signs are right there after finishing each hole. A lot of the new holes are real short, but they make up for it with the difficulty of trying to find a lane to throw in. Love the updates!!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.