St. Louis (Mehlville), MO
Jefferson Barracks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9
3 / 355ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Fun Park Course

1    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 6.8 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The park and the course are well-kept. Lots of large mature trees to define fairways, and small-scale topography to add a little uphill and downhill to the mix. Good variety of shots, and fun variety of potential routes to choose from on each hole. Some pin positions are set up on stumps and such, making for fun greens. I liked seeing the map of the course layout in advance, we never got lost. The bulletin board was even stocked with score cards.
Cons: The course is on the short side, there was only one long-ish hole that I couldn't reach from the tee. A few holes have only a very small window to aim for off the tee, or the pin is back in the bushes, such that a bit of luck comes into play. I didn't find the course to be very challenging, and I imagine that local pros probably shoot ridiculously low scores, and that scoring separation is lower than usual (confirmed by looking at the dubs scores posted on the bulletin board). The course flow was strange in a couple places, with 2 consecutive tees next to one another at one point. I think the holes are a bit crowded at 1,9,10,18, the designers were trying too hard to play back to the parking lot twice, while there isn't a lot of space to work with in that part of the course.
Other Thoughts: With an average DGCR rating over 4/5, I was expecting a great deal more. This is a fun little 18 holer, but it is not a 4. I've rarely seen a worse case of grade inflation for a course in all my experience using DGCR as a disc golf travel guide.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 The Enigma

5+    5/18/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2011
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love the terrain variety and the general layout of most of the course. The long concrete tees are a plus and there are benches at every one. Short walking distances from basket to the next tee. There are many opportunities to use a good variety of discs and styles to get the right approach and there are so many shots that tease you to take a gamble when you know you ought to play it safe.
It's nice that there is a decent restroom between 5 and 6. Good place to meet lots of other DG players.
Brand new (well refurbished to new condition) baskets with great, custom number plates.
Cons: This course is almost always way too crowded. I have frequently had to wait for more than 10 minutes to throw at each tee because of the crowds. This will often lead to other players trying to get you to 'group-up' with them which usually ends up making your game take even longer. Much of the time, the people inviting turn out to be drunk or subject you to unwelcome/inappropriate jokes and comments. Another "con" to this course is the very thick, overgrown vines that are almost completely choking out all the smaller trees and bushes around the course and make it near impossible to find a disc that goes even a few feet off the fairway on any of the holes. It's evident that people lose a whole lot of discs here because I keep finding other peoples MIA discs while looking for mine (which I almost never find). Another con is the bog that has formed in the valley in the middle of holes 9 and 10, but the folks from the local club have built two very nice little bridges across most of it (thanks).
Other Thoughts: There IS a lot to love about this course, but you ought to go at odd times when everybody else is either at work or still in bed - the course is much more fun then. I'd probably avoid this course during the late spring, summer and early fall unless you are cool with losing discs or are good enough to always throw exactly where you want and as far as you want. Wait until all the foliage has fallen off and/or go in the early spring before it all grows back to have a much less stressful game. Seriously, the parks dept. here needs to get the vines and underbrush cleaned up before it gets any worse and goes beyond the point of recovery.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 update

5+    7/2/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: SIQWON-STL
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: not a very easy course for beginners. lots of elevation changes some holes rely on accuracy rather than distance.
Cons: the course doesn't flow very well from hole to hole. if you are playing this course for the first time you will spend alot of time looking for the tees. it's a good idea to go with someone who knows the place well. the kids from the apartments on the back 9 will pick up your discs and run off with them.
Other Thoughts: as of right now they have most of the baskets in a crazy "d" position which makes them very hard to find.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 .

1    6/27/2009   8/4/2009
Review By: championlog22
Played: 17  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.3 Years
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very big course. Nice paved road. Lots of very open holes and a few narrow ones. Bathroom and water fountain and benches. Multiple pins. Good concrete tee boxes.
Cons: I can't remember which hole (3 or 4) that has a huge clump of trees and underbrush that if you throw into, it will suck trying to find your disc. Over half of the holes are out of sight from the teebox. Since the place is so big, you have to walk 600 feet to find the hole, walk 600 feet back to the tee, then walk the 600 again after you throw. One hole's placement is completely unreasonable. The map shows hole in one pin placement which was the wrong one at the time I played. I had to ask a local where the hole was and still couldn't find it until I explored a little. Must be a massive disc eater course because when I played there, I found 4 discs.
Other Thoughts: Have someone with you who has played before and you will get done an hour sooner.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.