St. Louis (Mehlville), MO
Jefferson Barracks Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #16 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 295ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
JB

5+    10/19/2013   11/21/2013
Review By: discdanny
Played: 37  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 0.9 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: JB is one of the most diverse courses in the STL area.. with up to 4 pin locations available. It is set in a historical park with civil war era trees that line the fairways and gentle rolling hills. This park is by far one of the most popular courses in the STL region and for very good reason. This course in very challenging yet it can be shot on.

Added Pros Include-
-Concrete tee pads
-Restrooms
-trash cans
-Pavilions
-Sams Liquor

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

JB is Sweet!

2-4    7/23/2011   12/26/2012
Review By: smokey102977
Played: 22  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.1 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: JB is a great park course. Multiple pins, a great mix of tight and open fairways, a mix of open and tight greens, some slight elevation change occurs throughout the course, and some complex distances meandering through a maze of mature trees makes this course a must play for those who look for a challenge. and still prefer that park setting.
Cons: Do not play after a rain! The course has very poor drainage and water backs up into the course regularly.
Other Thoughts: Play this course before they pull it!

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Good, but not a great course

2-4    11/25/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 3/14/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's a fun course overall. Many of the holes have demanding placements of your drives. You can't just grip'n'rip and expect to score really well here. The chains are ultra-soft. Almost like Ozzie Smith's glove back in the 80's, and the course has a variety of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Overall it's a really fun afternoon of disc.
Cons: Some of the fairways are really tight, and you're often throwing over or into another holes fairway. The course is often really crowded, but this serves to have a couple of people to play with at all times.
Other Thoughts: I was really expecting something phenomenal when I saw a 4/5 on dgcoursereview. I liked the course, but no more than I enjoyed playing Endicott and certainly no more than the Centralia course about an hour east of JB. It's not that the course isn't great fun, but it's not in the top 15% of courses I've played. The fairways are ultra-tight and there are more than 4 holes where you're waiting for another hole to drive before you can. It's a solid 18 which is worth the 2 hours to play--just be aware that during Sunday's the course is packed with people and is really untenable in terms of a speedy efficient round.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/7/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park that has lots of traffic. Pedestrians, dog walkers, bikers, etc. are present, but there isn't too much interference with the disc golf. Some park roads are close to some holes as well.
- Lots of vegetation is present here, there are the usual mature trees scattered around, but also large patches of dense woods in many spots. These are used well to force line shaping and provide landing zones. A couple of valley shots over these patches, like #16 and #17. #3 and #4 as well, with gaps to hit on top of that.
- Other holes demand shots around the thick woods, like a RHBH hyzer on #10, a straight shot on #7, a RHBH flex shot on #12, a little tunnel on #15, and a tough tee placement in the woods on #14. #18 has some more guarded pins as well. Remaining holes are typical park-style shots; picking a line through mature trees and keeping clean.
- Constant elevation changes keep things very fresh here, almost every hole has a significant slope up or down. Makes the wooded valley shots very punishing if you drop down, getting out and up is no easy feat. Overall, a lot of fun downhill shots, emphasis seems to be on enjoyment over challenge in that regard.
- As mentioned, some tricky basket placements. A few positions are on sloped ground, some are next to or inside the woods, and a few others are near some road OB. A small creek also provides a hazard on a few holes.
- Good teepads and baskets, signage shows distance and which position it's in. Navigation is a little tricky, crossing some roads, etc., but not terrible. Plenty of maps in front.
Cons: - Some pretty open holes here; making up a line can be pretty easy to do on the park-style ones. Different basket positions mix things up well, but some are pretty simple.
- Roads are very close to the course in a few spots. It adds some good challenge, but it also can be a nuisance with lots of foot and car traffic.
- A couple odd layout issues, #6 really breaks up the flow as you have to walk next to the fairway all the way to #7. Heads up on #5's teepad as well, short hyzers from #4 are dangerous.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very fun course with a decent amount of challenge. Elevation changes are used well to make each hole enjoyable, and the woods/trees are well used to define the holes. A fair amount of gaps to hit, valleys to cross, and blind shots that must keep clear of the woods. Beginners will find good challenge in the rough, experts will be able to carve it up. Worth a play at least once for everyone.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety!

1    9/4/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with no other park uses in the way. There is a great mix of park style holes with mature trees, tight tunnel shots through brushy woods, and a few pretty open shots mixed in. The pin set I played had a really good balance of lefty and righty holes with a great mix of hole shapes that keeps you trying different lines. There was also a good mix of short holes where an ace run is possible with a good drive and some longer holes where you'll want to take a good rip with a driver through the trees.

The alternate pin positions do a great job of changing up the course. Apparently they move pretty often, and are usually in a nice balanced mix, which would really keep the course interesting and fun. The tees were good concrete pads with an ok surface and enough room for the most part. The current pin position was marked with a bolt on the basic hole signs, a nice plus as long as you know the course.
Cons: There is a bad lack of signage here. The tee signs have only distance and current pin position. They have no clue as to the direction to any of the pin locations, and many holes are blind so you do a lot of extra walking to figure out where the holes are. There are a lot of spots where the next tee is not at all obvious, a map or guide is a big plus here if you don't want to do lots of extra wandering.

The grass was a little long when I played, and a local told me that was a continuing issue with the parks people who won't mow and won't allow the club to do the mowing. There was also trash, especially on the more wooded areas of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a ton of variety. The elevation available is used superbly to add challenge and some great downhill shots. There is enough danger on some of the holes that errant shots are punished, but it didn't seem like a disc eating course at all. Beginners might find it a bit long, but it's not too tight. More experienced players will find it a bit deuce or die, but in a fun way with some good challenges. In a tournament set up with more of the longer pin placements it could be a great challenge. The club obviously puts in a ton of work, and it shows, with even more pin placements in the works.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 wonderful jb

5+    5/3/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -JB is set in the rolling hills and mature hardwoods of a large county park. It offers a wide variety of shots off the tee: hyzers, anhyzers, and straight shots. Holes range from semi open short and a couple bomber holes to tight, technical short and long holes holes.
-Some decent elevation changes, several throw over the ravine holes, some downhill holes, and a couple uphill holes. JB uses the elevation it has very well.
-A large number of holes play over heavily roughed ravines that can be treacherous if you miss your line.
-A lot of amenities: course loops back to the parking lot after 9, bathrooms, water fountains, nice concrete tees, benches at most if not all tees, and teepad brooms on some holes.
-Some nice fast greens on hillsides and a couple par 4s depending on the pin placement
Cons: -The neighborhood around the course is kind of sketchy, there are a lot of odd folks just wandering around the course and people in the parking lot of the apartments next to the course, occasionally kids try to pick up your plastic...but they usually are curious youngsters, not kids trying to steal discs.
-Signage is terrible. They only have the placements (A,B,C,D) and distance. No maps of the holes.
-Navigation is a problem for first timers, there is some back tracking and road crossing involved to navigate this course.
-Due to heavy use the course is starting to get a bit worn. It's still a beautiful course, but a lot of the areas around the pads and pins are worn and several big trees were removed for electical lines and possibly storm damage.
Other Thoughts: Overall JB is a great, tough par 3 golf. The only real reason it isn't higher rated in my book is the relative lack of distance. There are only 2 or 3 par 4s in the longest placements. But, I'd recommend this course to anyone traveling to the STL area. It's always a fun round here and they are constantly changing pin placements, so the course changes a lot and often. It probably falls a bit short of Sioux and Alton and Collinsville from the longs but it is top 4 in the metro area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course, but...

1    1/26/2009   1/26/2009
Review By: tdortch
Played: 58  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me start by saying that I have not read any other reviews on here. That being said, I really enjoyed the layout of this course. When you figure out where you're supposed to go, everything fits together pretty well. (More on that in the Con section...)
There were several different lines off of almost every tee, and some of the baskets are reachable for an ace run, even for a guy that can't throw over about 320. The tee pads are pretty nice, but a little shorter than I'm used to.

Most of the holes meander in and out of a not very dense woods and there are uphill/downhill shots, both in the putting game and in the drives/approaches. I don't even think it's really wooded, there are just trees on the course. Not golf course open, but definitely there will be branches and trees right on the line you wanna throw sometimes.
I will definitely play this one again, hopefully this week. I really liked it even though I was alone on the course and it was 22 degrees!
Cons: The signage is terrible. The only thing they tell you is the distance, unless it's in the "D" position, which says nothing at all. There are no signs saying where to go from hole to hole and the only map there is near the first tee and it looks like it's been there since the course was opened. The "D" locations aren't even on there. I took a picture of the sign with my phone and that helped some, but it doesn't even tell you when to cross the roads, which it does several times. On some holes, it's pretty obvious where to go, and sometimes I had to really look around as the next tee was not near the basket. Of course, this won't hurt me as bad next time, but it can be a little frustrating for first timers. Hole 8 was in the "D" position and I threw twice before I knew where the basket was! It was pretty long and over a hill/behind a tree.
So, really all of that will only matter to first timers probably and if you don't play at 3:30 on a Monday when it's 22 degrees, you'll probably be fine.
Now, the real Con: I was putting on 18 and a group of kids from the apartments next door threw a rock that zinged right over my head. It's not in the best of neighborhoods....
Other Thoughts: Great course. It was everything I've heard - challenging and fun.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Gateway city

1    9/13/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 43  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Get your cards at the kiosk. The holes are very long for par threes. Each one has it's own character. Watch out where you throw but even at that you will find your disc. Like hole #10, the vegetation on your left down at the bottom of the hill looks like your disc will be lost if it lands there, but take it from me, I was able to find mine easily. Apparently lots and lots of people use that section of hole 10.
Gateway store is right there too so stop in and get you a putter. Wizards and Warlocks rule.
Cons: Getting there can be tough so google you a map or gps it. Finding the holes are hard even with the map on the back of the scorecard. The alt. pin placements looked random to me but it was my first and only time there. Finding the next tee was tough too.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and want to go play it again soon. I would really like to watch the pro's birdie those long par threes.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not up to hype

1    1/1/2009   1/1/2009
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great signs to point you towards the course.

More parking than any other course i've played in St. Louis.

The 4x4 at the tees have hooks for bags/coats, ala Endicott.

Good course map at the sign by the first tee, plus plenty of scorecards at that same sign which have maps on them as well.

Nice big concrete pads.

Plethora of trees make shots a good challenge. Errant drives WILL be punished.

Great pin placements for holes 3 and 4 in particular.

Layout is a little awkward, but it flows rather well.

A fun variety of obstacles to throw around.

Great shot variey as well. I used every disc in my bag when i played.

Popular park, but pedestrains are kept out of the way of golfer traffic and vice versa rather well. Good exposure point for the game.
Cons: Could use a couple more benches and trash cans, but what is supplied is better than most courses.

A couple of baskets (6 and 8) were placed in the "D" placement, but the signs provided only listed A,B,C pins. Someone (appropriately IMO) filled in "D"-umb for the yardage, since there is no official measurement.

No signs between pins/tees. A problem that would easily be solved by the map on the back of the scorecards were that map a little more detailed so you could gather your orientation easier.

Hole 7's pin placed too close to the adjacent road, especially if cars are parked closer towards the pin.

Needs a porta-john or two somewhere on the course, especially when the bathrooms by the first tee are closed.

Unsightly pile of fallen trees/debris in 16's fairway.

Pars underestimated. Every hole is supposed to be a par 3, but some are 400 feet and a few are even 500. When the tour comes around, great, but otherwise the majority of players can't par most of the holes in 3.

Tee signs could use maps on them, and likewise pins could have an indicator of some sort where the next tee is in case newbies don't grab a scorecard.

Some of the number plates atop the baskets aren't pointed towards the tee; makes identifying pins harder than it should be.

Holes 1, 9, 10, and 11,17 are just about on top of eachother. Lots of waiting can break up your rhythm.
Other Thoughts: This course IS a lot of fun, and a very good challenge, but a little grooming will make it spectacular.

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 A challenge for all skill levels

7/17/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JB seems to the gem of St. Louis golfers, almost everyone I talked to highly recommended it, and I was not disappointed. There is a little bit of everything here.
- Great use of the rolling elevation
- Interesting and exciting pin placements
- Multiple elevated tee shots
- Good use of length; not just long to be long
- Fairly well maintained
- Great concrete tee pads
Other Thoughts: - As another reviewer mentioned, there seems to be a lack in interesting and varying shot choices. Most holes can be played with a simple hyzer.
- I found it a bit difficult to navigate from hole to hole, although most tee posts can be seen from the previous basket
- Descriptive tee signs would be a great addition here with the multitude of blind tee shots
- Not many 2 shot holes, but still a fair amount of length

Jefferson comes highly recommended by most locals, and by me as well. Players of all skills will find something challenging and exciting here.

I stopped by the Gateway shop and Justin hooked me up. Stop in and say hi.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.