St. Louis (Mehlville), MO 
Jefferson Barracks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #18
3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Still one of my favorites

5+    8/4/2013   8/7/2013
Review By: Golden Tuna
Played: 117  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 13.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/28/2013
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good layout - Front and back both loop back to the parking lot - Tons of pin placements - Concrete tee pads - Easy to navigate - Restrooms throughout the course - Convenient store right off 10's tee pad for water, snacks - they even sell discs - Good variety of shots, Always someone there for a round

JB is a great course that offers a good challenge and always looks different when I'm there. Each holes has at least 3 different pin placements and the baskets are moved all the time. During the winter, the course is usually short, around 5,000 ft. But, during the summer it can stretch out to nearly 8,500 ft. You'll also use just about every disc in your bag as there is rarely duplicated shots. Lots of foliage for good shade, but not too hard to locate errant throws.
Cons: Since this course is so popular it is usually crowded, especially on the weekends. But, as long as you don't mind playing through, or letting other do the same, its not bad.
Other Thoughts: JB has always been one of my favorite courses. It offers a little bit of everything and, if you don't know your way, there is always someone there to show you around. Nice people, great course!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very Popular

2-4    6/7/2013   6/26/2013
Review By: jjacobs445
Played: 13  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - great layout with good use of terrain
- front 9 and back 9 both loop if short on time
- good use of woods and open shots
- tee signage has very clear information
- multiple pin locations
- concrete pads
- beautiful park
Cons: - very busy course with other players
Other Thoughts: hole #3 is a lot of fun, and so many people have cleared out the brush that finding your disc isn't hard. holes #5 and #9 are nice downhill bombs. holes #4, #6, #7, #13 are good birdie opportunities. tricky shots through the woods make #15, #16, and #17 challenging and fun as well.

i really enjoy this course, and it's obviously popular for a reason. it was always been fairly crowded when i've played, but the players have always been respectful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 To Quote Thomas Jefferson Im a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it.

1    11/24/2012   12/12/2012
Review By: harr0140
Played: 740  Reviewed: 478  Exp: 6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1) Incredible stand of mature Oak trees and other hardwoods. These trees help make this course so great. You can throw around or under the sprawling branches of these mature trees.
2) Excellent elevation change on this course. There are rolling hills but also a handful of fairly dramatic drops or rises in elevation. This feature coupled with the sprawling trees really helps to make this course so much fun.
3) You will need to have all of your shots available, but you have choices on many of the holes for which shot you want to throw. Rarely are you mandated into a specific shot.
4) Nice signs with all information, Hole #, Par, Distance, and alternate baskets visible.
5) There are plenty of benches all over this course for you to sit down if you get tired or behind a slow group.
6) The tees are very long concrete . . . they seem smooth but I didn't ever notice slippage. I always appreciate larger than smaller.
7) This course felt a little bit like an IL favorite Anna Page. There are pockets of shrubs and brush all over that you throw around or sometimes even into. There are a couple holes where you actually want to end up in the middle of one of these pockets.
8) There is a very unique shot on Hole #3 where you throw straight out but the ground drop off into a hollow area which is filled with a really punishing sprawling shrub. Ideally you will clear about 75-100' of these shrubs and land in the opening around the basket. I have never really had to throw over shrubs between the tee and the basket like this. My description does not do this hole justice, but it is one of the more unique holes I have seen in my 450 courses played.
9) There was a hole (#13) where a tree (3' diameter) had fallen leaving only the stump to the right of the basket but the trunk of the tree protects virtually the entire basket. I had a putt at the basket and I tried to skip the putt off the top of the fallen tree and into the basket. It was also a very unique hole, while some may have cleaned up the fallen tree, they left this tree as it was as a new obstacle.
10) Multiple pins available on many if not all of the holes. I love when courses can be altered, both from a maintenance standpoint (to avoid compaction and erosion) but also from a players perspective. I get bored when I play the same course over and over and just altering the layout a few times a year is enough to change my desire to play the same course.
11) Pin location markers on the tee signs.
12) Next tee arrows are located on small concrete pieces near the baskets.
Cons: 1) There are a lot of leaves left in the middle of the park. I would think a beautiful park like this would get rid of as many leaves as possible. It was the end of November when I played so the park was likely in the condition it would be in all winter. The leaves can eat up some discs for sure.
2) The remodeling that is happening on 14, 15, 16 area has made some slightly awkward holes. I am not sure if things will be remaining where they are or not, but these holes just felt weird.
3) Lots of compaction and erosion happening around tees and some baskets. This is the worst thing about disc golf courses and we need to come up with some options or alternative to avoid this type of issue. Eventually there will be courses that close because of the compaction and erosion.
4) #10 throws right along and potentially over #9 which is always a nightmare.
Other Thoughts: There just are not many cons with this course. The course is awesome and it has a bit of everything and presents a whole lot of variety and challenge. This course feels so much like Anna Page in NC Illinois but with additional challenge and additional elevation. AP is one of my favorites and gets a high rating so this one will get an ever higher rating.
I am so happy I decided to drive to St. Louis at 9PM and was playing this course by 9:30AM. It was a 6 hour drive and I got about 5 hours of sleep before the drive. We came for the Crystal City Cave courses but found a whole lot of great disc golf too. I also played Endicott and both of the courses at Foundation Park along with both of the cave courses. This is one of my favorites from the trip across the board and certainly ends up in my top 75 or so courses played. It is getting harder and harder to compare the best of the best. I might only be able to rank courses above 4.5 discs instead of 4.0. If Martin Dewgarita can handle a top 100 list, I think I better try to do the same.

To Quote Thomas Jefferson "I'm a great believer in luck, and I find the harder I work the more I have of it."

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

JB

2-4    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 53  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a large county park, that has biking and walking trails and some other park type features, but for the most part the disc golf course is the only thing in the area, so the walkers, joggers, etc aren't ever really in the way.

Nice large concrete tees, with benches and trashcans at each. Most also have a small brush or broom on the tee sign post, or under one of the benches for cleaning them off. The new tee signs are 10000 times better than the old ones. They show the 4 or 5 different positions on each hole, and have distances, and have a screw next to the distance of the current position.

This course requires a variety of shots, and depending on the pin position each individual hole could require something completely different.

Several holes (3,4,5,10,16, and 17) require you to throw over or around some pretty nasty woody brush, which comes into play on most holes. The other holes play up and down the rolling hills, and under/ through large oak trees.

holes 1 and 10 start right by the parking lot, where there is a shelter, restroom, and drinking fountains. holes 9 and 18 baskets are right by the same parking lot.
There is a small concrete pad next to each pin position with an arrow pointing to the next tee, but some of them need to be repainted.

Cons: Not many to speak of, but.....

The path from 4's tee to the pins is really rough, you can walk around instead of through the woods, but that takes time and part of the time you will be down in that mess.

Trash can be an issue on the last 4 or 5 holes due to the apartments that run along there. They are a little sketchy but I have never had a problem.

Hole 5's tee can get some shots from 4's tee at it, there is a net in place that should help, but you never know
Other Thoughts: Several blind shots, so if its your first time you may need to walk some fairways to be sure of where the basket is.

along with that make sure its clear before you throw.

This course can be busy. Seems to be one of the more popular courses in the area. Most of the guys seem to be nice and know what they are doing and talking about.

THERE IS APPARENTLY A WATER PARK GOING IN BACK BY HOLE 15, SO THERE IS MOST LIKELY A REDESIGN HAPPENING.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 City Skunk Surprise

1    3/12/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 38  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very scenic and relaxing city course named for the military complex surrounding it. The course plays mostly open with big hardwoods framing most of the holes. There are a couple of lightly wooded spots on both the front and back 9, which mixes up the flow nicely....also some nice use of elevation throughout. Holes are not too long for beginner/intermediate players to shoot pars...but long enough to still give a challenge for more advanced players to shoot lots of birdies. Overall...the holes are well designed with good flow...and the lines were fun and interesting to throw...I was tempted to empty my bag often.
Cons:
The back 9 plays near some pretty sketchy looking apartments...had me watching over my shoulder.....I don't think I would play here alone again unless there are lots of other golfers around.
Other Thoughts: Ran into a very confused looking skunk behind Hole 18's basket...he seemed to have no fear of humans whatsoever. He was just chillin' I guess.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Playing

1    4/8/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: twiggycdxx
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.7 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I nice course with different types of shots needed. Some left and right hand curves. Along with some short and some longer holes.
Cons: Holes 3 & 4 are very wooded and kind of ridiculous. My buddy playing for the first time lost a disc on hole 5. Shouldn't have happened, but what can you do. If you find a white Tee Bird with a bunch of marker drawing on the front enjoy:)
Other Thoughts: Course has good maps at the first tee and the course follows nicely.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 JB

5+    7/5/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JB is one of the best courses in the STL metro area. It plays through big old oak trees and over nice elevation change. Every hole on this course is remarkable, but I'll just give you a taste. Hole 1 is a downhill reachable 400+ feet. Hole 3 is my favorite. You have to split two sets of trees and clear the bushes at about 300' in order to hit the island of up hill putts. On hole 5 you have to hit a window to reach the fairway. Hole 12 plays left to right over a valley with bushes at the bottom. Hole 15 is a hallway. Watch out for hole 17. Go DISCover the rest of the great holes, you won't be disappointed.

Each hole has one concrete tee pad with 3-4 pins positions. The amenities are nice; bathrooms, drinking fountain, and shelter with bbq at the 1/10 loop (parking lot), benches at every hole, etc. There are some very knowledgeable players here that you can learn from.
Cons: The flow from basket to tee is confusing the first time, but you can usually get a map at the kiosk near the first tee. Also, the signs are not helpful unless you already know the course. This is a popular park and can be crowded.
Other Thoughts: The tee for hole 10 has a view of the arch in the distance. There is a league on Tuesday. They will let you play, but it's slow going.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 JB and the Trees

2-4    6/10/2008   5/21/2010
Review By: Amenz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout, holes don't cramp each other.
Good variety of shorter holes and longer ones.
Elevation changes are great.
Some tricky greens.
Benches on most holes.
Cons: For a newbie the trees may be a bit much at times.
A little more trash than I like to see in some of the woods between holes.
Where the next launch pad is is not always clear.
Other Thoughts: Classic course in St. Louis. A must play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 A great course

5+    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Drewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course for players of all ratings, it is full of hazards and it is challenging. There are scorecards at the first hole and there is a nice course layout. Fequently the pin placement is moved and it keeps it interesting.
Cons: It gets crowded alot. Best to go in the mornings or weekday afternoons. There is some very thick brush on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice and cool course to play. I have lost discs there before and have had people call me so I can get them back. Great disc golf community around there.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/4/2009   4/6/2009
Review By: tamahawk
Played: 50  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 8.3 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jefferson Barracks is a great course designed over rolling hills through large, mature trees offering ample challenge to all skill levels. There is one tee position and multiple pin positions for each hole. The DGA MachIII baskets were in great shape and the concrete tee pads were level, in good shape, and appropriately sized for the course. There were tee signs at every hole, but the signs only listed the distance for each of the pin positions with no indication to where the baskets were located and did not give any indication as to the layout of the hole.

The course had a nice flow to it and was comprised of two 9-hole loops that returned to the parking area. There were no crossing fairways, but there were a couple of fairways (No8/No11) that parallel each other in opposite directions. The course was very clean and appeared to be maintained very well. I didn't notice much underbrush or excess foliage, but it is still very early in the spring season. There were a few benches and trash receptacles throughout the course.

The course design takes advantage of the rolling hills in the park offering a great variety of uphill, downhill, and side hill lies. The slightly elevated tees on Hole 1, 5, 10, & 17 were a great opportunity to get some extra distance off of the tee, and provided a great view of the course. The holes have a lot of variation in length from one position to the next. Some of the other reviews mention that the baskets are moved frequently, so with the variation in length between the alternate pin placements, I can definitely see how this course would constantly provide a new challenge each time.

All of the holes are designed through the large trees in the park, but I would really call any of them technical holes. There are plenty of lines off of the box for varying types of tee shots, but there are also plenty of trees to knock down shots that miss their line. This course with its rolling hills and large, mature trees offered great visual appeal and a challenging layout throughout.
Cons: This was truly a great course, but there were a few challenges for someone playing this course for the first time. The tee signs only list the distances for the alternate pin positions. The signs did not offer any indication as to the layout of the hole, or even where the pin was located in relation to the tee box. The basket could be seen from many of the tee pads, but there were several holes where I had to walk and locate the basket before throwing my tee shot. The other issue is that several of the tee pads are located a pretty good distance from the previous basket, but again, there is nothing to point a player in the right direction. Updated tee signs would be very helpful. The only other issue was the tee shot for hole 4. There was not much of a line that I saw off of the box, more of a throw it and hope for the best type shot. This was my first time at JB, so maybe there was an alternate route that I missed, or maybe there were obstacles in the way that normally aren't there, but I just thought I would mention it.
Other Thoughts: All in all a great course that is both challenging and picturesque. I was in the area visiting some friends and only got to play 2 courses, but I was very pleased with my decision to play at Jefferson Barracks. In an earlier review of this course by Three Putt, he said that "The area has several very good courses, but this is still the course that best represents disc golf in St. Louis." The old saying is that you never get a second chance to make a first impression, so if this course best represents St.Louis disc golf, then I was left with a very good impression of disc golf in this area, and am looking forward to playing this course again, as well as other courses in and around St. Louis.

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.