St. Louis (Mehlville), MO
Jefferson Barracks Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #7 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 215ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee (OB parking lot/road visible on left)



Reviews: 46
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Jefferson Barracks

5+    7/5/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: catkiller12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.3 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) This course is definitely not boring. It presents so much variety. No two holes are alike, and each hole presents its own challenge(s).

2) The course is very fair and well designed. Most of the holes are challenging but not impossible. I usually have an opportunity to make at least par if not birdie.

3) Most of the course's scenery is simply beautiful. There is a lot of green and there is no shortage of trees. I find the trees quite nice (except when they get in the way of my discs) during the summer months. They provide excellent shade during a hot summer afternoon. The course is well maintained and very clean.

4) I usually go as soon as the park opens, and there aren't very many people on the course that early in the morning. When I do encounter other players, they are very friendly or at the very least, mind their own business. If I had a question, I wouldn't hesitate to ask other players on the course.
Cons: 1) The course might be a little confusing to navigate for first time players. The first time I played there my father-in-law and I were a little lost sometimes finding the next hole. The signage wasn't that great back then, but the new signs out there are a big improvement.

2) Sometimes the baskets get moved around to different pins, which is nice for the sake of variety, but sometimes I have to search around for the basket to be sure I am throwing the discs in the right direction.

3) Be careful on holes #3 and #4. Those holes have a ton of vegetation, which makes drives interesting if you make a bad first throw. I've almost lost a couple of my drivers on those holes. I did lose one driver on hole #5 so be careful when trying to toss over that heavy brush.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the St. Louis area. I am relatively new to this sport, but by playing mostly at Jefferson Barracks, I have watched my game improve dramatically. If you are a newbie, don't be afraid to play this course. It's a blast! I usually feel disappointed when I've finished hole #18. Sometimes I just have to satisfy myself with another round of 18 holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Probably my all-around favorite anywhere

2-4    5/18/2011   6/18/2012
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 30.9 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent layout. Challenging. Plenty of variety. Love the last tee with the basket hidden in the trees. Absolutely beautiful park. Used to run x-country here and it was my favorite place to run races also.
Cons: A little confusing for first timers. It's been a while since I played. It helped a lot when I joined up with a local player.
Other Thoughts: Probably my favorite anywhere.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Show Me State

1    5/24/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: poorredz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Well manicure city park with huge mature trees to shade most holes, even in the summer sun. The course is what you make of it,there were beginner players having fun and bypassing some of the real technical hole elements.There is plenty of room to let some shots rip and glide, and some narrow alleyways through the woods that will challenge even the straightest thrower.Lots of blind shots from the tee with no pin in sight until you get halfway down the fairway.
Cons: Every tee has a nice map with multiple pin locations listed, but no markings where the current pin is....have to walk half way to find pin before you shoot or just spray and pray. On a thurs. morning the park was empty, I needed to pair up with someone that knew the course.
Other Thoughts: One of my top courses to play...well laid out,challanging, great variety of play. The winter pictures dont do it justice, it is very beautiful in the late spring.......

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/7/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 386  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 10.7 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park that has lots of traffic. Pedestrians, dog walkers, bikers, etc. are present, but there isn't too much interference with the disc golf. Some park roads are close to some holes as well.
- Lots of vegetation is present here, there are the usual mature trees scattered around, but also large patches of dense woods in many spots. These are used well to force line shaping and provide landing zones. A couple of valley shots over these patches, like #16 and #17. #3 and #4 as well, with gaps to hit on top of that.
- Other holes demand shots around the thick woods, like a RHBH hyzer on #10, a straight shot on #7, a RHBH flex shot on #12, a little tunnel on #15, and a tough tee placement in the woods on #14. #18 has some more guarded pins as well. Remaining holes are typical park-style shots; picking a line through mature trees and keeping clean.
- Constant elevation changes keep things very fresh here, almost every hole has a significant slope up or down. Makes the wooded valley shots very punishing if you drop down, getting out and up is no easy feat. Overall, a lot of fun downhill shots, emphasis seems to be on enjoyment over challenge in that regard.
- As mentioned, some tricky basket placements. A few positions are on sloped ground, some are next to or inside the woods, and a few others are near some road OB. A small creek also provides a hazard on a few holes.
- Good teepads and baskets, signage shows distance and which position it's in. Navigation is a little tricky, crossing some roads, etc., but not terrible. Plenty of maps in front.
Cons: - Some pretty open holes here; making up a line can be pretty easy to do on the park-style ones. Different basket positions mix things up well, but some are pretty simple.
- Roads are very close to the course in a few spots. It adds some good challenge, but it also can be a nuisance with lots of foot and car traffic.
- A couple odd layout issues, #6 really breaks up the flow as you have to walk next to the fairway all the way to #7. Heads up on #5's teepad as well, short hyzers from #4 are dangerous.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very fun course with a decent amount of challenge. Elevation changes are used well to make each hole enjoyable, and the woods/trees are well used to define the holes. A fair amount of gaps to hit, valleys to cross, and blind shots that must keep clear of the woods. Beginners will find good challenge in the rough, experts will be able to carve it up. Worth a play at least once for everyone.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 City Skunk Surprise

1    3/12/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.2 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very scenic and relaxing city course named for the military complex surrounding it. The course plays mostly open with big hardwoods framing most of the holes. There are a couple of lightly wooded spots on both the front and back 9, which mixes up the flow nicely....also some nice use of elevation throughout. Holes are not too long for beginner/intermediate players to shoot pars...but long enough to still give a challenge for more advanced players to shoot lots of birdies. Overall...the holes are well designed with good flow...and the lines were fun and interesting to throw...I was tempted to empty my bag often.
Cons:
The back 9 plays near some pretty sketchy looking apartments...had me watching over my shoulder.....I don't think I would play here alone again unless there are lots of other golfers around.
Other Thoughts: Ran into a very confused looking skunk behind Hole 18's basket...he seemed to have no fear of humans whatsoever. He was just chillin' I guess.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Playing

1    4/8/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: twiggycdxx
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I nice course with different types of shots needed. Some left and right hand curves. Along with some short and some longer holes.
Cons: Holes 3 & 4 are very wooded and kind of ridiculous. My buddy playing for the first time lost a disc on hole 5. Shouldn't have happened, but what can you do. If you find a white Tee Bird with a bunch of marker drawing on the front enjoy:)
Other Thoughts: Course has good maps at the first tee and the course follows nicely.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Epic

1    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 89  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 9.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was an awesome course. Here are the pros

*Variety!!! In my opinion, this should be this course's "claim to fame." Shots of varying types on every single hole! Several holes forced you to decide if you wanted to go for it all or lay up and settle for a three, rather go for a 2 but risk getting a potential 5. Each hole has about 4 pin placements each of which are very different from the others on the same hole. If for some reason you don't like the course at a certain time of the year, try coming back in a little bit; it is likely it will play completely different.

*Upkeep... the local club has invested lots of money into this course and from what i've hear, they'll keep doing it. Nice VISIBLE signs indicating mandos!

*Elevation... very unique use of elevation when i was here. just about every had some uphill or downhill element

*Challenge. Enough trees here to force a player to have good technical shots, but enough distance here to force a player to bust out the drivers.
Cons: Flow here is bad... signage could definitely be improved. If we magically lined up the holes so that each tee pad could easily be seen from the previous pin, and made more descriptive signs, it would be a perfect course!
Other Thoughts: If the St Louis Disc Golf Club keeps up the good work and gets new tee signs, this course just might notch a 5.0. Definitely worth going out of your way for.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Please spread my ashes here!

5+    12/8/2011   12/14/2011
Review By: discdoh
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 21 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Awesome variety of disc golf shots - uphill, downhill, righty, lefty, long, short, heavily wooded, mildly wooded, open, treacherous greens…you name it and its probably got it!
- Friendly locals that love to show visitors a good time (and possibly a little friendly competition).
- Pins are moved on a regular basis.
- Front and back nines loop at the same parking lot with restrooms, a drinking fountain, and a tournament shelter.
- Trash cans and benches on every hole.
- Buried concrete pillars 6 feet from almost every pin position with a painted arrow pointing you directly to the next tee. If you know this secret, you can't get lost. Even if the last pin you played for some reason doesn't have one, just check one of the other pin positions on that hole.
- Great kiosk that is chock full of information, scorecards, and pencils.
- Beautiful landscape under some awesome old growth oaks that makes for a great walk, even on the worst of golf days.
Cons: - Poor tee signage. This is only an issue for literally the next week, as the new full color signs are on the way! I have seen them, and it will be a HUGE improvement.
- Trash. Unfortunately the apartment complex neighbors don't seem to care about hitting the dumpsters when they take out their trash. One day it can be clean as a whistle, and the next it can literally look like someone flung their trashbag into the park intentionally. It's a shame, but it only happens in that particular part of the course.
- It can be a bit crowded. It's a great layout, so what do you expect?
Other Thoughts: This is quite possibly the most played course in all of the STL metro and surrounding areas. It started off its life as a 9 hole layout sometime around 1991 and eventually turned into a 18 hole layout in 1994. The original 18 hole design utilized 1 pin position and 3 tee positions (natural) per hole. The short positions (red) were just a bit more than a pitch-n-putt and the long positions (blue) added quite a bit of distance and challenge, turning the course into a true tournament layout. It certainly offered a unique range of play, to say the least. Sometime around 2004, it was decided that concrete tee-pads were the next logical step and the course underwent a major re-design. More land was incorporated for a few holes and the overall layout was spread out a bit. Over the period of the next few years, 2-4 extra pin positions were added to every hole, once again giving it a great amount of variety. You can rest assured that no basket will ever get rusted in place, as the baskets are continually moved around by a handful of dedicated course addicts and league barons. The course has constantly been upgraded with custom benches on every hole, bridges throughout, trashcans at every tee, brooms on almost every hole, next tee guidance arrows, and other various beautifications. It is obvious that this course is loved by many. The old Mach III baskets (originally under water at Creve Couer Lake during the Great Flood of 1993) were replaced in 2011 with new ones with custom number plates.

This course can be described as a long par 3 for the most part. In its longest settings, the course maxes out well above 7,000 feet, with only a few par 4's mixed in. It is a technical layout through beautiful old hardwoods (100+ years old) and tough, but not too taxing, rolling hills. It has a great mix of every shot in the bag. With 4-5 pins per hole, the combinations are literally endless. There are a couple of opportunities to really air it out, but there really aren't any "open" holes. If you aren't hitting your lines, this course will let you know it…just ask Barry Schultz (had his worst rated round here in the 2009 STLO). It fits the true definition of a course intermingled with the rest of a multi-use park. There are walking paths, parking lots, and other amenities that surround the course, but only come into play if you really try to do so (or have a really bad shot). The course is maintained by the park staff and recycling locals quite well, so there isn't too much trash to deal with. The only exception to this is along the parking lot of an apartment complex on holes 15-18. The locals do their best, but it unfortunately is an uphill battle. If you are playing the course, chip in, and help us pick up a few pieces of trash.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

My new favorite course

2-4    9/29/2011   10/2/2011
Review By: Shade Seeker
Played: 88  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.7 Years
This review was updated on 12/15/2012
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I love park-type courses with old oak trees and this is the most superb example I've played. My brother and I got a kick out of the "acorn rainstorm" those old oaks threw at us. Three pros make this course really shine, in my opinion. 1) There just aren't any bad or boring holes (ok, except for #6). In fact, many of the holes were those kinds of "wonder holes" that I only find one or two of on most courses - you know, the kind where you stand at the tee box and break into a smile about just getting to take a shot on such a beautiful hole. 2) This course penalizes you if you miss your drive. It's not easy to scramble back for a 3 if you don't hit the right lines. And, while I don't like that on my scorecard, I do appreciate that kind of fairness on a course, and it's rare. 3) This course makes you turn your disc to the right. It must be so easy to give in to the course design temptation to fill a course with those hyzer shots that come so naturally to right handers throwing backhand. It's hard to get a disc to turn right - but you better learn how if you want low scores at JB!
Cons: No negatives, in my opinion. Yes, there is a lack of signage, as everyone notes. But that is cancelled out by the friendly locals who are glad to point you in the right direction. There seemed to be no lack of such locals even on a Thursday morning.
Other Thoughts: I like JB a thousand times better than Sioux Passage!

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 One of St. Louis' Best

5+    5/21/2011   7/21/2011
Review By: GatewayDiscSports
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 24.7 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Jefferson Barracks is one of, if not the best course in the St. Louis area. It's very easy to find in south St. Louis County, accessible from both sides of the river via the Jefferson Barracks bridge. The course is set in a moderately wooded park with rolling hills, offering an excellent variety of tight, short holes as well as open, long ones. It's almost impossible not to enjoy playing this course!
Cons: The course does get close to some lower-income housing areas on the west side of the park, and there are a few holes with a fairly long walk between them, but other than that you'd have to be awfully nitpicky to find something wrong here.
Other Thoughts: The leaves get a bit heavy in the fall in many of the lower spots on the course, so be sure you watch your disc, but this David McCormack design is a must-play!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.