Disc Golf Store
St. Louis (Mehlville), MO 
Jefferson Barracks Share
Uploaded By: fairweather_fan Hole #16 (Taken 9/2009)
3 / 295ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket to Tee ('A' Placement)



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good, but not a great course

2-4    11/25/2012   11/28/2012
Review By: ervin
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8
This review was updated on 3/14/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's a fun course overall. Many of the holes have demanding placements of your drives. You can't just grip'n'rip and expect to score really well here. The chains are ultra-soft. Almost like Ozzie Smith's glove back in the 80's, and the course has a variety of hyzer and anhyzer shots. Overall it's a really fun afternoon of disc.
Cons: Some of the fairways are really tight, and you're often throwing over or into another holes fairway. The course is often really crowded, but this serves to have a couple of people to play with at all times.
Other Thoughts: I was really expecting something phenomenal when I saw a 4/5 on dgcoursereview. I liked the course, but no more than I enjoyed playing Endicott and certainly no more than the Centralia course about an hour east of JB. It's not that the course isn't great fun, but it's not in the top 15% of courses I've played. The fairways are ultra-tight and there are more than 4 holes where you're waiting for another hole to drive before you can. It's a solid 18 which is worth the 2 hours to play--just be aware that during Sunday's the course is packed with people and is really untenable in terms of a speedy efficient round.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Fun Park Course

1    11/24/2012   11/24/2012
Review By: JHern
Played: 82  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 7.2 Years
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The park and the course are well-kept. Lots of large mature trees to define fairways, and small-scale topography to add a little uphill and downhill to the mix. Good variety of shots, and fun variety of potential routes to choose from on each hole. Some pin positions are set up on stumps and such, making for fun greens. I liked seeing the map of the course layout in advance, we never got lost. The bulletin board was even stocked with score cards.
Cons: The course is on the short side, there was only one long-ish hole that I couldn't reach from the tee. A few holes have only a very small window to aim for off the tee, or the pin is back in the bushes, such that a bit of luck comes into play. I didn't find the course to be very challenging, and I imagine that local pros probably shoot ridiculously low scores, and that scoring separation is lower than usual (confirmed by looking at the dubs scores posted on the bulletin board). The course flow was strange in a couple places, with 2 consecutive tees next to one another at one point. I think the holes are a bit crowded at 1,9,10,18, the designers were trying too hard to play back to the parking lot twice, while there isn't a lot of space to work with in that part of the course.
Other Thoughts: With an average DGCR rating over 4/5, I was expecting a great deal more. This is a fun little 18 holer, but it is not a 4. I've rarely seen a worse case of grade inflation for a course in all my experience using DGCR as a disc golf travel guide.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

JB

2-4    7/21/2012   7/21/2012
Review By: birdman101
Played: 49  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 5.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/10/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is in a large county park, that has biking and walking trails and some other park type features, but for the most part the disc golf course is the only thing in the area, so the walkers, joggers, etc aren't ever really in the way.

Nice large concrete tees, with benches and trashcans at each. Most also have a small brush or broom on the tee sign post, or under one of the benches for cleaning them off. The new tee signs are 10000 times better than the old ones. They show the 4 or 5 different positions on each hole, and have distances, and have a screw next to the distance of the current position.

This course requires a variety of shots, and depending on the pin position each individual hole could require something completely different.

Several holes (3,4,5,10,16, and 17) require you to throw over or around some pretty nasty woody brush, which comes into play on most holes. The other holes play up and down the rolling hills, and under/ through large oak trees.

holes 1 and 10 start right by the parking lot, where there is a shelter, restroom, and drinking fountains. holes 9 and 18 baskets are right by the same parking lot.
There is a small concrete pad next to each pin position with an arrow pointing to the next tee, but some of them need to be repainted.

Cons: Not many to speak of, but.....

The path from 4's tee to the pins is really rough, you can walk around instead of through the woods, but that takes time and part of the time you will be down in that mess.

Trash can be an issue on the last 4 or 5 holes due to the apartments that run along there. They are a little sketchy but I have never had a problem.

Hole 5's tee can get some shots from 4's tee at it, there is a net in place that should help, but you never know
Other Thoughts: Several blind shots, so if its your first time you may need to walk some fairways to be sure of where the basket is.

along with that make sure its clear before you throw.

This course can be busy. Seems to be one of the more popular courses in the area. Most of the guys seem to be nice and know what they are doing and talking about.

THERE IS APPARENTLY A WATER PARK GOING IN BACK BY HOLE 15, SO THERE IS MOST LIKELY A REDESIGN HAPPENING.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Jefferson Barracks

5+    7/5/2012   7/6/2012
Review By: catkiller12
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1) This course is definitely not boring. It presents so much variety. No two holes are alike, and each hole presents its own challenge(s).

2) The course is very fair and well designed. Most of the holes are challenging but not impossible. I usually have an opportunity to make at least par if not birdie.

3) Most of the course's scenery is simply beautiful. There is a lot of green and there is no shortage of trees. I find the trees quite nice (except when they get in the way of my discs) during the summer months. They provide excellent shade during a hot summer afternoon. The course is well maintained and very clean.

4) I usually go as soon as the park opens, and there aren't very many people on the course that early in the morning. When I do encounter other players, they are very friendly or at the very least, mind their own business. If I had a question, I wouldn't hesitate to ask other players on the course.
Cons: 1) The course might be a little confusing to navigate for first time players. The first time I played there my father-in-law and I were a little lost sometimes finding the next hole. The signage wasn't that great back then, but the new signs out there are a big improvement.

2) Sometimes the baskets get moved around to different pins, which is nice for the sake of variety, but sometimes I have to search around for the basket to be sure I am throwing the discs in the right direction.

3) Be careful on holes #3 and #4. Those holes have a ton of vegetation, which makes drives interesting if you make a bad first throw. I've almost lost a couple of my drivers on those holes. I did lose one driver on hole #5 so be careful when trying to toss over that heavy brush.
Other Thoughts: This is my favorite course in the St. Louis area. I am relatively new to this sport, but by playing mostly at Jefferson Barracks, I have watched my game improve dramatically. If you are a newbie, don't be afraid to play this course. It's a blast! I usually feel disappointed when I've finished hole #18. Sometimes I just have to satisfy myself with another round of 18 holes.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Probably my all-around favorite anywhere

2-4    5/18/2011   6/18/2012
Review By: Jonnykatz
Played: 17  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 31.3 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Excellent layout. Challenging. Plenty of variety. Love the last tee with the basket hidden in the trees. Absolutely beautiful park. Used to run x-country here and it was my favorite place to run races also.
Cons: A little confusing for first timers. It's been a while since I played. It helped a lot when I joined up with a local player.
Other Thoughts: Probably my favorite anywhere.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Show Me State

1    5/24/2012   5/24/2012
Review By: poorredz
Played: 27  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Well manicure city park with huge mature trees to shade most holes, even in the summer sun. The course is what you make of it,there were beginner players having fun and bypassing some of the real technical hole elements.There is plenty of room to let some shots rip and glide, and some narrow alleyways through the woods that will challenge even the straightest thrower.Lots of blind shots from the tee with no pin in sight until you get halfway down the fairway.
Cons: Every tee has a nice map with multiple pin locations listed, but no markings where the current pin is....have to walk half way to find pin before you shoot or just spray and pray. On a thurs. morning the park was empty, I needed to pair up with someone that knew the course.
Other Thoughts: One of my top courses to play...well laid out,challanging, great variety of play. The winter pictures dont do it justice, it is very beautiful in the late spring.......

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beginner/Intermediate

1    4/7/2012   4/19/2012
Review By: notapro
Played: 415  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 11.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Course is set in a city park that has lots of traffic. Pedestrians, dog walkers, bikers, etc. are present, but there isn't too much interference with the disc golf. Some park roads are close to some holes as well.
- Lots of vegetation is present here, there are the usual mature trees scattered around, but also large patches of dense woods in many spots. These are used well to force line shaping and provide landing zones. A couple of valley shots over these patches, like #16 and #17. #3 and #4 as well, with gaps to hit on top of that.
- Other holes demand shots around the thick woods, like a RHBH hyzer on #10, a straight shot on #7, a RHBH flex shot on #12, a little tunnel on #15, and a tough tee placement in the woods on #14. #18 has some more guarded pins as well. Remaining holes are typical park-style shots; picking a line through mature trees and keeping clean.
- Constant elevation changes keep things very fresh here, almost every hole has a significant slope up or down. Makes the wooded valley shots very punishing if you drop down, getting out and up is no easy feat. Overall, a lot of fun downhill shots, emphasis seems to be on enjoyment over challenge in that regard.
- As mentioned, some tricky basket placements. A few positions are on sloped ground, some are next to or inside the woods, and a few others are near some road OB. A small creek also provides a hazard on a few holes.
- Good teepads and baskets, signage shows distance and which position it's in. Navigation is a little tricky, crossing some roads, etc., but not terrible. Plenty of maps in front.
Cons: - Some pretty open holes here; making up a line can be pretty easy to do on the park-style ones. Different basket positions mix things up well, but some are pretty simple.
- Roads are very close to the course in a few spots. It adds some good challenge, but it also can be a nuisance with lots of foot and car traffic.
- A couple odd layout issues, #6 really breaks up the flow as you have to walk next to the fairway all the way to #7. Heads up on #5's teepad as well, short hyzers from #4 are dangerous.
Other Thoughts: - Overall, a very fun course with a decent amount of challenge. Elevation changes are used well to make each hole enjoyable, and the woods/trees are well used to define the holes. A fair amount of gaps to hit, valleys to cross, and blind shots that must keep clear of the woods. Beginners will find good challenge in the rough, experts will be able to carve it up. Worth a play at least once for everyone.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 City Skunk Surprise

1    3/12/2012   4/12/2012
Review By: RustyStrings615
Played: 36  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 12.5 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A very scenic and relaxing city course named for the military complex surrounding it. The course plays mostly open with big hardwoods framing most of the holes. There are a couple of lightly wooded spots on both the front and back 9, which mixes up the flow nicely....also some nice use of elevation throughout. Holes are not too long for beginner/intermediate players to shoot pars...but long enough to still give a challenge for more advanced players to shoot lots of birdies. Overall...the holes are well designed with good flow...and the lines were fun and interesting to throw...I was tempted to empty my bag often.
Cons:
The back 9 plays near some pretty sketchy looking apartments...had me watching over my shoulder.....I don't think I would play here alone again unless there are lots of other golfers around.
Other Thoughts: Ran into a very confused looking skunk behind Hole 18's basket...he seemed to have no fear of humans whatsoever. He was just chillin' I guess.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Spring Playing

1    4/8/2012   4/8/2012
Review By: twiggycdxx
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 15.3 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: I nice course with different types of shots needed. Some left and right hand curves. Along with some short and some longer holes.
Cons: Holes 3 & 4 are very wooded and kind of ridiculous. My buddy playing for the first time lost a disc on hole 5. Shouldn't have happened, but what can you do. If you find a white Tee Bird with a bunch of marker drawing on the front enjoy:)
Other Thoughts: Course has good maps at the first tee and the course follows nicely.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Epic

1    3/3/2012   3/6/2012
Review By: Jashwa
Played: 98  Reviewed: 60  Exp: 10.3 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This was an awesome course. Here are the pros

*Variety!!! In my opinion, this should be this course's "claim to fame." Shots of varying types on every single hole! Several holes forced you to decide if you wanted to go for it all or lay up and settle for a three, rather go for a 2 but risk getting a potential 5. Each hole has about 4 pin placements each of which are very different from the others on the same hole. If for some reason you don't like the course at a certain time of the year, try coming back in a little bit; it is likely it will play completely different.

*Upkeep... the local club has invested lots of money into this course and from what i've hear, they'll keep doing it. Nice VISIBLE signs indicating mandos!

*Elevation... very unique use of elevation when i was here. just about every had some uphill or downhill element

*Challenge. Enough trees here to force a player to have good technical shots, but enough distance here to force a player to bust out the drivers.
Cons: Flow here is bad... signage could definitely be improved. If we magically lined up the holes so that each tee pad could easily be seen from the previous pin, and made more descriptive signs, it would be a perfect course!
Other Thoughts: If the St Louis Disc Golf Club keeps up the good work and gets new tee signs, this course just might notch a 5.0. Definitely worth going out of your way for.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.