St. Louis (Mehlville), MO 
Jefferson Barracks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #1
3 / 255ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 Gateway city

1    9/13/2008   1/14/2009
Review By: peabody
Played: 46  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 11.8 Years
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Get your cards at the kiosk. The holes are very long for par threes. Each one has it's own character. Watch out where you throw but even at that you will find your disc. Like hole #10, the vegetation on your left down at the bottom of the hill looks like your disc will be lost if it lands there, but take it from me, I was able to find mine easily. Apparently lots and lots of people use that section of hole 10.
Gateway store is right there too so stop in and get you a putter. Wizards and Warlocks rule.
Cons: Getting there can be tough so google you a map or gps it. Finding the holes are hard even with the map on the back of the scorecard. The alt. pin placements looked random to me but it was my first and only time there. Finding the next tee was tough too.
Other Thoughts: I like this course and want to go play it again soon. I would really like to watch the pro's birdie those long par threes.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Not up to hype

1    1/1/2009   1/1/2009
Review By: REDARMY
Played: 32  Reviewed: 29  Exp: 6.6 Years
This review was updated on 12/20/2009
9 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great signs to point you towards the course.

More parking than any other course i've played in St. Louis.

The 4x4 at the tees have hooks for bags/coats, ala Endicott.

Good course map at the sign by the first tee, plus plenty of scorecards at that same sign which have maps on them as well.

Nice big concrete pads.

Plethora of trees make shots a good challenge. Errant drives WILL be punished.

Great pin placements for holes 3 and 4 in particular.

Layout is a little awkward, but it flows rather well.

A fun variety of obstacles to throw around.

Great shot variey as well. I used every disc in my bag when i played.

Popular park, but pedestrains are kept out of the way of golfer traffic and vice versa rather well. Good exposure point for the game.
Cons: Could use a couple more benches and trash cans, but what is supplied is better than most courses.

A couple of baskets (6 and 8) were placed in the "D" placement, but the signs provided only listed A,B,C pins. Someone (appropriately IMO) filled in "D"-umb for the yardage, since there is no official measurement.

No signs between pins/tees. A problem that would easily be solved by the map on the back of the scorecards were that map a little more detailed so you could gather your orientation easier.

Hole 7's pin placed too close to the adjacent road, especially if cars are parked closer towards the pin.

Needs a porta-john or two somewhere on the course, especially when the bathrooms by the first tee are closed.

Unsightly pile of fallen trees/debris in 16's fairway.

Pars underestimated. Every hole is supposed to be a par 3, but some are 400 feet and a few are even 500. When the tour comes around, great, but otherwise the majority of players can't par most of the holes in 3.

Tee signs could use maps on them, and likewise pins could have an indicator of some sort where the next tee is in case newbies don't grab a scorecard.

Some of the number plates atop the baskets aren't pointed towards the tee; makes identifying pins harder than it should be.

Holes 1, 9, 10, and 11,17 are just about on top of eachother. Lots of waiting can break up your rhythm.
Other Thoughts: This course IS a lot of fun, and a very good challenge, but a little grooming will make it spectacular.

9 of 14 people found this review helpful.

 Stunning.

5+    12/30/2008   12/30/2008
Review By: lukegardner
Played: 7  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every hole requires a different tactic because of the vegetation or pin & tee placement.
Great elevation changes without being overbearing.
Use of space is impeccable.
Flow of course is basically unmatched, though it can be confusing the first few times you play it.
Cons: All par 3.
Can be VERY muddy.
Could be easy to lose discs on a couple of the holes (especially hole 3 when there's vegetation).
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in St. Louis. Absolutely a must-play. Odds are good you'll see other disc golfers there as well.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 a great and exciting course

5+    12/25/2008   12/25/2008
Review By: FENTONflyer
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/22/2011
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Everything about this course is awesome. The course applies to forehand, backhand, and overhand. There are several pin placements which make the course a little different every time someone plays. Hole 3 is cool because the hill descends into some woods then the ground raises up in the woods. The basket is right in th middle of the woods. Hole 8 can be long if it is in the DUMB placement. Hole 12 can difficult if someone cannot throw forehand.
Cons: Can there be a con to this course, I think not.
Other Thoughts: The holes are somewhat long and all have some sort of obstacle. Pick up you strokes on the front 9 because the back 9 is slightly harder. Every hole of the 18 is a par 3. Keeping that in mind your drive, approach, and putt all have to be on the mark.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A challenge for all skill levels

7/17/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 74  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 9.6 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JB seems to the gem of St. Louis golfers, almost everyone I talked to highly recommended it, and I was not disappointed. There is a little bit of everything here.
- Great use of the rolling elevation
- Interesting and exciting pin placements
- Multiple elevated tee shots
- Good use of length; not just long to be long
- Fairly well maintained
- Great concrete tee pads
Other Thoughts: - As another reviewer mentioned, there seems to be a lack in interesting and varying shot choices. Most holes can be played with a simple hyzer.
- I found it a bit difficult to navigate from hole to hole, although most tee posts can be seen from the previous basket
- Descriptive tee signs would be a great addition here with the multitude of blind tee shots
- Not many 2 shot holes, but still a fair amount of length

Jefferson comes highly recommended by most locals, and by me as well. Players of all skills will find something challenging and exciting here.

I stopped by the Gateway shop and Justin hooked me up. Stop in and say hi.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Easy to lose discs

1    6/2/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7.7 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Jefferson Barracks is one tough course, it offers a ton of different obstacles and distances. On almost every hole you must have a really good drive or else you will be looking for your discs in the woods. The variety of elevation changes and holes shapes makes each hole different. The first few holes are very simple, winding through some big trees, makes for a good warm up. Then most holes after that you are driving over or through the brush.
Cons: Not too many bad things to say about this course. I used a map that I got off of the St. Louis Disc Golf Forum and it was not a whole lot of help. The course can be a little hard to navigate especially since you cannot see most of the pins from the tees.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you throw brightly colored discs here, no green or yellow, if you throw them into the brush you will have trouble finding it again.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great all-around course

5+    3/24/2008   6/16/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 130  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 20 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good combination of everything. It has an excellent design that requires good course management to stay out of trouble. The park has the usual St. Louis "rolling hills" terrain, and this course uses it to provide some tough uphill shots and some fun elevated tee shots. You have to be careful when you air it out, as there is plenty of vegetation to knock down your shot and keep things challenging. The course is very well maintained, has good signage and flows well. There are restrooms and a water fountain by the pavilions and a few benches scattered around the course.
Cons: I'm probably being nit-picky, but...the course design is challenging but not terribly creative. They used the abundance of vegetation to make shot placement and course management key, but there is not a lot of variety to the shots. There seems to be a hyzer route to almost every hole on the course. A few inspired risk-reward holes would push this course very close to a "5" rating.

The course is not in a terrible neighborhood, but there seems to be an issue with crime in the park. I've had my car broken into in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This was a top-notch course when it was installed in the mid 90's. While the design is a bit dated, it has stood the test of time well and is still a very solid course. I've never heard anyone complain about the golfing on this course. The area has several very good courses, but this is still the course that best represents disc golf in St. Louis.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent Course

5/22/2007   6/13/2007
Review By: rom1966
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent course design and up keep. More of a technical course than an arm course. Nobody I know has played this course and walked away thinking anything but great thoughts about it.
Cons: Only minor negative would be is the apartment complex that sits next to the park. Can get some load obnoxious people over there at times. My only real gripe with this course is that it is too far from my house!!!
Other Thoughts: I don't get to play this course much but it provides the most fun I have playing the game, regardless if it's a good game or bad. If you could only play one course in the St Louis area this should be the one.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice

8/17/2005   6/1/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety, lots of elevation and dangerous shots over small valleys. Good signage and teepads.
Cons: Course maintenance was not ideal upon last visit two years ago. Lots of loose sticks etc. on some holes. Minor detail, not enough to detract from overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Lots of amenities around - restrooms, water fountains and the Gateway store.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.