Disc Golf Center
St. Louis (Mehlville), MO
Jefferson Barracks Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #7
3 / 215ft.   3 / --   3 / --   3 / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 The Enigma

5+    5/18/2011   5/21/2011
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 33  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 3.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/28/2011
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: I love the terrain variety and the general layout of most of the course. The long concrete tees are a plus and there are benches at every one. Short walking distances from basket to the next tee. There are many opportunities to use a good variety of discs and styles to get the right approach and there are so many shots that tease you to take a gamble when you know you ought to play it safe.
It's nice that there is a decent restroom between 5 and 6. Good place to meet lots of other DG players.
Brand new (well refurbished to new condition) baskets with great, custom number plates.
Cons: This course is almost always way too crowded. I have frequently had to wait for more than 10 minutes to throw at each tee because of the crowds. This will often lead to other players trying to get you to 'group-up' with them which usually ends up making your game take even longer. Much of the time, the people inviting turn out to be drunk or subject you to unwelcome/inappropriate jokes and comments. Another "con" to this course is the very thick, overgrown vines that are almost completely choking out all the smaller trees and bushes around the course and make it near impossible to find a disc that goes even a few feet off the fairway on any of the holes. It's evident that people lose a whole lot of discs here because I keep finding other peoples MIA discs while looking for mine (which I almost never find). Another con is the bog that has formed in the valley in the middle of holes 9 and 10, but the folks from the local club have built two very nice little bridges across most of it (thanks).
Other Thoughts: There IS a lot to love about this course, but you ought to go at odd times when everybody else is either at work or still in bed - the course is much more fun then. I'd probably avoid this course during the late spring, summer and early fall unless you are cool with losing discs or are good enough to always throw exactly where you want and as far as you want. Wait until all the foliage has fallen off and/or go in the early spring before it all grows back to have a much less stressful game. Seriously, the parks dept. here needs to get the vines and underbrush cleaned up before it gets any worse and goes beyond the point of recovery.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 St. Louis Best

5+    1/1/2011   1/5/2011
Review By: chains314
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Gorgeous and dynamic course in all seasons. This course has a variety of pin positions that are moved weekly by the local club. There are always locals on the course who will point you in the right direction. Front and back nines start and finish at the same parking lot with ample parking, restrooms, drinking fountain, and a shelter for group events. There are trash cans on nearly every hole and benches on all of them. Plenty of shade in the summertime from the massive trees and the grass is well maintained by park services. There is a great mix of tightly wooded, mildly wooded, and open fairway holes that keep the course exciting.
Cons: Cons would include poor signage which according to the kiosk will be upgraded soon. A few holes of the back nine are by a trashy apartment complex that discards a lot of garbage into the woods. Their kids may also give you a rough time picking up your disc or just mindless yelling.
Other Thoughts: This is my home course and the reason I got into disc golf as big as I did. In another year when the new signs are in place, I could see this course becoming a big contender for a top 10 spot on DGCR.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice variety!

1    9/4/2010   9/21/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 747  Reviewed: 747  Exp: 12.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a sprawling park with no other park uses in the way. There is a great mix of park style holes with mature trees, tight tunnel shots through brushy woods, and a few pretty open shots mixed in. The pin set I played had a really good balance of lefty and righty holes with a great mix of hole shapes that keeps you trying different lines. There was also a good mix of short holes where an ace run is possible with a good drive and some longer holes where you'll want to take a good rip with a driver through the trees.

The alternate pin positions do a great job of changing up the course. Apparently they move pretty often, and are usually in a nice balanced mix, which would really keep the course interesting and fun. The tees were good concrete pads with an ok surface and enough room for the most part. The current pin position was marked with a bolt on the basic hole signs, a nice plus as long as you know the course.
Cons: There is a bad lack of signage here. The tee signs have only distance and current pin position. They have no clue as to the direction to any of the pin locations, and many holes are blind so you do a lot of extra walking to figure out where the holes are. There are a lot of spots where the next tee is not at all obvious, a map or guide is a big plus here if you don't want to do lots of extra wandering.

The grass was a little long when I played, and a local told me that was a continuing issue with the parks people who won't mow and won't allow the club to do the mowing. There was also trash, especially on the more wooded areas of the course.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course with a ton of variety. The elevation available is used superbly to add challenge and some great downhill shots. There is enough danger on some of the holes that errant shots are punished, but it didn't seem like a disc eating course at all. Beginners might find it a bit long, but it's not too tight. More experienced players will find it a bit deuce or die, but in a fun way with some good challenges. In a tournament set up with more of the longer pin placements it could be a great challenge. The club obviously puts in a ton of work, and it shows, with even more pin placements in the works.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 JB

5+    7/5/2010   7/20/2010
Review By: discoholic
Played: 87  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/24/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JB is one of the best courses in the STL metro area. It plays through big old oak trees and over nice elevation change. Every hole on this course is remarkable, but I'll just give you a taste. Hole 1 is a downhill reachable 400+ feet. Hole 3 is my favorite. You have to split two sets of trees and clear the bushes at about 300' in order to hit the island of up hill putts. On hole 5 you have to hit a window to reach the fairway. Hole 12 plays left to right over a valley with bushes at the bottom. Hole 15 is a hallway. Watch out for hole 17. Go DISCover the rest of the great holes, you won't be disappointed.

Each hole has one concrete tee pad with 3-4 pins positions. The amenities are nice; bathrooms, drinking fountain, and shelter with bbq at the 1/10 loop (parking lot), benches at every hole, etc. There are some very knowledgeable players here that you can learn from.
Cons: The flow from basket to tee is confusing the first time, but you can usually get a map at the kiosk near the first tee. Also, the signs are not helpful unless you already know the course. This is a popular park and can be crowded.
Other Thoughts: The tee for hole 10 has a view of the arch in the distance. There is a league on Tuesday. They will let you play, but it's slow going.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 update

5+    7/2/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: SIQWON-STL
Played: 11  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/6/2010
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: not a very easy course for beginners. lots of elevation changes some holes rely on accuracy rather than distance.
Cons: the course doesn't flow very well from hole to hole. if you are playing this course for the first time you will spend alot of time looking for the tees. it's a good idea to go with someone who knows the place well. the kids from the apartments on the back 9 will pick up your discs and run off with them.
Other Thoughts: as of right now they have most of the baskets in a crazy "d" position which makes them very hard to find.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 wonderful jb

5+    5/3/2010   5/29/2010
Review By: hognosesucker
Played: 335  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 15 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -JB is set in the rolling hills and mature hardwoods of a large county park. It offers a wide variety of shots off the tee: hyzers, anhyzers, and straight shots. Holes range from semi open short and a couple bomber holes to tight, technical short and long holes holes.
-Some decent elevation changes, several throw over the ravine holes, some downhill holes, and a couple uphill holes. JB uses the elevation it has very well.
-A large number of holes play over heavily roughed ravines that can be treacherous if you miss your line.
-A lot of amenities: course loops back to the parking lot after 9, bathrooms, water fountains, nice concrete tees, benches at most if not all tees, and teepad brooms on some holes.
-Some nice fast greens on hillsides and a couple par 4s depending on the pin placement
Cons: -The neighborhood around the course is kind of sketchy, there are a lot of odd folks just wandering around the course and people in the parking lot of the apartments next to the course, occasionally kids try to pick up your plastic...but they usually are curious youngsters, not kids trying to steal discs.
-Signage is terrible. They only have the placements (A,B,C,D) and distance. No maps of the holes.
-Navigation is a problem for first timers, there is some back tracking and road crossing involved to navigate this course.
-Due to heavy use the course is starting to get a bit worn. It's still a beautiful course, but a lot of the areas around the pads and pins are worn and several big trees were removed for electical lines and possibly storm damage.
Other Thoughts: Overall JB is a great, tough par 3 golf. The only real reason it isn't higher rated in my book is the relative lack of distance. There are only 2 or 3 par 4s in the longest placements. But, I'd recommend this course to anyone traveling to the STL area. It's always a fun round here and they are constantly changing pin placements, so the course changes a lot and often. It probably falls a bit short of Sioux and Alton and Collinsville from the longs but it is top 4 in the metro area.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 JB and the Trees

2-4    6/10/2008   5/21/2010
Review By: Amenz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice layout, holes don't cramp each other.
Good variety of shorter holes and longer ones.
Elevation changes are great.
Some tricky greens.
Benches on most holes.
Cons: For a newbie the trees may be a bit much at times.
A little more trash than I like to see in some of the woods between holes.
Where the next launch pad is is not always clear.
Other Thoughts: Classic course in St. Louis. A must play.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/17/2010   5/17/2010
Review By: DriveCrusher2
Played: 20  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Concrete pads, good distances on the each hole. Many obstacles on each hole also known as trees and there are lots of them on every hole. Challenges your throw and and accuracy as well as throwing strength. Can't really unleash a drive on any hole but have to throw drive for distance and place it well. Locals seem nice.
Cons: Tee boxes were very narrow and when teeing off some tees were restricted due to the bushes on either side were either in front of the tee where they were not supposed to be or on the sides making it difficult to achieve the throw i wanted (felt crowded). VERY hard to navigate if you have never played it before, got to hole 6 finished it and couldn't find hole 7. No maps or signs that tell where thew hole is located just a sign that has hole number, a pin placement letter and distance (ex. A 325 ft) thats it, nothing else. I thought hole number 9 was the practice hole until i figured out fast when a disc landed close to me that it was actually 9. From tee 11 we threw at hole 12 because we did not know where hole 11 was until i looked found it by mistake looking for my drive.
Other Thoughts: I would play it again if it wasn't wet and if i was in the area, i only rated it a 2 because of the navigation troubles. If u can find a map of the course to carry with u by all means do it. there is one at the beginning of the course but its difficult to remember where everything is.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 jb

5+    12/5/2009   12/10/2009
Review By: discdork
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 11.8 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: concrete tees, signs, restrooms, waterfountains, soda machine, great mix of holes, elevation changes, woods, long holes, a couple ace runs, wait at tee 1 on any given day for 10 minutes and you can find some one to play with , from dawn to dusk always someone playin
Cons: cons what cons? well i guess i liked it a little more when the woods were more dense along time ago, and theres no water
Other Thoughts: Legendary in st.louis the course which all others are compared to in st.louis, a real deal champ caliber course

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A great course

5+    9/10/2009   9/11/2009
Review By: Drewski
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.1 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course for players of all ratings, it is full of hazards and it is challenging. There are scorecards at the first hole and there is a nice course layout. Fequently the pin placement is moved and it keeps it interesting.
Cons: It gets crowded alot. Best to go in the mornings or weekday afternoons. There is some very thick brush on some holes.
Other Thoughts: Nice and cool course to play. I have lost discs there before and have had people call me so I can get them back. Great disc golf community around there.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.