Disc Golf Store
St. Louis (Mehlville), MO
Jefferson Barracks Share
Uploaded By: Bevo Hole #2 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 380ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 45
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 A challenge for all skill levels

7/17/2008   7/23/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 67  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.9 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: JB seems to the gem of St. Louis golfers, almost everyone I talked to highly recommended it, and I was not disappointed. There is a little bit of everything here.
- Great use of the rolling elevation
- Interesting and exciting pin placements
- Multiple elevated tee shots
- Good use of length; not just long to be long
- Fairly well maintained
- Great concrete tee pads
Other Thoughts: - As another reviewer mentioned, there seems to be a lack in interesting and varying shot choices. Most holes can be played with a simple hyzer.
- I found it a bit difficult to navigate from hole to hole, although most tee posts can be seen from the previous basket
- Descriptive tee signs would be a great addition here with the multitude of blind tee shots
- Not many 2 shot holes, but still a fair amount of length

Jefferson comes highly recommended by most locals, and by me as well. Players of all skills will find something challenging and exciting here.

I stopped by the Gateway shop and Justin hooked me up. Stop in and say hi.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Easy to lose discs

1    6/2/2008   6/26/2008
Review By: Chucktown
Played: 18  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 5/20/2009
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Jefferson Barracks is one tough course, it offers a ton of different obstacles and distances. On almost every hole you must have a really good drive or else you will be looking for your discs in the woods. The variety of elevation changes and holes shapes makes each hole different. The first few holes are very simple, winding through some big trees, makes for a good warm up. Then most holes after that you are driving over or through the brush.
Cons: Not too many bad things to say about this course. I used a map that I got off of the St. Louis Disc Golf Forum and it was not a whole lot of help. The course can be a little hard to navigate especially since you cannot see most of the pins from the tees.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you throw brightly colored discs here, no green or yellow, if you throw them into the brush you will have trouble finding it again.

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great all-around course

5+    3/24/2008   6/16/2007
Review By: Three Putt
Played: 135  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 19.3 Years
This review was updated on 12/22/2009
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a good combination of everything. It has an excellent design that requires good course management to stay out of trouble. The park has the usual St. Louis "rolling hills" terrain, and this course uses it to provide some tough uphill shots and some fun elevated tee shots. You have to be careful when you air it out, as there is plenty of vegetation to knock down your shot and keep things challenging. The course is very well maintained, has good signage and flows well. There are restrooms and a water fountain by the pavilions and a few benches scattered around the course.
Cons: I'm probably being nit-picky, but...the course design is challenging but not terribly creative. They used the abundance of vegetation to make shot placement and course management key, but there is not a lot of variety to the shots. There seems to be a hyzer route to almost every hole on the course. A few inspired risk-reward holes would push this course very close to a "5" rating.

The course is not in a terrible neighborhood, but there seems to be an issue with crime in the park. I've had my car broken into in the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: This was a top-notch course when it was installed in the mid 90's. While the design is a bit dated, it has stood the test of time well and is still a very solid course. I've never heard anyone complain about the golfing on this course. The area has several very good courses, but this is still the course that best represents disc golf in St. Louis.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

  Excellent Course

5/22/2007   6/13/2007
Review By: rom1966
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Excellent course design and up keep. More of a technical course than an arm course. Nobody I know has played this course and walked away thinking anything but great thoughts about it.
Cons: Only minor negative would be is the apartment complex that sits next to the park. Can get some load obnoxious people over there at times. My only real gripe with this course is that it is too far from my house!!!
Other Thoughts: I don't get to play this course much but it provides the most fun I have playing the game, regardless if it's a good game or bad. If you could only play one course in the St Louis area this should be the one.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice

8/17/2005   6/1/2007
Review By: Raoul Duke
Played: 16  Reviewed: 15
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great variety, lots of elevation and dangerous shots over small valleys. Good signage and teepads.
Cons: Course maintenance was not ideal upon last visit two years ago. Lots of loose sticks etc. on some holes. Minor detail, not enough to detract from overall experience.
Other Thoughts: Lots of amenities around - restrooms, water fountains and the Gateway store.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.