Yorktown, IN 
Lions Club Park Share
Uploaded By: bradtollefson Hole #E (Taken 5/2015)
-- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole E Tee: Basket just to the right of dead tree center, river just to right of tree line.

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Blind/Obscured course with LH bias

1    9/26/2015   9/27/2015
Review By: ChipBoo33
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has a lot of variation as it's built into, around, and adjacent to a LOT of hillsides. In the woods (holes 8-12), you have to be able to navigate a lot of "tunnel" shots which, combined with the elevation, make for "challenging" conditions. Course rewards those who are shot-makers and not just "grip-it and rip-it" throwers. You have to THINK you're way around course for a lot of the holes.
Cons: This course has a distinct left-hander bias -- a LOT of dogleg right holes (or ones which are "hidden" to the right). Overall, I felt that too many of the holes were hidden to the point where I was guessing way too much on both club and shot selection. On #6 (I think), a right-hander player has to send their tee shot beyond the hole and then shoot back to the basket which might as well be in a cave.
Other Thoughts: On this course (and this may as well apply to all courses), it would help immensely to know "distance to the basket/hole." Like on traditional golf courses, where they use sprinkler heads to mark 50/100/150 distances (yards) to the center of the green, this course would greatly benefit from some type of 'marker' to show remaining distance from drives. Too often I felt that I had no real "sense" of where I was relative to the pin to gauge my 2nd (or 3rd) shot.

Not a course for 1) beginners, 2) for anyone with limited disc selection (for distance, flight pattern), or 3) for any right-hander who lacks either a decent forehand shot (with a low or zero turn rating), or who can't throw an anhyzer (with reliability, distance, and decent accuracy).

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Holes A-F

5+    5/2/2015   5/3/2015
Review By: bradtollefson
Played: 80  Reviewed: 14
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a good all around course with plenty of variety and elevation changes.
Mostly I wanted to discuss the 6 new holes A-F found between holes 4 and 5.

these are a great addition to the course. The holes play down in a basin by the river. The river only comes into play on 2 holes. What I like about these holes is that they contrast well with the rest of the course. They are a not as wide open as the beginning or ending holes or as tight as the wooden section in the middle. They have defined fairways that are wide enough to be playable but narrow enough to provide a bit of a challenge. They have curves and elevation changes that add variety to an already interesting course.
Cons: We had to re-route hole B due to water. This should dry out soon but may be a problem after heavy rains. The rough was, well, rough. This may be an issue if not maintained through the summer. We spent a few minutes looking for discs and we thought we knew where they landed.

We skipped hole E as it is right by river. You could easily lose a disc in the river on this hole and it does not look as if it would be easy if possible to retrieve.
Other Thoughts: We would have played hole E had the basket been placed on the left side of the fairway instead of by the river. I like a challenge but not one that will cost me a disc if I screw up.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Shift underway?

2-4    1/2/2015   1/4/2015
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 244  Reviewed: 228  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/17/2015
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was really surprised how much I liked the variety on this course (actually named the Carl Smith Memorial DGC), having come just to check it out. Throwing on these highly visible orange & natural "Arachnid" baskets was a treat. The three sets of chains and the deep cages caught great (a feature you're going to like on the creekside slopes on 8 & 10, as well as on the pedestal hole 14). And the tees were fantastic, with either large, level concrete or my personal preference, the paver stones locked in a large wooden box frames.

When you park by the water tower, you'll see the nearby practice basket and a large (currently empty) sign just across the little valley to your north, where holes 1 through 5 feature open parkland with large trees to define your lines. You get a taste of the woods on the pretty, left to right ace run on 6, where you throw from a recessed tee across that valley and to the top of the ridge just west of the water tower. After a short 'bomber' on 7, you play in the woods, slopes and creek for holes 8 to 12, and then up a long blind shot to the corner on 13, out to a raised basket on 14, along the wood line on 15, and back out into the open for the three finishing holes.

Though I didn't see them myself, there are supposedly alternate basket positions for each hole, so the course has even more variety. It already uses elevations and tree lines very well, without being overly punishing in length. If anything there is a slight advantage here for those who can shape lines left to right. Hole 12 is definitely laid out as a lhbh s-shaped fairway right now. I'd say this is a course geared to Intermediate level skills in terms of technicality, and Recreational skills in terms of length. And a major plus is the fact that the course doesn't pose much risk to the playground or shelter, and that makes it feel like a place with disc golf as the focus. Nice.
Cons: The signage seems to be in flux here, with mostly just posts with the hole number in place right now. If it were my course, I'd put up some laminated temp signs and indicate 'next tees' somehow. I'd also 'mando' hole one left of one of the trees there to keep the rhbh hyzers away from the spiral slide. Not sure if they can do much about it, but the walk from 13 to the pedestal shot's tee at 14 seems oddly long. Finally, the open holes feel a little bit like they're just 'out and back' holes in terms of design, though they do afford the bigger arms to air it out a little that way.
Other Thoughts: It's important to note that the tees are being renumbered (mostly just shifted by two), and that I sketched a new aerial map reflecting the changes. Also, I didn't ask the one other group that was on the course, but when I looked to my right off the 5th tee, I saw another basket and yet another tee, so I'm wondering if there aren't more changes and additions in store here. Excellent if so!

edit 3/17/15: in fact (h/t to dgcr member 'numbernine'), there are now letter holes A-F between holes 4 and 5, so it sounds as if you get another batch of fun holes in the woods before coming back out to the field to rejoin the existing course. And they're addressing the signage, so kudos to the Yorktown gang!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Play here!

5+    7/7/2014   7/13/2014
Review By: flickaway
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of distance holes and wooded technical holes. Two different basket placements to give the home players variety. Concrete tee pads; bright orange baskets. A couple of great elevation changes.
Cons: The tees are not well marked (many signs missing), and there are a couple of extra baskets here and there. So the first time you play here, take a picture of the overview map in the parking lot so you know where to go next. This course would be perfect with some permanent maps and numbering.
Other Thoughts: Love this course and play often!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    10/29/2013   10/31/2013
Review By: codeman7193
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Great Course, concrete tees, nice placement beautiful scenery, there are signs now
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: I think its a nice course, people need to remember, its a public park, and we cant just destroy nature so we can be happy(yes that means dealing with poison ivy) and yes the signs were torn up a little, but there are new(possibly temporary) signs, if that helps everyone....

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Needed course for the area

1    8/10/2013   8/10/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 94  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 9.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Large concrete tee pads.

Grippy spiderweb 3 baskets. Basket part itself is painted orange. 16 of 18 baskets had the basket number on it.

Variety: flat open shots, hilly open shots, hilly wooded shots, heavily wooded holes, blind shots, narrow fairways, etc.

A few interesting basket locations. 16 stands out the most, raised basket on a built mound. Tunnel throws.

Course map at the start of course, signage for most of the holes. Signs listed distance, picture of hole, and par.

2 basket locations per hole, changes every once in awhile.

Water on holes 8, 10, and 17 but it was only a small small creek.

Practice basket.
Cons: Poison ivy everywhere! Holes 1, 4, 5, 6, 9, 11, 16, 17, and 18 had poison ivy in the fairways and near the baskets. Hole 9 was cut into woods, had a tunnel shot, but surrounded by poison ivy.

Holes 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 14, 17, and 18 had signs missing. Would have been helpful. Had to ask a few people to find tees for holes 9 and 15.

No trash cans nor benches in the park.

Lots of bugs.

One tee per hole.
Other Thoughts: I feel this course if in 100% condition would be a 4 out of 5. Missing signs, including signs pointing to the next tee, and the poison ivy knocked this down to a 3.5.

I really enjoyed this course and will definitely make the drive from Indy to play it again. You will not be disappointed, especially if you add the Muncie course to your adventure.

If this course had alternate tees, signs and arrows pointing to the next hole, and less poison ivy, it would definitely be a 4 out of 5.

I would recommend this course. It is much needed for the area.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 great use of the land

1    8/1/2012   8/1/2012
Review By: Oldstump
Played: 84  Reviewed: 6
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A fun park course that makes excellent use of available terrain. Park was very clean. There is a welcome sign at the parking area with a marked course map (aerial photo). Nice signs on most holes including: distance, map of hole, and direction to the next tee.

Concrete tee pads, except the woods holes which are brick bordered with timbers. These are very well done, allowing nice tees to be placed in a couple spots where concrete would have to be carried in by buckets.

Baskets are Spiderweb III with orange coloration which helps with visibility.
Cons: Tee pads on a couple longer holes may be short for some players that prefer a longer run-up.

No benches or garbage cans at the tee pads.

Missing signs on some tees. Obviously an issue not limited to this course but the db's have alredy destroyed the tee signs on #1 and several of the woods holes.
Other Thoughts: This course is a great addition to the area. The first 8 holes which are more open with large mature trees. The pin locations on these holes make direct access a challenge. Birdie opportunities on many of these, ace lanes on a couple.

The pin on hole #9 offers great risk/reward as it is located atop a mound behind a small group of trees. Sail 10' too far and the back-side drops 30'+ to a creek bed.

Holes 10-14 enter woods with tight lines to be found. Shorter lengths on these holes but with these tight lines drives must be accurate "through the gaps" for birdie or ace runs.

The last 4 holes open up a bit with some elevation playing into the mix on 15 & 18. Hole 18 plays to 427' with the drive needing to be played slightly uphill before a downhill run to the basket.

Overall a fun course which I will play again when I'm in the Muncie area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Spiderweb 3 baskets

2-4    6/27/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: NerdlyPeabody
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well thought out and well executed course. Variety of shots needed. Fun for all types of players. No nasty water traps to steal your discs.
Cons: Large dog in pen beside #2 pin will eat your disc if you are unlucky enough to land in his domain.
Other Thoughts: As soon as i heard about these new Spider Web 3 baskets I was eagerly looking forward to playing this course. (I was not disappointed)

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    12/29/2011   2/1/2012
Review By: DOGvsRAPTOR
Played: 45  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 7.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Concrete and hand made tee pads, touch of elevation, nice park. Mature trees are used, as well as a few holes in a more wooded area. Hole 9 has an awesome green.
Cons: As others have stated, a few simple bridges would do wonders for the course. Also, the idiots who drive their vehicles between 9 and 10 really tear the grass up, but if you throw a good shot it shouldn't be an issue.
Other Thoughts: Really fun course. Nice mix of distance and technical know how. The shorter drives still require a good shot. As said before, its just fun and compliments the course in Muncie very well. Great work.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 On it's way!

5+    1/16/2012   1/16/2012
Review By: numbernine
Played: 57  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 6.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's hard to objectively review a course that you put a lot of work in to, but I feel like I can do so pretty well right now. All that said, here we go -

The setting! - The course sits at the end of a dead end road in a beautiful park. This park was essentially unused until we put the course in .

Baskets - Custom built, orange, Arachnid Disc Golf Targets on the course. There are literally no better baskets on the market. Period. These things catch better than any basket on the planet.

tee pads - Most of the pads on the course are long, wide, concrete pads that were put in meticulously to ensure they were leveled.and correct. The tee pads in the woods were hand made from cobblestone and railroad ties. These are one of the gems of the course IMHO. Mr. Odell put a lot of work into these, and it shows.

Shot variety - From long, downhill shots with roll away greens, to short, technical wooded shots that play around a creek, this course has a bit of everything.

Signage - There are clearly marked signs on each hole that show the layout and preferred route to each basket. These signs are secured to 4x4's and makes it easier to locate the next tee pad.

use of terrain/elevation - Around 14 or so of the holes use the woods, a creek, a big hill or some combination of those to create an interesting shot selection. Number 9 is the perfect example of this. You tee off from a hill, to a sweeping anhyzer shot, up a hill with a dramatic drop off behind the target to a creek.
Cons: lack of benches - thus far, we have no benches on the course. the park's department is supposed to be getting these to us soon.

lack of trashcans. - I think there is literally one in the park. Maybe two. we're supposed to be getting more soon.

mud - we really need to install a couple of foot bridges on this course. Mud is bad by the water on a few holes
Other Thoughts: As this course matures and we continue to add to it (it's only been open for about 3 months now), it really will move up to a 4.0-4.5 type of course.
As it stands, I would say that it's one of the better courses in East Central Indiana. Come out and see for yourself!

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.