Disc Golf Store
Baltimore, MD 
Lake Montebello DGC Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #2 (Taken 7/2012)
3 / 204ft.   3 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Approach



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Weird/Danger

1    4/21/2014   4/21/2014
Review By: George Economos
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Easy to find and we'll placed within park. At least the first three holes I loved, unfortunaletly I didn't get to play any more holes I'll explain in the cons.
Cons: So I was all excited, found Park no problem found hole
one started right away. After driving hole four I ended up ob in the river. While looking for my disc, this guy that had walked up the road past me while I was driving, apparently saw my drive and followed down to the river. I was of course suspicious so I started to half retreat back up hole 3 while half looking for my disc all the while watching this creep walk towards the river, and proceed to pull out his junk. I thought maybe he had to take a pee and didn't see me in the brush looking for my disc until we met eyes and he head motioned to me to come here. I turned and bolted up the hill and over towards hole 4 tee and the parking lot near those bldgs near 4. I saw people in lot so I figured that was some kind of safety. The guy finally appeared from the woods at 3's basket and picked up the pace towards me. I yelled to him "what are you doing , why are you following me"? He said" I'm just walking, what's up, what are you doing", I said "trying to play golf, why don't you keep walking and let me do my thing". He said in a pissed voice, "fine, have a nice day", and I said " you too, now go ahead I'll wait for you to walk up that road".
He walked away waving his hands and yelling something inaudible. I walked straight to my car 500 feet behind him and never went back for my yellow xl. My heart is still pounding.
He was 45-55 long thin grey hair, sunglasses, med build. He was obviously familiar with the park. He drove a mid to late 80's foam green accord or civic md plates 9af4370 not exact. Look out this guy is creepy.
Other Thoughts: Wish I coukdve played the whole course but it freaked me out so I left. Maybe another time not alone.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Redesigned Course Ready for Action

5+    3/1/2013   4/14/2012
Review By: turbo
Played: 11  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 27.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/17/2013
9 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New equipment, excellent grounds maintenance, great views of Lake Montebello and the surrounding skyline. New tees (short, regular, long) and basket relocations make course great for any skill level. Three holes in woods with permanent double basket locations and 2 more wooded holes with dramatic elevation changes make for a challenging course.
Cons: There is a walk of a couple hundred yards from 18's basket back to Hole 1, but one can park midway between if that's an issue.

Poison ivy, grape ivy and multi-flora rose are a constant battle in the wooded areas, but we spray when we can.
Other Thoughts: There is a variable breeze coming across the lake almost all of the time.

All construction has been completed and the affected areas have been remediated!!

The original course layout has been modified considerably, thanks to Glen Hatfield, and many comments by previous reviewers no longer apply. For example, Holes 2, 3 and 4 now play through woods north of the basket for Hole 1; the parallel counterflow fairways for original Holes 2, 3 and 4 have been eliminated. Also, original Holes 13, 14, 15, 17 and 18 have been redesigned, improving the course flow, increasing the difficulty and decreasing the distance from Hole 18's basket back to Hole 1.
The redesign of Holes 15 and 17 takes the Water Treatment Plant fence out of play.

Each hole has red (short), white (original) and blue (long) tees. Playing the blue tees will add ~500' to the course length, likely making it >8000'.

The "natural" tees remain, and with the reality that Lake Montebello is the principal water treatment facility for Baltimore, future construction might occur anywhere, so it's unlikely that concrete pads (or even Fly 18 pads) will be installed. Meanwhile, when dry, the tee areas are fine. If it has rained, then the tees might get muddy with heavy use. In that case, "liberal tees" apply, i.e., move over to the side and throw (just like you would with a fairway lie)..

New wooded Holes 2, 3 and 4 and the two holes (7 and 8) on the Herring Run side of the course add a dimension to the course that was absent from the original design.

(Btw, the fence that a couple of reviewers had characterized as "barbed wire" pervading the whole course, only comes into play on Hole 14 (original Hole 12). Any reasonably-skilled player should be able to throw a low drive on Hole 14 that avoids the fence. The basket location for Hole 1 has been moved considerably farther from the fence, taking it virtually out of play.)


9 of 10 people found this review helpful.

Monte's Python Redux

2-4    5/9/2013   11/13/2011
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 76  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/12/2013
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 holes with 3 sets of natural tees for most holes providing an excellent variety of par 3s and 4s, distances and challenge. Uphill, downhill, sideways, to the right, to the left, straight, fast greens, OB, risk/reward, you name it, you got it. 18 Discatcher baskets and a few extra baskets on some holes with permanent A/B positions. 10 holes have A/B positions, and the other 8 are single pin positions. The course plays the woods and around the more open lake front so now there's something for everyone. There is a ton of elevation throughout the course and a few flat holes and the use and design is excellent. Water fountain over by the basket of 17 near the pump house by the street.
Cons: Signage is a little lacking and navigation was tricky the first time without a map. For some natural tees are a con, however I don't really have a problem with them. Poison ivy in the woods and some thick rough, but this should improve as it gets played and sprayed. Tall grass on hole 8 that won't get mowed but most people should clear it if they are using the appropriate skill level tee pad. Crossing fairway on hole 11 from the long tee on hole 12, and crossing fairway on hole 16 B pin from short tee on 17, these shouldn't be a huge issue though. Potential of disc loss is real. Holes 1 and 14 play near the barbed wire fence of the water treatment plant, but poses little health risk, just loss of disc on bad shots. Some park patrons will camp right in the fairway or by the basket, so beware of where you throw. No bathrooms.
Other Thoughts: Monte's new long python layout is pretty sweet. It's one of the longest and has the most elevation and variety of Md's public courses. With the new holes through the woods Monte has the variety it was missing before. Now you play some long wooded holes with a lot of elevation and danger off the fairways, with some deep ditches and big cliffs! Even the more open holes around the lake front have been redesigned and use more of the woods. Now you tee off in the woods or play into the woods on some holes and add a whole new dimension. There are a number of holes where you can rip a distance driver, but still want to land safe from trees or OB to set up the next shot on the par 4s. You also have to play the wind around the lake. If you like to watch discs fly this is the place to be!

The park is pretty with the lake backdrop and manicured lake front fairways. There are lots of people walking, biking, working out around the lake so it should be relatively safe given the hood it's in. All the people can also be a con, although there was no one else playing the course when I was there. I would watch your back though and beware your surrounding especially on the backside of the woods where most people aren't. There was some party near the park and the music was pumping through the woods, I enjoyed it. There are little workout areas around the Lake if you miss a shot and want to do some pull ups or elliptical or go run or bring your bike and ride around the lake for a workout. There is a 6 hole beginner course on the other side of the Lake that can be used as a warm up or ace run.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.