Las Cruces, NM
Sunrise Terrace Share
Uploaded By: lascrucesdean Hole #9 (Taken 11/2011)
3 / 270ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Look out for kids

1    6/6/2013   6/7/2013
Review By: benwilly
Played: 14  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 1. Pretty easy course
2. Nice and shaded
3. marked starts
Cons: 1. Play ground equipment in the middle of the course
2 have to watch out for families playing at the park.
3. only has 4 different baskets. you throw to the same baskets from different starting points
4. single chain baskets instead of double chain
Other Thoughts: decent course but safety for people at the park is an issue

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Elevation Changes But Safety Issues Concern!

1    4/1/2013   4/1/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a lovely little, green city park with some great hilly terrain to work with. The course designers used this elevation to max. # 3 is a great little 235' ACE run to a basket down in the valley. # 6 has you throwing across the same valley from one hillside to a basket 300' on the other side. But my favorite hole was # 7, It's a tight anhyser, 244' around some trees to a blind basket sitting under some tree branches.

There are only four baskets. They're a brand called Freedom Nation. Two are single chains and two are double chained??? The teepads are painted on sidewalks, picnic areas and in one case, on a drainage culvert. They are black and shaped like baseball home plates. Using the Hole Info details from DGCR, I had no problems navigating the course. Without it, I would have been hopelessly lost.
Cons: #'s 8 and 9 especially present major safety concerns in my opinion. # 8 is 298' foot across the park and the only obstacle in your way is the playground apparatus which stands directly in the way. It's fairly easy to throw around this equipment but sooner or later someone is going to drill some 4 year old on the playground equipment and his/her mother's going to go straight to the city park's department.

# 9 is a similar disaster waiting to happen. It's 270'. You're throwing to a blind basket, close to picnic tables, playground equipment, etc. When children are present are present, players will need to skip these holes! I know from 33 years experience that players, especially teenage disc golfers, aren't wired to skip holes when children are present.

The wind was pretty brutal on the day I played.
Other Thoughts: Luckily, I had the park to myself today. I loved the elevation changes and the ACE runs. I hope to see the safety issues addressed because I think this course is a great little recreational level course. I surely enjoyed playing it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

good foundation

1    7/14/2012   7/16/2012
Review By: bangingthechains
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great elavation changes solid baskets in new condition only four baskets but nice placement of tee boxes makes for a nice nine hole course parks clean and mowed not much of a chance to lose discs all around a great place to play hope to play again if im ever back in New Mexico..
Cons: single chain baskets missed a few easy birds inconsidarate parents and children not wanting to let you play through had to skip hole one and nine at times guess its true if you dont play you dont know. Kinda hard to find set in a rural neighborhood bring a gps or google map...

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 fun at the new player level

1    10/30/2011   11/2/2011
Review By: chriso07
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: lots of elevation changes and obstacles(playground equipment and trees) make for fun throws also got to play with the course designer and went over tee locations so that was nice
Cons: nothing that cant be played with a midrange or putter over threw hole 7 by about 70 foot and had to retrieve it out of one of the neighbors yards
Other Thoughts: will deffinetly play again in the future and hopefully will see some changes maybe in the way of alternate tees and mandos

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 lascrucesdean

1    1/26/2014   9/18/2011
Review By: lascrucesdean
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/26/2014
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: shady some elevation changes some intersting holes using trees and playground equipment as obstacles not too difficult rewarded for accuracy rather than length lightly used can generally have the place to yourself
Cons: Nothing real long short course only 4 baskets surrounded by houses could end up in a back yard with an errant shot
Other Thoughts: Finally after all these years got double chains on all the baskets.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.