Disc Golf Store
Charlotte, NC 
Pinewood Elementary Share
Uploaded By: swilsons Hole #2 (Taken 7/2013)
3 / 75ft.   4 / 356ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Just a putter - unless you play the blacks

2-4    1/8/2013   1/14/2013
Review By: jksenior
Played: 117  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good for what it is: "a practice your upshot and jump putting game."

- Take your new putters that you want to break in
- Only one or two holes where you can throw a full putter (or maybe a mid for some people)
- Navigation is easy - you can prety much see the entire course as yopu look around.
- the baskets are good - better tham many "big" courses.

There were Black tees marked for most if not all of the holes. There were signs to the black tees on the baskets - i.e. Black 2 on 1's basket.

These black tees were marked with little signs on trees. They added quite a bit a length to the course. So much so that you could throw mids and a fairway driver or two. No distances marked, so you have to wing it.
Cons: - natural teepads
- no trash cans on the course, so if you take a dog (as I did) you have to carry their sh** around with you - assuming you pick it up.
- course circles a playground so you could be dodging kids as they come and go.
Other Thoughts: Asd I said, this is not a course to go and play competitive golf. Know what you're going to get before you get there and it serves a purpose.

It is actually Madison Park which is adjacent to Pinewood elementary school.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Great Surgery Rehab Course

2-4    1/6/2013   1/11/2013
Review By: DavidNC
Played: 20  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Someone has taken the time to lengthen the cource considerably using the existing baskets but placing the tees much further away than the original course. There are signs posted on the new tee locations (black wood with white paint) and signs added to most of the baskets pointing to the next "black tee."
Now, I do not think these tees are in the "black" tier, but it does lengthen the course considerbly; there are even some MANDOs on a couple of holes. Unfortunately, the distances are not posted on these new holes; but I will say 300s are in play on this course now and on many holes.
Cons: Be cognizant of Fire Ants. Many colonies populate the course. Not so much a problem in January; but, come April . . .
Other Thoughts: The course is what it is. Very Short and open. Just what one would expect. Rehabbing (I do not think this is a word) from shoulder surgery, this course presented a great opportunity to just get out and throw, two to three weeks earlier than I would have been able to for even Elon Park or Bailey.
Moreover, a great course to introduce a young one to the game.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Bring Your Putter

1    7/1/2012   9/1/2012
Review By: PhatPatW
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: If you want to practice your long range putting or mid range you have found your course.
Cons: All open holes with no obstacles
Other Thoughts: If you have children that are leading to play DC then I would bring them here.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pinewood? Wood?

1    6/16/2012   6/19/2012
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sweet tee signs, nice baskets, kind of nifty basket positions considering what they had to work with. Nice chill spot to air out the putters or if you want a little challenge a lid round. Ample parking. Flows well, easy navigation. Quick.
Cons: Very short holes. Some of the holes are really just longish putts. Mostly wide open in a field but some trees do spice it up a bit.

Natural tees and some are angled funny.

Literally right beside a school (duh) so no double fisting Olde English probably.
Other Thoughts: If you need to host an Ace Race or work on your putt & approach game, this is your course. Surprisingly more popular than I thought it would be. Great course for kids, uncoordinated women and complete n00bs. You could probably safari some longer, more interesting holes if have the course to yourself. The basket locations are better than just "baskets in a field" kind of 9 holers b/c they can punish you with road OB and trees if you're overzealous on a few of them. But it's a highly polished practice course and in the grand scheme of things I had to rate it harshly.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 easy lunch time putting

1    11/30/2011   12/1/2011
Review By: albert8fish
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 15.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Open nine hole putting course that is fun for some warm up putting from natural marked tees
Safari opportunity is great, I always like that
Good work for approach game, and jump putting
Tee signs are nice
Aces are the goal here, or teaching young ones
Cons: Flat and wide open with very few obstacles
When it is grassy it will be more fun, mud makes it interesting and slippery
Other Thoughts: I play Renny almost daily at lunch and weekends I play two or three of the other courses about town
I like this park for being a trainer for my long putting at lunch, and switch it up.I love Renny and it develops my long game, this is ace run central. For what it is it will do nicely. Nice walk at lunch, I like it.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice beginner-friendly, neighborhood course

2-4    9/15/2011   9/15/2011
Review By: heelboycraig
Played: 173  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Madison Park at Pinewood Elementary is a short, pitch-n-putt course. This defines what a neighborhood course is about, and who it's targeted at.
- This is the ultimate beginner, introduction course. I picture a course like this getting a lot of play from people in the neighborhood looking to try something new. Holes average only slightly more than 130 feet, so it's clearly not aimed for the big throwers.
- For more experienced players, this course is going to be a birdie fest. There are a couple of safari hole layouts that will offer some more challenge and/or length. More experienced players will have to use some sort of gimmick (ace race, skins match) to make this fun.
- There are several interesting holes. After three uninspiring holes, you suddenly get a (somewhat) dose of reality on #4. It's the most challenging hole on the course, with basket protected by several trees, and the longest, at 220 feet. This is the only hole where you need to throw a good shot to be in birdie range. #6 is a dogleg right (165 feet) with the basket right under a tree. You can throw high, aiming for the tree, letting your disc fall close to the basket. #8 is a 160 foot hole with the basket protected by one tree, forcing you to throw around or over.
- Nice wooden tee signs. They only offer distance, hole number and par, but that's all that is really needed. It'd be great if other (18 holer) Charlotte courses had signs as nice as this.
- Holes #1 - 3 play in a decent sized field. It's at least 300 feet, which will allow people to practice drives or longer mid-range. This should be the only reason anyone will need to bring any disc longer than a mid-range or putter.
- Quick, easy play. It took me 30 minutes to play through twice, and that included time to right down all the course info for this site. Carrying multiple discs actually slowed me down.
Cons: Too many short, straight holes. #1, 2, 3 & 9 all feel like long putts or layup shots - all range from 75 - 120 feet with no obstacles whatsoever. #5 & 7 at least have trees that could come into play, but still don't offer much.
- I thought it was weird that the walks from #1 basket to 2 tee & from #2 basket to 3 tee are longer than holes #1 & 2. Not that adding length would make them that much better, but why not make those holes 50 - 75 longer, if you're already walking that distance? It would at least make them longer than jump putt distance.
- General lack of challenge. Again, this course is at a neighborhood park, connected to an elementary school, so it's not aimed for regulars. Renny is only 10 minutes away, if you're really looking for a challenge. This was a mini-golf course when compared to a real golf course.
- Lack of amenities. There's a playground, and that's about it. When most of the play is coming from neighbors, there isn't need for many bells or whistles, so just be aware if stopping by for a quick round or two.
Other Thoughts: I can't emphasize how much I enjoyed the "neighborhood" feel of this course. The main road (Seneca) is two-lanes with bike lanes and side walks, so you're already not having to deal with traffic. Add to that houses across and behind the course, and it just has that feel. I really think the course will get most of its play from locals who discover the baskets while walking by or at the playground. Madison Park, along with Fewell Park in Rock Hill, are the two courses that offer the most intimate, neighborhood feel.
- There isn't a lot of fun factor here, if you're more experienced. I think the fun factor will be in bringing newbies, or kids to the course, and watching them get a taste for disc golf. It'd be cool seeing lots of parents playing here with there kids.
- With this being a beginner course, it'd be nice to see more mention of other Charlotte courses or the local DG club. You would think once someone masters this course, they would want to try other courses.
- This is definitely a stat-padding course. There's not a reason to go out of your to stop here and play. Now, if you live in the neighborhood, it's great to have a practice course within walking distance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.