Smithville, MO 
Paradise Pointe - Blackthorn Share
Uploaded By: oldmandowntheroad Hole #1 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 455ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Will test both your accuracy and your distance

1    11/7/2014   11/28/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 267  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses elevation well and there is a good mix of open holes and wooded holes as well.
The grounds are well kept and the fairways were mowed well and so were the paths from the previous basket to the next tee box.
Tee pads were ample and the signage was adequate. There were trash cans on a few holes as well. The baskets on this course are blue so they are easy to see.
All length of holes are represented on this course from short, moderate, and long holes.
Also there are dog leg left/right holes represented as well.
Directional arrows on several holes to point you in the right direction. The last few holes which are next to the lake will add a little pucker factor into your shots as will the pond shot on hole #10.
Cons: The walk between baskets and the next tee box are a bit long at times. This was also the case when you finished your round as the walk from 18's basket back to the parking lot was long.
Wind will factor in on holes 1, 12-14, and 16-18.
Undergrowth on the wooded holes could be thick depending on the time of year.
Safety could be an issue on hole 12 with the road being close to the right hand side of the fairway, so pay attention.
12, 14, and 16 were very long holes, some players will love this while others won't like throwing their driver multiple times on a hole just to get a look at the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course starts off with a nice downhill shot that has some length then it plays technical for the next 8 holes. This was my favorite part of the course for sure.
If you like history there is a cemetery on your way to 2's tee box which has some interesting information about the first settlers to the region.
Having the map would be a wise idea for the first time visitor to this course. I liked the idea of hole 15 but it felt like it was too long. Maybe they could've made two holes out of this hole and shortened 16-18 and ended the course at the south end of the playground and took some of the distance out of the walk back to the parking lot.
Regardless of that the course still is a solid play. I loved the wooded holes and a few of the open holes as well. This is a solid course and I wished I could give it a 3.75 because its worthy of that rating but just shy of a 4.0 for me. This was my favorite course out of the 3 courses in this complex. Again if you want to make a day out of it and get in some good disc golf then load up the car and pay the $5 and come out and play the 3 courses in this complex. I think you will find something here to satisfy everyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Ferrell
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Course is well maintained and in great shape. Baskets and tee pads were in great condition too. Each hole was labeled and easy to find. The course had a balance of long shots and short technical shots.
Cons: The grass fields that surround the course are pretty high. You could easily lose a disc if you threw out of bounds. No benches or bag holders on the course but that's not a big deal. Some holes are very open and are very challenging when windy. Also, paying $5 for parking will get old real fast if you want to play a lot there.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course. I thought it had some challenging holes, great tee pads, and beautiful scenery to offer.
Date: 5/28/2013 Designer Response by: dickparker
I'm glad you enjoyed it. As far as the $5 goes, if you are a Clay County resident, you can buy a year pass for $30. If you are an out of towner, it is $40. Luckily there are 2 other courses, so that does add to the value in my opinion. Thanks for playing!

 good course

2-4    10/10/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads.
-Very well marked holes.
-Nice combo of open and wooded holes.
-Scenic views of lake.
Cons: -Costs $5 to park if in season.
-Lots of water hazards.
-Lots of thorny foliage.
Other Thoughts: Good balanced course. Long open shots, and lots of wooded shots as well. There are a couple holes bordered by the lake, and one hole with a pond in the middle. Easy to avoid if played smart. They have very nice cement tee pads, and very well marked holes. Although the $5 to park sucks, the cost does keep the course far less busy then many other local courses. With the lake right by, its a perfect place for a round in the summer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there

2-4    9/8/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 115  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Baskets, Good tees, Easy to follow course. Great oppurtunity to view wildlife. 2-9 pretty cool in the woods. Although the holes are shorter there is still challenge as the holes are tight fairways and can lead to tricky putts around trees. 10 is excellent down and over a pond basket on mogul. 11 another shorter wooded hole and then 12-14 open with some fun. 13 is great midlength downhill shot with OB just behind. Hole 15 use your brain i repeat use your brain. 16 great view of lake on approach and green. 17 and 18 simple if your brain is not worn out.
Cons: Not much too complain about. I do wish a couple of wooded fairways were a little less poke and hope(hole 8) but mother nature has already cleared a couple of trees and should clear some more.
Other Thoughts: Will play again in coming months hopefully i will be able to change my rating on this course, Have played again and did change my rating, I do enjoy this course very fun course starts out with a handful of 2 oppurtunities then you get to test you length. Fun sidebar when grass is up play tall grass OB

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

1    12/25/2011   12/25/2011
Review By: Dan Howard
Played: 39  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice mix of woods, water, long open, and elevation holes. The woods are a real challenge, many lines to choose from (pro/con???). Cement pads are in and they are nice and long. All baskets have a pointer to the next tee. Great views of the lake from several holes, we had two bald eagles give us a flyover while we were on the 1st tee.
Cons: Signage is minimal. Plenty of mud in the woods that will get better as the grass come in. Hole 15 is a temp pad till they get the fairway cleared (you'll be teeing from the other side of the inlet). The "open" holes may be a little too open but they were fun to bomb.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed today's round. The course is still a work in progress, fun to play right now and lots of potential.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Very nice

2-4    10/26/2013   10/22/2011
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 109  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice color coded baskets (all blue for blue course). Mixture of holes, lengths, water, elevation. Overall, it's a nice park with lake view, shelters, restrooms with running water. Since first review from 2011, added nice, long tee pads, signs, garbage cans.
Cons: ALL FIXED:(I found a lot of things wrong with this course. No signage anywhere, not even at front gate. Some holes are marked with a PVC pipe, but it is not obvious to which basket you are to throw to. At least two holes the pipe was missing and had to ask other players where to tee from. Hole 15 just doesn't make sense at all. Ended up teeing from a gravel road in order to play the hole.)
Other Thoughts: Great to see this course finished out. Of the 3 on this complex, this is now my favorite one. Original review in 2011 was a 3, increased it to a 3.5. Continuing maturing may bring it to a 4 soon.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.