Smithville, MO 
Paradise Pointe - Blackthorn Share
Uploaded By: oldmandowntheroad Hole #3 (Taken 5/2014)
3 / 186ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee



Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Will test both your accuracy and your distance

1    11/7/2014   11/28/2014
Review By: Chained Evil
Played: 270  Reviewed: 116  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course uses elevation well and there is a good mix of open holes and wooded holes as well.
The grounds are well kept and the fairways were mowed well and so were the paths from the previous basket to the next tee box.
Tee pads were ample and the signage was adequate. There were trash cans on a few holes as well. The baskets on this course are blue so they are easy to see.
All length of holes are represented on this course from short, moderate, and long holes.
Also there are dog leg left/right holes represented as well.
Directional arrows on several holes to point you in the right direction. The last few holes which are next to the lake will add a little pucker factor into your shots as will the pond shot on hole #10.
Cons: The walk between baskets and the next tee box are a bit long at times. This was also the case when you finished your round as the walk from 18's basket back to the parking lot was long.
Wind will factor in on holes 1, 12-14, and 16-18.
Undergrowth on the wooded holes could be thick depending on the time of year.
Safety could be an issue on hole 12 with the road being close to the right hand side of the fairway, so pay attention.
12, 14, and 16 were very long holes, some players will love this while others won't like throwing their driver multiple times on a hole just to get a look at the basket.
Other Thoughts: This course starts off with a nice downhill shot that has some length then it plays technical for the next 8 holes. This was my favorite part of the course for sure.
If you like history there is a cemetery on your way to 2's tee box which has some interesting information about the first settlers to the region.
Having the map would be a wise idea for the first time visitor to this course. I liked the idea of hole 15 but it felt like it was too long. Maybe they could've made two holes out of this hole and shortened 16-18 and ended the course at the south end of the playground and took some of the distance out of the walk back to the parking lot.
Regardless of that the course still is a solid play. I loved the wooded holes and a few of the open holes as well. This is a solid course and I wished I could give it a 3.75 because its worthy of that rating but just shy of a 4.0 for me. This was my favorite course out of the 3 courses in this complex. Again if you want to make a day out of it and get in some good disc golf then load up the car and pay the $5 and come out and play the 3 courses in this complex. I think you will find something here to satisfy everyone.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Tough

1    7/7/2014   7/8/2014
Review By: hnosaj
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 0.7 Years
Pros: Diverse mix of holes, lot of tough shots, mix of long and short, perfectly maintained fairways, extrememly clean, beautiful setting
Cons: Chest high rough and some of the most dense undergrowth in the wooded areas I've ever seen. We spent a ton of time looking for discs.
Other Thoughts: We'll play this again in the future but probably stick with early spring, late fall or winter. It would probably be better in the summer after they cut down the rough for hay.


1    5/27/2013   5/27/2013
Review By: Ferrell
Played: 15  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Course is well maintained and in great shape. Baskets and tee pads were in great condition too. Each hole was labeled and easy to find. The course had a balance of long shots and short technical shots.
Cons: The grass fields that surround the course are pretty high. You could easily lose a disc if you threw out of bounds. No benches or bag holders on the course but that's not a big deal. Some holes are very open and are very challenging when windy. Also, paying $5 for parking will get old real fast if you want to play a lot there.
Other Thoughts: I would recommend this course. I thought it had some challenging holes, great tee pads, and beautiful scenery to offer.
Date: 5/28/2013 Designer Response by: dickparker
I'm glad you enjoyed it. As far as the $5 goes, if you are a Clay County resident, you can buy a year pass for $30. If you are an out of towner, it is $40. Luckily there are 2 other courses, so that does add to the value in my opinion. Thanks for playing!


1    1/6/2013   1/6/2013
Review By: astomps
Played: 54  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + signage is good + navigation
+ good baskets
+ nice property + views
+ holes 10,15,16 are fun
+ good upkeep
Cons: - open holes are long and straight = boring
- wooded holes are short and have no fairways
- teepads are roughly half the width as normal and slightly longer, not sure if con, but worth noting
Other Thoughts: a much better course could be carved out of this property.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 good course

2-4    10/10/2012   10/14/2012
Review By: blowers04
Played: 13  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 2.7 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Nice tee pads.
-Very well marked holes.
-Nice combo of open and wooded holes.
-Scenic views of lake.
Cons: -Costs $5 to park if in season.
-Lots of water hazards.
-Lots of thorny foliage.
Other Thoughts: Good balanced course. Long open shots, and lots of wooded shots as well. There are a couple holes bordered by the lake, and one hole with a pond in the middle. Easy to avoid if played smart. They have very nice cement tee pads, and very well marked holes. Although the $5 to park sucks, the cost does keep the course far less busy then many other local courses. With the lake right by, its a perfect place for a round in the summer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Progress

5+    6/8/2012   6/8/2012
Review By: kcnickster
Played: 56  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is maturing quickly and is rapidly becoming one of my favorite in KC. As mentioned in other reviews 2nd hole puts you in the woods and you use your technical game. The trees end at number 8 which has some of the most narrow openings on the course, and it's starts opening up into some wide open 600 ft holes to work out some of those frustrating tree hits you had in the woods. The fairways were in the best shape I've seen and were well mowed and clean. Trash cans and signs are at almost every tee now. Of the 3 courses in the park its the one I enjoy the most.
Cons: Not a lot of elevation. About the amendity missing is some benches. Also the geese came into play near the lake, they had "left their mark" all over the tee pad of 17 and didn't seem to be phased when the disc flew right over their heads.
Other Thoughts: I love #10.. you shoot in between 2 smaller trees that could slow your disc down just enough so you don't cross the pond at about 250 ft. #15 has gone from a nightmare to very nice signiture hole.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Some promising holes

1    4/22/2012   4/25/2012
Review By: Hector Chain
Played: 120  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 6.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Paradise Pointe is a pretty nice recreational area with a lot of space to use. It has to be nice because there is that extra "e" at the end of "Pointe!"

Blackthorn starts and ends out in the open. In between (holes 2 through 9 and 15) play in a heavily wooded area, and hole 16 plays along the shoreline of the lake out to a peninsula. The wooded holes will be pretty nice when they get broken in. There are often multiple lines to the basket of varying risk/reward profiles.

The two signature holes are probably 15 and 16. Hole 15 is requires an accurate 250 foot shot through the woods across a small ravine before making a 60-degree dogleg left. The approach requires a straight shot down an alley with the namesake blackthorn trees lining the fairway. Hole 16 is a shot along the beach around a clump of trees to a basket on the peninsula. There is a risky left-to-right approach along the shoreline that would make for some good tournament decisions.

All the baskets are blue (I like the color coding of the courses, especially since they occasionally play near one another) and are surprisingly visible even in the woods.

There is one hole (#10, I believe) over a pond. There are some options for bailing out, but if you're going for the birdie, you have to wind up for a shot you know you can execute but that will have consequences if you screw it up.
Cons: They give you a map at the guard station, and navigation would have been very tough without one (even with it I had to look around a bit but didn't have too much trouble). There is a long-ish walk between #1 and #2. Walk straight past the basket for the first hole toward the small cemetery in the woods, and the second hole tees off next to it.

The wooded holes were not well mowed, and there are too many dead branches that will eventually get knocked down by drives. Hole 8 had no real lane to the basket that even a good player could consistently hit. Mr. Gorbachev, tear down that tree! And plant another one somewhere else.

The open holes were boring. There was some elevation, but too many holes had nothing in the way to force any line or even any decision. Just throw over there.

As others have noted, the concrete tee pads stick out above the ground by a couple too many inches, and you could really screw up your ankle if you're not careful.
Other Thoughts: There is a $5 fee to enter. I don't mind that sort of fee, especially for an area with three courses, very nice baskets, concrete pads, etc. I think half of this course will eventually be pretty fun. The open holes are always going to be uninteresting unless they plant a bunch of trees. Nevertheless, this complex is worth a visit.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great experience

2-4    2/19/2012   2/23/2012
Review By: joots
Played: 9  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Blackthorn, one of the three courses situated in Paradise Point, is a great example of how to make a round of golf for those with big arms and those with little arms (such as myself).
Plenty of wooded shots to help out your technical game.
Plenty of open aired shots to really unleash your inner-"beast".
The scenary of the lake in the background is very pretty, especially when the sun is coming down over the water.
The teepads are long, so you have lots of room to place your feet just right for a great drive.
The markers on the bottom of the baskets point you to the next pad.
Practice pin at top of the parking lot w/clean bathrooms for you to use.
Plenty of trees for you to use as a bathroom once the round starts.
Cons: I am going to 'con' this course with a grain of salt, seeing as how it is not finished yet.
No trash cans.
May be a bit of a stretch to navigate your first time out (guard post supposedly has maps).
Non-discers walking on path that circles the lake and cuts through the course.
Water and wind, but that is nobody's real issue, 'cuz seriously, who's gonna tell mother nature and the lake itself to back off. Not me.
During the summer months, you have to pay $5. to play, but hey, there are three courses on Paradise Point, so go early, and throw a lotta disc.
As of Feb 2012, hole 15 is not finished 100%, but by the summer, it'll be ready for you.
Other Thoughts: Hole number one starts with a 400'+ down hill drive that is open w/a small OB road on the left. Then, into the woods. From there 'til about hole 9, you are in some thick foliage. Not that you can't see the pin, it's just a matter of how you're gonna get there.
Once you get into the open on hole 10, you are met w/an approximately 350' down hill stroke that you have to toss over a small pond. It's pretty much all open from there, with long, open shots that will challenge even the biggest arms.
Hole 15, puts you back in the woods, but you're back out for holes 16-18, all with the lake on your left hand side.
The course is made to be the medium course of the 3 situated out there. Go, take a lunch, plenty of libations, and have a stellar day of disc.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    1/7/2012   1/12/2012
Review By: kerq6c
Played: 13  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is very fun and diverse from short wooded shots to long open holes. All the holes have nice long cement pads. All the baskets are nice and new and have a great looking blue powder coat on them. There are some great holes on this course like number 10. You throw down hill between two trees and over a small pond. It is a beautiful hole.
Cons: Very poor signs. From hole one it can be very difficult to find hole 2 without a map. It is up behind the white fenced in area. Some of the concrete pads have issues. When they formed them they just pushed the excess concrete to a pile in front of the pad. On a couple of them it is above pad height and about 4-6 inches in front of the tee so it presents a good tripping hazard if you like to land off the pad. Also not so much of a con but the pads are really narrow. Another small problem is that a few of the holes have no grass so it can be very muddy if it rains. Hole 15 is in need of some heavy work. The teepad right now points straight into the woods with no basket in sight. I had to walk through the woods then down the path to find the basket and then still had no clue how I was going to get there( I ended up throwing through the woods and then down the path). Thorn bushes are common on this course so I would recommend wearing pants to prevent cuts and scrapes. There are no trash cans so the course had quite a few beer cans on it. I could only pick up so many before my bag was full.
Other Thoughts: This course will be very good if a few of the cons would get fixed/finished. This course has a good view of the lake. I will enjoy exhausting myself on all three courses in this park in the very near future.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Almost there

2-4    9/8/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 115  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/19/2012
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great Baskets, Good tees, Easy to follow course. Great oppurtunity to view wildlife. 2-9 pretty cool in the woods. Although the holes are shorter there is still challenge as the holes are tight fairways and can lead to tricky putts around trees. 10 is excellent down and over a pond basket on mogul. 11 another shorter wooded hole and then 12-14 open with some fun. 13 is great midlength downhill shot with OB just behind. Hole 15 use your brain i repeat use your brain. 16 great view of lake on approach and green. 17 and 18 simple if your brain is not worn out.
Cons: Not much too complain about. I do wish a couple of wooded fairways were a little less poke and hope(hole 8) but mother nature has already cleared a couple of trees and should clear some more.
Other Thoughts: Will play again in coming months hopefully i will be able to change my rating on this course, Have played again and did change my rating, I do enjoy this course very fun course starts out with a handful of 2 oppurtunities then you get to test you length. Fun sidebar when grass is up play tall grass OB

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.