Bismarck, ND 
General Sibley Park Share
Uploaded By: Craig639 Hole #14 (Taken 5/2010)
3 / 205ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2

2-4    9/15/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: ACE Ventura
Played: 62  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This 24 hole course is placed alongside a campground and although the park is flat, the utilization of the parks many trees is done very well.

The layout of this course is nice and plays all over the park with hole #24 finishing relatively close to #1 and your vehicle. Only finding #19 is a slight pain if you're unfamiliar, it plays along side the river (which may or may not be bothersome depending on water levels) so just walk towards the bank from #18 basket and you'll see the pad.

Every hole has some amount of trees, from a few to a ton, which demands players to use multiple throwing types to conquer their challenges. I had to hit many lanes using backhand, forehand, and even a few tomahawks. Some lanes through the trees are very tight but others are easier to navigate. The length of holes varies greatly to a few ace runs up to the monster #17 that is 666' at it's shorter placement.

Teepads are in great shape and made of concrete and all (except 18) have amazing signs that provide everything you could want to know about that hole. Baskets are also in excellent shape and each hole offers two basket positions.

The course would be enjoyable to play for people of any skill range even though it's a bit difficult. A patient beginner can still have fun even if they are lumberjacking all day long.

Bathrooms are nearby since it is a modern campground and trash cans are common as well.
Cons: The two possible basket locations on every hole is nice to provide variety in the course throughout the year, but on some holes it is rather difficult to see the basket through the trees so it would be nice if there was some notifying post to let you know the current basket locations. Also half of the holes were in position B and half were in position A; uniformity would be nice as to not cause confusion.
Other Thoughts: Hole #18 teepad is just a post with the number on it currently, but the hole is easily visible from the pad.

When I played the river water levels were very low so the final 6 holes were not as treacherous but I can see it being a little sketchy when it rises along the bank.

I gave this course a 4.0 rating because the minor complaint of non-uniform basket positions and there is no elevation, but regardless this is the nicest course in Bismarck, even though I would highly recommend Lions Hill and Sunset if you're feeling brave.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    7/13/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: ibanez95
Played: 20  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 18.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very nice, well maintained course. The layout makes excellent use of the terrain and abundance of mature trees. Great variety of distances, including the monster 650+ ft. hole17.
Cons: Last time I was there, they were still missing signs for holes 3, 7, and 18. The last few holes are right up against the river bank. When the water level is high, you're forced to either lay up or risk making a sacrifice to the river gods.
Other Thoughts: I live in the area and this course is a staple for me. Definitely the best that the Bismarck/Mandan area has to offer.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Great course!

2-4    7/3/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: joelwpg
Played: 69  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really liked this course! It was Challenging without being difficult. A lot of trees and longer holes make this enough of a challenge for better players, but with very little rough or hazards there is little to intimidate newer ones. I loved all the "mandatory" elements, it really added to the round. 24 holes was nice too.
Cons: Once again, no map on site, or online, however this course is well laid out and each hole points you in the direction of the next one.
Other Thoughts: It was a perfect stop on my little camping/disc golf trip across ND as it has a campground attached to it :)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/22/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: Mincus14
Played: 18  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 5.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well signed and well laid out, Good variety of different hole types and distances.
Cons: Some of the holes get kind of repetitive. A few holes are right by the river so i lost a couple discs last year in the high water.
Other Thoughts: My home course and my favorite in Bismarck-Mandan.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Needs signage redone

1    4/25/2012   4/29/2012
Review By: SnowBlind
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice mix of distance and technical.
Cons: Signage! Last years flood did a lot of damage to the course grounds taking down maybe a third of the signage, w/o it some of the holes will take a long time to find if you don't know the course. Lucky a local found us and played through with us other wise I doubt we would have finished the course.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Tournament Course

5+    10/6/2010   10/6/2010
Review By: thumb
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: First off this is my home course. I play here almost everyday and play in a league here every wednesday during the summer so I know this course well.

This course has a lot of similar holes, but the trees really make you think about your shot selection. This is a great course to develop a roller because the ground is nice and hard and the grass is mowed. Hole 19 is truly the turning point of the course... I have had rounds where I was +2 going into hole 19 and finished +6 through the final six holes.
Cons: Course is great but hard to make straight par 3s, I would say the course is realistically a par 77 or 76 for 24 holes rather than the standard par 72 for 24 holes. Also some mando's are unnecessary.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bombs Away!

1    9/5/2010   9/5/2010
Review By: owlontheground
Played: 42  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This extremely well-maintained course is positioned in a park and gives throwers a chance to let em' fly. Most of the holes are over 300' with some reaching distances of beyond 600'. Due to the length,I am not sure why some of the reviewers thought that this was a good beginner course.

The park consists of holes that have fairways delineated by tall, straight trees. Each hole looks basically the same except for hole 19, which is a monster that takes you right on brink of the river.

At each tee, a map to either of the two possible pin locations and to the next tee is provided. There are also trash cans at most of the tees to help keep the park clean. It was notable how clean the park was and I definitely have to give a nod to North Dakotan's pride in their courses. A local told me that there used to be more courses in Bismarck, but that some of them recently closed. Unfortunate, because it looked like ND folk like their disc golf.

The multiple pin placements add some variation holes that are all fairly similar.
Cons: ~ not a lot of variation between holes (which is my main criticism, but hey, it's ND so what can I really expect?)
~ it's loooong, so might not be the best of beginners
~ I have heard it can be windy, but was not gusty when I played. I suppose this is like calling Phoenix hot.
Other Thoughts: I am glad that I stopped to play this course. If I am ever in Bismarck again, I am going to try to play the reservoir.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Best course to date...

1    7/26/2010   7/27/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 58  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A superb course!
The course is at a well maintained campground and makes great use of the space by weaving many of the holes back and forth next to each other, side by side. The course is all grass which is kept short, making it nearly impossible to lose a disc, with many trees. However, the trees are spaced perfectly and are not even close to a thick forest, which means that a well placed shot, not a perfect shot or impossible shot, but a well placed shot will always do what you want it to.
The average hole length was about 300 feet with several in the 200s and 400s. There were also several wide open shots that allow you to let a disc soar!
The baskets are all in great shape and the tees are all in excellent condition. Each hole has a marker pointing to the next basket and giving you the layout of the hole.
Cons: Only a couple minor cons, and these were pretty irrelevant. While each hole has a marker with the basket layout, the course changes the basket location periodically, making it difficult to know which location the basket is. Also several of the baskets are hidden from view from the tee making it difficult to know where to throw.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course to date! I loved the wide variety of hole layouts, allowing a player to practice all kinds of throws. The nicest thing about the course is that it is a challenge to players of all levels, but none of the holes are impossible. Good throws will get you in position to par, and even birdie, most holes, without it being a beginner course.
Every subsequent visit to North Dakota will have to include a trip to Sibley park!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Lots of Trees

1    6/24/2010   7/4/2010
Review By: bowlingman88
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
Pros: Grass is cut which allows for extra distance for rollers. Scenic park next to the Missouri River basin. Out of the way so you shouldn't have much traffic on the course.
Cons: Not a course for beginners at all. Trees make it very difficult for inexperienced disc golfers to navigate. Hard to see some baskets from the tee.
Other Thoughts: This was my 4th disc golf course played and I am a beginner. If you are a good disc golfer though and love a challenge, this course is definitely for you. It's a good course, but you may become discouraged if this is your first time out. It's also worth noting that I had to play this course left-handed because my right wrist was fractured at the time. My girlfriend had a pretty awful time getting through the trees as well, however.

 General Sibley Disc Golf Course

5+    3/13/2010   3/15/2010
Review By: ReaperDiscGolf
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course offers diversity and challenge to all experience levels. Course is kept in great condition, and is nicely groomed.
Cons: The tee positions are not changed very often. The sad thing is that people seem to want to damage the holes, which has caused some of them to not be up to spec or to be considered second rate.
Other Thoughts: If you take care and enjoy the course, you will have a great time,

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.