Lapel, IN
Todd C. Woodward Memorial Park Share
Uploaded By: ajbova Hole #1 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 250ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Approach



Reviews: 3
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good Town Course

1    5/19/2013   5/19/2013
Review By: ajbova
Played: 63  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 8.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/21/2013
Pros: Course Map at the start of the course.

Concrete Tee Pads (see cons)

Baskets - New DGA baskets that catch your discs very well.

Easy to Navigate - Besides hole 7, this course is extremely easy to navigate even with a lack of signs.

Trees - Enough trees to make this course decently challenging. Course is still pretty much in the open.

Location - Solid course for the town. A much needed course where there are no courses. Close enough to Indy that it's not out of the way.

Obstacles - Half of the holes are in the open, half of the holes have trees as obstacles. All holes average 300 feet.

Shade - Some holes have plenty of shade.

Great use of space. This course is in a multi-use park and it uses all of the extra space for disc golf.
Cons: Lack of signage. Besides the course map at the start of the course, there are no signs on the course.

Teepads - Tees are very short (about 6 feet). Not enough room to get a solid windup. However, they are concrete and in a small town.

Only one Tee per hole. Since this is a 9 hole course, each hole should have more than one tee per hole. It would add much more variation to the course.

No trash cans.

Hole 6 to Hole 7. To get to hole 7, you have to backtrack all of hole 6 to get to the throwpad of hole 7.

Lack of variety - Course is flat and there are no water hazards.

Fairways for holes border the previous holes. Can be a safety issue if the course is busy. I was the only one at the course so it was not an issue.
Other Thoughts: This course was not the best course I have ever played but it is by far better than some of the courses I have played in the Indy area (Freedom Park and New Hope Church in Greenwood). It has concrete tees and enough trees as obstacles to make this course more challenging than it appears.

When you arrive, look for the course map next to the parking lot. Take a picture on your phone and course will be easy to navigate. Hole 1 is next to the sign.

I played this course on the way home from my lakehouse. Even though I had to go slightly out of my way, I would say it was worth it. If you are in the area I would recommend playing it. If not, I would recommend courses in Elwood, Fishers, or Noblesville.

This is an ideal course for an amateur or a beginner but not for a professional or advanced player.

Additional tees, alternate pin placements, and more trees would boost the rating on this course.

If you are in Lapel, look for the water tower near the high school to find the course.


1    10/25/2011   10/25/2011
Review By: astomps
Played: 41  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 2.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/20/2012
Pros: -most holes have distance to air it out
-some mature trees
Cons: -every hole is a straight line
-some residential fenced areas bordering course
-flat
-shared fairways for multiple holes
-potentially crowded park, with playground, walkers and children
Other Thoughts: not worth driving more than 30 min, but good for area people

 Another beginner course

1    9/19/2011   9/20/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 169  Reviewed: 51  Exp: 20 Years
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: DGA Mach V targets. Concrete tees. Decent variety of hole lengths. Mature trees throughout the park. But,only a factor on a few holes. A course in a very small town. No issue with blind shots, with the paved trail.
Cons: Flat and mostly open. A paved trail runs around the whole course. I believe #7 plays over a playground. I played from what I thought was the #7 tee. No tee signs or info painted on the tees.
Other Thoughts: #1 tees off from between the paved trail and shelter. Throwing north, with a tree line on the left and the target just on the other side if the path.#2 plays south, with #1 tree line on the left. #3,4,5,6 play back and forth north and south gradually getting longer. But wilh no trees forcing a certain throw. #7 plays over a playground. #8 is the longest hole with the path on the right and a tree line on the left. Still a pretty open hole. #9 goes along the path and is the only hole with trees being somewhat of a factor. Plenty of parking with a waterfountain, shelter and trash cans by #1. From I-69 & hwy 13 it took me 10 minutes to get to the park. A round should take less than 30 minutes.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.