Spokane, WA 
Downriver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg  

Reviews: 27
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
Solid Course

1    7/22/2015   7/22/2015
Review By: markmcc
Played: 132  Reviewed: 122  Exp: 3.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice piece of land for disc golf with rolling terrain, a good mix of brush and mature trees, and the Spokane River running alongside.

Decent rubber teepads, good signage, and good baskets. The baskets and tee signs are somewhat tagged and marked-up but not to the point of really being damaged. There were a few "next tee" signs to aid with navigation, but they could use several more.

Good variety of distances from 200' out to 500'. Most holes have at least some elevation, with a few offering quite an uphill or downhill drive. Hole 8 is a nice elevated tee driving down to a basket sitting near the edge of the river.

None of the holes are super-tight tunnel shots, but all have trees in play. I would describe about half as being significantly wooded with the other half being fairly open. Good mix of straight, left-finishing and right-finishing holes.

Many holes had benches and a couple had shade shelters at the tee.
Cons: Take the map as course flow is strange in some areas. Best example is at holes 4, 5 & 6. When you finish hole 4, the teepad for Hole 6 is quite close and on the same side of the road. But you have to cross the road to play hole 5, and then cross the road again, and walk past the hole 4 basket to reach the teepad for hole 6. Similarly, the walk from 10 to 11 takes you past the 18th basket and the tees for Holes 17 and 1.

The course is a little tight in some places, with parallel fairways on several holes. We finished our round about noon, and by then a lot of players were on the course. We were hearing a lot of "FORE" by then.
Other Thoughts: This looks to be a very busy course. The ground is trampled bare and there is some wear-and-tear on the pads, signs and baskets. We played a weekday morning and it wasn't bad, but by the time we left things were getting backed up. I imagine weekends are badly crowded.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Course, Very Crowded

1    5/10/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: dengsauve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 1.7 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Not too wooded, open holes for the most part.
-Well marked baskets, easy to sight over long distance.
-No 'poke 'n' pray' holes, which is nice.
-Located on the beautiful Spokane river.
-Everyone there was polite.
Cons: -Played on a Sat. afternoon, the place was packed.
-Limited Parking.
-Holes close enough to parking that an overshot basket could hit a parked car.
-Graffiti all over the baskets.
-Lots of cans, bottles, and butts all over the park, despite trash cans everywhere.
-Tee off pads (rubber) worn down / torn.
Other Thoughts: If I was rating the course based on layout / design / location, I would give a 4/5. The defaced baskets and worn pads cost this course .5, as well as being crowded.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Good, but used to be better

5+    3/28/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 57  Reviewed: 34  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2014
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee signs marked with distances
-Well thought out and constructed tee pads made with with rubber and brick.
-multiple basket positioning (short/long)
-a mix up uphill and downhill layouts
-maintained baskets with good chain count and quality
-not too much brush and easy to follow hole layout.
- great league play and friendly locals
Cons: -Overly LHBH repetitive course
-No multiple tee pads
-Not a lot of parking when crowded
-Not enough long holes
Other Thoughts: I used to throw this course a lot from 2003-2006.....not much has changed besides the layout. The course itself is like that carnival island where all the bad boys go in Pinocchio. There is graffiti, vandalized signs, trash cans overfilling with garbage, and seedy miscreants throughout the course. I've seen pitbull fights, fist fights, and have had discs stolen after drives at this park. Basically, it is just as chaotic and full dirtbags as it used to be. That being said, It was somewhat of a nostalgic return.

This course used to be the best around, but I think it's gone a step or two back in the wrong direction since 2006, especially since the addition of the other new courses in the Spokane area. I think I was playing the short version of the course layout. It seemed like every hole was a LHBH spike hyzer special. It was too much of the same shot over and over again. Is like to see this course evolve more in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


2-4    10/4/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 2.6 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Diverse hole types, multiple pin locations on several holes to change it up.
Cons: Gets crowded, combine that with several crossing/somewhat shared fairways and there is a lot of potential for disaster. One hole has you tee off from up high on a hillside and then you have to walk down the hill, which is very steep and sandy dirt leading to a slippery situation as you cross the fairway of the previous hole.
Other Thoughts: Have thought that some sort of steps on that downhill hole could make it much safer than it currently is since the first time I played there.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: c re
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: beautiful course along the Spokane river. very good variety of shots, plays well for all levels and styles of play ( lefty righty backhand forehand)
Cons: gets extremely crowded and there is a lot of trash and vandalism.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Duck and Cover

1    5/23/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: BrickE
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Downriver disc golf course is set along the Spokane River and it is beautiful. The players at this course were friendly and helpful, quick to point a first timer in the right direction. The holes were both challenging and fun with a good variety of holes. I really liked the tee pads on this course, most were rubber and offered a good grip. Baskets were is good condition, the course was pretty clean for the amount of traffic it had.
Cons: Ok, so here is the biggest let down of the course. It was not safe. Many of the fairways crossed on the first nine holes, and "fore" was like heard over and over again on the first nine holes. I would imagine that there have been a lot of people hit by discs.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest that you try the course, it might be worth the danger. I loved the lay out.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Staple of Spokane

1    2/10/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: Yoduh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 1/15/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very pretty piece of land, especially the views of the river. Some really excellent signature holes. Holes 4,5,8,9,10 and 17 are worth the play alone. The front 10 are rated 5 stars in my mind if there was no danger.
Cons: Danger is high on hole 1's fairway. If your putting or RBH hyzer watch your back and listen for FORE!!! The baskets used to be good but for some reason they seem to be becoming less and less reliable. The tee's are getting better but they are uneven and undulating rubber mats
Other Thoughts: Newer players would do better to play holes 11-18. These holes are significantly easier. If you find hole 11's tee and your shot goes right yell FORE at the top of your lungs. This course taught me how to hyzer flip and to anhyzer quite well. There is 2 RBH hyzers on the course. Course is completely worth playing. It has special place in my heart.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


5+    6/13/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of distance (short and booming). Technically diverse (open vs wooded). Requires all shots (overhands, backhands, sidearms and rollers). Challenging greens due to hard pack dirt. Risk vs reward on a lot of holes and approaches. Constant improvement due to a very dedicated group of locals.
Cons: VERY BUSY. It is the oldest course in the area and that shows. Vandals keep destroying current signs so it can be confusing if you don't have a guide. 1 and hole 11 play within 100 feet of each other so it's very easy to hyzer or anhyzer a shot and put another player at risk. Parking can become an issue if you get there late in the day.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Spokane. Always nice to come out right at sunrise and see the gorgeous sky reflected in the river. Worth the stop if you are coming through Spokane. I will always miss the 21 hole layout but safety is more prevalent.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great scenery!

1    6/16/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: trswem
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery! The river was really fun to play around. Met a lot of helpful golfers, well marked signs. I was told the course is cared for by volunteers, and it looks like they are going a good job.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing but cool

1    11/8/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 25  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - There was a nice variety of holes.
- Unless you were way off the water was not in play but made for great scenery.
- Trash cans were prevalent and the course looked very clean.
- Nice maps for individual holes and well designed.
Cons: - Confusing layout.
- I thought the hill could have been used more.
- A full map closer to the parking area would be nice.
Other Thoughts: If you shoot for the correct hole then following the next tee signs will point you in the right direction.

There is potential for a great down hill hole between 5 and 6. There was an old tee pad up on the hill where we were able to shoot at the hole for 9.

The day we went the scenery was drab but I could see how it would be beautiful when the leaves are out or changing.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.