Spokane, WA
Downriver DGC Share
Uploaded By: danno133 Hole #1
3 / 276ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
DR

2-4    10/4/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1 Years
Pros: Diverse hole types, multiple pin locations on several holes to change it up.
Cons: Gets crowded, combine that with several crossing/somewhat shared fairways and there is a lot of potential for disaster. One hole has you tee off from up high on a hillside and then you have to walk down the hill, which is very steep and sandy dirt leading to a slippery situation as you cross the fairway of the previous hole.
Other Thoughts: Have thought that some sort of steps on that downhill hole could make it much safer than it currently is since the first time I played there.

 

2-4    5/24/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scene along the Spokane river, this makes a great destination for disc golfing. Good amount of challenge with lots of chances for airing it out but still technical enough. Twenty one holes! Great mix of hole distances and lots of variety with dog legs. Excellent use of the elevation and there is plenty of it.
Cons: Some parts of the course have fairways crossing each other which could have been avooided. Not horribly hard to navigate but it could be a little tough for a first timer with no map. Two of the basket locations are on the edge of the bank of the river and losing a disc in there is a possibility, I did it last time I played here.
Other Thoughts: When I was there the locals were saying the course was getting an overhaul by taking a couple holes out. Great destination and it will challenge you but not to the point where you are getting frustrated.

With the redesign the course changed a bit took out some of the fun downhill throws and I think that made the course loose some of it's appeal to me so I'm lowering my rating.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Wow I had fun!

2-4    11/15/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of shots. Form long to medium. They are generally only moderately technical except where the river comes into play (a guy I got to play a round with and who plays it a lot lost one in the river). Some great elevation shots both up hill and down. Other than the river the course does not eat discs. The undergrowth is minimal and the trees are tall pines and some tamarack. But they are not thick. The teepads are rubber and a couple are concrete where a tennis court once was. (Update: The downsize from 21 to 18 made this easier to get around. The directional signage to next tee worked will even without a map.)
Cons: Some of the holes need better marking and some better direction to the next hole signs would be of help. There are enough locals on this course that it isn't usually a problem.(Update to my previous review I would have to add that the downsize from 21 to 18 was great. But on many of the holes there are areas that have tees and baskets close together. A player will need to be vigilant when both throwing and walking around to not get hit. Yet it is open enough that you can do this).
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty to drink because this course will give you a workout. A must course for anyone who enjoys the game. Download the map from their website and you should not have any trouble. I was invited to play in a Saturday weekly and had a great time. I was teamed up with a female pro who was great company and a VERY good player.(I have playedd enough now to know that no matter what you do someone will complain. The more recent reviews do not do this course justice. They even seem prejudiced. This course does need some work but it has come a long way.)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.