Spokane, WA 
Downriver DGC Share
Uploaded By: Lothiam Hole #12 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 235ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Wall in front of tee on hole #12



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Great Course, Very Crowded

1    5/10/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: dengsauve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Not too wooded, open holes for the most part.
-Well marked baskets, easy to sight over long distance.
-No 'poke 'n' pray' holes, which is nice.
-Located on the beautiful Spokane river.
-Everyone there was polite.
Cons: -Played on a Sat. afternoon, the place was packed.
-Limited Parking.
-Holes close enough to parking that an overshot basket could hit a parked car.
-Graffiti all over the baskets.
-Lots of cans, bottles, and butts all over the park, despite trash cans everywhere.
-Tee off pads (rubber) worn down / torn.
Other Thoughts: If I was rating the course based on layout / design / location, I would give a 4/5. The defaced baskets and worn pads cost this course .5, as well as being crowded.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: c re
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: beautiful course along the Spokane river. very good variety of shots, plays well for all levels and styles of play ( lefty righty backhand forehand)
Cons: gets extremely crowded and there is a lot of trash and vandalism.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing but cool

1    11/8/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - There was a nice variety of holes.
- Unless you were way off the water was not in play but made for great scenery.
- Trash cans were prevalent and the course looked very clean.
- Nice maps for individual holes and well designed.
Cons: - Confusing layout.
- I thought the hill could have been used more.
- A full map closer to the parking area would be nice.
Other Thoughts: If you shoot for the correct hole then following the next tee signs will point you in the right direction.

There is potential for a great down hill hole between 5 and 6. There was an old tee pad up on the hill where we were able to shoot at the hole for 9.

The day we went the scenery was drab but I could see how it would be beautiful when the leaves are out or changing.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Local Heretic

5+    5/27/2011   6/19/2011
Review By: Dadio
Played: 76  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 30.2 Years
This review was updated on 6/2/2014
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging layout in pretty area. Requires a variety of throws and many holes punish distance if not accurate. Many course improvements over last year or 2, including signs, improved practice pin/waiting area, and removal of worst of crossing holes.
New in 2013. Pads are improved, much of the underbursh and small trees are cleaned out. Pro and a con. Nicer but makes some holes easier. Many Pins are moved, still not sure if this is an improvement. Some holes harder, some easier.
Cons: Some holes still cross and it is tight enough that 1/11/17 is hazardous. Can tail a shot into other fairways w/o seeing people there. Have been hit myself by unseen people. Greens are generally hardpacked dirt due to traffic and weather so well placed long approach can skip a heartbreakingly long distance. Signs are nice but read sideways instead of showing hole running up/down so can be hard to puzzle out. Removal of holes, while necessary, messed with flow of course. Very crowded on a nice day and that won't change until more courses in area. Before noon is best time.
New in 2013. Pad for 7/ pin 8 are moved to make these crossing holes EVEN WORSE!!! Have to tail the drive on 8 to left to get onto pin, which is where pad for 7 is and there are enough trees that you can't see between them very well. Expect to be hit.
Hopefully new tee signs are in works, as the ones there are becoming increasingly inaccurate.
New in 2014. Signs are better and fairly well maintained.
Other Thoughts: River is close on many holes and bad shot will lose disc. Make sure to mark them all but that is no garuantee(sp! :-p) of return, some locals troll river but don't call. One scubas river and will return for modest fee. Like course overall but really feel should be redesigned as pro course. Not likely, many locals have been playing it for years and are resistant to change, understandably so.
New in 2013. Very glad to see work being done on course. Most of it is very cool but I can't believe after all the talk of crossing holes and people being hit over the years this not only hasn't been addressed @ 1/11/17, it was made worse @ 7/8. How bad does someone need to be hurt before a re-design is accepted?
New in 2014. Talked to club officials and course can not be redesigned because of new rules requiring man made stuff to be at least 200ft from river. That is most of course. Good news is they have continued improvements on existing tees. This will remain a fun yet dangerous course and a good glimpse into course design of an earlier, less busy time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Downriver

5+    5/17/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: tyezerian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has a good layout overall. Almost all of the baskets can be seen from the tee box so you know where you are going. The course is pretty well maintained.
Cons: If you haven't played this course very much, it could be a little hard to figure out where the next tee box is. All of the holes are a Par 3, even though some of the holes are pretty long and should be a Par 4. When the river is high, there are three holes that you can easily loose a disc on. You either have to skip it, or downscale your throws and play them save.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to play

1    4/12/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: rstevens77
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful setting for this course. The Spokane river is not only great to look at, but forces you to really think through your shot selection and several holes.
Cons: The course layout leads to some confusion as well as a few holes crossing over each other - which obviously is can be little dangerous.
Other Thoughts: This was a tough course, but well worth the time. Courses like this definitely make me want to work hard to step up my game so I'm ready for the challenge next time! I will definitely play this the next time I'm in the Spokane area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great Slice of Spokane

5+    9/3/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: Sean Johnson
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 6.2 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Downriver is a great example of the beauty found in Eastern Wa. There are excellent views of the Spokane River and even though we don't have the lushness of the West Coast there is a certain rugged charm to the terrain around here. I think that this course is the better of the two public courses in Spokane, though Highbride is beginning to catch up to Downriver in terms of difficulty.

Downriver has a good mix of open and tight holes, but it definately favors forehand/right turning shots. There is little elevation change, but some of the best holes on the course (4 and 8) utilize what is available. There are risk/reward holes and many holes require very accurate placement to even have a line at the basket. Hole 5 is a good example of the several tough par 3s. It is a tight 300'+ s-curve that leads to pin that is protected on all sides save 2 (1 1/2) lanes. As someone said before, the front side is much harder than the back 8 or 9, but there are few "throw away" holes to be found.
Like Highbridge, there are changes in the works, and this will include changes in pin placements (more on that later), better teepads, and improved signage.
Cons: The main con for Downriver is the same as Highbride; one gang of posers with sharpies and the teeming masses that can't seem to pack out their cans. I mean, you got it in here didn't you? Just because there isn't enough trash cans, that doesn't give you the right to litter. Course can be very crowded, but I like to play early so it's not really a problem. Also, despite losing three great holes because they crossed fairways, there is still some danger zones. Hole 1 gets frequently bombed by 12, and 8's fairway (downhill elevation shot) pretty much includes 7's teebox.

If you throw RHBH on this course, you'll get a feel for what lefties and forehanders go through on other courses. This course has open holes where both FH and BH are an option, straight shots, lots right turning holes, and about 2 holes where a hyzer is the dominant line.
Other Thoughts: The powers that be are requiring us to move several holes to help prevent erosion around the Spokane River. I agree with them completely on this issue, as respect for the environment is one of the fundamental tenants of our sport. However, we have limited space and there are limited options for moving placements. No matter how the course turns out, it will still be a must-play for the area.

It is worth noting that I do not think that this is one of the hardest courses in Washington. Seatac, Ft. Stelli, and all three Fourmound courses are more difficult by a wide margin. That said, this course is no pushover. For reference, Avery Jenkins set the course record at -9 and Dave Feldburg broke it at -10. Scores like that are certainly in line with a tournament level course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety of Holes

1    3/6/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 181  Reviewed: 111  Exp: 22.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on the bend of a scenic river and amongst tall pines and grassy fields. It plays as a classic "fairway" course with most of the perils on the edge of the play zone, and many of the holes scatter a good mix of trees in the fairways and around the greens for good measure.
Cons: It was extremely crowded on a sunny March Saturday. The locals told me this was common when spring starts to show her face. Nonetheless, there was a lot of waiting around!

The fairway of #8 crosses right over the front of #7 tee box. I know they have corrected several criss-crossing holes, but this one still seems quite dangerous.
Other Thoughts: The beauty of this course is a real highlight. It attracts more than just disc golfers and can add to the crowd.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Probably the best course in the area.

5/25/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is probably the best course I have played in this area, with Corbin in Post Falls a close second. You get quite a variety of hole types (uphill/downhill, short/long, and directional) and it is set in a beautiful part of the Spokane park system. You are playing right along the river at several points and have a great view of the river from above as you get near the end of the course.
Cons: I wish there were course maps available, as a couple of times, it took us a few minutes to find the next tee after finishing a hole. But, with the amount of locals around, we were usually pointed in the right direction fairly quickly.
Other Thoughts: If I was going to play one course only in the Spokane/Post Falls/Couer'd'Alene area, this would be it. The fact that you have 21 holes to play is a little odd, but hey, you can't complain about having a couple of extra holes, can you?

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Downriver DGC

5+    11/6/2003   4/16/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 191  Reviewed: 184  Exp: 14.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This beautiful course is located along the Spokane River near the golf course. The towering pines and other native foliage make for a wonderful and challenging layout. Many elements come into play with excellent elevation shots, water hazards, trees, etc. The course requires the use of all shots, with tight fairways at times, big upshots on many, and power drives throughout the course. This course is the total package and is open all year long. Tournaments are a blast and always well done. Locals are friendly and the baskets, tee pads, and signs are in good shape and allow for easy navigation. On each sign includes major hazards, distance from tee to the pin, and where the next hole is located.
Cons:
There is not too much to fix. However, some of the holes tend to cross over which can be a bit of a hazard at times, and some tee pads need a little TLC.
Other Thoughts:
Downriver DGC is one of my favorite courses and I have many happy memories there. I had the privelage to play this course for four years when I went to WSU in Pullman, WA. and was sad when I had to leave the eastside to travel over the mountains to live near Seattle. Although there are a lot more courses over here, I still think this course is one of the top 3 in the state.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.