Disc Golf Store
Spokane, WA 
Downriver DGC Share
Uploaded By: Lothiam Hole #12 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 235ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Wall in front of tee on hole #12



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
Great Course, Very Crowded

1    5/10/2014   5/11/2014
Review By: dengsauve
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.6 Years
Pros: -Not too wooded, open holes for the most part.
-Well marked baskets, easy to sight over long distance.
-No 'poke 'n' pray' holes, which is nice.
-Located on the beautiful Spokane river.
-Everyone there was polite.
Cons: -Played on a Sat. afternoon, the place was packed.
-Limited Parking.
-Holes close enough to parking that an overshot basket could hit a parked car.
-Graffiti all over the baskets.
-Lots of cans, bottles, and butts all over the park, despite trash cans everywhere.
-Tee off pads (rubber) worn down / torn.
Other Thoughts: If I was rating the course based on layout / design / location, I would give a 4/5. The defaced baskets and worn pads cost this course .5, as well as being crowded.

Good, but used to be better

5+    3/28/2014   5/4/2014
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 39  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 11.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tee signs marked with distances
-Well thought out and constructed tee pads made with with rubber and brick.
-multiple basket positioning (short/long)
-a mix up uphill and downhill layouts
-maintained baskets with good chain count and quality
-not too much brush and easy to follow hole layout.
- great league play and friendly locals
Cons: -Overly LHBH repetitive course
-No multiple tee pads
-Not a lot of parking when crowded
-Not enough long holes
Other Thoughts: It's been 8 years since I last played here and there have been some changes. Back then this course was the best around, but I think it's gone a step or two back in the wrong direction since then, especially since the addition of the other new courses in the Spokane area. I think I was playing the short version of the course layout. It seemed like every hole was a LHBH spike hyzer special. It was too much of the same shot over and over again. Is like to see this course evolve more in the future.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

DR

2-4    10/4/2013   2/10/2014
Review By: fuegoador
Played: 12  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Diverse hole types, multiple pin locations on several holes to change it up.
Cons: Gets crowded, combine that with several crossing/somewhat shared fairways and there is a lot of potential for disaster. One hole has you tee off from up high on a hillside and then you have to walk down the hill, which is very steep and sandy dirt leading to a slippery situation as you cross the fairway of the previous hole.
Other Thoughts: Have thought that some sort of steps on that downhill hole could make it much safer than it currently is since the first time I played there.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.


5+    11/16/2013   11/18/2013
Review By: c re
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: beautiful course along the Spokane river. very good variety of shots, plays well for all levels and styles of play ( lefty righty backhand forehand)
Cons: gets extremely crowded and there is a lot of trash and vandalism.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Duck and Cover

1    5/23/2013   5/26/2013
Review By: BrickE
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.7 Years
Pros: Downriver disc golf course is set along the Spokane River and it is beautiful. The players at this course were friendly and helpful, quick to point a first timer in the right direction. The holes were both challenging and fun with a good variety of holes. I really liked the tee pads on this course, most were rubber and offered a good grip. Baskets were is good condition, the course was pretty clean for the amount of traffic it had.
Cons: Ok, so here is the biggest let down of the course. It was not safe. Many of the fairways crossed on the first nine holes, and "fore" was like heard over and over again on the first nine holes. I would imagine that there have been a lot of people hit by discs.
Other Thoughts: I would suggest that you try the course, it might be worth the danger. I loved the lay out.

Staple of Spokane

1    2/10/2013   2/11/2013
Review By: Yoduh
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
This review was updated on 1/15/2014
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very pretty piece of land, especially the views of the river. Some really excellent signature holes. Holes 4,5,8,9,10 and 17 are worth the play alone. The front 10 are rated 5 stars in my mind if there was no danger.
Cons: Danger is high on hole 1's fairway. If your putting or RBH hyzer watch your back and listen for FORE!!! The baskets used to be good but for some reason they seem to be becoming less and less reliable. The tee's are getting better but they are uneven and undulating rubber mats
Other Thoughts: Newer players would do better to play holes 11-18. These holes are significantly easier. If you find hole 11's tee and your shot goes right yell FORE at the top of your lungs. This course taught me how to hyzer flip and to anhyzer quite well. There is 2 RBH hyzers on the course. Course is completely worth playing. It has special place in my heart.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Downriver

5+    6/13/2012   6/27/2012
Review By: General Scales
Played: 12  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great mix of distance (short and booming). Technically diverse (open vs wooded). Requires all shots (overhands, backhands, sidearms and rollers). Challenging greens due to hard pack dirt. Risk vs reward on a lot of holes and approaches. Constant improvement due to a very dedicated group of locals.
Cons: VERY BUSY. It is the oldest course in the area and that shows. Vandals keep destroying current signs so it can be confusing if you don't have a guide. 1 and hole 11 play within 100 feet of each other so it's very easy to hyzer or anhyzer a shot and put another player at risk. Parking can become an issue if you get there late in the day.
Other Thoughts: My favorite course in Spokane. Always nice to come out right at sunrise and see the gorgeous sky reflected in the river. Worth the stop if you are coming through Spokane. I will always miss the 21 hole layout but safety is more prevalent.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great scenery!

1    6/16/2012   6/20/2012
Review By: trswem
Played: 6  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.2 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery! The river was really fun to play around. Met a lot of helpful golfers, well marked signs. I was told the course is cared for by volunteers, and it looks like they are going a good job.
Cons: Nothing comes to mind.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Confusing but cool

1    11/8/2011   11/10/2011
Review By: Joey Pauley
Played: 24  Reviewed: 8
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - There was a nice variety of holes.
- Unless you were way off the water was not in play but made for great scenery.
- Trash cans were prevalent and the course looked very clean.
- Nice maps for individual holes and well designed.
Cons: - Confusing layout.
- I thought the hill could have been used more.
- A full map closer to the parking area would be nice.
Other Thoughts: If you shoot for the correct hole then following the next tee signs will point you in the right direction.

There is potential for a great down hill hole between 5 and 6. There was an old tee pad up on the hill where we were able to shoot at the hole for 9.

The day we went the scenery was drab but I could see how it would be beautiful when the leaves are out or changing.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Thoroughly Mediocre

1    9/15/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: JamesXC
Played: 44  Reviewed: 7
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course was fairly interesting in terms of various shots being required to reach the baskets from the tees. Right/Left/Up/Down and combinations of the four were all present, and the holes were long enough that I needed to throw drivers on most holes instead of just pulling out a putter on every teepad.
Cons: First of all, the course was fairly confusing, even with a map. There are several holes which tee off from within 80 feet or so of one another and the order in which you play them seems almost completely random. I was fortunate enough to have a couple of locals to tag along with or I would have been quite lost.

Several of the holes feel very similar (there are at least 3 left-to-right downhill 350' drives), and that makes it feel almost monotonous at times.

Also, maybe I was just there at the wrong time of year, but the park that the course was located in was not very appealing. There was a lot of dust, a few large trees, and not much else. There were a couple of pretty views of the river, but for the most part, I was underwhelmed.
Other Thoughts: The course is not bad if you happen to have a couple of hours in Spokane, but I much prefer Cherry Hill in Coeur d'Alene if you are traveling through on I-90.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.