Spokane, WA
Downriver DGC Share
Uploaded By: Lothiam Hole #12 (Taken 5/2012)
3 / 235ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Wall in front of tee on hole #12



Reviews: 24
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Downriver

5+    5/17/2011   5/19/2011
Review By: tyezerian
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The course has a good layout overall. Almost all of the baskets can be seen from the tee box so you know where you are going. The course is pretty well maintained.
Cons: If you haven't played this course very much, it could be a little hard to figure out where the next tee box is. All of the holes are a Par 3, even though some of the holes are pretty long and should be a Par 4. When the river is high, there are three holes that you can easily loose a disc on. You either have to skip it, or downscale your throws and play them save.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great course to play

1    4/12/2011   4/26/2011
Review By: rstevens77
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A beautiful setting for this course. The Spokane river is not only great to look at, but forces you to really think through your shot selection and several holes.
Cons: The course layout leads to some confusion as well as a few holes crossing over each other - which obviously is can be little dangerous.
Other Thoughts: This was a tough course, but well worth the time. Courses like this definitely make me want to work hard to step up my game so I'm ready for the challenge next time! I will definitely play this the next time I'm in the Spokane area.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Scenic and Gorgeous

1    9/9/2010   10/5/2010
Review By: Daffron24
Played: 149  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
A beautiful setting for a disc golf course that is located near the Spokane River. With scenic views and great terrain this course offers a really fun experience. This well-maintained course has an ok amount when it comes to the variety of shots required, but does have a good variety of hole distances which make for some challenge. Downriver has a good mix of technical and open holes throughout the course as well as good use of elevation. Rubber team pads added for good traction, but some of the pads were worn. The signs were good but tended to be a little confusing when trying to figure out the flow of the course. The first hole is situated right near the 11th hole and goes off in one direction and you zigzag though the course. Once you get to about the 5th hole you get a little better idea of navigating the course. The locals were very friendly and helped me get around the course.
Cons: The main flaw of this course was maintaining a constant flow throughout the course. It was confusing and not well laid-out. There weren't any restrooms or running water. Even though the course used a good mix of technical and open holes, the course was missing the wow factor.
Other Thoughts: Even though this course was missing a few things to make it an elite level course, it really did offer a lot. The overall challenge of the course was about a 3.5/5. The course was a really fun course to play and absolutely gorgeous views of Western Washington. The Spokane River was right to the course which added to the scenic beauty of the course. There are two parking lots and it can get a little crowded which means back-up and discs will be crossing each other. This course was a fun course to play and if you are in the Spokane area it's worth the time to go and play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Slice of Spokane

5+    9/3/2010   9/10/2010
Review By: Sean Johnson
Played: 22  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/2/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Downriver is a great example of the beauty found in Eastern Wa. There are excellent views of the Spokane River and even though we don't have the lushness of the West Coast there is a certain rugged charm to the terrain around here. I think that this course is the better of the two public courses in Spokane, though Highbride is beginning to catch up to Downriver in terms of difficulty.

Downriver has a good mix of open and tight holes, but it definately favors forehand/right turning shots. There is little elevation change, but some of the best holes on the course (4 and 8) utilize what is available. There are risk/reward holes and many holes require very accurate placement to even have a line at the basket. Hole 5 is a good example of the several tough par 3s. It is a tight 300'+ s-curve that leads to pin that is protected on all sides save 2 (1 1/2) lanes. As someone said before, the front side is much harder than the back 8 or 9, but there are few "throw away" holes to be found.
Like Highbridge, there are changes in the works, and this will include changes in pin placements (more on that later), better teepads, and improved signage.
Cons: The main con for Downriver is the same as Highbride; one gang of posers with sharpies and the teeming masses that can't seem to pack out their cans. I mean, you got it in here didn't you? Just because there isn't enough trash cans, that doesn't give you the right to litter. Course can be very crowded, but I like to play early so it's not really a problem. Also, despite losing three great holes because they crossed fairways, there is still some danger zones. Hole 1 gets frequently bombed by 12, and 8's fairway (downhill elevation shot) pretty much includes 7's teebox.

If you throw RHBH on this course, you'll get a feel for what lefties and forehanders go through on other courses. This course has open holes where both FH and BH are an option, straight shots, lots right turning holes, and about 2 holes where a hyzer is the dominant line.
Other Thoughts: The powers that be are requiring us to move several holes to help prevent erosion around the Spokane River. I agree with them completely on this issue, as respect for the environment is one of the fundamental tenants of our sport. However, we have limited space and there are limited options for moving placements. No matter how the course turns out, it will still be a must-play for the area.

It is worth noting that I do not think that this is one of the hardest courses in Washington. Seatac, Ft. Stelli, and all three Fourmound courses are more difficult by a wide margin. That said, this course is no pushover. For reference, Avery Jenkins set the course record at -9 and Dave Feldburg broke it at -10. Scores like that are certainly in line with a tournament level course.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Best Course in Spokane

5+    5/25/2010   5/31/2010
Review By: Sixth Man
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Incredible diversity and beauty on this course. It The Spokane river wraps around most of the course making for beautiful backdrops. Plenty of long holes to air your arm out as well as interesting terrain (elevation, water, trees). It's a very well designed course and my favorite in Spokane. It's definitely worth playing a round if you're in the area.
Cons: It's very crowded. I don't even attempt to play on the weekends unless I can get out there early in the morning. I also lose a lot of discs here, so be careful with your favorites.
Other Thoughts: If you are family oriented and can get there early it's a great place for a round and a family picnic. There's a nice little beach area by the 7th hole where you can have lean up against a log and have some lunch. The front nine are MUCH tougher than the back nine, so it's nice to know that if you can survive holes 2-9 you should have a good round. There's more direct sun here than at Highbridge, so if you're looking to get some rays or a little more heat I'd head here rather than Highbridge. It also seems to be pretty protected from the wind. It's an awesome course (when it's isn't too crowded).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Variety of Holes

1    3/6/2010   4/15/2010
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 174  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 21.9 Years
This review was updated on 5/26/2010
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is located on the bend of a scenic river and amongst tall pines and grassy fields. It plays as a classic "fairway" course with most of the perils on the edge of the play zone, and many of the holes scatter a good mix of trees in the fairways and around the greens for good measure.
Cons: It was extremely crowded on a sunny March Saturday. The locals told me this was common when spring starts to show her face. Nonetheless, there was a lot of waiting around!

The fairway of #8 crosses right over the front of #7 tee box. I know they have corrected several criss-crossing holes, but this one still seems quite dangerous.
Other Thoughts: The beauty of this course is a real highlight. It attracts more than just disc golfers and can add to the crowd.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Very nice blend

2-4    8/11/2009   8/12/2009
Review By: gsdtimmay
Played: 76  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course walks the tough line of being very difficult and yet fair at the same time. Wide open holes, tight technical holes, distances varying from 230 up to 500, and one very picturesque downhill shot overlooking the spokane river. You have to be well versed in both power and accuracy to score well on this course. The few holes that run along the river are just a pleasure to play due to the scenery of the crystal clear bubbling water. Very friendly locals as well
Cons: The course recently had three holes removed from its original 21 because of crossing fairways that made play somewhat dangerous. As a result of this the holes had to be reshuffled, resulting in some tough navigation and some incorrect signs. I'm sure within a short while this problem will be remedied and new tee signs will be brought in. Once this is done I'd rate the course a five.
Other Thoughts: I'm on a road trip from Pensacola Florida to seattle, and I've played courses all along the way in eight different states. Although Colorado gets huge billing for its courses up in the Rockies, I'd venture that I like this course the best of the entire trip thus far.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Downriver DGC

5+    8/8/2009   8/9/2009
Review By: TjN001
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course offers a nice selection of different shots, some in more tight areas, and others that allow all-out open drives. Good variety of distances and obstacles. High quality signs, and friendly locals who are happy to help if you get confused. The front nine has some more difficult shots, and the back gives more opportunities for birds. Lots of fun, an overall great disc-golf experience. Porta-potty in parking lot. You can get water across the street at the golf course (you might get some weird looks, but you gotta have water).
Cons: It once was a 21 hole course, however now there are only 18 holes. Old holes 6 and 8 were really memorable, sadly they were removed. Also removed was old 12. Their removal does make the course more safe though (no more crossing fairways). Some tees were switched around also. This leads to some confusion... Nothing too bad though, still 18 wonderful holes to play through!
Other Thoughts: Some new signs might be required, since the layout of the course has changed a bit.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/24/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 187  Reviewed: 182  Exp: 10.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scene along the Spokane river, this makes a great destination for disc golfing. Good amount of challenge with lots of chances for airing it out but still technical enough. Twenty one holes! Great mix of hole distances and lots of variety with dog legs. Excellent use of the elevation and there is plenty of it.
Cons: Some parts of the course have fairways crossing each other which could have been avooided. Not horribly hard to navigate but it could be a little tough for a first timer with no map. Two of the basket locations are on the edge of the bank of the river and losing a disc in there is a possibility, I did it last time I played here.
Other Thoughts: When I was there the locals were saying the course was getting an overhaul by taking a couple holes out. Great destination and it will challenge you but not to the point where you are getting frustrated.

With the redesign the course changed a bit took out some of the fun downhill throws and I think that made the course loose some of it's appeal to me so I'm lowering my rating.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun

5+    5/29/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: coredog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course design, diverse holes, hyzer and anhyzer shots, holes favor righties, Redesign on a few wholes and order are a welcome change, since a couple holes used to cross.
Cons: Couple tee boxes are rough, need more parking for busy days, people leave trash around a lot (especially beer cans), beginners can easily lose their discs on a few holes along river, need better signage for next whole since redesign.
Other Thoughts: what a fantastic course. offers variety of lengths and terrains, and requires a variety of skills and shots. This was the first course I played and still love it. Never gets boring. Just watch out for those that drink heavily on course...they can be obnoxious!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center