Spokane, WA 
Downriver DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg  



Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

2-4    5/24/2009   6/9/2009
Review By: sillybizz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 193  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 9/6/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scene along the Spokane river, this makes a great destination for disc golfing. Good amount of challenge with lots of chances for airing it out but still technical enough. Twenty one holes! Great mix of hole distances and lots of variety with dog legs. Excellent use of the elevation and there is plenty of it.
Cons: Some parts of the course have fairways crossing each other which could have been avooided. Not horribly hard to navigate but it could be a little tough for a first timer with no map. Two of the basket locations are on the edge of the bank of the river and losing a disc in there is a possibility, I did it last time I played here.
Other Thoughts: When I was there the locals were saying the course was getting an overhaul by taking a couple holes out. Great destination and it will challenge you but not to the point where you are getting frustrated.

With the redesign the course changed a bit took out some of the fun downhill throws and I think that made the course loose some of it's appeal to me so I'm lowering my rating.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great fun

5+    5/29/2009   4/14/2009
Review By: coredog
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2009
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course design, diverse holes, hyzer and anhyzer shots, holes favor righties, Redesign on a few wholes and order are a welcome change, since a couple holes used to cross.
Cons: Couple tee boxes are rough, need more parking for busy days, people leave trash around a lot (especially beer cans), beginners can easily lose their discs on a few holes along river, need better signage for next whole since redesign.
Other Thoughts: what a fantastic course. offers variety of lengths and terrains, and requires a variety of skills and shots. This was the first course I played and still love it. Never gets boring. Just watch out for those that drink heavily on course...they can be obnoxious!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Wow I had fun!

2-4    11/15/2008   12/10/2008
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 54  Reviewed: 44  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 11/24/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has a great variety of shots. Form long to medium. They are generally only moderately technical except where the river comes into play (a guy I got to play a round with and who plays it a lot lost one in the river). Some great elevation shots both up hill and down. Other than the river the course does not eat discs. The undergrowth is minimal and the trees are tall pines and some tamarack. But they are not thick. The teepads are rubber and a couple are concrete where a tennis court once was. (Update: The downsize from 21 to 18 made this easier to get around. The directional signage to next tee worked will even without a map.)
Cons: Some of the holes need better marking and some better direction to the next hole signs would be of help. There are enough locals on this course that it isn't usually a problem.(Update to my previous review I would have to add that the downsize from 21 to 18 was great. But on many of the holes there are areas that have tees and baskets close together. A player will need to be vigilant when both throwing and walking around to not get hit. Yet it is open enough that you can do this).
Other Thoughts: Bring plenty to drink because this course will give you a workout. A must course for anyone who enjoys the game. Download the map from their website and you should not have any trouble. I was invited to play in a Saturday weekly and had a great time. I was teamed up with a female pro who was great company and a VERY good player.(I have playedd enough now to know that no matter what you do someone will complain. The more recent reviews do not do this course justice. They even seem prejudiced. This course does need some work but it has come a long way.)

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Is This The Best In The State?

7/3/2008   7/12/2008
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 673  Reviewed: 606  Exp: 36.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I have to agree with Mr. JR Stengele. This is one of Washington's finest courses. It has it all, probably four big air throws to really show off your arm, technical wooded holes, great signs, the teepads are rubber and work well here. It's a very scenic course with the Spokane River visible much of the time. There's elevation to throw from, water hazards as the river comes into play on 4-5 different holes. I downloaded a map and had very little problem navigating the course. The course was busy both times I went so following some locals is pretty easy. 21 holes is a bonus.
Cons: It's rugged and it can be very hot. Bring water. On as least two of the big air throws, you have to be a little careful of the river looming right behind the basket. Takes a little of the enjoyment of those big throws when you're worried about overthrowing into the river.
Other Thoughts: I think Downriver is probably Washington's # 1 enjoyable course, as far as being a majorly challenging course for tournaments and more advanced players. I'd rate it right there with my favorite, Lakewood King County, as an overall disc golf experience. Spokane throwers are lucky to have Downriver and Hi-Bridge right here in Spokane and then Corbin just 10 miles away.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Probably the best course in the area.

5/25/2008   5/31/2008
Review By: LanceInTacoma
Played: 35  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 24.2 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is probably the best course I have played in this area, with Corbin in Post Falls a close second. You get quite a variety of hole types (uphill/downhill, short/long, and directional) and it is set in a beautiful part of the Spokane park system. You are playing right along the river at several points and have a great view of the river from above as you get near the end of the course.
Cons: I wish there were course maps available, as a couple of times, it took us a few minutes to find the next tee after finishing a hole. But, with the amount of locals around, we were usually pointed in the right direction fairly quickly.
Other Thoughts: If I was going to play one course only in the Spokane/Post Falls/Couer'd'Alene area, this would be it. The fact that you have 21 holes to play is a little odd, but hey, you can't complain about having a couple of extra holes, can you?

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Downriver DGC

5+    11/6/2003   4/16/2008
Review By: JR Stengele
Played: 183  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 14.2 Years
This review was updated on 5/19/2011
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
This beautiful course is located along the Spokane River near the golf course. The towering pines and other native foliage make for a wonderful and challenging layout. Many elements come into play with excellent elevation shots, water hazards, trees, etc. The course requires the use of all shots, with tight fairways at times, big upshots on many, and power drives throughout the course. This course is the total package and is open all year long. Tournaments are a blast and always well done. Locals are friendly and the baskets, tee pads, and signs are in good shape and allow for easy navigation. On each sign includes major hazards, distance from tee to the pin, and where the next hole is located.
Cons:
There is not too much to fix. However, some of the holes tend to cross over which can be a bit of a hazard at times, and some tee pads need a little TLC.
Other Thoughts:
Downriver DGC is one of my favorite courses and I have many happy memories there. I had the privelage to play this course for four years when I went to WSU in Pullman, WA. and was sad when I had to leave the eastside to travel over the mountains to live near Seattle. Although there are a lot more courses over here, I still think this course is one of the top 3 in the state.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.