Course Extinct
Lakewood, CO 
Red Rocks Comm. College DGC Share
Uploaded By: thechad Hole #3 (Taken 1/2011)
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Basket



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Twenty-Nine Quarters!

1    7/11/2012   7/12/2012
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 684  Reviewed: 636  Exp: 36.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: If I had attended Red Rocks Community College as an 18 year old and this course had been here, it would have probably taken me twenty-nine quarters to graduate, almost 10 years. I never would have gone to class but I wouldv'e have held the school and course records for most rounds played, career ACES, and maybe lowest score. This is a great little course for the population that I think it's aiming at, that is, the typical community college student. It's not designed for the pro or advanced disc golfer or maybe not even for the typical recreational player. But it's perfect for that quick round at lunch or between classes. The designer(s) had a wonderful hilly terrain to work with. I was sold from # 1 with it's wonderful little tee area (off a sidewalk between a wall and a garden plant) throwing to a basket 280' downhill. That's just a fun little ACE op. There are two blind throws where the basket is hidden but you actually have light poles to throw at. One of those is # 5 which is just a little 113' flick shot. You don't see the basket but you know it's right next to the light pole. The signage is excellent for this course. I understand that improvements are constantly being made such as a footbridge, additional holes, AM tees and more. The two uphill throws ( #4 and # 6) will test those CC arms).
Cons: The high desert terrain is not my favorite but the hilly terrain and creative basket placements more than made up for it. The tee boxes are the best but on most of these little pitch and putt holes, you don't need much of a run-up anyway.
Other Thoughts: This course is perfect for players wanting to work on their short games, families, newbies, students between classes and any level of player wanting to up his career ACE total. Not being a local, I'm not exactly sure how many other course are nearby but I would think, Red Rocks CC would get a ton of play. I know, I'd be here all the time if I lived anywhere close. I'm giving it my 3.5 stars Pick Of The Week Must Play Course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Extreme Makeover: Disc Golf Edition

2-4    10/16/2011   10/17/2011
Review By: markjfun
Played: 74  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 8.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/9/2011
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Many nips, tucks, tweaks, and enlargements later, Red Rocks Community College DGC has become a beautiful new creature entirely. The old 9-hole layout did the job well enough but will quickly be forgotten in the wake of its elegant new 12-pin successor. With distances ranging from an easy ace to an arm-busting mammoth of a drive, your score will have its ups and downs. Elevation changes will have you throwing downhill from a handful of tees and uphill twice (holes #4 and #6), unless of course an overshot or a nasty roll puts you on one of the steep hillsides, down in a dry ravine, or in the dense, prickly creek bed. If your throws stay on the mark, fresh amenities like a sturdy wooden footbridge, well-defined paths and scholarly signage will treat you right. Bright orange flags atop each and every basket help you spot your targets and indicate wind direction, which can be a potentially valuable tidbit in the wide open areas.

The first two holes are tactfully simple and do their job of creating interest in beginners and novices admirably, without sacrificing any fun factor. As you step up to the tee box at #3, you see what a treat you're in for - paths that lead across open swatches of high desert terrain, strategically interrupted by glades of trees along sloping mounds that bear the very essence of Front Range foothills. On holes #4 and #7, you're offered the choice of playing from amateur tees that reasonably shorten the tee-to-pin distance. Baskets are rotated into their alternate A, B and C positions often enough to make a revisit worth your while. The spacious views and orderly groundskeeping offer a warm welcome that is hard to forget, as well.
Cons: After plucking your disc from the basket on hole 12, you're left with an unquenched thirst. Where are the next 6 holes? It's like being poured 12 ounces of beer into a large frosty mug easily capable of holding 6 more delicious ounces. But the tap has run dry and you're right back where you started. Aside from this truncated feeling, some additional signage would benefit first-timers in two notable places: during the rather long journey between pin #8 and tee box #9 and the jaunt through the hedge of trees from pin #9 to tee box #10. The course sees heavy use during afternoons, especially when the weather is accommodating.
Other Thoughts: This course is excellent, and is just waiting to become phenomenal with the addition of more holes. There's plenty of room out there for a full 18 - let's hope enrollment is up enough in the coming semesters to justify finishing it off before the tease goes on much longer!

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  Way more fun.

1    10/10/2011   10/10/2011
Review By: WooDSoN
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New layout is much more fun and adventurous.
Great mix of terrain.
Pro tees on hole 4&7 are serious business.
Not crowded at all. I went during the middle of the day on a weekday and we had the place almost to our selves.
Cons: The ditch. (you'll know when you spend 20 minutes digging through the bushes to find your disc)
Got lost around hole 9.
Some holes are short with no obsticals. Unless you count yucca and cacti.
Wear your hiking boots.
Other Thoughts: This course is a lot of fun now. I really hope they make it 18 holes. Great views and really covers a lot of ground. I cannot wait to go try it again when I'm better dressed to handle the ditch.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    9/22/2011   9/23/2011
Review By: Spectre742
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Great new course layout
- Good mix of holes
- Nice use of land and elevation
- Uncrowded
- Nice alternate basket placements
- low traffic from non-disc golfers
- Potential to improve and grow
Cons: - Dirt Tees
- A little confusing on your first time thru. could have a better flow from hole to hole
- Don't land in the ditch.
- Parking lot pretty full during the school day
- Be careful not to hit any cars on #4. You throw downhill right along the road
Other Thoughts: I like the natural feel of this course and play it a few times a week. It provides a more rugged round of disc golf minus the crowds and joggers etc. that you encounter at other local courses. 2 or 3 rounds make for a satisfying day of discin'. Wear a good supportive pair of shoes/ boots.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.