Granbury, TX
Granbury City DGC Share
Uploaded By: giles Hole #15 (Taken 9/2012)
3 / 330ft.   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Good overall

2-4    2/21/2014   2/23/2014
Review By: Dday301
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Well kept
Cons: -Some pins and boxes too close together through the middle of the course.
-Short and skinny teepads!!
Other Thoughts: A walking path is present near 1&2, should be a non issue, just know it is present. Road and train tracks near 2&3, road has moderate traffic, don't get distracted! Decent use of elevation but could be better. Flows nicely, but there is one spot where you could walk to the wrong next box. The park is big enough where there should be no crowding but there is on a few which was a design flaw. Overall the signs were very accurate, very easy to read and follow. After 3&6 (I believe) there are some hand painted signs to direct to the next box but between 6&7 that sign could certainly be bigger/more visible. Fairly easy course that should yield plenty of birdies and few bogies, probably none. Good course overall and if your passing through I would recommend giving it a go.

***I left out one very important thing. For me having good teepads is very near the top of my requirements for a good course. The pads here are concrete but they are short and skinny! I have stepped off the end of them lots of times and it messes up your release and if your not careful could lead to an ankle/knee injury. There are a few tee boxes that are longer and wider but most are short and skinny, which suggests poor planning or something of the sort.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

"Shorts" review

1    7/20/2013   7/20/2013
Review By: texhop58
Played: 44  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 11.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *concrete tees
*tee signs
*rough not too bad
*flow is not to bad. Made my way around without a map or playing before
*spacious land
*multiple pin locations
*elevation change. But felt like it could of been used better.
Cons: *seemed very right hand back hand friendly-I would say over 75 percent or higher are right side open to entrance or left side blocked by trees
*only hole that really felt special was 17 and if pin was 30 feet more left this could be a really special hole
*16 seemed confusing with multiple baskets in area. Threw down to 20 thinking that is what sign meant.
Other Thoughts: There is nothing really bad or just outstanding about the course. It does it job. This is just a review of the shorts. It almost felt like the people who put in course were all rhbh throwers and threw shots and said ok. Lets put it there.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good vibes

2-4    7/4/2013   7/5/2013
Review By: laerton420
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 1.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: concrete pads.well maintained..both wide open and technical shots..awesome trees.nice vibe.never crowded.shade.yellow painted chain pointing next hole a real plus for a beginner like myself..good feel
Cons: no map was a big one for a beginner like myself.real bummer..course mostly flowed,could be made easier.signs are in but some are wood and not very pleasant.abundant poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: this is my first reveiw.i am a newbie at dg (6 months).but an old "frisbee" player from the 60s..all the cons combined cannot outweigh the epic trees you get to play around here,great experience.great vibe,a really groovy course.if your in it for the fun,you have to go here..the solitude and openess are a breath of fresh air...

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Nice Course

1    6/24/2012   6/24/2012
Review By: JeremyKShort
Played: 38  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/1/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course has a variety of different holes, with trees, mild elevation change, and a few water hazards. It seems to be well maintained, and it has a generally nice setting to it. Most of the holes have some sort o signage now.
Cons: There are a few places the holes don't flow logically, so you'll want a map. There is a nice one at the sign by the first hole, take a pic of it with your smart phone and you'll be in good shape.
Other Thoughts: Most of the holes are over 400', although there are a bit shorter. You'll need to throw 250' to 300' consistantly to par the course.
It looks like they're working on adding a 21st hole to the course.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Granbury City DGC

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 153  Reviewed: 62  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is long and challenging, the summer heat definitely takes its toll on you. I really like the variety of shots and the challenge of having to deal with the wind. I also really liked how the holes started very open and progressively got tighter which gives you time to find your groove. Conrete tee pads are nice and baskets in good shape.
Cons: I wish every hole had tee signs to make the course a little bit easier to navigate, they do have a chain painted pointeing the direction to go but it would make navigation a little easier. The course is a little hard to find if you have never been there before because i didnt know i needed to go under that bridge and to the left for the first tee.
Other Thoughts: The course is definitely worth the drive i really enjoyed it.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

nice course

1    3/30/2012   4/4/2012
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 179  Reviewed: 118  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 1/29/2013
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -great flow to the layout, holes get progressively more difficult
-nice concrete tees for the shorts, natural tees for the longs
-homemade signs at each short tee
-good variety of distance, open & tighter fairways, left & right turning shots
-small ponds in play on a few holes
-park has trash cans and benches near the entrance
-plenty of parking
Cons: -the first four holes are very open, at least there are some rolling hills and a few skinny trees to navigate
-from what i hear the area floods very easily during heavy rains, could be problematic in the spring

-it would be cool if they could get a permanent basket for hole 19
Other Thoughts: ***Update***
Now an 18 hole course with a 19th hole that sometimes has a basket. Concrete on all the shorts, none on the longs. The new holes are great additions and a few are pretty challenging with distance and lots of obstacles. Great job!
***

This is a fun course that is beginner friendly but still fun and challenging for int/adv level players. The park is nice and the signs, tees, and baskets are in great condition and well installed.

The first four holes are pretty much wide open. The first is flat and the next three play over some rolling hills. Hole 5 is a fun left-to-right fairway with a small elevation drop and Hole 6 plays over a pond and into a grove of trees. Hole 7 is my favorite with deep rolling hills and a channel of trees to navigate. Holes 8 and 9 have wide fairways but with some ceiling or tree obstacles.

Even though some of the holes are longer (1,8,9) beginners should have an easy time as there are no tight woods or thick underbrush; easy to keep it in the fairway. Just watch out for the water.

Looks like there is plenty of room to expand and there has already been an 18 hole layout for a tournament. I expect a full 18 holes lies in this course's future. A great course to introduce disc golf to the local area and promote the sport.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 granbury dgc

5+    9/27/2011   9/28/2011
Review By: z boaz ace 22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: great little course it plays well and is laid out well there are alternate tees that totally changes the course it is my home course and i like it it is no zboas but it has a good mixture of distance and a little elevation change good use of trees and there is a concession stand
Cons: nine holes but the alternates play like a full eighteen its a little hard to find just follow the directions and come play
Other Thoughts: minis every week on Tuesday at six o clock it cost six to eight dollars and its a lot of fun good group of good players

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.