Houston, TX 
TC Jester Park Share
Uploaded By: ERicJ Hole #5 (Taken 12/2011)
3 / 293ft.   3 / 323ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Short/White Tee

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
 wide open, not too technical

5+    6/25/2015   6/25/2015
Review By: patrickdrinksbeer
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: fun course to play. as a somewhat new player, super technical courses through woods arent that fun for me. on jester, there is really only 1 hole where i cant throw a driver. there are trees on the course that come into play, but really no holes where you just hope to get lucky and miss a tree. 2/3 of the holes are birdie-able for a decent player. probably all birdie-able for a good player. playing solo, i can finish 21 holes in about 75 minutes. plenty of parking and easy to navigate once you figure out holes 5-9 are across the bayou.
course is much more difficult when the wind is whipping.
Cons: long walks between 9 and 10, and 16 and 17. course holds a lot of water after a good rain. no concrete pads. could use some trash cans. on weekends, picnickers can campout on a few of the holes between 15 and 21.
Other Thoughts: this course is about 4 blocks from my house so its super convenient to play. typically well maintained and although its probably considered fairly easy, every hole is fair and there are lots of birdie opportunities.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  New Jester Course

5+    2/7/2012   2/7/2012
Review By: Houston27
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Uses the little land available and squeezes in 21 enjoyable holes. The bayou comes into play on a couple holes which makes for some interesting shots. I realize this may be a con to most, but I enjoy the long walks. While I enjoyed the old 9 hole course, this feels more like a regular disc golf course.

Favorite holes : 4, 7, 10,19
Cons: I hope the tee pads will eventually become concrete. The trees that were removed diminished the uniqueness of each hole. Sign me up when the city decides to replant trees in the future. Backups seem to occur often with the holes across the bayou. Different groups walk at different paces and there is a lot of walking.

Least Favorite hole : 11 (the drought really affected this one)
Other Thoughts: I read a lot about the drainage and the lack of trees. Lets get a couple things straight. First, if you have played a course that has had about 10 inches of rain in less than a month, there are going to be drainage issues. Second, not sure if some of you are aware but Texas just went through one of its worst droughts in history. A lot of trees have been removed. The "reforestation" that has been mentioned is actually debris left from the city after ripping out about 300 trees from the park. With all that being said I will admit that I am biased towards this course because it is my "home course". But hey, we are all guilty of a little homerism from time to time.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 TC Jester. DG in HOU has arrived

2-4    10/3/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: coyotepower
Played: 33  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 10.2 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good variety of shotmaking needed. Excellent use of terrain and landspace available. A Pro course in Houston!
Cons: Bike/Jogging trail runs through the park and causes delays. Biggest offenders are #4(blue) and # 10. Long walk from hole 9 to 10 & 13 to 14
Other Thoughts: TC Jester was the first course I ever played, so there was some lament when new changes were made. However, after playing the course now 3 times, I can officially say that the change was for the better. The re-design incorporated areas of the park that were underused, and created some interesting new holes that only add to the challenges. Favorite new holes would include # 4, a 250+ft shot across the bayou, #6, a short tough alley from the blue tees, rarely seen in H-town, and #7 which is RHBH heaven. Big thanks to those involved, and to those who make it happen within HPARD. DG in Houston is a beautiful, growing thing.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

  New TC Jester Coarse

5+    10/6/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: jamesketcherjr
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: Nice distances, great layout & good walk for exercise.
Cons: People keep messing with the temporary tee marker. some holes don't have markers on some days. we need to find a better way until the permanent ones get put in.

0 of 14 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.