Layout Extinct

Shelby Township, MI 
Stony Creek Metro Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #10
3 / 228ft.   3 / 228ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3
 Stony is now on Steroids...

5+    5/20/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 72  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.4 Years
Pros: As with all Metropark courses, it is maintained excellently and has all of the amenities that you could look for.
Dual cement tees, great targets, mowed fairways, scorecards on site, benches at most holes, practice basket, restrooms, alcohol friendliness, trash cans, multiple park activities and most importantly, challenge of play.
Big armed throwers will love Stony's opening six holes, covering 3000+ feet.
Shorter and more technical holes, multiple doglegs, a couple of water hazards and elevation all come in to play. Nice 400' downhill bomb to finish the full 27-hole layout.
After 18 you are brought back to the parking lot, giving you options.
Helpful staff on hand to assist in any non-life threatening situations.
Easy to follow hole-to-hole.
Cons: Lots of plastic-eating shrubs, grass and shule. A few holes require a spotter. Can and usually does get busy at peak hours. Due to its location, a few random pick-nickers wander on to the course. Some holes run right next to each other creating some tight spots, nothing too bad though. A few long walks between holes, including a very long uphill walk from 27's basket, back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: The new/altered holes are very welcomed additions to Stony's already outstanding layout. More of an intermediate to advanced course, beginners can still have fun.
With Willow's 24 holes and Kensington's 27, Stony Creek's 24 holes are a sign that the Metropark system has disc golf on its agenda.
$2 a day bag fee/$50 yearly.
$5 car fee/$25 yearly. Yearly passes good at all Metropark locations. Party store at 25mile/Shelby is open early, has plastic and pizza.

 best course i know

5+    3/13/2012   4/24/2012
Review By: ZdybelT
Played: 54  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: very nicely maintained.
variety of holelong distance shots with multiple tee pads that are in great shape.
baskets are in good condition.
staff is very friendly as well as the people.
practice basket with a long range field.
Cons: you have to pay to play but if you live 10 min. away like i do you can buy a park and disc pass and it is well worth it.
Other Thoughts: currently doing maintenace to turn it into a monster course...cant wait to see it.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/6/2011   11/6/2011
Review By: Thomas437
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete Pads on all holes
Pro and Am pads
Well kept
Cons: Pay to play
Can become crowded
Other Thoughts: This is my home course which i play nearly everyday. A great course that is in transition into becoming a 27 hole monster.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stody Creek Metro Park

1    7/30/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 51  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is very well kept
-There were benches and pic-kink tables scattered through out the course for breaks
-24 holes!
-mostly open but there is a good variety of wooded holes.
-many challenging fairways with tough angles, this can get frustrating
-good variety of distances with short skill shots but still a lot of chances to bomb it.
-multiple tees
Cons: You have to pay a couple dollars to play and like $5 to park, it can be expensive for a round of frolf. Other than that the only thing that I did not like was the amount of weeds, I can imagine at the end of summer they are pretty long and hard to find discs in.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty standard, really

1    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 85  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: plays in fairly open terrain, with brush and spotted trees lining the fairways. a couple tunnel shots. i liked the two holes that played under the small canopy of trees - kinda zig zag back and forth...
pro and am cement tees for most holes (when distance dictates). logs for sitting and cans for tossing trash. wooded posts marking hole # and distance, fairly low vandalism.
a nice shot over a small pond is nice for an ace run. actually, a few ace runs exist on this course - some of the holes are quote short (<200 ft.) but length is mixed well throughout.
Cons: honestly, all the holes blur together - nary a signature hole. not a lot of shade, which was bad on a 90+ degree day. 1 water hazard at least gets the box checked on the scorecard, although it isn't very challenging. overall i came away disappointed.
Other Thoughts: standard michigan metropark. this plays like almost any other - it makes good use of the land, but nothing spectacular. not terribly difficult, but still offers a good degree of difficulty - i think this would be a good challenge for those beginners that are wanting to branch out. it's a pay to play, so in addition to the metropark pass for your car, you'll have to get a wristband for $2 to play through. if this course was nicer i'd agree. not saying is wasn't kept up, just saying i don't know if the $2 every time would be worth it, especially with the # of other courses in the area.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 the buckhorn

2-4    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: LEFTY360
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course is very well kept, fairways mowed, tees are a good size, level, and not all broken up.
quality baskets are used, none are bent or broken.
nice combo of long wide open holes and short wooded holes, as well as some long tight wooded holes. course is fairly biased to left or right handed players, I had fun practicing my long turnover drives, as well as hyzers, a couple sidearm shots, and a few tomahawks.
water hazards were fair and used well on a couple shorter holes(these may disapear as the ground dries up)
Cons: If you do miss your line on some of the longer wooded holes and go deep in the woods they are thick, not an easy out(if you can find you disc). This is true of any course but for some reason it seems alot worse here.
Other Thoughts: crowds were not bad and most people there were polite. Got lucky with the wind knocking down almost all or the mosquitoes and only a few of my putts. Course was worth the fee and worth the 1 hour drive from my house, I will be back the next chance I get.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course overall, hole 24 is a fun challenge. A lot of long holes that allow you to max out your drives.
Cons: I dont mind paying 5 bucks for parking but on top of that its $2 per person just to play disc golf. Its also pretty busy most of the time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    4/30/2011   5/2/2011
Review By: Gyro
Played: 17  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 3.4 Years
Pros: Excellent course. Huge variety in shots, beautiful scenery, and pretty much everything you could ask for in a disc golf course.
Cons: $5 car entry and $2 charge per disc golfer. Extremely busy!
Other Thoughts: If I didn't get a scorecard from the guy charging admission, I would not have known were most of the baskets were without having to scout ahead. Getting the scorecard was a big help as it had maps of all the holes on it.

  Great Course

5+    3/19/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: Alex C
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.1 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is my home course.
1st 4 holes open fairway pretty straight forward maybe a tree or two to throw around. Then into the woods for some nice ally shots.
#6 is up and over a hill. #14 has pond to cross (only water on the course). Ratteled the chains on my tee shot on 17 (hysershot).#18 dog leg right 19,20 relitivly straight 498,342 respectivly. On 23 you can play 1 of two baskets from the tee one doglegs right with a real tight corridor. and the other doglegs left wide open. if you play left it sets you up for the laidies tee on 24, 597'.
On the right for 24"The Mans Tee" somebody wrote that on the tee pad post for 933'

Cool places to hang out thruoght the couse most with pinic tables tucked in the woods. some creative makeshift ground level tree
forts.

Gets real busy on the weekends go early.
daily pass is 2 dollars, If you don't pay a guy chases you with a golf cart saying "wheres my 2 dollars". Just kidding! haha.
Cons: Vandels breaking markers. And Trash
Other Thoughts: Why do people throw there trash every where? I mean really, if you can bring the stuff out there you can bring it back. Aside from the fact there are plenty of trash cans. literally one at every hole!...come on people....

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

5+    10/28/2010   10/29/2010
Review By: Ymeister19
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Excellent Tee Pads. Course flow is extremely nice and the holes are well marked. Nice baskets, Very clean course, and a wide variety of shots.
Cons: None really all around a very nice course, if you have a shorter drive expect a tired arm by the end as it will take you 2 full length drives to get there on many of the holes.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.