Layout Extinct

Shelby Township, MI
Stony Creek Metro Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #19
3 / 309ft.   4 / 498ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #19



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Pretty standard, really

1    7/19/2011   7/20/2011
Review By: bygwyllay
Played: 78  Reviewed: 75  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: plays in fairly open terrain, with brush and spotted trees lining the fairways. a couple tunnel shots. i liked the two holes that played under the small canopy of trees - kinda zig zag back and forth...
pro and am cement tees for most holes (when distance dictates). logs for sitting and cans for tossing trash. wooded posts marking hole # and distance, fairly low vandalism.
a nice shot over a small pond is nice for an ace run. actually, a few ace runs exist on this course - some of the holes are quote short (<200 ft.) but length is mixed well throughout.
Cons: honestly, all the holes blur together - nary a signature hole. not a lot of shade, which was bad on a 90+ degree day. 1 water hazard at least gets the box checked on the scorecard, although it isn't very challenging. overall i came away disappointed.
Other Thoughts: standard michigan metropark. this plays like almost any other - it makes good use of the land, but nothing spectacular. not terribly difficult, but still offers a good degree of difficulty - i think this would be a good challenge for those beginners that are wanting to branch out. it's a pay to play, so in addition to the metropark pass for your car, you'll have to get a wristband for $2 to play through. if this course was nicer i'd agree. not saying is wasn't kept up, just saying i don't know if the $2 every time would be worth it, especially with the # of other courses in the area.

4 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/16/2010   5/16/2011
Review By: somerbuch
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course overall, hole 24 is a fun challenge. A lot of long holes that allow you to max out your drives.
Cons: I dont mind paying 5 bucks for parking but on top of that its $2 per person just to play disc golf. Its also pretty busy most of the time.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stony Crizeek

5+    5/11/2007   11/20/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
--Stony has good hole variety, from short & technical to long and open. Most people will like the layout regardless of how good you are. You need to be able to throw pretty far to par this course though. The design here reminds me of more open Hudson Mills with less elevation.

--Maintenance here is alright. Concrete tee pads on every hole are always good. The park isn't too dirty either considering the large amount of people who play here on a daily basis.
Cons:
--Crowds here can get overwhelming. I remember about 3 years ago playing through a group of about (no lie) 50 or so! It was basically like walking through a party in the middle of the woods. lol. And I don't mind a little crowd, but it can get bad here. Last time I played there was a 4 group delay at every hole, which meant WAY to long in between holes. We ended up leaving early. Next to Cass Benton, this is easily the most crowded course i've ever played.

--Another problem here is signs/baskets getting vandalized too often. Signs are scattered from hole to hole and change all the time, but they will most likely never be restored at any one time.

--On top of those two things, there is also a "playing" fee and park fee.

--Police force is intense.
Other Thoughts:
--When I first started playing disc, this was one of the first big courses I ever played. Looking back on it then, I probably would have rated this course a near 5. But that's when it had nice signs on every hole, it was free to play, and the park wasn't invaded by HUGE groups of people.

--Also some moderate redesigning has been done, and some trees have been cut down for the better. But the old signature hole here (#14), has changed for the worse. All the trees that used to be sticking up out of the swamp are now gone.

--If your in the area and could only play one course. I would say head for Addison Oaks, or even River Bends.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.