Layout Extinct

Shelby Township, MI 
Stony Creek Metro Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #22
3 / 216ft.   3 / 216ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #22



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Stony is now on Steroids...

5+    5/20/2012   5/29/2012
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 73  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 16.7 Years
Pros: As with all Metropark courses, it is maintained excellently and has all of the amenities that you could look for.
Dual cement tees, great targets, mowed fairways, scorecards on site, benches at most holes, practice basket, restrooms, alcohol friendliness, trash cans, multiple park activities and most importantly, challenge of play.
Big armed throwers will love Stony's opening six holes, covering 3000+ feet.
Shorter and more technical holes, multiple doglegs, a couple of water hazards and elevation all come in to play. Nice 400' downhill bomb to finish the full 27-hole layout.
After 18 you are brought back to the parking lot, giving you options.
Helpful staff on hand to assist in any non-life threatening situations.
Easy to follow hole-to-hole.
Cons: Lots of plastic-eating shrubs, grass and shule. A few holes require a spotter. Can and usually does get busy at peak hours. Due to its location, a few random pick-nickers wander on to the course. Some holes run right next to each other creating some tight spots, nothing too bad though. A few long walks between holes, including a very long uphill walk from 27's basket, back to the parking lot.
Other Thoughts: The new/altered holes are very welcomed additions to Stony's already outstanding layout. More of an intermediate to advanced course, beginners can still have fun.
With Willow's 24 holes and Kensington's 27, Stony Creek's 24 holes are a sign that the Metropark system has disc golf on its agenda.
$2 a day bag fee/$50 yearly.
$5 car fee/$25 yearly. Yearly passes good at all Metropark locations. Party store at 25mile/Shelby is open early, has plastic and pizza.

 

5+    11/6/2011   11/6/2011
Review By: Thomas437
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Concrete Pads on all holes
Pro and Am pads
Well kept
Cons: Pay to play
Can become crowded
Other Thoughts: This is my home course which i play nearly everyday. A great course that is in transition into becoming a 27 hole monster.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Stody Creek Metro Park

1    7/30/2011   8/18/2011
Review By: jwetter
Played: 56  Reviewed: 30
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course is very well kept
-There were benches and pic-kink tables scattered through out the course for breaks
-24 holes!
-mostly open but there is a good variety of wooded holes.
-many challenging fairways with tough angles, this can get frustrating
-good variety of distances with short skill shots but still a lot of chances to bomb it.
-multiple tees
Cons: You have to pay a couple dollars to play and like $5 to park, it can be expensive for a round of frolf. Other than that the only thing that I did not like was the amount of weeds, I can imagine at the end of summer they are pretty long and hard to find discs in.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 the buckhorn

2-4    5/28/2011   5/28/2011
Review By: LEFTY360
Played: 21  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 5.7 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: this course is very well kept, fairways mowed, tees are a good size, level, and not all broken up.
quality baskets are used, none are bent or broken.
nice combo of long wide open holes and short wooded holes, as well as some long tight wooded holes. course is fairly biased to left or right handed players, I had fun practicing my long turnover drives, as well as hyzers, a couple sidearm shots, and a few tomahawks.
water hazards were fair and used well on a couple shorter holes(these may disapear as the ground dries up)
Cons: If you do miss your line on some of the longer wooded holes and go deep in the woods they are thick, not an easy out(if you can find you disc). This is true of any course but for some reason it seems alot worse here.
Other Thoughts: crowds were not bad and most people there were polite. Got lucky with the wind knocking down almost all or the mosquitoes and only a few of my putts. Course was worth the fee and worth the 1 hour drive from my house, I will be back the next chance I get.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Great Course

5+    3/19/2011   3/24/2011
Review By: Alex C
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2011
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is my home course.
1st 4 holes open fairway pretty straight forward maybe a tree or two to throw around. Then into the woods for some nice ally shots.
#6 is up and over a hill. #14 has pond to cross (only water on the course). Ratteled the chains on my tee shot on 17 (hysershot).#18 dog leg right 19,20 relitivly straight 498,342 respectivly. On 23 you can play 1 of two baskets from the tee one doglegs right with a real tight corridor. and the other doglegs left wide open. if you play left it sets you up for the laidies tee on 24, 597'.
On the right for 24"The Mans Tee" somebody wrote that on the tee pad post for 933'

Cool places to hang out thruoght the couse most with pinic tables tucked in the woods. some creative makeshift ground level tree
forts.

Gets real busy on the weekends go early.
daily pass is 2 dollars, If you don't pay a guy chases you with a golf cart saying "wheres my 2 dollars". Just kidding! haha.
Cons: Vandels breaking markers. And Trash
Other Thoughts: Why do people throw there trash every where? I mean really, if you can bring the stuff out there you can bring it back. Aside from the fact there are plenty of trash cans. literally one at every hole!...come on people....

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    3/24/2010   3/24/2010
Review By: disc_chick
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 4/7/2010
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I love playing here. They offer both pro and am tee's. There's challenges no matter if you're a beginner or a pro. They keep the courses well maintained for the most part, the tee's are in great shape.
Cons: Yes it does get muddy after it rains which seems fairly normal at any course. Keep skeeter repellent on you since you DO have to play near and over water that festers with skeeter larve.
Other Thoughts: I'm thankful that they charge $2.00 per person to play and $50.00 IF you don't already have a pass to get in. To many people have been going there, kicking over the garbage cans, making a mess, and going there to not play, but hang out in the woods.. If you play there often you know alot of the people aren't going there to play and they're "toking" up space. I hope that not only do they keep charging, I hope they raise it to detur more of the trash that has been infesting my throwing space.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Saturday Afternoon

1    11/28/2009   11/30/2009
Review By: ovar
Played: 75  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 11.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course is well laid out. Provides a variety of holes. Tee pads are long and wide. Minimal leaves on the course. Very challenging layout. The last 7 holes are the hardest.
Cons: Poor signage. Expensive to play ($7 buxs)
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play. The varied length and terrain of the holes made this course very interesting. My only problem is, if I am paying 7 bucks ($5 for car $2 for wrist band) to play I expect the course to be "perfect" or near perfect. This was not the case. The course does have signage, but the signs only tell you the distance and # of the hole. Many of the holes are blind shots and it would have saved me a lot of running around to simply know if the hole doglegs to the right or left or if it is straight ahead. I have no problem "paying to play" but the money needs to be put into improving the course.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Now Charging for Disc Golf!

5+    8/27/2009   9/6/2009
Review By: g-sauce
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.7 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very fun and challenging course. Wide variety of hole layouts (from wide and open to narrow and wooded, both dirt and grass fairways, good average hole length). Brush and terrain very well maintained. Tees are solid and well kept. Has both long drive and ace-able holes. Friendly frequenters.
Cons: Now Charging for Disc Golf! Minor pest annoyances. Vandalism (e.g. removal of signs) at a few points. Some muddy patches when recently rained on. Can get crowded.
Other Thoughts: Bring your A game! (as well as pesonal refreshments) Unsure whether the disc-eating bushes and swamp were a pro or con. Wind (variable). Teamplay will help for discers lacking versatility. They have done a bit to the course (especially if you are going off the pictures) in 2009. They have added many more trees and taken out a few. Its good to know that SOME of the money they are getting is being put to good use. It is definitely worth a trip to [pay and] play.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 stoney creek, change is bad!!!

5+    3/6/2009   3/17/2009
Review By: dputt88
Played: 8  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: amazing course, i learned to play here, hard to find a better 24 hole course. the people out here are incredibly awesome, i love going by myself because ill never finish alone.
Cons: they recently cut down alot of trees, they said they wanted to make it more beginner friendly, they kinda ruined some of the best holes. also they have recently posted a sign noting that starting april 1st they will be charging a separate fee to play this course, $2 a day or $50 a year. bummer...
Other Thoughts: some holes do need a little trimming but dont tell them that, they'll take out every tree.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    11/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: milesdavis
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course. Good test of skills for high level players. Many medium/long holes that require a long accurate drive in order to birdie.

Many different types of holes. Woodsy,open,left/right,right/left. Mild elevation changes. Landscaping well maintained. It magically stays dry pretty much all the time. Bugs never really an issue.

All Cement tee pads with signs telling you distance. 24 holes so expect it to take at least 2 hours to play all of them

2009 will be the first year you'll have to pay to play,($2 per day or $50 for the year) which is fine with me.
With the hope that it will get some of the recreational/beginner/douchebags out of the way.
Cons: It gets pretty crowded, but that should change with the introduction of the fee to play.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course. I play it on a weekly basis in the spring/summer/fall

Seven starr party store on Shelby and 25 mile rd. has a great selection of discs, they usually have between 500 - 1000 discs

I've played over 30 courses and I'd put this course in my top 3.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center