Layout Extinct

Shelby Township, MI 
Stony Creek Metro Park - Old Layout Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #23
3 / 276ft.   4 / 408ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23



Reviews: 28
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 Next >
 

5+    11/9/2008   2/9/2009
Review By: milesdavis
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 13.7 Years
This review was updated on 8/10/2009
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course. Good test of skills for high level players. Many medium/long holes that require a long accurate drive in order to birdie.

Many different types of holes. Woodsy,open,left/right,right/left. Mild elevation changes. Landscaping well maintained. It magically stays dry pretty much all the time. Bugs never really an issue.

All Cement tee pads with signs telling you distance. 24 holes so expect it to take at least 2 hours to play all of them

2009 will be the first year you'll have to pay to play,($2 per day or $50 for the year) which is fine with me.
With the hope that it will get some of the recreational/beginner/douchebags out of the way.
Cons: It gets pretty crowded, but that should change with the introduction of the fee to play.
Other Thoughts: This is a fantastic course. I play it on a weekly basis in the spring/summer/fall

Seven starr party store on Shelby and 25 mile rd. has a great selection of discs, they usually have between 500 - 1000 discs

I've played over 30 courses and I'd put this course in my top 3.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Stony Crizeek

5+    5/11/2007   11/20/2008
Review By: DirtyMittenDG
Played: 108  Reviewed: 55  Exp: 10.6 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2010
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
--Stony has good hole variety, from short & technical to long and open. Most people will like the layout regardless of how good you are. You need to be able to throw pretty far to par this course though. The design here reminds me of more open Hudson Mills with less elevation.

--Maintenance here is alright. Concrete tee pads on every hole are always good. The park isn't too dirty either considering the large amount of people who play here on a daily basis.
Cons:
--Crowds here can get overwhelming. I remember about 3 years ago playing through a group of about (no lie) 50 or so! It was basically like walking through a party in the middle of the woods. lol. And I don't mind a little crowd, but it can get bad here. Last time I played there was a 4 group delay at every hole, which meant WAY to long in between holes. We ended up leaving early. Next to Cass Benton, this is easily the most crowded course i've ever played.

--Another problem here is signs/baskets getting vandalized too often. Signs are scattered from hole to hole and change all the time, but they will most likely never be restored at any one time.

--On top of those two things, there is also a "playing" fee and park fee.

--Police force is intense.
Other Thoughts:
--When I first started playing disc, this was one of the first big courses I ever played. Looking back on it then, I probably would have rated this course a near 5. But that's when it had nice signs on every hole, it was free to play, and the park wasn't invaded by HUGE groups of people.

--Also some moderate redesigning has been done, and some trees have been cut down for the better. But the old signature hole here (#14), has changed for the worse. All the trees that used to be sticking up out of the swamp are now gone.

--If your in the area and could only play one course. I would say head for Addison Oaks, or even River Bends.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty Good

5+    6/25/2009   9/24/2008
Review By: VeeAreSix
Played: 32  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14.7 Years
This review was updated on 7/9/2009
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very long course. Great course to take out the fastest driver you have and just crush it down the holes. Very good mix of long short and medium holes and who wouldn't like the challenging 933 foot finale hole 24!
Cons: 2009 will on top of park entrance have a pay to play fee!

Nobody empties the garbage cans and littering is getting out of hand.
Other Thoughts: The pond hole is now the easiest hole to play. There is no challenge anymore seeing as all the trees in the pond fell down and they had to cut all the trees down around the basket. It's basically a straight putter shot over the small pond/swamp.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Love this course

5+    8/22/2008   8/24/2008
Review By: detroitplaymakers
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: Wide variety of shots
some holes are very challenging
you can drink beer
Cons: trash cans don't get emptied!!
Other Thoughts: This is my fav course now!!! 20+ mile drive.. but well worth it

0 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 good

5+    8/18/2008   8/18/2008
Review By: iDisc
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 11/14/2008
2 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: -good driving space on most holes.
-creative course layout.
-good place for working on ANY shot you want to master.
Cons:
-there is sand on most of the not so large tee pads so it's easy to lose balance.
-IT DOESNT HAVE PAR ON ANY OF THE HOLES(not even on the score card!!!).
Other Thoughts: fun and challenging

but overall a good course, i don't know why im getting thumbs down on this

2 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 keep it on the fairway

1    7/4/2008   7/5/2008
Review By: compn
Played: 44  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 18.6 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2010
4 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: stunning course with lots of long shots. mix of open and narrow shots. fairway is well mowed. good signs + tees + clean park.
Cons: loads of sun. some flies + bees to watch for. brush on all holes so pay attention to where it lands. busy during peak times.
Other Thoughts: quickest way is to take van dyke north to 26 and head west, watch for metropark signs.

4 of 10 people found this review helpful.

  a little of everything

5/23/2008   5/27/2008
Review By: teejw13
Played: 11  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.6 Years
6 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: course is very diverse. has everything from open field long range shots to tight woods accurate shots. water is even in play on 3 holes. many situations that call for hyzers, anhyzers, and tomohawks. Nice course to spend a day at.
Cons: wind plays a major factor in play. also not much shade, even in the woods so be prepared to bring sunblock. also the day after rain hole 11 is solid mud near the basket.
Other Thoughts: course is not as good as before all the deforesting went on but still a very fun and challenging course to play!!

6 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Oh the fun!

7/15/2007   11/15/2007
Review By: JoePublic
Played: 27  Reviewed: 17
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Great variety of holes, with a monster 900+ hole.
Well maintained and cared for. Good community and decent tourney spot. 24 holes!
Cons: Metro Park Safety Enforcement like to travel on the course at times. Mostly looking for the underage drinkers.
Mosquitoes and winds can make this a tough one in the summer time.
Other Thoughts: Pay to Play, located at a great Metro Park with swimming, bike paths, mountain biking, fishing, boating and more.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.