Mt. Sterling, KY 
Indian Mound DGC Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #14 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 342ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Basket



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   

1    4/23/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: AdamE
Played: 225  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/13/2013
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Indian Mound DGC is set in a nice clean park with big rolling hills. There are elevation changes on nearly every hole and a good amount of OB in the form of sidewalk, roads and property boundaries. The OB and hills are used well to create some fun and interesting challenges like downhill holes with OB long, blind shots over hills, there's a very cool uphill shot with OB on both sides of the fairway and the last hole has an elevated basket perched on top of a small mound. So while the course is mostly open, there are definitely some fun holes out here.

The course is rather long with most holes in the 290-400 foot range and only two holes in the mid-200's. Of course the elevation changes make some play longer or shorter than the actual distance.

There are nice concrete tee pads and tee signs at each hole. The Discatchers are in great shape and there's a bulletin board by hole 1. Navigating the course is fairly easy for the most part.
Cons: The course is basically wide open.

The shot selection is poor, none of the hole force an anyhyzer shot for RHBH players.

Holes 9 and 10 run nearly parallel to each other so 9 is basically and out and back hole. The hole 10 tee and sign are hidden behind a bush making it a little tough to locate. Lucky there are maps available at hole 1 so this wasn't an issue and these are two good holes so it's worth it.

There's also a long walk from 14 to 15 which is nearly an out and back hole also.

I don't recall seeing any water available that the course. Without any shade I bet things get hot out here in the summer.
Other Thoughts: When I played here it was a very windy day in Louisville and it seemed even more windy at this course. I'm interested to come back and see how windy it is on a more normal day.

Overall this is a long, open course with some big hills, lots of OB in play and wind. This is a great place to work on your wind game and for locals to play.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/22/2011   1/25/2012
Review By: jaybob
Played: 18  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice new equipment. Park is very clean and well maintained. Has the potential to be a very good course after it matures some. Good use of terrain and elevation changes. It is also located not far from other conveniences and restaurants.
Cons: No bathroom facilities. I was glad I had a map to navigate as I could see it may be tricky the first time you play it. When I played the wind was blowing extremely hard making it very difficult. With this type of terrain in this part of Kentucky there may not be many days without strong winds.
Other Thoughts: I played this course on opening day in its infancy. I think most of my cons will be resolved as it matures. I am looking foreward to playing it many times in the future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Newest course in KY

1    10/15/2011   10/16/2011
Review By: Johnny Conservative
Played: 19  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/17/2011
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice elevation changes;not far from interstate;good variety of shots needed;good size parking area. Some baskets cleverly hidden behind trees. Baskets are brand new DisCatchers.
Cons: Because this is a brand new course, some of the things that will make this course even better have not been added and wont be until next spring. These include shelter houses, permanent restroom facilities, and tee pads. The signage has little to be desired but I think they will improve the situation next spring also. Another con at this time is that most of the trees are very young but in time should make this course even better. Course is located on top of a hill which stays a little breezy most of the time. The day I played it there were 15mph sustained winds with gusts up to 25mph. This brings me to the most glaring con of all. Hole #8 is a nightmare. There is a fence running along the left side of the fariway and a paved walkway to the right. I would say that they are 30-40 feet apart on and uphill 400ft+ hole. Too tough IMO. There are paved walking paths throughout the park that make most nearly every hole an OB possibility. This is the only con that will be permanent IMO.
Other Thoughts: Even though at this time it seems that the cons outweigh the pros, I think that this course will improve in the future when the trees grow.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.