Disc Golf Store
Mt. Sterling, KY 
Indian Mound DGC Share
Uploaded By: AdamE Hole #4 (Taken 4/2012)
-- / --   3 / 384ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Tourney Ready

2-4    12/20/2013   12/22/2013
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 166  Reviewed: 144  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just enter the park driveway south of the school on Indian Mound Drive, and you will immediately see they've found a beautiful piece of terrain to install a challenging 18 hole disc golf course. The rolling hills and wide open spaces are crisscrossed by walking paths and ample parking, and all the paving here makes for tricky OB lines and a surprising amount of variety when multiple pin positions come into play. There are some older trees and some young saplings which already force some decision making on your tee shots and approaches to allow even Intermediate arms to shoot for deuces and pars out here. The winds, and then the woods along the back property line force more forethought to keep this from being a simple big gun course.

Wonderful, grippy, and spacious concrete tee pads aim at the new DisCatcher baskets, and you can almost always look from the completion of one basket to the quality signage and trash boxes at each successive tee, so the flow is almost always intuitive and easy to follow. There are benches and even picnic tables spaced around the course, and port-o-lets available. The signature feature of the course might be the fact that you'll almost always have a fairly open tee shot, but you had better plan your landing zone to give you your best odds of not blowing up the hole when you reach the usually tricky 'greens'. For instance, the short second hole takes a touch shot to go just left of the corner of the parking lot without rolling away at the basket, and OB past the paths below and left.

I really enjoyed the pretty, and long (502 foot) hole seven, that sweeps right to left down through the valley there, finishing in a basket position guarded in the rear by the path just past (if this fairway ever gets the planned pond installed there, …Wow!!). Then I cursed the designer while trying to run uphill on the 424' hole 8, with such a narrow in-bounds line! But for the most part, almost half of the holes here allow you to enjoy the flight path of a well-thrown disc across a valley or downhill in some way. The maintenance here is excellent. It still feels brand-new. And the disc golf here really has its own venue. The only other activity near the course might be folks using the paths.
Cons: The only issue folks might want to change here would be for it to play in more woods to force lines, but I found plenty of challenge, not having the 'D' needed here to deuce (or even par!) many holes. The design is clearly intended for the competitive disc golfer, with only two holes under 296' in length. It may not be too enticing to the Novice to Recreational player (or even those of us in the more 'geriatric' set) who might prefer a broader mix of hole lengths (to suit our weaker arms). There are a couple of flow issues on the back nine, like walking back up the hill from 9 to 10 and around the drive from 14 to 15, but sometimes you sacrifice a little flow to get a quality hole.
Other Thoughts: In all, Indian Mound is a nice, open course that could be just a fun casual round on a calm, sunny spring day, OR a brutal challenge using strict tournament OB rules…on a windy, drizzly day. I played a casual round in wind and rain, and would like to try the spring thing once!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Windian Mound

5+    7/22/2012   10/15/2012
Review By: JonRoc
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Overview: It's amazing what one can do with a plot of land like this. RTB does some great things with course design and alternate pin positions. Every time I go to play this course, he is there modifying or upkeeping something.
Thanks Ricky!

This course is more diverse than it looks. Short holes, long holes, defined/strict OB, doglegs. uphills. downhills. Hole 7 has a grassy 'lake' in the fairway that takes a good 400' throw to clear.

As far as amenities, this course is great and will continue to get better. Concrete tee pads, accurate tee signs, benches, trash cans and soon restrooms and shelters.

Lots of tournaments. There were at least 4 tournaments here this year and continually brought in more players. I look for this to continue to build tradition and support as the tournaments grow and expand.
Cons: The Wind. Some days the wind is a nice challenge, other it's a sign of inconceivable failure. The inconsistent gusts can toss any disc in a heartbeat and cost you multiple stroke with these strict OB's. Several holes have fairway crosswinds that you can't even see at the box.

Lack of foliage. This is something that will obviously progress as more trees/bushes are planted and current ones grow but for now the course is relatively open and some holes lose technicality. I like when courses have 1-3 possible/suggested shot shapes, this course has several holes with 4+ shot possibilities.

Hole 8 is the devil's hole. 450'-550' (depending on pin placement) uphill with a 50'w fairway. Strict OB's.
Other Thoughts: Personally my favorite course in Central Kentucky. I prefer driving 45m to play here than 20m to play any course in Lexington.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 An excellent start...

1    2/25/2012   3/4/2012
Review By: EddieBTrue
Played: 39  Reviewed: 38  Exp: 6.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent pro sized concrete tee pads (extra rough and grippy!). Well conceived layout (with the possible exception of hole #2, see con below) making optimal usage of both elevation (literally everywhere) and basket placement in regard to the walking path throughout the park. Two port-a-potty's (a must in a park with zero forestry stands!). Multiple blind shots. Good distribution of hyzer, anhyzer, straight, amd uphill shots.
Cons: As mentioned in the Pros section, hole #2's (shortest on the course by far) placement is literally only a few feet away from the far end of a parking lot. (I did deuce it; however I skipped my putter drive off the afore mentioned parking lot to the basket on a hyzer route. lol!) Although there are the two port-a-potty's, I didn't see any sort of watering hole; and there's nothing within easy walking distance (there is a convenience store about a mile away though). As of late February 2012 there was zero signage (although there was a kiosk); although I'm confident it will be in place some time in 2012.
Other Thoughts: Although this course has very few tree's currently place, per the master plan for the facility more tree's are to be planted in 2012 which bodes well for the future; and a lake is to be added that will make #7 a real beast! Because of these expected additions I'm giving the course a 3.5 with the possibility of working it's way to a 4 over time. I really enjoyed hole #4 which is a blind shot over a hill to a basket directly behind a tree ascending the next hill. #8 is probably the only true Pro par 4 on the course not so much because of distance; but because you are throwing uphill into with a fairly skinny fairway bounded by a cow pasture on one side and a utility path on the other. WARNING: When teeing for hole #7 you will see a basket; but without signage in place, you will be staring at #9's basket as #7's is a long left handed doggie. A last thought is that although 95+ percent of this park is hilly (making for mostly tough tee placements); I found several areas to be somewhat water logged. It wasn't ridiculous or anything, just curious considering the terrain was all grass and sloped. Go figure. Overall, if I lived closer to this course I would definitely put it in my rotation. Enjoy!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: rtb65
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Long course with three or four nice birdie holes.I think this is a pro but most think of it as a con but there a lot of out of bounds putting a premium on accuracy on shots.Some baskets nicely hidden behind trees.Some nice open holes for you long arm guys.All fairways have been reseeded and fairways are mowed close.New dis catcher baskets.Course is easy to navigate even without permanent signs yet. Course will only get better as trees and vegetation grow and lake and shelters are installed. No permanent restrooms yet but there are porta potties most courses I have visited dont even have those. Lots of parking close to interstate and restaurants
Cons: Concrete pads are yet to be installed but are coming starting in November.Not a lot of large mature trees but used the ones they had well.No permanent signs or maps yet.I think in time most cons will all turn to pros.
Other Thoughts: Nice course with something for everyone form the pro to the beginner.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.