Carlton, OR
Wennerberg Park Share
Uploaded By: Adam Schneider Hole #1 (Taken 9/2011)
3 / 215ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Basket



Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Casualties Suffer Casual Tees

2-4    11/10/2013   11/16/2013
Review By: Murdoc Loch
Played: 56  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.8 Years
Pros:
-Well made Horning's style homemade baskets are used at this course, they make a nice sound when hit.
-The course is in a nicely manicured park, with barbeques, swing-sets and sports fields.
-Bathrooms in the parking lot
-Relaxed course vibe, not so challenging but is not meant to be. Good course for beginners and casual players.
-Decent tee signs with distances and hole number.
Cons:
-There are no teepads on the course and it's not obvious where the tees start and end. If pads are not an option wood or rocks should be installed to denote the fronts of the teeing areas.
- Non-golfing park users often times walk or play in the fairways of the course.
Other Thoughts:
-It's not much of a destination course but, for the locals this a nice place to shoot some discs.

Neigborhood Nine Hole Course With Horning's Baskets!

1    6/19/2013   6/27/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 591  Reviewed: 544  Exp: 35.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/29/2013
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Wennerberg DGC occupies part of a larger park featuring pincic area and shelter, ballfields, and the flat, area with scattered mature trees where the course mostly plays. The tee pads are natural. They got a little slippery when we were hit with a rain shower. The signs are simple, listing the hole #, Par, distance and a basic map. The baskets are the heavy duty models made from truck rims which you'll find at all three Horning's Hideout courses. They're industrial strength strong, they catch just as well as any Discatcher and they make as nice melodious tone when your disc falls into the rim after catching chains.

The course is a basic recreational one in both length and difficulty. It's not going to present a grave challenge to anyone but then again it's not a pushover either.

Excellent little course to bring a family, newbie or a girlfriend or just for that practice round. There are a couple nice ACE runs as expected.
Cons: I'd like to see someone add, at the very least, a front board on the pads. At least, give players a limit on how far up they can tee it up on.

Other than that simple suggestion, this is another of those " It is what it is Courses". It's not trying to be too much or be too challenging. It just a fun little throw in a city park.
Other Thoughts: If I lived near this course, I could play a lot of rounds here before growing weary of it. The river might come into play on # 4 ??? but other than that, you'll probably never have to hunt for discs here. Enjoy it, Carlton, Oregon!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Nice little course

1    6/21/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: castigo
Played: 18  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Quiet (at least on a weekday)- no crowds
-Well-maintained park
-Easy course, no hills, blackberries, etc.
-Great for a mid-range game
Cons: *Signs are a little off, sometimes not matching the topography. Easy to figure out where to go, though.
*No tee pads. Dirt.
Other Thoughts: A very easy course, practice. Good for working on your mid-range game. I was there on a Thursday afternoon in the summer, and there was no one around. I imagine on a weekend it would be a popular picnic/family park, though. If you plan on a McMinnville/Newberg trip, it's worth a quick little stop just to say you've played it. Not a lot of options for a power player, not many holes in the 300 range. Lots and lots of birdie & ace posibilities here. Overall, a fun little course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

nice warm up / practice course

2-4    5/9/2012   5/14/2012
Review By: Ronburke
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly easy to navigate.
Good course to practice different shots and warm up.
Great beginner course
Not crowded
Decent baskets
Fairly well maintained park.
Flat (if you consider that a pro)
You shouldn't loose any discs here.
Cons: No tee pads
Not very challenging
Other Thoughts: This is a nice park that is not crowded to come and just practice. I've been wanting to practice a few shots and this place is perfect for that. It's an easy course for beginners to play on and develop skills for harder courses. First time I played it, I shot 1 under par so it's fairly easy.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The pride of Carlton

1    9/23/2011   9/29/2011
Review By: Discbear
Played: 254  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 14.3 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a nice clean well kept park. There are several birdies to be had, but there are many fine trees to thwart many of your efforts. We had the course to ourselves for 2 rounds on a perfect sunny Friday around noon outing.The course is easy to follow and the baskets are good, the Hornings Hideout variety. There is a good variety of shots to throw.Litter was very scarce.
Cons: The tee pads are dirt but played just fine [ in dry weather]. There are no holes that you could call epic although it was fun to play. It's not a destination course as it is fairly easy and only 9 holes, but it is a great addition to the local area.
Other Thoughts: It's great to have another course and I will likely play it again if I'm in the vicinity. Thanks to those who made the effort to get this course in.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.