Oakville (Toronto), ON 
Bronte Creek Provincial Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #13
3 / 276ft.   3 / 384ft.   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Long Tee



Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Feels like a real course, not just a park.

1    6/1/2014   7/1/2014
Review By: EssPea
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
Pros: Many different style holes.
Well maintained.
Only people on the course are other discgolfers.
Cons: Poison Ivy and thornbushes are extra punishing for mistakes on certain holes.
High cost to get into the park if you aren't a big group.

 Bronte Creek DGC

5+    7/28/2013   8/3/2013
Review By: Druid
Played: 9  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Well maintained fairways and greens. Wide variety of challenges. Both short and long tees/pins that can make the course tough even for experienced players and reasonable for newcomers. One of the best courses in the GTA to play on weekends, since it's a big park and the course is just for disc golf.
Cons: Tall grass, weeds and thorn bushes punish errant drives severely at times. Taking turns spotting is highly recommended on several holes.
Other Thoughts: Overall my favourite course in the GTA.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Beauty Mixed Course

5+    7/4/2012   7/4/2012
Review By: chrisoz
Played: 33  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - well maintained
- nice tee-pads and signage
- good mix of hole types
Cons: - $16 gate fee (or purchase a season's pass)
- no on-course garbage cans, only at entrance
- very little water... not technically a con (could even be a pro!) but for me to give a 5, it has to have it all
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course, maintained by people that care about disc golf.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent Course

5+    10/7/2010   10/10/2010
Review By: Pete and Vendy
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/10/2011
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied hole layouts requiring high, low, right and left turn shots.
Several holes with minor elevation changes.
Variety of wide open holes and tighter wooded areas.
Pins are moved closer in the winter to avoid losing discs.
Nice variety between the pro and amateur pads, distance and angle-wise.
Feels like a golf course with wide open fairways and a bit of nasty rough around to punish the bad throws.
Annual and seasonal Provincial park passes are available to keep the costs down. The annual pass is around $150 and will get you into all Ontario Provincial Parks for day use.
There is a local group of throwers who maintain the course with funds raised from tourneys that do a great job.
Tournaments are frequent if you like the competition.
Cons: I'd like to see the province use more of the admission fees to maintain the bridges and pads.
A busy course on Saturday and Sundays between 11am and 2pm mostly due to tournament play.
Other Thoughts: Most holes have 3 or 4 pin locations that are changed often giving the course a fresh look.
Currently the pins are in the easiest/closest location as of Oct 6th 2011.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun variety

1    8/2/2010   9/2/2010
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course plays through a very nicely kept park with lots of other stuff going on but an area devoted solely to disc golf. The fairways are mowed grass, and most holes have either wooded corridors with brushy rough or scattered trees and some tall grass. There are two sets of tees, making for a nice option for different levels of players, and about half of the long tees offer different angles and obstacles.

There is a nice mix of hole shapes and lengths that make for an interesting and enjoyable round. The course doesn't get stale, and makes you throw different lines to score well. There are multiple pin positions, and many offered different looks to the hole, if they're changed reasonably often that's a nice plus. The tee signs are basic but have enough information, including movable arrows to indicate pin position.
Cons: The tees are a bit sketchy, they are paving blocks that aren't very well seated. Many have shifted and settled so the tees are no longer flat or level, making for some footing issues. The arrows on the tee signs are a great idea, but many are missing, something that's not as easy to remove might be a better plan. The fee seems a little high, it's by car so it's more reasonable if you go in a group, but paying $16 by yourself gets pretty expensive.

I'm not a fan of long grass as rough on disc golf courses, it's frustrating to spend time looking for discs just off the fairway, and it doesn't make for good risk/reward options. Even from the long tees, the course is a little lacking in length, a few longer holes would help balance out the course a little more. A couple holes play along a park road, which takes away from the feeling of seclusion.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun stop if you're in the Toronto area, and worth playing. Beginners will find the short tees reasonable, though there is some thick rough to punish errant drives. More experienced players will find their short game tested, and will need to hit their lines to score well.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Heavenly Golf

5+    7/4/2009   11/29/2009
Review By: Bobbily
Played: 37  Reviewed: 20  Exp: 12.2 Years
This review was updated on 9/14/2011
5 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: In a conservation area, with tons and tons of space. Course has a fantastic design with a front and back 9 meeting back at 1/10, just like a regular golf course. This course served as the Ontario Championship tourny a few years back and its easy to see why. Challenging and beautiful.
Update: Had a chance to go play this course again recently. It is really the best course in Southern Ontario. The shorts are very very tough, and the longs are, well championship calibre. I have yet to play a nicer course, and I've played a TON of courses, in Ontario, Michigan and on the West Coast in BC and Washington. Very very tough course, bring your A game.
Update: Not really too sure why so many people are down on this review. I have played a TON of disc golf over the past 10 years, from Toronto Island, to the Island in Budapest, and I personally consider this the best disc golf course I've ever played. Its tough, but not too tough, (shorts and long pads) its got great variety, its manicured, but not too manicured, tee pads are excellent, its in a beautiful park, and its completely dedicated to disc golf and only disc golf, meaning no stragglers/dogs/kids around to worry about dinging with your disc.
Cons: Its got some REALLY long grass at times, making disc finding at times impossible... (I lost 3 discs here in one day, and a friend lost 2).
Poison Ivy on 6 and 7 (apparently waste deep in places) They are trying to cut it back, but be aware.
You have to pay $16/car to get into the park. I personally consider that cost to be unreasonable. My score is based on the actual course though, as its unfair to rank it based on this fee. I'm sure the builders of the course are not the ones responsible for this fee. Its a provincial park issue.
Other Thoughts: No course around touches it in terms of difficulty, and great disc golf. I think there are courses that have a nicer "walk" aspect, but nothing I've played compares to it in terms of pure disc golf.
I'd love to get some of these peoples thoughts on what course in Southern Ontario, or Canada beats it.
5 stars are sometimes warranted, I don't hand them out willy nilly.

5 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 great course!

1    8/28/2009   9/28/2009
Review By: danomite
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: With great variety on shots and alot of challenging holes and some straight shots and open holes this course made for a great time and really had something for every level of disc golfer! the holes were clearly marked and the cement tee pads really helped with a sure footed run up on your drives! We went at what seemed to be a busy time for most disc golf courses and yet we did not find alot of golfer traffic which was great!!!
Cons: There is not much i can say bad about this course aside from the $15 parking fee! this was a great course!!
Other Thoughts: To help with the cost try bringing some buddies and split the cost, if you can get it down to 3.50 each then you are laughing!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Absolute Rookie Review

1    8/5/2009   8/7/2009
Review By: Palmmegranite
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Lots of variety in the terrain. We picked a great time to play after 6 PM when the wind had died down. We were not mocked by other players on the course for using cereal box Frisbees.
Cons: The Tee legends were a bit vague. More than once had to guess which direction to throw the disk, only to realize the proper direction was 90 degrees the other way. Painting the red pads red would help. The $15 dollar parking fee isn't being used to upkeep the course, i.e. broken picnic tables and rotting bridges on course.
Other Thoughts: Next time we'll throw a bike in the back, park all the cars at Timmy's and save the parking fee.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Just Okay

1    7/30/2009   7/31/2009
Review By: Hattrick12488
Played: 16  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 10.7 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Multiple basket positions.
Tee pads.
A variety of shots are needed off the tee.
Cons: There were multiple pin positions, but it wasn't clear which were in use, leading to confusion and more than a few blind shots. (This is the main reason for a poor review).

Not much variety as far as distance goes. Most holes were pretty short without many obstacles from the shorter of the two tees. (Although, to be fair, the longer tees did seem to be a good distance on most holes).
Other Thoughts: The locals were very helpful in directing us around the course.

There are only two tees on each hole, and if you are at all a serious disc golfer you should probably play the longer of the two.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great course!

1    7/5/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: Che Starr
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 10.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked, interesting and different holes. Two choices of tee pads. Terrain changes from creek valleys and overhanging trees to open plains with lots of wind. Elevations changes too. Narrow gaps from tees mean you must throw accurately. Locals friendly.
Cons: Cost $15 per car to get in. Easy to lose a disc.
Other Thoughts: What a great course. My home course is the Toronto Island and that will always be my favorite, but this might well be the better local course. What a great place.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.