Rociada, NM 
Pendaries Village DGC Share
Uploaded By: mfcastillo17 Hole #4
-- / --   3 / 299ft.   -- / --   3 / 393ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Am Tee



Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 World class

5+    4/15/2012   3/17/2014
Review By: Eagle1538
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This BEAUTIFUL course is on a impeccably maintained golf course in the middle of gods country! This place offers seasonal WORLD CALIBER disc golf. With 2 annual PDGA events! For the pros bring your arm. For the ams bring your A game! you'll need to put this one on your bucket list people!!
Cons: no real cons...just that the course is 1,900 miles away. that still doesn't stop me from going back annually ( sometimes more...)
Other Thoughts: PLAY THIS COURSE OR TOURNAMENT!!!!

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

2-4    4/20/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: jamesp123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenic course, all the previous reviews of seeing turkey and deer are very true.The course is hilly but its easy to navigate from hole to hole if you follow the cart path.There are even a couple of holes with water hazards.
Cons: Course is long. I do recommend getting a cart if possible. Its a seasonal disc golf course located directly on a golf course.
Other Thoughts: Mr Castillo holds an awesome tournament here twice a year. You definitely want to add this course to your list. The course is about 2hrs north of Albuquerque.I cant wait to play it again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Layout!!

5+    4/2/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: Oklahoma Outlaw
Played: 97  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 35.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful setting at about 7,000 feet. The layout is long and tough, but fair. Bring your "A" game if you want to score well, as it will be needed to do so. The course winds over the back 9 of a golf course which provides for very well manicured fairways with great looks. There are 2 sets of tees providing for players of lesser ability the opportunity to play the front tees which are still very challenging. The back tees provide a challenge for even the "World Class" players. The first tee requires them to clear a small lake flying at least 340' of carry from the back tee. The holes are very diverse in nature and length with some par 4's and 5's. If you have a weakness in your game, you will know what it is after you play here. Par is 60 and is a good score.
Cons: It's too bad this course can't be open year round, as it is an outstanding layout.
Other Thoughts: If the opportunity exists, I would highly recommend playing this course, but be ready to walk the terrain. If possible, rent a golf cart. You randomly see deer and turkey on the course as you play as well as some fantastic views on this New Mexico Mountain Golf course. This one is a jewel, if you don't play it you will certainly have missed something grand.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

AWESOME!!

2-4    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Phenomenal setting! In the mountains. Nothing but nature, the sound of leaves rustling, and hairy squirrels running all over the place.
-Challenging holes for every type of player. Diversity!
-Golf carts supplied during tournament.
-Village and golf course staff most accommodating
-Immaculate maintenance. I dont think I saw one piece of trash
Cons: These cons are out of anyone's control for the most part, so take them lightly:
-Can get windy in the afternoon. All 3 times I played here in the fall had fairly windy afternoon (later than 1:00p) rounds.
-It's not open all year round. Only fall/winter/early spring.
-Golf carts not provided if you're not playing in a tourney. I hiked the course once, and would again, but it's not for someone out of shape.
Other Thoughts: I played my best round, and it almost felt like some out of body experience. Everything was perfect, including the course. I would not recommend another course any more than this course at Pendaries.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pendaries!

5+    11/3/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 77  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.3 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: As the one of the course designers, I suppose this review will be a bit biased, although I have waited long enough and gathered enough feedback from players who have played the course to properly review it.

The course is set at 7500 ft elevation on a beautiful mountain ball golf course. The Pendaries Village Community Association has been gracious enough to allow us to build a dg course on the golf course in the offseason when the ball golf course is closed (October-April). The course is very easy to navigate as we followed the cart path with the course design to allow for the use of golf carts during our tournaments. Although we use carts for tournament play, the course is easily walkable. The course punches you in the mouth from the start with a 350ft drive over water to reach the fairway on the 850ft hole 1. There are several epic downhill shots on this course that allows you to air it out. The roller game is helpful on this course as well. We added a set of shorter tees to make the course enjoyable for all levels of player. Par is 59 and thus far the course record is 57. We wanted to build a course that challenges every player and I think we achieved this.
Cons: Unfortunately, the course is only open from October-April. And being in the mountains, mid-winter golf can be rough after a snowfall. After our upcoming event, the Pendaries Spring Classic, the course will be pulled for the season.
Other Thoughts: Make it a point to play this course before the season is up. I have played some great courses, but this one rates as #1. There are plans to install another course on the property in the forest for the summer time. I'll keep everyone posted on this development to make Pendaries a year around disc golf destination!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Real Players Paradise

5+    4/21/2013   12/28/2011
Review By: nightwing
Played: 81  Reviewed: 19
This review was updated on 1/15/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Astonishingly beautiful course.
-Mix of very long/ very short tees for Pros and Ams.
-Big air on several holes. Love the hang-time.
-Fascinating choices for risk and reward.
-Interesting and evolving Pin Placements.
-Gorgeous drive in and out. A real 'Destination'.
-Deer, Turkeys, distant animal calls: all very cool.
Cons: -Closed all summer and winter.
-No facilities except a few during tournaments.
-A long drive from anywhere (but worth it!)

Other Thoughts:
UPDATE: Pendaries is now open only a few PRECIOUS weeks in april and october. The layout is ON a Ball Golf course, hence the short season
Try to get there: this is a GREAT players course!

Most play centers around the spring and fall tournaments. April's will sell out any day now and is New Mexico's 1st ever A-Tier.

Pendaries is a premier championship course.
The direct route on #1 has a 325' carry. #3 has a 200+' carry to a pin on the berm right above the pond. (Both Am tees have less carry.) However, the 1300' par 5 #8 can be reached in 4 by an advanced player. Pros can birdie it but scores of 8-10 are not unusual either. Although the course IS very long, most players find staying in-bounds to be the main challenge. Casual players can ignore the O.B., and have a mellow 'walk in paradise'.

Players who make the time and bring everything, including their 'A-Game', will be deeply rewarded. Call ahead. Try NMDG on Facebook, or NMDG.org or just google Pendaries. Get prepared and Play This Course!

BTW: This traditional golf resort community has been VERY supportive of us: Please stay off the fragile ball golf greens and be nice to the people who allow us to have this amazing priviledge.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ripp

5+    11/20/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: Todd Ripp
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.1 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Its set on the back 9 of an amazing golf course. tones of elevation, wildlife all around you, and the people there are great. There are 2 water holes that do love discs.This course is easy to navigate, and its just a tranquil place to be.
Cons: Again, its on a golf course so it will move in may when the ball golf opens.
Other Thoughts: if you play northern NM, you must find this course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center