Rociada, NM 
Pendaries Village DGC Share
Uploaded By: mfcastillo17 Hole #8
5 / 1086ft.   5 / 1218ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee



Reviews: 8
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Close To Epic

2-4    10/26/2014   11/3/2014
Review By: TalbotTrojan
Played: 102  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 6.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course sits on a ball golf course that is a resort in the middle of no where New Mexico. The setting is simply beautiful and the design of the course is exceptional. Every shot had me thinking and wishing I could either throw further or more accurately. Tee pads were either on cement or had a nice thick rubber pad. Most of the baskets were in great condition (only the replacement for the stolen basket was not nice). There were tee signs at every tee with distances on them. There really is no easy shot on this course. The variety of shots that one has to throw is incredible. Most holes make you really think about where you want to place your shot, not necessarily just throw it to the pin. There are a few par 4s and one par 5. The par is legitimate and well thought out. The pro shop for the ball golfers was open and serving breakfast both days I was there. There are plenty of accommodations nearby. Being it is on a golf course, everything is well maintained. Golf carts are available to use for practice rounds.
Cons: Because it is only a temporary course it is only available to play for only a few days throughout the year. It really isn't close to anything and you really have to go out of your way to get to this course. I almost always list paying to play as a con, but really you shouldn't worry about that with this course. I thought that there were a few additional OB areas that really did not need to be OB. For the gold tee on hole 1 there is a very long water carry with not so nice bail out areas on either side. This could be challenging for someone without big distance. I recommend the short tees in that case.
Other Thoughts: Hats off to the guys at Elite Brothers Disc Golf for making this course happen and continuing to make it happen season after season. They run great tournaments and do a lot to make this course what it is. A trip to this tournament is well worth the time and the experience of the course will not disappoint. I highly recommend not worrying about your score the first time you play this course. It is really challenging to the point where at least from the golf tees, if you are shooting even par you are getting a round rating near 1000. You will really want to be prepared for the lack of nearby amenities. Grocery and more than one restaurant option are all the way back in Las Vegas, NM, not a short drive. I think one of the coolest things that happened while I was playing was having a local in his personal golf cart follow us around to watch and see what it was all about.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 World class

5+    4/15/2012   3/17/2014
Review By: Eagle1538
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This BEAUTIFUL course is on a impeccably maintained golf course in the middle of gods country! This place offers seasonal WORLD CALIBER disc golf. With 2 annual PDGA events! For the pros bring your arm. For the ams bring your A game! you'll need to put this one on your bucket list people!!
Cons: no real cons...just that the course is 1,900 miles away. that still doesn't stop me from going back annually ( sometimes more...)
Other Thoughts: PLAY THIS COURSE OR TOURNAMENT!!!!

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful course

2-4    4/20/2013   5/31/2013
Review By: jamesp123
Played: 16  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenic course, all the previous reviews of seeing turkey and deer are very true.The course is hilly but its easy to navigate from hole to hole if you follow the cart path.There are even a couple of holes with water hazards.
Cons: Course is long. I do recommend getting a cart if possible. Its a seasonal disc golf course located directly on a golf course.
Other Thoughts: Mr Castillo holds an awesome tournament here twice a year. You definitely want to add this course to your list. The course is about 2hrs north of Albuquerque.I cant wait to play it again.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Outstanding Layout!!

5+    4/2/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: Oklahoma Outlaw
Played: 97  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 35.6 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2014
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: This course is in a beautiful setting at about 7,000 feet. The layout is long and tough, but fair. Bring your "A" game if you want to score well, as it will be needed to do so. The course winds over the back 9 of a golf course which provides for very well manicured fairways with great looks. There are 2 sets of tees providing for players of lesser ability the opportunity to play the front tees which are still very challenging. The back tees provide a challenge for even the "World Class" players. The first tee requires them to clear a small lake flying at least 340' of carry from the back tee. The holes are very diverse in nature and length with some par 4's and 5's. If you have a weakness in your game, you will know what it is after you play here. Par is 60 and is a good score.
Cons: It's too bad this course can't be open year round, as it is an outstanding layout.
Other Thoughts: If the opportunity exists, I would highly recommend playing this course, but be ready to walk the terrain. If possible, rent a golf cart. You randomly see deer and turkey on the course as you play as well as some fantastic views on this New Mexico Mountain Golf course. This one is a jewel, if you don't play it you will certainly have missed something grand.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 AWESOME!!

2-4    10/21/2012   10/22/2012
Review By: KDFrosty
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 2.5 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Phenomenal setting! In the mountains. Nothing but nature, the sound of leaves rustling, and hairy squirrels running all over the place.
-Challenging holes for every type of player. Diversity!
-Golf carts supplied during tournament.
-Village and golf course staff most accommodating
-Immaculate maintenance. I dont think I saw one piece of trash
Cons: These cons are out of anyone's control for the most part, so take them lightly:
-Can get windy in the afternoon. All 3 times I played here in the fall had fairly windy afternoon (later than 1:00p) rounds.
-It's not open all year round. Only fall/winter/early spring.
-Golf carts not provided if you're not playing in a tourney. I hiked the course once, and would again, but it's not for someone out of shape.
Other Thoughts: I played my best round, and it almost felt like some out of body experience. Everything was perfect, including the course. I would not recommend another course any more than this course at Pendaries.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Pendaries!

5+    11/3/2011   2/7/2012
Review By: mfcastillo17
Played: 78  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 8.7 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: As the one of the course designers, I suppose this review will be a bit biased, although I have waited long enough and gathered enough feedback from players who have played the course to properly review it.

The course is set at 7500 ft elevation on a beautiful mountain ball golf course. The Pendaries Village Community Association has been gracious enough to allow us to build a dg course on the golf course in the offseason when the ball golf course is closed (October-April). The course is very easy to navigate as we followed the cart path with the course design to allow for the use of golf carts during our tournaments. Although we use carts for tournament play, the course is easily walkable. The course punches you in the mouth from the start with a 350ft drive over water to reach the fairway on the 850ft hole 1. There are several epic downhill shots on this course that allows you to air it out. The roller game is helpful on this course as well. We added a set of shorter tees to make the course enjoyable for all levels of player. Par is 59 and thus far the course record is 57. We wanted to build a course that challenges every player and I think we achieved this.
Cons: Unfortunately, the course is only open from October-April. And being in the mountains, mid-winter golf can be rough after a snowfall. After our upcoming event, the Pendaries Spring Classic, the course will be pulled for the season.
Other Thoughts: Make it a point to play this course before the season is up. I have played some great courses, but this one rates as #1. There are plans to install another course on the property in the forest for the summer time. I'll keep everyone posted on this development to make Pendaries a year around disc golf destination!

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

A Real Players Paradise

5+    4/21/2013   12/28/2011
Review By: nightwing
Played: 99  Reviewed: 23
This review was updated on 10/24/2014
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Astonishingly beautiful course.
-Pro and Am tees, but both challenging.
-Big air shots without too much climbing.
-Fascinating choices for risk and reward.
-Interesting Tee and Pin placements.
-Gorgeous drive in and out. A real 'Destination'.
-Deer, Turkeys, distant animal calls: very cool.
Cons: -Mainly that it's closed all summer and winter.
-No facilities except a few during tournaments.
-A long drive from anywhere (but worth it!)
-Not much else...an awesome experience.

Other Thoughts:
UPDATE FALL 2014. Course is lush with high water in the 2 ponds. #12 basket was stolen...please report any leads.

Pendaries is open only a few PRECIOUS weeks in mid to late April and mid to late October. You can find information at Elite Brothers.com, or from the Pendaries Resort, or on Facebook at the NMDG group. The layout is ON a Ball Golf course, hence the short season
Try to get there: this is a GREAT players course!

Most play centers around the spring and fall tournaments. They both now sell out in hours! But you can just go out and play, especially at 10am the saturday before when there is a great league event, followed by doubles.

Pendaries is a premier championship course.
The A-Tier in the Spring especially is attracting several national tour player. That they come a ways to play here speaks for itself.

Although the course is very long, most players find staying in-bounds to be the main challenge. Casual players can ignore the cart path O.B., and have a mellow 'walk in paradise'.

The following COURSE GUIDE assumes that you do not know the course at all but that you ARE playing when the tee flags are up. This is a temp course and there are no signs, so you might want to print this out. This directions are very specific and will make more sense when you are out there. You might also be able to get a Caddie book w/ photos of each hole: Elite Brothers Disc Golf.

From the Golf Parking lot, head back to their #10 ball golf tee, (which is the #1 Disc Golf tee). It's to the left....when you say OMG!!! you are there. 350' carry over the lake, depending on the water level. Most Ams throw to the Am tee right or just say screw it and start on the Am tee, which is also the drop-zone. Dogleg left.

Climb a little up to #2 and play back down. #3 is over the pond. Take a right and #4 heads up over a ball golf green to the left of the house with dozens of wind sculptures. (Ball golf greens are OB, even for casual rounds.) Climb to your right to play #5 back down the other side of that house. It doglegs left. Yes it's a par 3!

#6 is 100 yards further out and behind you to the left along the woods. Look for the red and then pink flags to find the tees. The basket is thru a tunnel in the woods but the shot is a hyzer out over the fairway. #7 is a par 4 that starts to your right on the cart path and plays way up over the ball golf green to your left.

#8 is a monster par 5: I play it as a par 6. This is my favorite hole and I cherish my few birdie 5s like no other hole anywhere. It is up past the restroom shack and you must carry the first cart path or re-tee. Get past the trees around the small dry pond/basin and it's way out there to the dogleg left past the ball golf green. Good Luck and have fun with this.

#9 is a raised teepad, up thru the woods to the left from the #8 basket. #10 plays across the fairway up into the woods. #11 is back across the fairway again...look for the flags on cart path.
This is the first of several holes where you may need to re-tee if you do not 'Establish' in bounds on your drive...the OB cart-path runs directly at the basket.

{Note that if you go just beyond #11, you can play #18 to complete a short inner loop of the course. You might need supplies and a whole nother shot at the first few holes at this point.}

From the 11 basket, the Par 4 #12 tee is behind you and up to the left about 50 yards on the cart-path. #13 is then just to your right in the woods. 13 goes over the ball golf green near the cluster of 3 dark trees. #14 is on the cart-path to the right of that green.

#15 plays across the fairway. #16 is back across the fairway again and plays to an Island Green of sorts to the left of the ball golf green. The Par 4 #17 plays to your right. Then go just right to the cart-path to play down to #18.

Par 60. Top pros play in the 50s. Typical pro and top am scores will be in the 60s. A 10 over 70 should be rated near 900.

Players who make the time and bring everything, including their 'A-Game', will be deeply rewarded. Call ahead. Come prepared and Play This Course!

BTW: The ball golf resort community is pretty mellow and has been VERY supportive of us: Please stay off the fragile ball golf greens and be nice to the people who allow us to have this amazing priviledge.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 ripp

5+    11/20/2011   12/10/2011
Review By: Todd Ripp
Played: 61  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 4.4 Years
1 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: Its set on the back 9 of an amazing golf course. tones of elevation, wildlife all around you, and the people there are great. There are 2 water holes that do love discs.This course is easy to navigate, and its just a tranquil place to be.
Cons: Again, its on a golf course so it will move in may when the ball golf opens.
Other Thoughts: if you play northern NM, you must find this course.

1 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.