Disc Golf Store
El Cajon, CA 
Olive Glen Share
Uploaded By: osborncl Hole #2 (Taken 4/2012)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 267ft.   3 / 255ft.   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Tee



Reviews: 11
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
Aptly Named Olive Glenn Not A Destination Course!

1    6/29/2014   7/18/2014
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 683  Reviewed: 635  Exp: 36.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Located on the far corner of the Sycuan Golf and Tennis Resort sits this little 9 hole beginner disc golf course. They're charging you $ 5 to play. I didn't ask how long you could play for your $5. They give you a little purple hospital band like the ones Morley uses.
There is ample parking at the beginning. The course follows a very simple layout basically just playing up and down the rows of olive trees. It is nicely shaded as I'm sure it gets really hot out here.
The baskets are the portable, single chain models which are somehow attached to the ground. They do have a large red # bolted to the top which makes navigating the course even easier. The tee pads are natural although # 8 did have a nicer patio block pad.
There are simple signs giving the hole # and distances.
This is just a decent little beginner course. It does provide many opportunities for ACES.
Most holes are pretty straight forward, throw down the row of olive trees which are spaced about 50' apart.
Cons: # 8 basket is bent over like a old man using a crutch.
Single chain baskets.
Sub-standard tee pads.
Lack of difficulty and creativity.
Flat.
$ 5 to play this course is a bit steep.
Other Thoughts: I had fun playing this course twice. It was pleasant, shady throw on the very hot day I was driving by. I wouldn't make a special trip to play here but I would play it every time I was passing by. It might be the best beginner course in the San Diego area but then again, that's not saying much, is it?

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Not worth the $5.00

1    3/3/2014   3/4/2014
Review By: nuttinbutchain
Played: 34  Reviewed: 20
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -shade
-plentiful parking
-easy navigation (despite no signage)
-little to no waiting
-LOTS of trees
-as long as there are no crowds, safari hole possibilities are potentially infinte
-plenty of ace runs
Cons: -most holes are short
-mostly tunnel shots with little variety
-Costs $5.00 to play here (and totally not worth the money considering Morley is only $3.00)
-no teepads really (but teeing off on solid ground works fine)
Other Thoughts: First time I've played here...there were alot more people here than I expected, but there was little to no wait and we squeezed in three rounds; 1 rd with course layout and the other 2 rds we played safari and added our own rules (OB's and mandatories). This is a pitch and putt course and overall this is not a great course, but its not shabby either. I say play the course layout for one round; then as long as the crowd permits, get creative and make up your own teepads with OB's and mandatories. I'd rate this course a 2.75 - 3.0 with the safari holes I played. The numerous tunnel shots can help your straight and low game, but become boring after awhile. This is more a mid/putter type course, but you can use your driver here if you choose (its just not needed necessarily).

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Break from the action

5+    1/23/2014   1/24/2014
Review By: EastCountyPride
Played: 8  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Shade
Easy walking
Low ceilings
A,B and C Tee locations
Cool local crowd
Cons: Steep admission for the course quality
Short distances
No signage
No Banos!
Other Thoughts: Love to beat the heat and the crowds, come out here for a nice relaxing game of DG. Course is usually open to just play right through without waiting. Smaller distances really work on your short game!

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Technical fun and friendly locals!

5+    11/17/2013   11/17/2013
Review By: Franchise
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This technical course has lots of pros, in no particular order;
Friendly locals without a lot of ego and always willing to help new people to the course.
Groomed fairways.
Plenty of shade during the hot summer months.
No crowds, which means no waiting.
Technical shots from 3 teepads for each hole. Requires a varied shot selection. (Sidearm, back hand, hyzers, anhyzers, roller, thumbers, etc.)
Rewards solid drives and great putting.
Punishes errant drives and poor putting.
Pay to play!
Organized weekly doubles and singles events.
Cons: Baskets could be upgraded.
No course map.
No restroom.
No pro shop.
Tee pads could be upgraded, but very playable.
Other Thoughts: If you are looking to improve your game this course will help your game. Since all the holes are lined with trees it will teach you to hit your line to score well. Same goes for the numerous tunnel shots. With 3 sets of tees for each hole, ranging from 180' to 366' you will be challenged. If you want even more of a challenge ask the locals to show you the alternate gold level pads with holes stretching out to 525'!

See you on the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Family fun!

1    9/27/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: tdkrizenshine
Played: 26  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 1.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a fun little , family friendly course that has multiple tees for all holes which can really up the technical level and distance. TOTALLY uncrowded and laid back, gorgeous setting with major shading on all holes, interesting mix of tees including sand/ wood platform/ pavers/ gravel and wood chips. Ceilings, heavyily wood lined fairways, multiple mandos and REALLY clingy olive branches combined with the alternate tees can make this a much more challenging course than first impression would give (especially if you play off fairway OB rule). Played my wife and toddler and had a BLAST running through twice for 18.
Cons: Short, no baņos or pro shop, tees can be precarious, $5 (but for no crowd whatsoever...).
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this little gem and a had a great experience introducing the wife to the sport without any pressure or "fore" factor like some other local courses. Can't wait to bring the teenager and youngster back tomorrow!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Disappointing

1    8/15/2012   8/16/2012
Review By: mashnut
Played: 815  Reviewed: 763  Exp: 12.6 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course plays through a small olive orchard. You'll need to contend with low ceilings and straight tunnels on most shots, the majority of the holes play down the rows of olive trees. There are two sets of tees marked, offering a little bit tougher length and line from some of the long tees and offering a way to change things up if you play multiple rounds. The course flows well, it's easy to follow and all baskets are visible from the tees.
Cons: This could be a cool piece of land for a course, but unfortunately 8 of the 9 shots were basically identical. A straight shot down a row of trees is cool, but a course full of them gets a bit repetitive, and doesn't test different line shaping skills. A little more creativity in the use of the trees and the tee and basket placement would go a long way.

The tees are raised mounds of soft dirt and woodchips, offering rutted and squishy footing that can be a little odd to throw from. There is no real signage, the baskets are numbered and the shorter tees have distances marked, but those distances are rarely all that close to the actual length of the hole. I rarely mind paying for a round of disc golf, but $5 for a short 9 hole course with bad tees, cheap baskets and no signage seems a little out of line with other pay to play courses I've seen. I can't imagine they'll get much traffic with the current price and layout.
Other Thoughts: Beginners can have a great time here, the holes are reasonable lengths and there are trees to avoid without much punishment for errant drives. More experienced players won't find a whole lot of challenge, if you can throw a straight putter shot you'll have birdie opportunities on every hole.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun short course

2-4    2/19/2012   6/26/2012
Review By: patdb23
Played: 40  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 7.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Olive Glen is a short 9 hole course located near Sycuan Casino Golf course. The course is in an olive grove with heavy coverage allowing plenty of shade to throw short midrange tunnel shots. It's a fun little course, great for beginners or players that need to work on midrange low ceiling shots. It's never busy, matter of fact you probably will have the course to yourself. There's a couple longer holes that open up in the fairway with trees bordering the sides. You could easily play 36 holes here and not be tired.
Cons: I would suggest venturing out if you're close by, but it's a not a top notch course to go completely out of your way. If it's your first time, it would help to have a map as there are no tee signs, only markers on tree stumps on the ground.
Other Thoughts: My expectations were low, but I was pleasantly surprised with this course. The shade and that it's never busy is a major plus. Can be a fun course to just relax and goof off and not take it seriously. This would be a great course to introduce new players to. btw, make sure you stop by the course shop to pick up your daily $5 pass.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Short and technical

1    5/27/2012   5/27/2012
Review By: gt4936
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great shade not to hot
Hole numbers are very easy to see on the baskets
2 tee options at every hole
First option marked out with stumps
Alternate marked out with stakes
More challenging than expected
Not busy
Great place to take kids or anyone interested in learning, because the holes are short, and it is not busy.
Trash can on every hole
Cons: No map, can be confusing the first time
Tee pads are marked with stumps or stakes which are hard to see and not numbered in anyway.
Holes are short and fairly close together
Trees line every hole keeping all shots low
Baskets could be better

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short Technical Fun!

2-4    4/22/2012   4/22/2012
Review By: Ninja_Disc_Master
Played: 39  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2012
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Empty! -Went on a sunday morning and didn't see another sole. Saw the players in the log book from day prior(Sat) only 12 total!
Navigation- Easy due to signage and visibility within the olive tree glen. Great for family DG with small children to get them interested in the game!
Scenery- Overall very pretty scenery which was unexpected for El Cajon. Nice green grass "fairways" with stumps/logs at tee boxes for seating if for some reason you ever had to wait. Trash cans on almost every hole.
Play- Short and semi-technical due to the trees if you like that style of course. Secondary tee spots available to vary the 9 hole course and make it play like an 18+ course.
Cons: Cost- $5 is a little steep, but to avoid the crowds of Morley...probably worth it!
Tee pads- Loose uneven tree bark pits make consistent footing difficult but, manageable.
Restrooms- Non-existant except maybe in the resort lobby or a bush.
Play- Short holes with the 297' hole being the longest. There's no variety of shot choices as most holes pretty straight and lined with trees.

Other Thoughts: This course was fun and challenging. I would HIGHLY suggest it for family DG. If you have bad luck with trees, this is probably not the course for you. A nice addition to the San Diego DG scene with a lot of potential which with the right seasoned player or pros input to make this course REALLY good! Will play again!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Great Starter Course

5+    12/3/2011   12/12/2011
Review By: Crackers
Played: 36  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 19.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: *Fun
*Short - if you like that kind of thing..
*When Morley is packed, this is a nice short course to come to
*Hardly ever anybody to slow your game down
*Easy to navigate
*Makes you work on your technical game.
Cons: *$5 is a little stiff with the cheaper baskets and no concrete pads. Even Morley is only $4 on the weekend.
*Longest hole is less than 300'
*Have to keep your discs very low in a lot of cases because of the thick olive trees. You also have very narrow channels between the aisles of olive trees.
Other Thoughts: Even though this course is short and doesn't have concrete pads or better baskets, it's still a blast to come out and play. I personally enjoy short technical courses, so it's a plus for me in the San Diego area. When Morley is packed on the weekends with the weekend warriors, this course generally only has a group or two at most. It's nice not to have to wait thirty minutes per hole on the weekends. I hear the Aces are trying to get more done to this course and hope that they do.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.