Marshall, MO 
Indian Foothills Park - South Share
Uploaded By: bigreddog Hole #12 (Taken 7/2014)
3 / 275ft.   3 / 275ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Indian Foothills South could be Chief

1    8/15/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 277  Reviewed: 173  Exp: 13.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Indian Foothills Park is the ideal setting for a disc golf course, or two. I only played one, so far. The South course is killer. Breaking out big drives from majorly elevated tees, threading precision shots through densely wooded fairways, perfectly blending the big rolling grassy hillsides and trails into the woods. All have at least one concrete tee, and decent quality baskets. I began next to the gazebo on an awesome hole marked 1. Mostly open, long drive way downhill around a couple of mature trees. Eventually decided hole 2 must be across the street, though it is unmarked, and sign in the tree next to the tees says hole 15. It is steeply uphill the opposite direction of 1, not quite as long. Hole 3 is across the parking area at the top of that hill, a dogleg left down the other side of the hill. Did not like how close this one played to the picnic shelter nearby. Hole 4 is another awesome downhill launch with a few big trees are waiting to grab any disc that is slightly off line. The basket sits on a very sloped position, and is a fast approach. Around the bend hole 5 tees up the next hillside. It was after finishing 5 the course turned left into the woods and it took me a while to figure it out, I did with help from Geoff. He was familiar and played out the remainder of the course with me. I started playing better when he joined, too. Bogies on the first four holes had me struggling, but I was only 2 over par with 2 birdies on the last 13 holes. There are some good holes in this mid section of the course. A flat throw with low ceiling and a split fairway offering left or right paths to the basket. A tunnel into the trees that twists its way to a basket that sits up the next hillside. Elevated tee that cuts through trees on the way down to the basket, with a nice RHBH friendly hyzer line. The order is fuzzy to my memory, but I know they were all fun. Some were short and sweet, some were long and winding, a little water was present. Great mix of shots, left/right, up/downhill, short/long and woods/open.
Cons: The layout is almost impossible to follow if you don't know the course. I printed the map, and there are signs, but both are obsolete. The hole numbers have been changed, and not all of the current labels are right. Some of the transitions between holes are not easy to follow and poorly marked. Spent a lot of time searching for the beginning of the course, and then also looking for hole 6 after finishing 5 (down hill to the left). I would give another half star on the rating if the signs were really good, and alternate tees were improved.
Other Thoughts: Indian Foothills Park is really nicely maintained. They were mowing like crazy the day I was there, but didn't interfere with my game at all. This landscape makes for great disc golf, Marshall is lucky to have 2 great courses side by side. The South course could definitely use some TLC. Improving signs, getting all of the tees up to speed, and maybe trimming a branch here and there would be awesome. I was frustrated wasting time trying to figure out the layout, but I asked directions from a local on the North course, and he wound up finishing my round with me. Geoff showed me the way when I was near giving up, and it was greatly appreciated. Never would have made it through without his help. It would have been a bummer to miss out on that great course because I couldn't find my way around. So, my advice is this one is totally worth playing, but do your homework and see if you can recruit someone familiar with the circuit. It isn't easy for a first timer, but it is a fun course if you can make it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice and tough!

2-4    7/22/2014   9/8/2014
Review By: Grip N' Rip 944
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/16/2014
Pros: This is the toughest course of the 3 here in Marshall. There are wide open, long holes, wooded holes, holes with water, and holes where you can't see the pin. Downhill throws and uphill throws. Great variation in pin locations and elevation. This is a long course that will wear you down and make you earn almost every par. However there are a couple that should be easy 3's. Like hole 10 and16. (16 should be a par 2) This course can be unforgiving if you miss your target or hit the trees. I like the challenge of this course and look forward to mastering this difficult course. 9/15/14-* Signage is up. Every tee has a new sign, a tee and pin location as well as hole layout. Also next tee signs put up. Thanks to the local club for this. They have made this course one of the best in Missouri.
Cons: The only 2 cons I have for this course are the same as the other ones for the Marshall courses. Some signage and grooming. Once again I do have to commend the club for doing all they can to maintain these courses. But with as much ground as they have to cover, it's just hard to keep up. Most of the grooming issues are located where the parks mowing crew can't reach in the wooded areas. Although it does make it more of a challenge, it also makes it hard to find your disc. The signage has improved dramaticly, but a lot of the baskets don't have numbers or have the wrong numbers. Or maybe the little trail to the next tee is overgrown at times. Overall a non issue, just something to work on in the future.
Other Thoughts: Hole 7 has been the hardest hole for me. Fairway is narrow and covered with big and small trees. A long downhill run, followed by a long uphill slight left turn. Then a hard right turn and another 100 feet at least to the pin. Very tough hole. I've had several tries and have yet to get any better than a 4. Hole 14 is where the lake comes into play. If it has rained a lot recently then the bottoms of that fairway maybe soggy. Definitely a tournament caliber course and I'm sure the grooming will get better with time.

 A true test

2-4    4/27/2013   5/3/2013
Review By: badams
Played: 65  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 26.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Fntastic use of elevation and natural setting
Cons: course needs time and play to mature, No ace runs to speak of, may have some difficulty navigating
Other Thoughts: This course truly tests your entire game. every type of shot is required, There are risk reward considerations on many drives as well as a good number of putts

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 If north is good South is great

2-4    3/3/2012   3/3/2012
Review By: asjzn6
Played: 123  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 11.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Absolutely championship course. We worked it out to a par 58 (7,8,9,13 as 4's). This south will separate good from great golfer's. Starting down in the bottoms you have to pin-point from the get go. This course uses amazing elevation. No signs again but follow paths near green and you should find your way. I think monkey traps are great basket and No Hunting purple makes sense and yes orange would stand out but you can see them. This course has length and nice short holes. Plays a lot longer than its counterpart. Even lots of ob to keep you honest. The lengthy hole require lots of length. Dual tees on some holes.
Cons: No signage. Not a con but not for the newbie. you will need a lot of stamina if playing this as your second round
Other Thoughts: A phenomenal course a must play for anybody living near the i-70 corridor

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Not an easy walk in the park!

5+    9/19/2011   11/22/2011
Review By: DiscMan Walking
Played: 119  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 25.5 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Extremely Challenging! This course demands all of your shots; long, short, hammer, flick, and you could even roll it if you like. It requires pin-point accurary on some holes and allows you to flail away on others. It has a fair mix of up-hills and down-hills, rights and lefts, water, trees and open fields. All-in-all a great course for your average to pro player. This is a course where you truely measure risk/reward on half of the holes
Cons: I need to begin with the statement that the course is still new and will improve significantly with age - but there are some obvious flaws that even the locals would admit (and are planning on correcting as time goes on).
1) Signage - last time I played not all of the signs were in place. Great signage is the number one most important feature of a course.
2) The flow of the course is not intuitive - even with a map, it is still a little hard to find some of the holes - find a local and hire them as a guide. The short course is 5900 ft. and will take you to parts of the park seldom seen by the local denizens other than the deer and raccoons. Arrows indicating the direction of where the next hole is located is a must.
3) Not all of the baskets can be seen from the pad. Not that this is a bad thing - but without the aid of good signage you will be hunting for a while trying to locate the basket. Again hook up with a local the first time around.
4) The baskets. The baskets are new, but they were powder-coated purple. In Missouri this indicates "NO Hunting" - but makes it near impossible to see them from a great distance. They blend into the woods, I am a fan of Safety Orange or lemon yellow - flags or powder-coating. Something to make them stand out from the trees. There are a half dozen baskets in the open that are unmistakeable - the other twelve require keen eyesight and foreknowledge of where they are located.
5) This is not a pitch and putt beginner course. If it is the first time you have ever played Disc Golf - try Sedalia. Beginners and even some intermediate players may balk at the length, the required accuracy, the penalty for failing to make a good shot, and the lack of intuitive flow (without a guide or a map). The penalties are steep - literally in some cases! There is the Missouri bramble, lots of trees, steep banks away from some baskets, and a stream or two that will cause considerable anxiety.
Other Thoughts: It is a great course and will improve tremendously. The local club has spent countless hours working on the course and probably will continue - they are to be commended for all their efforts. They forged this course out of the rawest of resources and did most of the work themselves. The Parks Dept. helped on occasion - but the club did the Lion's share of the work.
Having said that - in closing I would like to say take extra water and an energy bar, download the map, and wear waterproof hiking boots! You are in for one fun afternoon in the park!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center