Carlisle, PA 
Coyote Hills DGC Share
Uploaded By: KAK3990 Hole #6 (Taken 4/2014)
3 / 465ft.   4 / 676ft.   3 / 325ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Basket to Tee



Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Wiley E. Coyote's Doglegs

1    6/20/2014   11/8/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 106  Reviewed: 79  Exp: 8.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and signage and Discatcher baskets. Decent navigation with two loops of 9 holes back to parking lot. Excellent use of the elevation and space. Nice variety of lines and distances to hit. Really enjoyed holes 1, 2, 6, 8, 17, and 18. Disc golf only area of park.
Cons: Nothing major that should keep anyone from playing. Single concrete tees and single basket positions(except hole 1 has two baskets). The rough is still fairly rough with brush and some poison ivy. Biting flies in summer. No bathroom.
Other Thoughts: Overall Coyote Hills is a very good course, I absolutely loved the first and last few holes as they are pro caliber. I'd rate the course 3.75 if I could. This maybe just be my preference and cup of tea, but many of holes in the middle reminds me of Wiley E Coyote using Acme products to try and catch the Roadrunner that end up backfiring like on the short dogleg holes and couple holes that have tight winding fairways with bad rough. Those holes just seemed to lack much fun factor and re-playablilty for me but that's just like my opinion man.

I did what the reviewer below me did and followed my GPS to the road with the closed bridge. Call an audible, orange barrel re-route to get to the park. I wouldn't necessarily go too far out of the way to seek out, but Coyote Hill is one of the best courses in the area, so I'd recommend playing it as a good fix in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Wow...challengeing

1    5/4/2012   5/23/2012
Review By: Airubus
Played: 35  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: very well designed. no holes overlap each other. you really feel like you're alone out there on a long hike. this course pulls no punches. plenty of elevation changes, tunnel shots, left to right, right to left, up to down, and down to up and back down again....you get the point. you have short holes...and one MONSTER of a par 5. love love love this course.
Cons: NOT a beginner course. the rough is ROUGH!!!! but it is a new course, and the rough will eventually thin with player trails retrieving discs...lord knows i made a few of my own. also because this is a new course, the thorns are bad. a few holes dont reward great shots, but will PUNISH poor choices. i think it was hole 17 or 18 where my disc was 15 feet from the basket...and my disc was near unplayable due to a lack of a "green" again....the course is new...and will be tweaked, and beaten in so i cant knock it so bad
Other Thoughts: i will come back to this course for SURE!!! very memorable. put this on your list!!

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Start

1    12/26/2011   12/26/2011
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 4.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2012
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nearly new (only a few months old) primarily wooded course featured in a nice township park in Carlisle. A practice basket and mailbox with scorecards/map are available as you enter the parking lot by hole 1. Brand new numbered Innova Disc Catcher baskets and good sized cement tee pads installed at each hole. White arrows affixed to the bottom of each basket make navigation simple. Good variety, excellent use of elevation and a small creek on the premises. Some cool holes (#2 fish hook, #6 open field downhill hyzer, #7 across a creek to basket on other side, #8 elevated pin atop railroad ties, #13 bomb and #17 drive to a basket perched atop a hill stand out) and very fair routes to each basket.
Cons: Some treacherous uphill/downhill navigation required to cross various parts of the course where the creek comes into play. There are no permanent signs as of Dec. 2011 and the alternate (red/blue) tee areas aren't fully developed yet. Some areas of shule can eat discs if not careful. No amenities like benches or bag poles on the course.
Other Thoughts: The Middlesex Township DG Course goes way above and beyond what one might expect at a township park. This course is good and has the potential to be VERY good. It is laid out well, has good flow and with few exceptions doesn't really interfere with other park users. Although much has been done already, this course is still is very much a work in progress- and its "weaknesses" should all be corrected in due time. Some walkways/bridges would aid greatly in crossing the small creek which comes into play on several holes. Those who worked to install this course are to be commended. One concern: I found many empty shotgun shells while playing for the first time. Hopefully, hunters in the area know there's now a course here!!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Good now, could be Great

1    11/11/2011   11/17/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 370  Reviewed: 348  Exp: 6.4 Years
This review was updated on 9/15/2013
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Eighteen long-n-wide-level concrete teepads (OK, #7 is short, but it is a very short hole, too).

Between the online map and the fairly natural flow, the course was pretty easy for this first-time visitor to navigate. Things to remember are:
- from basket-8, the tee straight ahead is #11 - go right to find tee-9
- from tee-9, the parking lot is to the right, tee-10 down to the left
- Uber-long #13 has you passing basket-16 and tee-14 before finally reaching basket-13, tucked into the woods on the right

The landscape - two wooded (mixture of deciduous and evergreen) slopes separated by a tiny stream, framed by bits of open space and containing a natural glade, all of which are incorporated to great effect - is well-suited for hosting a disc golf course.

The undergrowth didn't seem very bad in the wooded - the thick shule along the open left-sides of 12 and 13, or the fenced-off area along #6 are the likeliest disc-loss areas.
Cons:
Many tree stumps - small enough not to catch the attention of your eyes, big enough to catch the attention of your toes. Wear steel-toed shoes, if you have them.

Holes 2, 7, and 9 - especially #7 - require a small stream be crossed. Boards/logs/bridges are needed, as the crossings can be steep (2,7), wide (7, 9), or both (7)! Erosion already beginning to affect the common crossing locations.

On #1, too far left and a baseball field/bleachers come into play.

No permanent (there were just a few temporary) teesigns/directional signs.
Other Thoughts:
There is quite a bit to like about this very challenging and varied course, which is definitely more wooded then open:
- Variety in fairway-shapes - you'll need to throw an even blend of left/right/no-turning shots on this course. For the fairways with turns, the sharpness of the turn, and the location of the turn, will also vary - you'll see most every combination.
- Variety of tightness: Only a few holes will let you "relax" and swing your disc wide, if you otp to do. Most holes offer challenging-but-fair flightpaths. And then there are the few that throw the gauntlet down - quite tight, and/or quite long, at times, both!
- Variety of elevation changes: More down-slopes than up-slopes, with some down-then-ups and flat holes added to the mix, too.
- Variety in distance: ranging from 187'-723', 2/3rd of the holes fall into the 320'+/- 60' range.

Favourite hole: Many to like, I think I'll choose #10.Fairly open to start, with the tee at the edge of the open space, you throw towards a generous path cut into woods, needing a fairly sharp right-turn as the throwing path narrows as it descends towards the stream. The slope rises and opens on the other side of the stream, the basket, at nearly the same elevation as the tee, slightly to the left, partially guarded by the end of a treeline.

Honourable mention to #8, offering two possible flightpaths:
- very long, straight, narrow, sharp-left-at-end, or
- needing to hit an elevated-window early, followed by a right-turn, then holding a straight line down a wider opening than the other route

Least favourite: #15 An evil version of somewhat-similar #5, it is a short, up-slope, tight right-turner, with plenty of pinball potential nearly the entire duration, offering little chance for a recovery.

If/as the course matures, i.e. the Cons I mentioned are dealt with this course will join the already-long list of Excellent Pennsylvania courses - and it is a fine play, even as is! Adding some alternate pin positions (I'd estimate this could easily be accomplished on the about 2/3rds of the holes, as many were quite long and had reasonable optional locations) and/or tee positions, allowing the course to play differently from time to time, would make this course an even sweeter play.

Update 9/14/13: After nearly a two-year hiatus, I returned for another round, and was pleased by the additions, including:
* long-n-wide-n-flat concrete teepads
* quality signs at teepads
* alternate natural tee locations on about 1/2 the holes.
* well made bridges and stairs where needed

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Great New Course

2-4    10/26/2011   10/26/2011
Review By: crowdpleaser
Played: 21  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is exactly the sort of course Central Pennsylvania needed. Until recently, you had to drive to Pinchot Park to get a quality technical course. But now the course at Middlesex Twp Park is ready to fill in the gaps.

The course goes around the park through the woods and offers a challenging experience. If you want to compare it to Pinchot, think of it this way. Where Pinchot (Boulder's Woods) is an fairly openly stroll through the woods, Middlesex is a tight excursion.

Now brevity aside, Middlesex's best qualities come in the form of forcing you to use what's in your trickbag. On paper, each hole looks like you can either just use your backhand or flick, but don't get comfortable with those. Many of Middlesex's holes will require you to take a second look in order to get those extra 50 feet. Thumbers and Hammers are definitely encouraged.

Like I said this is a great addition to the Disc Golf community in Central PA and I hope this course gets a lot of attention in the future.
Cons: Not many Cons to note, but here are some:

The course winds its way around a small stream and therefore you have to cross the stream a lot. But there are no bridges or walkways over the stream. Now, I'm a young man in my twenties so jumping the stream was no problem. But for the senior players out there, look out.

On Hole 6, you get to throw a bomb drive which is a good break from the tight woods. But look out on your left, there is a radio tower surrounded by a barbed-wire fence. I played this course on 10/26/11 and saw there was already a disc in there. My best advice for this hole is stay low as you go past the fence.
But there really should be some phone number posted at the tee that will enable you to inform the township of your lost disc.
Other Thoughts: As of 10/26/11 the first 9 holes had cement tee boxes installed. I only played 9 that day so I can't speak for the rest. One thing to note, however, is that a bunch of the teeboxes were still wet. But I'm sure that will take care of itself soon.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 More like Middlesexy!

1    10/8/2011   10/8/2011
Review By: jblough
Played: 85  Reviewed: 85  Exp: 5.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Easy to find course with great amenities such as port-a-johns, practice tee, ample parking, and some benches.
- Baskets are brand new. I mean like...straight out of the box new. I bet they have that new basket Smell, but I wasn't that brave.
- Nice balance between wooded technical holes and wide open ones
- Elevation changes, most notably on 9, 10, 14, and 17.
- Moderate as well as sharp hyzer/anhyzer doglegs throughout the course. In fact, there are few straight shots to the basket here. I found my z-flick coming in handy for a few near 90 degree turns!
- Decent hole lengths throughout the course. 6, 13, 14, and 17 are examples of 350+ holes.
- Hole #1 plays in the open, then its a series of wooded holes from 2-5. Hole 6 plays in a wide open field, but you have to watch that your disc doesn't go go into a fenced-in antenna with barbed wire. 7 plays near a creek and hole 8 has both an anhyzer and hyzer path to the basket. Holes mostly alternate between wide open and wooded on the back nine. Designers did a nice job of breaking up the motonany of all the wooded holes, a rare thing to find at a course!
-Intuitive course flow despite being just opened. I only needed my map to find holes 13 and 16.

-Overall, a nice and challenging course with a lot of variety and challenge-although not too frustrating. That's what White Tail Woods is for!
Cons: -Tees aren't all installed yet. In fact, after hole 12, not much of anything is installed yet, except the baskets of course
-Inconsistency of gravel/wood teepads, makeshift teepads with logs, and plain dirt.
- Temporary signage in the form of laminated paper that sits by each tee. Obviously better signage is needed.
-No "next tee signs," which could help on some holes
- Lack of kiosk or map at course
- Some fairways could use some trimming and cutting; pathways between holes also need to be more defined.
- No super duper awe-inspiring holes, but there aren't really any bad ones, either. Few holes have a lot of risk/reward element, either.
- Wish there were another 2-3 open holes to air some of my discs out
- Thorns, briers, and all that nasty stuff off the fairways.
(As you can see, a lot of the cons can be fixed and probably will as it looks like the finalization of the course is already in progress. As such, I didn't factor much of the amenities into my review)
Other Thoughts: Dare I say this is the best course in the Harrisburg area (besides Pinchot)? I'll let you determine that---especially to our Creekside friends in Camp Hill. What I can say for certain is that true disc golf enthusiasts will not be disappointed due to the wooded/open balance of the course and shot variety. Clearly the course is still in its infancy and needs some maintenance for signage, tees, etc., but I think that'll change soon. Come help break the course in!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.