Fishers, IN 
Cumberland Park Share
Uploaded By: MacDaddy Hole #1 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
 Not Too bad

2-4    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Makes me use more than my big arm to score well
-good shots are rewarded, and bad shots are thoroughly beat
-i like tight tosses for accuracy, and having to use right turning shots
- one big arm hole. I dig the 519' hole 7 blue alot.
Cons: - too many right turning shots, more variety would be quite helpful.
-only 9 holes. I rarely play 9 hole courses, as they get too croweded to easy, but play doubles at this one and its real nice.
Other Thoughts: overall a nice "work on things" course. Once soccer players are done, there is MASSIVE open space for working on your discs and throwing hyzer, anhyzer, straight, etc in a wide open field like a driving range. I like that i can use this course to work on my mid range controlled turnover shots, which is a weakness. It's a good different little course right by work, which is a benefit as well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nearby and decent.

5+    8/1/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: Grungedude42
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tricky control holes up front, followed by a couple of decent distance holes later.
-Water and trees are used effectively as obstacles, but not overly so.
-Low weekday traffic allows easy access
-Easily playable by either a RHBH or RHFH.
-Some serious clear cutting this past winter has opened some holes considerably, although enough remains on those holes to allow for some challenging play.
Cons: -Soccer players and residences are a bit too close, even for experienced players
Other Thoughts: After playing this all summer, my appreciation has grown for this course. Yes, soccer players and parents can get in the way. Yes, the tees may be a bit too close to some houses.
-Course maintenance is a concern after some trees took over 6 months to remove after felling, but they did eventually get moved.
-Next springtime, be very aware of mosquitoes. I have never seen so many as this spring/early summer.
-Baskets have finally been moved, which is nice. After putting in a couple rounds with the B positions, I can say the difficulty has increased. I still feel that a 3.5 is warranted, and not a 4. The new locations are trickier, and in many cases longer, but overall I feel like the shot is different only on 2 and 9. The other holes still feel like the A position, only longer, and closer to the creek. The creek is only an threat for losing a disc on 3, and whenever it has rained recently. Otherwise, a golden retriever will do the trick nearly every time.
-I feel the course is designed fine for the plot of land, and honestly only the land itself limits the overall experience. Trees prevent any serious wind issues for the first 4 holes, (both a blessing and a curse) and the absolute lack of slope takes away from potential for the dramatic views and interesting drives I would expect from a 4 or 5 disc rated course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging 9 Holes

2-4    12/12/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: ajbova
Played: 72  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 8.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of trees. Half of the holes are in the open and half of the holes go through trees. Some holes could use more trees and some holes would be better if they had 1 or 2 trees removed near the throw pads. The trees add to the challenge.

- Water Hazard. Not many courses in the central Indiana area have water hazards. This is one hell of a water hazard. Near holes 1, 8, and 9 it is about a foot and a half feet so discs can be found easy. It is much more deep alongside holes 2-4. Avoid this creek at all costs. It made me nervous to throw next to.

- Concrete throw pads. Two tees per hole (Red Am and Blue Pro). Great difference in challenge between the throw pads, especially on hole 1.

- Baskets. The baskets were in great condition and there are two different pin locations for each hole. Changing the location of the baskets greatly alters the difficulty of each hole due to the other hazards.

- Variety of hole shot: As I have mentioned, there is a great variety in the types of holes. As tradition, the open holes are more about distance while the holes in the woods require precision and a good knowledge on disc flight. On some of the holes, it is hard to save a par if you run into issues with trees.

-Signs- Each hole had signs near the throw box for each tee. They were very detailed.
Cons: - This course floods a ton. Twice now I have fought through traffic to make it to this course only to find out that the park is closed due to flooding. I have noticed that only the entrance is flooded and that if you park and walk you could probably still play. My friends told me they have done this before.

- Water hazard (other than flooding). Some of the holes are unnecessarily close to the deep part of the creek. Holes 3 and 4 can be very difficult from the Pro Tees if you make the slightest mistake. Make sure you have plastic you are willing to part ways with (for example DX plastics).

- Hole 1 (Blue Tee): Definitely a unique hole. Unless the thrower throws off the side of the pad through the trees, the pad faces you away from the basket. It is a complete hook shot to the left with the creek flowing very tightly to the right. It is doable if you throw off of the front of the pad, you just need the right disc. I feel like if this pad was moved 10 feet back and to the right and rotated slightly a bit, it would a much more enjoyable hole.

- Traffic Getting to the park. As of now traffic can make the trip to this course take forever. I would recommend knowing alternate routes to this park.

- This course is flat. I think the greatest elevation change in this course is like 7 feet at the most.

Minus .5 for traffic and flooding
Minus .5 Unnecessary trees helping the water hazards on holes 3 and 4 and flat course.
Minus .5 for the design of blue tee on Hole 1 and only being a 9 hole course. This course could easily expand to the other side of the park in my opinion but I don't think there is room for 9 more holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging 9 hole course. I do like it but don't feel like it is worthy of a 4 out of 5. I did think it was better than a 3. It is the first course established in Fishers with hopefully many more to come in the near future. The park is very nice it is in a very nice area of town.

The two throw pads are aimed at two different skill levels of players. I do like playing this course with my friends (we always make bets) and this course can be very unpredictable (unlike Sahm and other nearby courses). The fact that you can lose discs here makes it a much more challenging course in my opinion. I would recommend playing it to anyone looking for a challenging course. I really feel like the town of Fishers hit a home run with this course. Other than traffic and it being closed due to flooding, there isn't much I would change about this course. The pictures on this page do not do the course justice.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Easy... or not?

5+    10/14/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 31.2 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park with lots of parking. Lots of big mature trees and well kept grass. The course is a true 9-hole layout, with Am (Red) and Pro (Blue) tees. There are also A and B pin locations for each hole. Six of the nine holes play along-side Mud Creek, which is not too deep, but deep enough, and wide. Not a creek to be taken lightly! Very nice, Houck Design platinum tee-signs, as sweet as they get. Large 5' x 12' concrete tee-pads. Brand new DISCatcher baskets. Easy to get to off of I-69 North.
The Red tees offer a nice challenge for new and less experienced players. The tees are set up so that the numerous large trees, actually act as a barrier to help keep errant throws out of the creek. Holes # 1, 2, 3, & 4 all play along the creek and in the trees, but there are open routes to the baskets. Holes #5, 6 and 7 are open and flat, and provide a chance to air-it-out. Then holes #8 & 9 play back along the creek and in the trees.
The Blue tees are not to be taken lightly. Holes #1, 2, 3, & 4 all have nice grass fairways down the middle (OK, #4 is VERY narrow), with the creek on the right and big trees on the left. Cheating with the over cautious hyzer shot is not advised, as contact with the trees may result in a kick to the right and into the creek. Or, if you get through them, you are trying to throw back towards the pin, and the creek! Holes #5, 6, & 7 let you grip it and rip it, especiallly #7 at over 600' to the B pin! Holes #8 and 9 are back on the creek, with #9 being a 400'+ anhyzer to the B pin. Shot placement is critical and birdies don't come cheap.
Cons: No fulltime water or restrooms. There is a very nice shelter house nearby int he park, but is is not open very much.
The posts for the tee signs are right on the edge of the tee-pads at the back of the tee. With the 12' long pads, it is more of an irritation than problem.
Holes #5, 6 & 7 could use a few trees to add character.
Other Thoughts: This is a great neighborhood course, in a good area. It should provide many rounds both for the newbie and a challenging 9-holes for an advanced player wanting to get in a quick round. It may be unplayable during the spring flood season, and I believe that the parks dept will pull the baskets during that period. Close to nearby 96th St., which has all kinds of stores and places to eat. If this course was an 18-holer and had some terrain, it would be a 4+, easy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.