Fishers, IN 
Cumberland Park Share
Uploaded By: MacDaddy Hole #1 (Taken 10/2011)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 279ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Average course

2-4    11/4/2013   11/4/2013
Review By: Guitarlos
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 26.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The tee areas are immaculate. No cracks in the tee box areas. The course seems to be well groomed. I do like the A and B tee's. It makes you think your shots out before each throw. The other tess are a great beginner course and encourages beginners to think as well when throwing. The creek seems to like to eat discs, as I retrieved two today. Many shots are Ace compatible, but I have yet to hit one.

Baskets are in new condition and quite grippy with putters.

Parking is not a problem at all, very spacious.

Very well groomed park, in general.

You can be rest assured that you are safe here. I saw the parks department red truck run through to check my vehicle as well as a Fishers Police car drive through.

Very family friendly, no smoking on town property sign as you enter the park. Please use proper etiquette as there are many young people around. (language)
Cons: Water seems to sit and pool around areas, not very good drainage.
Other Thoughts: Be sure to write your name and tele number on the backside of your discs, otherwise, you are just donating your discs to peeps that have a retrieval system like me. I snagged two out of the creek today. Thanks whoever bought these and didnt sign them with #'s. I am a big proponent of returning discs with signage as Ive lost a couple over the years and know the feeling.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Decent for the land available

1    8/15/2013   8/16/2013
Review By: jumpjet
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
+ Challenging basket locations, utilizing the available property features. The creek and boundaries of the property is what makes the course a challenge.
+ Great signage - clear and concise
+ Concrete tee pads all around
+ Well maintained property
- When soccer is not going, the wide open fields can be used for practicing your long drives
Cons:
- Some holes felt unnecessarily close to the creek and adjacent residence properties, but then there is only so much that can be done with the property given how much land the soccer fields take up.
- This property will flood a lot and the water sticks around for a while.
- When soccer is going, a couple holes (5, 6 if I remember right) might be better to skip if you are playing with people that lack control.
Other Thoughts: I think the designer did well given the limitations of the property. It's good for a quick round. But be thoughtful with your shot selections and be mindful of the water hazards or you will easily lose your discs in the creek!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course Around Ball Fields

1    8/31/2012   9/28/2012
Review By: k2Keith
Played: 14  Reviewed: 9
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice course, loops around soccer fields. Enough water and trees to make it a challenge. Nice tee pads, baskets and signage. While distances are not dramatically different several of the pro pads are considerably more challenging.
Cons: Only 9 holes, many holes are pretty short. On days when games are being played, this may get kinda nuts especially holes 5 & 6. Would be nice to have more trees on 5, 6 & 7.
Other Thoughts: Overall a pretty good course if you are in the area. Quick play, and not that rough if you play smart.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Not Too bad

2-4    8/22/2012   8/22/2012
Review By: wake911
Played: 44  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 13.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Makes me use more than my big arm to score well
-good shots are rewarded, and bad shots are thoroughly beat
-i like tight tosses for accuracy, and having to use right turning shots
- one big arm hole. I dig the 519' hole 7 blue alot.
Cons: - too many right turning shots, more variety would be quite helpful.
-only 9 holes. I rarely play 9 hole courses, as they get too croweded to easy, but play doubles at this one and its real nice.
Other Thoughts: overall a nice "work on things" course. Once soccer players are done, there is MASSIVE open space for working on your discs and throwing hyzer, anhyzer, straight, etc in a wide open field like a driving range. I like that i can use this course to work on my mid range controlled turnover shots, which is a weakness. It's a good different little course right by work, which is a benefit as well.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nearby and decent.

5+    8/1/2012   1/11/2012
Review By: Grungedude42
Played: 27  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 14.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/1/2012
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tricky control holes up front, followed by a couple of decent distance holes later.
-Water and trees are used effectively as obstacles, but not overly so.
-Low weekday traffic allows easy access
-Easily playable by either a RHBH or RHFH.
-Some serious clear cutting this past winter has opened some holes considerably, although enough remains on those holes to allow for some challenging play.
Cons: -Soccer players and residences are a bit too close, even for experienced players
Other Thoughts: After playing this all summer, my appreciation has grown for this course. Yes, soccer players and parents can get in the way. Yes, the tees may be a bit too close to some houses.
-Course maintenance is a concern after some trees took over 6 months to remove after felling, but they did eventually get moved.
-Next springtime, be very aware of mosquitoes. I have never seen so many as this spring/early summer.
-Baskets have finally been moved, which is nice. After putting in a couple rounds with the B positions, I can say the difficulty has increased. I still feel that a 3.5 is warranted, and not a 4. The new locations are trickier, and in many cases longer, but overall I feel like the shot is different only on 2 and 9. The other holes still feel like the A position, only longer, and closer to the creek. The creek is only an threat for losing a disc on 3, and whenever it has rained recently. Otherwise, a golden retriever will do the trick nearly every time.
-I feel the course is designed fine for the plot of land, and honestly only the land itself limits the overall experience. Trees prevent any serious wind issues for the first 4 holes, (both a blessing and a curse) and the absolute lack of slope takes away from potential for the dramatic views and interesting drives I would expect from a 4 or 5 disc rated course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging 9 Holes

2-4    12/12/2011   12/27/2011
Review By: ajbova
Played: 74  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 8.7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Lots of trees. Half of the holes are in the open and half of the holes go through trees. Some holes could use more trees and some holes would be better if they had 1 or 2 trees removed near the throw pads. The trees add to the challenge.

- Water Hazard. Not many courses in the central Indiana area have water hazards. This is one hell of a water hazard. Near holes 1, 8, and 9 it is about a foot and a half feet so discs can be found easy. It is much more deep alongside holes 2-4. Avoid this creek at all costs. It made me nervous to throw next to.

- Concrete throw pads. Two tees per hole (Red Am and Blue Pro). Great difference in challenge between the throw pads, especially on hole 1.

- Baskets. The baskets were in great condition and there are two different pin locations for each hole. Changing the location of the baskets greatly alters the difficulty of each hole due to the other hazards.

- Variety of hole shot: As I have mentioned, there is a great variety in the types of holes. As tradition, the open holes are more about distance while the holes in the woods require precision and a good knowledge on disc flight. On some of the holes, it is hard to save a par if you run into issues with trees.

-Signs- Each hole had signs near the throw box for each tee. They were very detailed.
Cons: - This course floods a ton. Twice now I have fought through traffic to make it to this course only to find out that the park is closed due to flooding. I have noticed that only the entrance is flooded and that if you park and walk you could probably still play. My friends told me they have done this before.

- Water hazard (other than flooding). Some of the holes are unnecessarily close to the deep part of the creek. Holes 3 and 4 can be very difficult from the Pro Tees if you make the slightest mistake. Make sure you have plastic you are willing to part ways with (for example DX plastics).

- Hole 1 (Blue Tee): Definitely a unique hole. Unless the thrower throws off the side of the pad through the trees, the pad faces you away from the basket. It is a complete hook shot to the left with the creek flowing very tightly to the right. It is doable if you throw off of the front of the pad, you just need the right disc. I feel like if this pad was moved 10 feet back and to the right and rotated slightly a bit, it would a much more enjoyable hole.

- Traffic Getting to the park. As of now traffic can make the trip to this course take forever. I would recommend knowing alternate routes to this park.

- This course is flat. I think the greatest elevation change in this course is like 7 feet at the most.

Minus .5 for traffic and flooding
Minus .5 Unnecessary trees helping the water hazards on holes 3 and 4 and flat course.
Minus .5 for the design of blue tee on Hole 1 and only being a 9 hole course. This course could easily expand to the other side of the park in my opinion but I don't think there is room for 9 more holes.
Other Thoughts: This is a very challenging 9 hole course. I do like it but don't feel like it is worthy of a 4 out of 5. I did think it was better than a 3. It is the first course established in Fishers with hopefully many more to come in the near future. The park is very nice it is in a very nice area of town.

The two throw pads are aimed at two different skill levels of players. I do like playing this course with my friends (we always make bets) and this course can be very unpredictable (unlike Sahm and other nearby courses). The fact that you can lose discs here makes it a much more challenging course in my opinion. I would recommend playing it to anyone looking for a challenging course. I really feel like the town of Fishers hit a home run with this course. Other than traffic and it being closed due to flooding, there isn't much I would change about this course. The pictures on this page do not do the course justice.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Nothing to see here, folks

1    10/23/2011   10/23/2011
Review By: indydiscgolf
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 10 Not
Pros: The park is in a good area. It is surrounded by suburban neighborhoods and a thick wooded area. Nice baskets (Innova Discatchers), and the teepads and signs are top notch. The facilities seem to be in working order.
Cons: Absolutely TERRIBLE design. Walking up to hole one from the "long" tees, I suddenly felt my heart sink. Hole one is practically unplayable. There is a menacing creek flanking the entire right side of the course, and the hole leads needlessly close to this disc trap. The designer seemed to be going for a sweeping hyzer, but this is impossibe to do without getting wet. I guess you will have to take my word for it. The park gets really nasty after any kind of rain, and puddles form around nearly every basket. I lost my beautiful Z Buzzz on hole 4, simply because there is about a 5 foot wide fairway between large trees and an impassable creek. I would not mind this if there were any other purpose for this tight gap other than experiencing the thrill of possible losing a $20 piece of plastic. The holes, even from the "long" tees, are incredibly short. I shot a -5 on 9 holes, and I was just plain bored. Even if you are just an up and coming player, this course will either bore you to death or cause you to lose your disc in a flowing creek. There are a couple of open, flat holes that offer nothing more than forcing a medium power player to have to take a par. No danger, just flat and long. The baskets that do line the creek are unnecessarily close to the water. This would be interesting if there were a point to this, but it seems the designers just wanted to carelessly cause novices to lose plastic.
Hole nine is an embarrassment to the game. There is literally no fairway between the pad and the basket, not to mention that the fairway is the creek itself! Seriously, don't waste your time here.
Other Thoughts: I would have rather played Sahm twice back to back than have to play here again. Whoever designed this course obviously has no concept of disc golf (as evidenced by the horrible design of hole one). I cannot see any sort of player enjoying themselves here, with the possible exception of someone having assistance from some sort of inebriation. I wanted to leave by hole five, and the only thing stopping me was my wishful thinking that it could only get better. Needless to say, it didn't. If those in the Indianapolis disc golf community wish to grow the sport, this is not the answer. Making cheap, worthless courses in unknown parks will accomplish nothing. Take a lesson from the design of Brookside or even Sahm, where it is evident that a competent designer was employed. If there is any reason disc golf has not grown in our area, it is because of courses like this.

3 of 13 people found this review helpful.
Date: 11/19/2012 Designer Response by: MacDaddy
Interesting that this reviewer used the term "unplayable" for hole #1. Myself and others have played it many times. There is a very risky anny route, another high risk/reward straight route, and of course the obvious hyzer route. Which will not really give you an ace route to the pin. But where is it written that you must to have an ace route on every hole? As far as losing your favorite disc in the creek, why did you throw it, if you couldn't stand to lose it? Two letters, DX. Every hole has a totally makable air route. Not all will allow you to use a driver. That is part of the challenge. Plenty of big air route on #9. Several big trees were taken out on some of the holes. As far as the designer needing to take a lesson from Brookside and Sahm; I was heavily involved with the design and construction of both of those courses and am listed as their co-designer. The course is designed with two very distinct levels of tees, "Am" and "Pro". Having nice, challenging, 9-hole rec courses like this in many neighborhoods will go a long way towards growing our sport. Sorry it wasn't near yours. Interesting that this "reviewer" has never logged in to DGCR for any other reason than to slam this course. I suppose that is easy to do when you are willing to hide who you are...

 Easy... or not?

5+    10/14/2011   10/14/2011
Review By: MacDaddy
Played: 145  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 31.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/12/2011
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice park with lots of parking. Lots of big mature trees and well kept grass. The course is a true 9-hole layout, with Am (Red) and Pro (Blue) tees. There are also A and B pin locations for each hole. Six of the nine holes play along-side Mud Creek, which is not too deep, but deep enough, and wide. Not a creek to be taken lightly! Very nice, Houck Design platinum tee-signs, as sweet as they get. Large 5' x 12' concrete tee-pads. Brand new DISCatcher baskets. Easy to get to off of I-69 North.
The Red tees offer a nice challenge for new and less experienced players. The tees are set up so that the numerous large trees, actually act as a barrier to help keep errant throws out of the creek. Holes # 1, 2, 3, & 4 all play along the creek and in the trees, but there are open routes to the baskets. Holes #5, 6 and 7 are open and flat, and provide a chance to air-it-out. Then holes #8 & 9 play back along the creek and in the trees.
The Blue tees are not to be taken lightly. Holes #1, 2, 3, & 4 all have nice grass fairways down the middle (OK, #4 is VERY narrow), with the creek on the right and big trees on the left. Cheating with the over cautious hyzer shot is not advised, as contact with the trees may result in a kick to the right and into the creek. Or, if you get through them, you are trying to throw back towards the pin, and the creek! Holes #5, 6, & 7 let you grip it and rip it, especiallly #7 at over 600' to the B pin! Holes #8 and 9 are back on the creek, with #9 being a 400'+ anhyzer to the B pin. Shot placement is critical and birdies don't come cheap.
Cons: No fulltime water or restrooms. There is a very nice shelter house nearby int he park, but is is not open very much.
The posts for the tee signs are right on the edge of the tee-pads at the back of the tee. With the 12' long pads, it is more of an irritation than problem.
Holes #5, 6 & 7 could use a few trees to add character.
Other Thoughts: This is a great neighborhood course, in a good area. It should provide many rounds both for the newbie and a challenging 9-holes for an advanced player wanting to get in a quick round. It may be unplayable during the spring flood season, and I believe that the parks dept will pull the baskets during that period. Close to nearby 96th St., which has all kinds of stores and places to eat. If this course was an 18-holer and had some terrain, it would be a 4+, easy.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Deceiving

2-4    10/6/2011   10/6/2011
Review By: Matthew boals
Played: 189  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 20.6 Years
This review was updated on 10/27/2011
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: DISCatchers with two pin placements and two concrete tee pads per hole. The first four holes play next to Mudd Creek (on your right) with mature trees and some younger growth. Holes 5,6,7 are the open holes with #7 over 600'! Holes 8,9 finish with Mudd Creek,again on your right,and more mature trees. From the Red tees,and the DISCatchers in the "A" position,the course plays shorter and a little easier, With them a little farther away from the creek. Good for kids & newbies, But will still challenge. From the blue tees and in the "B" placement the course will force you to test your "Tech" ability. With the mature trees on your left and the wide and deep Mudd Creek on your right, on holes 1-4 & 8,9. Toughest hole is #4 from the blue tee the fairway narrows with Mudd Creek on your right and mature trees forcing a "Tread the needle" Drive.
Cons: Flat & built in a flood prone area, will be unplayable after the winter thaw & Spring storms. Holes #2,#3 have a long and narrow "Marsh". Far enough away,on the left, not to be a factor. Unless you throw a bad Drive or a ricochet. #5 has a standing water area that gets closer to the Discatcher.
Other Thoughts: As with all new courses (Dr. James A. Dillon) more "Tweaking" will be done over the coming Days,weeks, Months,Years. Hope is,in the near future,the planting of trees. Not only on #5 but also #6,#7, for more of a challenge. Not enough dirt was left over from the tee pads for a mound, for a elevated putting green on #6 or #7. All brush as cleared,giving no protection from the creek. The parks dept. Clears out all brush about this time every year,for better flow when it floods in the spring. The "Safest" time to play would be mid to late summer. When the brush hasn't been cut and little to no recent rain. You can see your disc at the bottom, if your dumb enough to throw your $20 disc,on a course you've never played before,you can retrieve it. Check your ego!....bring some used DX plastic you don't care about,at least the first few times you play! Holes #1-#4 are protected from the wind by mature trees and hill on the other side of the creek. Community building has shelter with pop machine picnic tables. Plenty of parking,except if a soccer tourney is happening. 3/4 miles from the interstate a round should take 30 minutes or so. My rating of 3.0-Good is from the blue tees and in the "B" placement. I'd give the red tee and in "A" placement a 2.5-Decent/typical.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.