Burlington, NC 
Cedarock Park Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #1 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 237ft.   3 / 314ft.   3 / 273ft.   3 / 350ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 White/Red Tee



Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
Grip It and Rip It

1    5/31/2015   6/4/2015
Review By: GSquare44
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Bathrooms by Practice Pin, Lots of open fairways, Labeled Well, Trash Cans placed throughout. Multiple pin placements and teepads
Cons: Teepads are different sizes and sometimes the area surrounding is uneven and could cause tripping.
Other Thoughts: Right next to Wellspring Course, play both for different flavors. I love this course and totally stoked anytime I get back home to play the course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Unleash

5+    4/14/2015   4/15/2015
Review By: Bigbob777
Played: 29  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 33.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is nothing like Wellspring. It's open, and longer - it's classy and classic. It an oldie and a goldie as it was establish in 1984 and at that time was the 5th course ever built in NC.
This is a course you can really crank your drives. However, none of the holes are a gimmie and there's several holes that you can get into some major trouble, should you shank it. The great thing is if you do shank it, recovering is very doable. It's a fair course that rewards your good drives and approach shots.
The course is clean and mowed frequently. There are benches and trash cans on just about every hole.
The terrain is beautiful rolling hills, valleys and a small creek through the center of the course (casual water). It covers about 11 acres.
There's a good variety of different hole placements along with one mando and a unique window shot through some trees. There's two tees on every hole, which makes it play from short to really long. There are also two baskets positions for each hole. Both Cedarock and Wellsprings courses have installed all new disCatchers baskets (gotta love that!). The tee signs are new as well and the graphics are clear and well designed which allows the course to be easily navigated!
Cons: No course is perfect - and this course has had plenty of time to be tweeted. The tweaks I would recommend at this time would be to extend a few of the tee pads. Some are fine but, a number need minor repair as well.
Other Thoughts: This course has stood the test of time and remains one of the better courses in North Carolina. Having an additional really nice woodland course in the same park makes it a Disc Golf Mecca!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A nice two punch combo

1    1/1/2015   1/1/2015
Review By: LastPageDG
Played: 67  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice switch up to most North Carolina courses, which for you non NC residents means some wide open holes on a majority of the course and huge fairways. If airing it out is your bread and butter, this course is for you. Some aim is required for the right turn holes (like number 3) and hard left turns (like hole 10). The best part about this course is that another 18 hole course boarders it, which gives you a chance to play 36 holes without having to drive to the next course. WellSpring is the boardering course, which is a completely diffrent course, being shorter and all in the woods. I'll save the rest of that info for a review on that course. Concrete pads are on every hole there are tee signs at every hole, just not every pad.
Cons: Only a few knocks on this one. Navigation can be a bit tricky if you dont have a guide, most holes have 2 to 3 pads, plus some holes with 2 pin locations depending on what pad you're playing. There is only one tee sign per pad but it does give you a good layout on which basket to throw to depending on what pad you throw from. The only hole I had an issue with was a 700+ foot hole that was a par 4. For you big arms thats not a problem, it's an easy par but newer players would have trouble getting the 4.
Other Thoughts: Its a town run park with bathrooms and drink machines. Its well maintained and trimmed up nicely. I really enjoyed this course, and if it was closer I would play it a lot more.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A Welcome Change of Pace

1    9/21/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 69  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 5.2 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Course Layout: The pins were in the short position, but we threw from the blues/gold tees. Most of the pins had unique pin placements that made the approach shot not exactly straightforward. Awesome use of tree placement both lining the fairways and in play.

Course Upkeep: One of the better kept courses I've played in the triangle area.

Navigation: I did not get lost once, as navigation from hole to hole is fairly easy.

Bombshots: I loved the fact I could air out my drives. Those courses are hard to come by. The only other one I would say close to Raleigh would be Zebulon, but this one takes the cake from that one.

Close-proximity to Wellspring: We played the figure-8 layout and played all 36 holes. I'm glad we did. Awesome day of disc golf.
Cons: Teepads: Like every other person has said on here, the pads need to be re-poured. They measure between 4 and 5 feet in length and maybe 3 feet wide? Not nearly large enough for a course that has 600+ ft holes.
Other Thoughts: If they re-did the pads and trimmed down a few overgrown branches, this course has the potential to be a 5/5. If you can set aside the fact that the variety isn't the best, I think you would agree. Wellspring is there for a reason, and it's to compensate for this lengthy course. Do not play this course if you cannot drive 300+ ft. It will probably get a little boring for you.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Enjoy your flight!

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 57  Reviewed: 57  Exp: 4.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well, this course is nothing like Wellspring. It's really open, and longer. This was something different in the 31 courses I have played. It's very classic. I usually play courses that were established later than this course. This is just good old fashioned disc golf.
-You can easily get out of trouble on this course. It's very open! You got room to launch you driver a very long way! Just rip it! It won't cost you strokes unless you really shank it. That's the beauty of it, just watch it fly.
-This place has no litter, none. The designer(s) put good work into this place. There are benches and trash cans on every hole. I didn't see one piece of trash on the course.
-This land has a pretty hilly terrain. #15 is a perfect example. It's a super fun valley shot. That hole right there is a hole where you just want to empty your bag.
-Some good variety! #2 has a mando pointing you left. A few small dropoffs, some "air it out" holes, and #10 is also something different on this course. It's a window shot over some trees. That's the signature hole on the course because it's different. #11 is slightly wooded too.
-At least two tees on almost if not every hole. This course can go from short to really long. The baskets are moved into different positions. They are in the short right now.
-The course is usually secluded. It's usually all yours. Sometimes people cut the grass but it's something to appreciate. Tall grass sucks.
-The new 28 chain disCatchers are great. They catch well, they are not beaten up.
-The farm, homestead and the museum are what make this place unique. It's a great place in the country! I haven't been to a park this interesting. It's not your typical place even though it has a playground.
-Great tee signs! I had no trouble at all finding the basket. I played the whites and thank God it showed where they were located on the signs, cause if they were not, I wouldn't have known what tees you played
Cons: -The tee pads need to be MUCH longer. This course is pretty long. If you think five foot tee pads are not a problem on a course with holes mostly over 300+ feet. You are wrong.
-It's a little tricky to find #11. When you finish #10. Go back down the hill and go left.
-I couldn't find the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: -Really, I think this course could actually get a 5 to be honest. It just needs next tee signs and longer tee pads. I had a blast playing this course because it's something different, other than scenery. It's just good ol' disc golf in the country. Some holes may seem a little bland but look on the brightside! You can air it out like it's no problem. Hole #8 comes to mind there. It's wide open! From the gold tee, it would be fun to practice your LONG distance shots and maybe get a birdie. I launched my starfire maybe 380' feet on that hole!!
-Wellspring is a wooded course and it is also at this park. I think this course is better because it doesn't have many issues. Wellspring is really good too and you should give that course a shot as well.
-If you play the gold, then you better be able to rip it if you want birdies to come. If you play the shorter tees, you will find it easier and a bit more forgiving if your launch goes bad. Neither of the courses can punish you that badly at this place but it takes something to get your birdie. They are both fun courses and really worth the stop. If you shoot under par here, Wellspring should be a snap but if you blow up here, Wellspring may not be easy either but this is the tougher course because some players do not have what it takes to throw 500 feet but luckily this course doesn't require throws THAT long but you need some nice long throws if you want to shoot very well here. Just enjoy it!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice place

5+    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: chillbro15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It requires many different approaches and methods. even though this course is out in the open, it is still different and memorable. i like how you can loop it back in with wellspring to add variation.
Cons: the lack of woodiness would be a con if it wasnt for wellspring.
Other Thoughts: its good and fun. youre gonna have to be able to tomahawk becouse one hole needs a tomahawk shot to get through the cover

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

another voice to the chorus

1    5/27/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 228  Reviewed: 225  Exp: 4 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2013
6 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is one of the good ones. It's all in the open yes, but there's so many elevation changes, and the pockets of trees make every hole seem different. It's incredibly scenic and full of beautiful, memorable holes.

You could point to the lack of wooded holes, and if Wellspring wasn't there, that would be a fault. You could try and not include its existence in your review but you would fail. The whole time you are on the course, you know that it is there. You know the 18 holes in the woods are coming up.
Cons: are there any?

I guess the fact that you need to make sure you have time to play 36, because you aren't going to only want to play one course here.

the temporary layout for the masters was still up when I was there which made it had to navigate from 4-8 but I can't dock it for what I know was a temporary situation.


6 of 14 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course; My Favorite Course

5+    4/14/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 54  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 44.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/5/2015
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 31 years old, Cedarock is still the course to play. Open as a golf course should be and completely convertible to an alternate layout, both configurations will test you on distance and direction. For a recreational player, Cedarock will let you break par and even get an ace, but can also be a stern taskmaster if you take her for granted, especially in the short (red/blue) set-up
Cons: May be too open and easy for pros and advanced ams in the original short pins positions, but the gold layout will test the best of the best, especially if you rate it as a straight par 3, as we did for over 20 years. Some of the posted pars on the nice new tee signs seem arbitrarily easy for pro and advanced players.. And some of the holes could use more than just the one tee sign, as the tees are a ways apart. Tee pad color assignment needs correction on Hole 14, as that is the course's only design flaw.
Other Thoughts: It was on this course, with only my pre-patent number, dirt brown Aero that I parked it on the original number 5, which teed from what is now the #5 blue pad and went to a now extinct green, that made me think out loud that maybe I could play this sport without stinking it up.

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Rock-N-Roll

1    8/5/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: pxdevil
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.1 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained course! Better bring the POWER! She's Long & Windy! Most holes are open with sparse trees near or around the baskets! There's a creek running thru the middle of the land & the holes weave back & forth around it! Lots if elevation changes & a few technical holes!
Cons: Cramped! Some baskets are to close to other fairways! Gotta keep an eye out for incoming discs if one gets wayward! Very busy course also! Played on a Saturday & it was a little crowded!
Other Thoughts: A real scenic layout! Good use of the land & terrain! Has several memorable holes! Pro-shop a block away that has discs for sale! Good place to bring the family for fun & a pic-nic!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Let it fly

1    8/4/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.5 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is my favorite course i have played. Its a generally wide open course, Perfect for seeing the full flight of the disc without the worry of trees to impede the disc. It has clearly marked tees and baskets. The signs on each tee designate which pad to use, where the basket is, the distance to each basket from each pad, and where the next hole is in relation to the basket. A truly awesome course that anyone can enjoy.
Cons: Some of the teepads are small, limiting the run up distance.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.