Burlington, NC 
Cedarock Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #4
3 / 203ft.   3 / 311ft.   3 / 407ft.   3 / 399ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 White Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2
 Rock-N-Roll

1    8/5/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: pxdevil
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.2 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained course! Better bring the POWER! She's Long & Windy! Most holes are open with sparse trees near or around the baskets! There's a creek running thru the middle of the land & the holes weave back & forth around it! Lots if elevation changes & a few technical holes!
Cons: Cramped! Some baskets are to close to other fairways! Gotta keep an eye out for incoming discs if one gets wayward! Very busy course also! Played on a Saturday & it was a little crowded!
Other Thoughts: A real scenic layout! Good use of the land & terrain! Has several memorable holes! Pro-shop a block away that has discs for sale! Good place to bring the family for fun & a pic-nic!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 2 Courses, 1 Round

1    6/14/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 256  Reviewed: 130  Exp: 13 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Ball Golf Like. The grass fairways and scenery of the course give you that "ball golf" course feel. As a former ball golfer, I enjoy that aspect of the course. Plus, it's a beautiful park.
- Grip it and Rip it. Cedarock is a relatively wide-open, grass fairway course that allows you to grip it and rip it on several holes. However, that's not to say that the holes don't require you to shape shots around trees, or be conscious of thick rough. I can see why the course has the hype it does… very rarely in NC do you get an open, grass fairway, grip it and rip it hole... let alone a whole course worth.
- Two Courses, One Park. I love when I can bag two new courses in one great location. Especially two courses that are completely different from one another. At Cedarock / Wellspring, you can jump-on / jump-off of each course mid-round and hook into the other course to make a 36 hole round. Otherwise you'd have to drive to the other courses' parking lot to start your second round. To do so, after finishing Cedar's 8th hole, you can jump onto Wellspring at Hole 16… play out the course through Hole 15 and then jump back onto Cedarock at Hole 9. This worked for me… and helped to break up the monotony of the relatively wide-open Cedarock.
Cons:
- Confusing Tee-Signs. Let me start off by saying that the tee-signs are beautiful and work well once you understand how to interpret them. With that said:
The tee-signs are confusing at first, showing two pin positions and two (sometimes more) tee-pad locations. The pins and tee-pads are color coded (red, white, blue, gold… and sometimes a blend of two colors) to help you understand what's what. However, the tee-signs make it appear as though there are 4 options per hole (Short Tee to Short Pin, Short Tee to Long Pin, Long Tee to Short Pin and Long Tee to Long Pin)… which may seem normal, but 4-option holes are commonly seen at Charlotte courses, so that's how I was interpreting the signs. However, there are really only 2 options. This is because there is really only 1 pin in the ground (either in the long or short), giving you two options (short-pad to pin placement, or long-pad to pin placement). And, depending upon the pin placement the pin is in, and the tee-pad you choose to play from, you will be playing a certain color hole (red, white, blue, gold).
Also note: on the holes where there is only 1 pin position and the basket never moves, there are up to 4 tee-pad locations.
- The Wrong Basket. There are too many holes where you can see a different hole's basket from the tee-pad. I threw at the wrong basket on a few holes and had to backtrack down the fairway to re-play the holes properly. Hole 10 comes to mind: you're looking through a nice gap in the trees directly at a basket. It looks like a great shot, until you park it and then realize when you arrive on scene that it's 15's basket and that 10's basket is tucked down to the left.
- Tee-Pads: Slivers of Concrete. The tee-pads were 3' x 4' slivers of concrete. You can easily do a run up from behind the tee-pad and smoothly transition onto the sliver… however, when you're trying to have a championship(-ish) level course, nothing beats LARGE concrete tees. The problem at Cedarock seems to be that they wanted to install multiple, tee-pads for each hole instead of one really nice one.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Cedarock was a good time. I certainly wasn't mad at it… except for when I had to walk back down fairways after throwing to the wrong baskets. The open, grass fairway, ball-golfish, bombers are a welcome sight (especially in NC); however, that alone doesn't make a course great, or even hype-worthy. The multiple small concrete tee-pads are decent for throwing from, but could have been improved upon if they were larger… and if there were simply fewer of them (the excess of tee-pads get kind of ugly as you look across the park). The combination of having two distinctly different courses in one park definitely adds to the flavor of the location and desirability to bag it. For me, Cedarock did not live up to the hype… but then again, with two courses in one location and both being pretty decent, maybe it does / they do.
My Score: -6 (Whites: Short Tees to Long Pins)

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Home on the Range

5+    5/4/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 136  Reviewed: 91  Exp: 4.1 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - One of the best designed open courses I've played so far. With Cedarock what you see is what you get. Rolling hills and sparse trees with a more wooded small creek area that runs right through the middle of the course. The layout uses all of these features exceptionally to create a fun and still challenging course from the longer tees.

There are multiple teepads for each hole and moving basket locations that creates 4 possible layouts. The two shorter layouts are not very challenging and give you a bunch of open birdie runs mixed with some technical shots that are shaped out of the sparse trees and treelines that run through this part of the park.

The longer configurations can give you quite a challenge by making you shoot through gaps and bend discs around trees while trying to get the distance you need. If you like to bomb and let shots rip this place is for you.

The elevation is used very well along with treelines to create risk/reward within a mostly open course. There's baskets that are big downhills with a thick treeline on the backside that punishes you for going to long. You'll need precision and distance to do well on the longs.

Again, great basket locations on slopes and tucked in to trees that make placement on your drive key. It's a placement type course because of this but there are a few areas where you'll have to hit some gaps.

The layout flows really well, no long walks and for the most part it's pretty obvious where you're going next.

Equipment - New baskets and that's a huge plus. There's excellent signage out there to explain a tricky layout configuration for first timers. A practice basket, bathroom facilities and gazebo near #1. Trashcans and benches throughout the course.

Atmosphere - Cedarock park is a beautiful place. A lot of shots are very scenic.
Cons: Layout - For many it'll be to open, if you like really wooded technical dg this isn't it. I love to let discs fly and this is one of a few in my general area where you can; but I know for many it's not what they're looking for.

The shorter layouts for me are almost to easy, it's really just a pitch and putt out there even though the greens are well designed.

Equipment - The pads are so small it's ridiculous. For a course where you're throwing for D those pads just aren't enough.

Atmosphere - Ticks can be a huge problem here in the summer, also watch out for snakes.
Other Thoughts: The great thing about this course is it's brother Wellspring sitting right next to it. It's a perfect combination of disc golf. You've got the open long shots of Cedarock combined with the technical wooded short shots on Wellspring and you can play these courses as one big course by playing 1-8 on Cedarock then jumping to 16 on Wellspring and playing back through 15 then jumping back on to 9 and finishing out.

This course is a ton of fun, and the enjoyment factor is why I'm giving it a 3.5. Normally I really penalize courses for not mixing it up but it's done so well here it's hard to complain, especially with Wellspring being right there.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 My Review

1    12/31/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: BHDragn4207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very open. This course has, in my opinion, a nice flow to it. The fairways are mostly very open and there are brand new disc catcher baskets on the course making it easier to find and see them.
Cons: There is quite some distance between some of the tees and baskets. I think some of the pars on certian holes should be different. There is a horse trail along the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 8th and 9th holes. Watch for riders.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course and is a good challenge to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/19/2011   5/23/2011
Review By: jkdisc
Played: 106  Reviewed: 103  Exp: 5.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an open course with holes having 2 to 4 tees. The park has another 18 holes course (Wellspring) which gives you a wooded option if that's your preference. The navigation is fairly easy, especially now that they've got new tee signs!

Other Pros:
-quiet, beautiful park
- rolling hills with well maintained grass
- 2 pin positions (change monthly)
- alternate tee positions make for great variety
- some obstacles in play and a creek
Cons: There are no major cons.

- It can be a bit confusing trying to find the exact tee you are using for first timers.
- short tee pads
Other Thoughts: Cedarock is a nice course but I preferred Wellspring because of the shaded woods on a hot day. The entire park is worth the visit alone.

There is tons of good disc golf in the entire area so make the trip!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Long and a Bit Difficult to Navigate

1    9/3/2010   1/19/2011
Review By: napoleangunner
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 13.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of nice open holes where you can let your arm go and just rip for distance. Still, there is enough variety to keep it interesting. You definitely get some exercise from all the walking.
Cons: Not easy to navigate for first timers. Signage is OK, but not great.
Other Thoughts: The day I played this course I was with two friends. Luckily, we were able to follow another group through the course. They were very familiar with it so it kept us on track. Make sure you have water when you play this one, especially in the summer, or you'll have a heat stroke.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Let em Fly!

5+    12/26/2010   12/26/2010
Review By: jrod17320
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you want to let your arm go this is the place. There are a few holes that only top pros can get twos on from the pro tees. If you want to learn how to throw far and accurate this is a great course to do it on. Some of the holes locations are set on places that are challenging to get a disc to hold which is good variation. Not an especially crowded course especially on the weekdays.
Cons: For how big some of the shots are its hard to understand why the teepads are not bigger. I understand its an old course though so its not too big a complaint. Im glad I know the course well by now because if I was a newcomer I would never know where to tee off. During the summer its hard to survive a round that long with no shade and 100 degree temperatures.
Other Thoughts: This is a great course to make yourself better a better golfer. The teepads are notoriously small for such a big course which makes good footwork a necessity. I love the fact that this course makes the basket look like a little bitty spec in the distance! Go for it!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/29/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: BobStutts
Played: 19  Reviewed: 18
Pros: Beautiful location in the middle of nowhere. Second course in park also. Great wooded and open shots. A lot of different shots needed. Up to 4 tees per hole. Benches one at least one tee on each hole. Saw a lot of birds and small mammals,
Cons: Could use better markings and some tee to basket markings on each hole. First time playing had to look for some next tees and proper baskets.
Other Thoughts: In spite of cons I just loved it. If you played it a few times or took a course map with you it would be great.


 

1    9/25/2010   9/29/2010
Review By: Scazmatic
Played: 12  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 4.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Decent variety of lengths, shot types, and elevation changes.

- Multiple pin placements, often making for two completely different holes, which I'm sure adds variety for regulars. Alternate pins placements usually staked with white PVC pipe marker for future reference.

- Well manicured fairways and greens.

- Friendly locals.
Cons: - Hole to hole signage is non-existant. Very difficult to navigate from one basket to the next tee, even with print out of aerial map.

- Tee signs don't reflect distance or pin placement.
Other Thoughts: I was in Graham, NC for a wedding and was thrilled to see a high rated course all of six miles from my hotel, so I gave Cedarock a go. The park was very easy to find and sits just a few miles off of the interstate. However, once inside the park things were a little trickier. To my surprise, though I knew there were two courses on site from my research, I was visiting during a tournament weekend, so there was an additional temporary course set up that added to my confusion as to where to start and which course to play. A few locals steered me in the right direction, luckily, but without that help it might be a little difficult to find your way. The practice basket is a good indication of proximity to the first tee, and the course start is directly off of the first parking lot on the left, as this site notes, but the tee markers are low to the ground and somewhat hard to spot. Signage in general could be improved.

I had wanted to play the "woods" course, but I ended up playing the more open course that starts by the parking lot. I'm still not entirely sure where the wooded course began, but there is a "figure eight" possibility after the 8th green, which I'm told puts you on the 16th hole in the woods. I didn't have time to check that out, but I'm told it's much tighter and requires a lot of precision.

My biggest complaint with the course, again, is lack of adequate signage. I was lucky enough to get the heads up from two locals behind me when I mistook an old abandoned tee box for the 3rd tee, but without their help and even with a map, it's still hard to find each hole's start, as there is some significant displacement between some baskets and the next tee, and there isn't always a logical flow to the holes. I could imagine the frustration and wasted time involved in trying to figure it out on your own.

I tagged along with the two locals for the rest of the round, and I really benefitted from their local knowledge. I don't know how much of the traffic was due to the tournament, but it seemed pretty busy and, given the number of courses in the area, it seems like there's a thriving disc golf community in the area. The guys I played with were good players and very friendly, so that's a big plus.

The course itself was in great shape, with all of the grass mowed short (probably for the tournament, I was told). Other than my issues with the signs, all the other amenities were great. There are a lot of complaints on here about the tee boxes, but I didn't think they were bad at all. They're probably a little shorter than some would like, but I didn't have any complaints. There are two pin placements for most holes, and the alternate pin is generally marked with an easy to see piece of white piping, which is a big pet peeve of mine at our local course, who doesn't mark (or use for that matter) the alternate locations, so you're flying blind should they change things up. Some pins change the hole completely, especially on Hole 9, so you might want to walk the hole/course before you play so you're aware of your targets. A lot of the holes on the front are extremely long for par 3s, and there isn't a lot of variety on a lot of the first nine, but the back nine mixes things up well and overall I though the course kept things dynamic.

Overall, I thought the course was great. The guy I played with said they change the pins every month, and there are up to three tee pads on each hole, so there's good variety if you play here a lot. It's challenging but fair, with some makable birdies and some tough pars, and I hope to play again someday.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 great to air it out

5+    7/10/2010   7/10/2010
Review By: mhorlbogen
Played: 20  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: nice length, wide open front to loosen up, tighter back nine for placement shots.
mutiple tee pads and basket placement
easy to navigate and bathrooms nearby
Cons: with the baskets short the green tees are too easy (great for people learning but not challenging for the rest)

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center