Burlington, NC 
Cedarock Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #18
3 / 315ft.   3 / 453ft.   4 / 453ft.   4 / 633ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 Gold Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
A Welcome Change of Pace

1    9/21/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course Layout: The pins were in the short position, but we threw from the blues/gold tees. Most of the pins had unique pin placements that made the approach shot not exactly straightforward. Awesome use of tree placement both lining the fairways and in play.

Course Upkeep: One of the better kept courses I've played in the triangle area.

Navigation: I did not get lost once, as navigation from hole to hole is fairly easy.

Bombshots: I loved the fact I could air out my drives. Those courses are hard to come by. The only other one I would say close to Raleigh would be Zebulon, but this one takes the cake from that one.

Close-proximity to Wellspring: We played the figure-8 layout and played all 36 holes. I'm glad we did. Awesome day of disc golf.
Cons: Teepads: Like every other person has said on here, the pads need to be re-poured. They measure between 4 and 5 feet in length and maybe 3 feet wide? Not nearly large enough for a course that has 600+ ft holes.
Other Thoughts: If they re-did the pads and trimmed down a few overgrown branches, this course has the potential to be a 5/5. If you can set aside the fact that the variety isn't the best, I think you would agree. Wellspring is there for a reason, and it's to compensate for this lengthy course. Do not play this course if you cannot drive 300+ ft. It will probably get a little boring for you.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoy your flight!

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 46  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 3.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well, this course is nothing like Wellspring. It's really open, and longer. This was something different in the 31 courses I have played. It's very classic. I usually play courses that were established later than this course. This is just good old fashioned disc golf.
-You can easily get out of trouble on this course. It's very open! You got room to launch you driver a very long way! Just rip it! It won't cost you strokes unless you really shank it. That's the beauty of it, just watch it fly.
-This place has no litter, none. The designer(s) put good work into this place. There are benches and trash cans on every hole. I didn't see one piece of trash on the course.
-This land has a pretty hilly terrain. #15 is a perfect example. It's a super fun valley shot. That hole right there is a hole where you just want to empty your bag.
-Some good variety! #2 has a mando pointing you left. A few small dropoffs, some "air it out" holes, and #10 is also something different on this course. It's a window shot over some trees. That's the signature hole on the course because it's different. #11 is slightly wooded too.
-At least two tees on almost if not every hole. This course can go from short to really long. The baskets are moved into different positions. They are in the short right now.
-The course is usually secluded. It's usually all yours. Sometimes people cut the grass but it's something to appreciate. Tall grass sucks.
-The new 28 chain disCatchers are great. They catch well, they are not beaten up.
-The farm, homestead and the museum are what make this place unique. It's a great place in the country! I haven't been to a park this interesting. It's not your typical place even though it has a playground.
-Great tee signs! I had no trouble at all finding the basket. I played the whites and thank God it showed where they were located on the signs, cause if they were not, I wouldn't have known what tees you played
Cons: -The tee pads need to be MUCH longer. This course is pretty long. If you think five foot tee pads are not a problem on a course with holes mostly over 300+ feet. You are wrong.
-It's a little tricky to find #11. When you finish #10. Go back down the hill and go left.
-I couldn't find the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: -Really, I think this course could actually get a 5 to be honest. It just needs next tee signs and longer tee pads. I had a blast playing this course because it's something different, other than scenery. It's just good ol' disc golf in the country. Some holes may seem a little bland but look on the brightside! You can air it out like it's no problem. Hole #8 comes to mind there. It's wide open! From the gold tee, it would be fun to practice your LONG distance shots and maybe get a birdie. I launched my starfire maybe 380' feet on that hole!!
-Wellspring is a wooded course and it is also at this park. I think this course is better because it doesn't have many issues. Wellspring is really good too and you should give that course a shot as well.
-If you play the gold, then you better be able to rip it if you want birdies to come. If you play the shorter tees, you will find it easier and a bit more forgiving if your launch goes bad. Neither of the courses can punish you that badly at this place but it takes something to get your birdie. They are both fun courses and really worth the stop. If you shoot under par here, Wellspring should be a snap but if you blow up here, Wellspring may not be easy either but this is the tougher course because some players do not have what it takes to throw 500 feet but luckily this course doesn't require throws THAT long but you need some nice long throws if you want to shoot very well here. Just enjoy it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

another voice to the chorus

1    5/27/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 204  Reviewed: 202  Exp: 3.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2013
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is one of the good ones. It's all in the open yes, but there's so many elevation changes, and the pockets of trees make every hole seem different. It's incredibly scenic and full of beautiful, memorable holes.

You could point to the lack of wooded holes, and if Wellspring wasn't there, that would be a fault. You could try and not include its existence in your review but you would fail. The whole time you are on the course, you know that it is there. You know the 18 holes in the woods are coming up.
Cons: are there any?

I guess the fact that you need to make sure you have time to play 36, because you aren't going to only want to play one course here.

the temporary layout for the masters was still up when I was there which made it had to navigate from 4-8 but I can't dock it for what I know was a temporary situation.


3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 rare open course in NC

5+    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 30  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's all open holes! The kind of course that you don't see around these parts very much. Sometimes I just want to throw a disc without hoping to get lucky and miss all of those trees. Some holes have no obstacles and some have 1 or 2 trees.

There is a good variety of holes here. Long, short, uphill, downhill, over valley, left, right...

practice basket

red, white, blue, gold layouts, although maybe not all available on the day you play, depending on basket locations.

Pro shop at the park with many different discs for sale. (all profits go to course maintenance, or so I heard)

rest rooms, water fountains, benches

detailed signs, giving distance and par for every layout of the hole

Some holes are so long you can throw your longest shot ever, and not overthrow it.

There's also a wooded course in the same park; you can play both while you're here.
Cons: Short tees; most of them too short for a run-up.

It can be confusing trying to figure what basket goes with which tee if you're not familiar with the course.

The main parking lot has no shade.

The park has a closing time, and the rangers will ride around on carts telling people to move along.

18 runs right next to a road.
Other Thoughts: By the way, the hole info needs to be updated on this page. Next time I go, maybe I will write down everything... but at least a couple of holes have inaccurate distance and par info here. #3, for example, is shorter than indicated here.

I like wooded courses, but sometimes I'm in the mood to just let 'er rip. And this course is a welcome change of pace. Very few obstacles to dodge.

On the blind holes that have multiple pin locations, obviously you need to find out where the pin is before you tee off. I don't think the current pin location is indicated anywhere on the sign.

After hole 10, you need to walk down the hill to 11. The tee pad for 16 is right there next to 10 basket, and you can skip 5 holes if you're not careful. When you do get to 16, basket 13 looks like the one you'd throw at (at least in the configuration the baskets were in today), but 16 basket is actually to the left of the treeline that marks the left edge of the field. Blind hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    6/3/2003   5/23/2010
Review By: Doctor Whoov
Played: 31  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 16.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This was the first course I played. Awesome!
Great bunch of folks down Burlington way.
Cons: None to speak of. Maybe that it's in the south so it gets HOT!
Other Thoughts: I really would like to get back down there now that I know what I am doing.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A- = Almost As Good As It Gets

5+    7/21/2007   4/19/2009
Review By: Dave242
Played: 366  Reviewed: 275  Exp: 20.4 Years
2 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: What I personally like and how this course stacks up:
1) Holes with good risk/reward -- B
2) Holes that have rewarding birdie opportunities -- A
3) More wooded than open - lots of variety of shots required caused by hole shape and topography -- B+
4) Natural beauty (Appalachian beauty preferred) and seclusion -- A+
5) Multi-shot holes with defined landing zones, good risk/reward and multiple options to play them -- C-
Other Thoughts: I ranked this course subjectively based on my own personal enjoyment factor…more accurately my "personal addiction factor". Since I have played a decent number of courses (115 18-hole, 50 9-hole as of early 2009), my hope is that players/explorers who have similar tastes will find my ratings list helpful as they chose courses to play and explore.

Over time, I expect to fill some of my reviews in with more descriptive verbiage…if what I say adds anything to what has already been written. For now, my list is more important to me than the verbiage of my reviews.

I fully expect others with different tastes/philosophies to disagree with me. See my profile for my rating philosophy.

2 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Gorgeous Course

2-4    9/14/2008   1/13/2009
Review By: _.-Dut-._
Played: 50  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 15.8 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: With multiple tees, and great scenery this is one of the top courses I have played. There is something for everyone at this course especially when you consider Wellington is neighboring it. Nice Technical throws and also some air it out distance shots.
Cons: The same thing that makes it great also makes it confusing. The multiple teeboxes can make it hard to navigate for the first time.
Other Thoughts: Beautiful course and great disc golf. Worth the drive for anyone considering going.

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 18 hole MUST READ THIS!!!!

1    1/3/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set up for 18 holes now http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../8516981e.pdf

The link above has the correct map, just follow the map on the 18 hole side of the scorecard. Hole 5 is further than it shows on the map also. With this knowledge you can save yourself the twenty minutes that I lost today trying to figure it out!!

Now to the review, Awesome course. There are two to four sets of tees on each hole so a disc golfer like myself, 6 months deep, can have a great time, and an old pro like yourself can play the harder tees to up the ante a little. Not much more can be said that hasn't already been said below, I agree with it all, Beautiful open course with a great wooded 18 hole course next door, a disc golfers dream!!!
Cons: Lack of Signage, Confusing Tees, even with a map I was lost, however with the information I posted above hopefully you will not be!! If this course had new signs and tee markers I would have probably giving it a perfect score.
Other Thoughts: Not much to think about, If you can get to this course in an hour or two it is a must see. If you are farther away you can come when it warms up a little and camp out on site!!!! I don't know about you but I am planning a camping and disc golfing weekend already!!

For out of County campers there is a fee of ten dollars per day for up to ten people. I think it is a dollar extra per person for more than ten. You just go to the office which is one of the first buildings when you enter the park and fill out a paper.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open and Awesome

5+    10/25/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course with awesome layout, it is now 18 holes and this is considered the open course. The also have a great wooded course that is called Wellspring. This is one of my favorite parks in the US. This couse have techical shots, long bombs, multiple pin placements and tee pads. There are 8 set ups that are possilbe at this course, as there are 4 sets of tees and at least 2 pin placements on all but a few holes.
Cons: Mach 1 baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course offers camping, has bathrooms, a fishing lake, horse trials, kids playground and a hiking trail that takes you by a waterfall. Wonderful.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.