Burlington, NC
Cedarock Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #15
3 / 295ft.   4 / 432ft.   3 / 345ft.   4 / 482ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Alt Basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
Nice place

5+    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: chillbro15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It requires many different approaches and methods. even though this course is out in the open, it is still different and memorable. i like how you can loop it back in with wellspring to add variation.
Cons: the lack of woodiness would be a con if it wasnt for wellspring.
Other Thoughts: its good and fun. youre gonna have to be able to tomahawk becouse one hole needs a tomahawk shot to get through the cover

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course; My Favorite Course

5+    4/14/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 43.8 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 years old, Cedarock is still the course to play. Open as a golf course should be and completely convertible to an alternate layout, both configurations will test you on distance and direction. For a recreational player, Cedarock will let you break par and even get an ace, but can also be a stern taskmaster if you take her for granted, especially in the short (red/blue) set-up
Cons: May be too open and easy for pros and advanced ams in the original short pins positions, but the gold layout will test the best of the best, especially if you rate it as a straight par 3, as we did for over 20 years. Some of the posted pars on the nice new tee signs seem arbitrarily easy for pro and advanced players.. And some of the holes could use more than just the one tee sign, as the tees are a ways apart. Tee pad color assignment needs correction on Hole 14, as that is the course's only design flaw.
Other Thoughts: It was on this course, with only my pre-patent number, dirt brown Aero that I parked it on the original number 5, which teed from what is now the #5 blue pad and went to a now extinct green, that made me think out loud that maybe I could play this sport without stinking it up.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 STRICT 9INE

5+    3/29/2010   3/29/2010
Review By: mhdisc03
Played: 20  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.7 Years
1 Helpful / 14 Not
Pros: AS FOR THE PADS OUT OF TOWNERS, THERE OURS. THERE MENT TO HELP YOU CONTROL YOUR FOOTWORK. THERES AN OLD SAYING ROUND HERE IF YOU CAN THROW AT CEDER ROCK, YOU CAN THROW ANTWHERE...WELL ITS TRUE. SO STEP UP UR GAME OR DONT COMPLAIN! this is the best training ground in nc. we have 2 top quality course. the field is the first one you come to in this park. depending on the month will dictate the basket plasment. they change every month but if u come out and want to throw longer ive got he holes for you. us locals call it he STRICT 9INE.(1)throw from hole one yellow pad to hole twos basket.(2)hole 3 yellow pad to 7s basket yank in right side of ceder(3)hole 8s blue pad to 8s basket bout 750 -800ft par 3 thats how we roll in btown(4) hole 7s yellow pad to 4s basket(5)hole 5s red pad (1st pro) to 6s basket(6)hole 9s yellow pad to 10s basket on the top of the hill(if on long baskets it will be hole 14s basket)(7)hole 11red pad(left one) to 12s basket there is an opening just make sure the hole is cleared(8)13s yellow pad to 17s basket(9) blue(very back) pad 18 to hole ones basket(at least 800ft some people play from yellow pad but thats for out of towners!)
Cons: TOP SCORE by rodney gilmore @ 3 OVER we play them all par 3 i belive he played 18 yellow pad to 1s basket
Other Thoughts: used to be a haven for disc golf before an a hole tried to rape a girl 2 yrs ago.cops patrol for the public, but theres no crime here. just a crime for not geting enough birdies.the park has everything from play groung, fishing pond ,camping,3 bike trails 5 or mor walkin trails, horse trails, waterfall, horse shoes, 4 shelters you can reserve, hay rides, fishing tourney boy scout camp outs, tractor days, over 400 acres of country fun, DONT FOGRT TO PACK YOUR TRASH OUT, LOTS OF JUVINELS LEAVEING TRASH, JUST TRY TO HELP.

1 of 15 people found this review helpful.

 Great Open Course

2-4    8/16/2011   3/20/2010
Review By: TAKRep
Played: 20  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/16/2011
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nearly every hole on this course was a long throw over a field, so it really gives you a chance to work on your long drives. That being said, not every hole was the same. There was a surprisingly good mix of leftward, rightward, and straight shots. Elevation comes into play quite a bit on this course and further adds to the variety.
Multiple tees for every hole were a great edition. Any skill level player can play here (though, even the red tees might prove tough for a weak arm). There are also multiple pin placements that change every so often, further adding to the already great variety. Really nice signs have been added to every hole. They are top-notch, denoting the par, the distance, every tee placement, and the possible basket placements, as well as a next tee arrow. This makes the course very easy to navigate.
The baskets were nicely labeled with big signs on the tops that denoted the hole number. There were many other park amenities here (including another 18 hole disc golf course). There is also a little shop at the park that sells snacks, drinks, and DISCS.
Cons: The tees were often very very small. Far too small to do a nice run-up on. Some of the other reviewers who are obviously locals have jumped in to defend this, saying that it is to help you work on your footwork. Maybe that's true, but I still feel that some of these holes are so long that they require just a wee bit more room on the tee-off. On the weekends the park can be crowded (but this is also a testament to how great it is), so you may have to wait at some of the holes (luckily there are benches).
Other Thoughts: My favorite NC course. I've played courses from Charlotte to Rocky Mount, and this one is top-notch, especially when you consider you get two totally different courses in one park. Simply excellent.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.