Burlington, NC 
Cedarock Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #2
3 / 284ft.   3 / 242ft.   3 / 348ft.   3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Alt Basket



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
1 2 3 4 5 Next >
 wide open

5+    1/11/2009   1/7/2009
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 99  Reviewed: 97  Exp: 7.1 Years
This review was updated on 1/11/2009
7 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: long length, nice park. Multiple tee pad alignments. Really nice, long holes on the back 9. Beautiful park, cool locals. Some elevation changes, mostly rolling hills. Hole 10 is sweet, a rare throw through the tops of tree's foliage.
Cons: A bit confusing but the map helps, was 20 holes the last time I played but now it's 18, which is a good thing. The walk from previous hole to next tee can be annoying and/or taxing some times.
Other Thoughts: Much better organized than last time I played, could still use some signage though.

7 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 18 hole MUST READ THIS!!!!

1    1/3/2009   1/3/2009
Review By: PanicKJ
Played: 25  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 6.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set up for 18 holes now http://www.dgcoursereview.com.../8516981e.pdf

The link above has the correct map, just follow the map on the 18 hole side of the scorecard. Hole 5 is further than it shows on the map also. With this knowledge you can save yourself the twenty minutes that I lost today trying to figure it out!!

Now to the review, Awesome course. There are two to four sets of tees on each hole so a disc golfer like myself, 6 months deep, can have a great time, and an old pro like yourself can play the harder tees to up the ante a little. Not much more can be said that hasn't already been said below, I agree with it all, Beautiful open course with a great wooded 18 hole course next door, a disc golfers dream!!!
Cons: Lack of Signage, Confusing Tees, even with a map I was lost, however with the information I posted above hopefully you will not be!! If this course had new signs and tee markers I would have probably giving it a perfect score.
Other Thoughts: Not much to think about, If you can get to this course in an hour or two it is a must see. If you are farther away you can come when it warms up a little and camp out on site!!!! I don't know about you but I am planning a camping and disc golfing weekend already!!

For out of County campers there is a fee of ten dollars per day for up to ten people. I think it is a dollar extra per person for more than ten. You just go to the office which is one of the first buildings when you enter the park and fill out a paper.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    12/18/2008   12/23/2008
Review By: kerplunk
Played: 31  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice scenery and good mixture of holes when considering Wellspring next door. Friendly locals.
Cons: Fairly confusing, and I even had a map. Part of this confusion was the fact that apparently a basket or two had been stolen, which a local that I joined up with told me. Not a lot of variety on its own- you really need to play Wellspring also to have an all around experience.
Other Thoughts: Two quality courses in one park is pretty cool, so if you have the time to play both you should check these courses out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Must see.......

2-4    11/22/2008   11/23/2008
Review By: hycard
Played: 48  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/25/2009
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Several elevation changes create added distance and depth without overexertion. Good mix of open and wooded shots. Variety of tee and basket positions.
Cons: Difficult navigation through multiple positions for first-timers - online map is helpful. See Cedarockdiscgolf.com for map/scorecard of Cedarock and adjacent Wellspring.
Other Thoughts: Nice layout and very challenging if playing long tees. Favorite hole: #10 with raised tee pad built upon downward sloping incline - throwing over creek and through a natural tree barrier with a small "window" cut out to approach the opposite hillside and basket.

Update 01/24/09: Improved benches; multiple tee and basket locations add a challenge to each round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Open and Awesome

5+    10/25/2008   11/12/2008
Review By: Tyson
Played: 61  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 13.2 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great course with awesome layout, it is now 18 holes and this is considered the open course. The also have a great wooded course that is called Wellspring. This is one of my favorite parks in the US. This couse have techical shots, long bombs, multiple pin placements and tee pads. There are 8 set ups that are possilbe at this course, as there are 4 sets of tees and at least 2 pin placements on all but a few holes.
Cons: Mach 1 baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course offers camping, has bathrooms, a fishing lake, horse trials, kids playground and a hiking trail that takes you by a waterfall. Wonderful.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2/20/2008   2/20/2008
Review By: bryon
Played: 63  Reviewed: 58
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 2 distinctly different 18 hole courses in this park. The first one is pretty much wide open and the other one is almost completely in the woods. Only played the course once and I believe we played from the short tee's. From the tee's we played, the course wasn't to hard, but fun enough to keep my enjoyment.
Cons: This course did not have any tee signs to help you out. On more than one occasion we started the hole playing to an incorrect basket

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 One of my Favorites in NC!

5+    4/10/2007   11/9/2007
Review By: Olorin
Played: 303  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 35.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/23/2010
17 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is one of the most beautiful courses in the whole state of North Carolina! With the best grassy meadows, it is also the best course for rollers in the state. There are still enough trees to add character and challenge, though. With four layouts (Am-Short, Am-Long, Pro-Short, and Pro-Long) there is enough variety to satisfy every player and every mood. The course uses a creative combination of long basket placements and long tees to create these four layouts. Each month the baskets are alternated between Short and Long. Every hole has a Pro tee pad and 5 holes have separate Am-Long (yellow) tee pads.
In the Pro-Long layout the big arms can experience the thrill of watching their discs rip in long flights over the beautiful grassy meadows. Hole 20, 633 ft. in the Pro-Long layout, allows long open flights over the grassy field. You'll be sorry to be finishing your round as you walk up to a basket guarded by trees. For a contrast in venue you'll can then head over to the wooded Wellspring course right next door. You could have a fulfilling day of 4 rounds by alternating between the two courses and alternating between the short and long tees. In my opinion, this is one of the best courses in NC and it's one of my top favorites of all the courses I've played. Don't miss it if you have the chance to play it!
Cons: The multiplicity of layouts and tees can be confusing, and it may take a while to figure out. Having a course map is essential to figure out which tees you should be playing from. Note that 6 holes don't have long basket positions. Unfortunately they don't have any explanations posted on the course bulletin board.
Other Thoughts: My Score = 9.1 out of 10
Course Levels: Am-Short/ Am-Long/ Pro-Short = White. Pro-Long = Blue

Layouts:
Here's an explanation of the layouts--
The Short course (Pro and Am) is played when the baskets are in the short positions. The Long course is played when the baskets are in the long positions.
Tees are marked with Green, Yellow, Red, Blue markers
Am-Short = Green tees to the short basket position. From the Green tee on holes 4, 6, 13, 16, 20.
Am-Long = Yellow tees to the long basket position, From the Yellow tee on holes 4, 6, 13, 16, 20.
Pro-Short = Red tees to the short basket position. From the Red tee on hole 20.
Pro-Long = Blue tee to the long basket position. From the Blue tee on hole 20.

Matters of opinion:
In the Am-Short layout lower rated players will enjoy that the course is not too difficult, especially since it is mostly open. There are still challenging holes, though, especially 17-20.
On the Pro-Long layout longer throwers and higher level players will appreciate the length and the challenge. This layout really lets you air out some shots.




17 of 17 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 4 5 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.