Burlington, NC 
Cedarock Park Share
Uploaded By: DiscChainBasket18 Hole #5
3 / 261ft.   3 / 297ft.   4 / 459ft.   4 / 498ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee



Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Details
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Exp. (in years): to Played: Reviewed:
Reviews between: and
Sort By: Only Trusted Reviewers   
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
A Welcome Change of Pace

1    9/21/2013   9/22/2013
Review By: alecfalzone
Played: 60  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 4.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course Layout: The pins were in the short position, but we threw from the blues/gold tees. Most of the pins had unique pin placements that made the approach shot not exactly straightforward. Awesome use of tree placement both lining the fairways and in play.

Course Upkeep: One of the better kept courses I've played in the triangle area.

Navigation: I did not get lost once, as navigation from hole to hole is fairly easy.

Bombshots: I loved the fact I could air out my drives. Those courses are hard to come by. The only other one I would say close to Raleigh would be Zebulon, but this one takes the cake from that one.

Close-proximity to Wellspring: We played the figure-8 layout and played all 36 holes. I'm glad we did. Awesome day of disc golf.
Cons: Teepads: Like every other person has said on here, the pads need to be re-poured. They measure between 4 and 5 feet in length and maybe 3 feet wide? Not nearly large enough for a course that has 600+ ft holes.
Other Thoughts: If they re-did the pads and trimmed down a few overgrown branches, this course has the potential to be a 5/5. If you can set aside the fact that the variety isn't the best, I think you would agree. Wellspring is there for a reason, and it's to compensate for this lengthy course. Do not play this course if you cannot drive 300+ ft. It will probably get a little boring for you.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Enjoy your flight!

1    7/2/2013   7/3/2013
Review By: Bennybennybenny
Played: 48  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Well, this course is nothing like Wellspring. It's really open, and longer. This was something different in the 31 courses I have played. It's very classic. I usually play courses that were established later than this course. This is just good old fashioned disc golf.
-You can easily get out of trouble on this course. It's very open! You got room to launch you driver a very long way! Just rip it! It won't cost you strokes unless you really shank it. That's the beauty of it, just watch it fly.
-This place has no litter, none. The designer(s) put good work into this place. There are benches and trash cans on every hole. I didn't see one piece of trash on the course.
-This land has a pretty hilly terrain. #15 is a perfect example. It's a super fun valley shot. That hole right there is a hole where you just want to empty your bag.
-Some good variety! #2 has a mando pointing you left. A few small dropoffs, some "air it out" holes, and #10 is also something different on this course. It's a window shot over some trees. That's the signature hole on the course because it's different. #11 is slightly wooded too.
-At least two tees on almost if not every hole. This course can go from short to really long. The baskets are moved into different positions. They are in the short right now.
-The course is usually secluded. It's usually all yours. Sometimes people cut the grass but it's something to appreciate. Tall grass sucks.
-The new 28 chain disCatchers are great. They catch well, they are not beaten up.
-The farm, homestead and the museum are what make this place unique. It's a great place in the country! I haven't been to a park this interesting. It's not your typical place even though it has a playground.
-Great tee signs! I had no trouble at all finding the basket. I played the whites and thank God it showed where they were located on the signs, cause if they were not, I wouldn't have known what tees you played
Cons: -The tee pads need to be MUCH longer. This course is pretty long. If you think five foot tee pads are not a problem on a course with holes mostly over 300+ feet. You are wrong.
-It's a little tricky to find #11. When you finish #10. Go back down the hill and go left.
-I couldn't find the pro shop.
Other Thoughts: -Really, I think this course could actually get a 5 to be honest. It just needs next tee signs and longer tee pads. I had a blast playing this course because it's something different, other than scenery. It's just good ol' disc golf in the country. Some holes may seem a little bland but look on the brightside! You can air it out like it's no problem. Hole #8 comes to mind there. It's wide open! From the gold tee, it would be fun to practice your LONG distance shots and maybe get a birdie. I launched my starfire maybe 380' feet on that hole!!
-Wellspring is a wooded course and it is also at this park. I think this course is better because it doesn't have many issues. Wellspring is really good too and you should give that course a shot as well.
-If you play the gold, then you better be able to rip it if you want birdies to come. If you play the shorter tees, you will find it easier and a bit more forgiving if your launch goes bad. Neither of the courses can punish you that badly at this place but it takes something to get your birdie. They are both fun courses and really worth the stop. If you shoot under par here, Wellspring should be a snap but if you blow up here, Wellspring may not be easy either but this is the tougher course because some players do not have what it takes to throw 500 feet but luckily this course doesn't require throws THAT long but you need some nice long throws if you want to shoot very well here. Just enjoy it!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Nice place

5+    6/9/2013   6/12/2013
Review By: chillbro15
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: It requires many different approaches and methods. even though this course is out in the open, it is still different and memorable. i like how you can loop it back in with wellspring to add variation.
Cons: the lack of woodiness would be a con if it wasnt for wellspring.
Other Thoughts: its good and fun. youre gonna have to be able to tomahawk becouse one hole needs a tomahawk shot to get through the cover

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

another voice to the chorus

1    5/27/2013   6/3/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 206  Reviewed: 204  Exp: 3.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2013
3 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: This is one of the good ones. It's all in the open yes, but there's so many elevation changes, and the pockets of trees make every hole seem different. It's incredibly scenic and full of beautiful, memorable holes.

You could point to the lack of wooded holes, and if Wellspring wasn't there, that would be a fault. You could try and not include its existence in your review but you would fail. The whole time you are on the course, you know that it is there. You know the 18 holes in the woods are coming up.
Cons: are there any?

I guess the fact that you need to make sure you have time to play 36, because you aren't going to only want to play one course here.

the temporary layout for the masters was still up when I was there which made it had to navigate from 4-8 but I can't dock it for what I know was a temporary situation.


3 of 11 people found this review helpful.

My Home Course; My Favorite Course

5+    4/14/2013   4/29/2013
Review By: BuzzSharpe
Played: 50  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 44.3 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2013
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: 27 years old, Cedarock is still the course to play. Open as a golf course should be and completely convertible to an alternate layout, both configurations will test you on distance and direction. For a recreational player, Cedarock will let you break par and even get an ace, but can also be a stern taskmaster if you take her for granted, especially in the short (red/blue) set-up
Cons: May be too open and easy for pros and advanced ams in the original short pins positions, but the gold layout will test the best of the best, especially if you rate it as a straight par 3, as we did for over 20 years. Some of the posted pars on the nice new tee signs seem arbitrarily easy for pro and advanced players.. And some of the holes could use more than just the one tee sign, as the tees are a ways apart. Tee pad color assignment needs correction on Hole 14, as that is the course's only design flaw.
Other Thoughts: It was on this course, with only my pre-patent number, dirt brown Aero that I parked it on the original number 5, which teed from what is now the #5 blue pad and went to a now extinct green, that made me think out loud that maybe I could play this sport without stinking it up.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Rock-N-Roll

1    8/5/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: pxdevil
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 2.5 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained course! Better bring the POWER! She's Long & Windy! Most holes are open with sparse trees near or around the baskets! There's a creek running thru the middle of the land & the holes weave back & forth around it! Lots if elevation changes & a few technical holes!
Cons: Cramped! Some baskets are to close to other fairways! Gotta keep an eye out for incoming discs if one gets wayward! Very busy course also! Played on a Saturday & it was a little crowded!
Other Thoughts: A real scenic layout! Good use of the land & terrain! Has several memorable holes! Pro-shop a block away that has discs for sale! Good place to bring the family for fun & a pic-nic!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Let it fly

1    8/4/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is my favorite course i have played. Its a generally wide open course, Perfect for seeing the full flight of the disc without the worry of trees to impede the disc. It has clearly marked tees and baskets. The signs on each tee designate which pad to use, where the basket is, the distance to each basket from each pad, and where the next hole is in relation to the basket. A truly awesome course that anyone can enjoy.
Cons: Some of the teepads are small, limiting the run up distance.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Learn to play here and move on to Wellspring

1    8/5/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 213  Reviewed: 195  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: small concrete tees provide a clear starting area. Excellent tee signs even though the color system is a little confusing with the multiple tees and pin possibilities.
Discatchers are in great shape.
Hole 10 is a great hole! It is an elevated, sneak it through a small window, hole.
Very family friendly design. It is a solid course great for learning how to play.
Another course is onsite with in walking distance.
Cons: Tee pads were a little too small. The entire course was cramped and crowded, numerous times people from other holes were on other fairways.
People putting at basket 2 and basket 12 were in each other's way. On #15 I nailed #11's tee hard, luckily no one was around. 7 and 8 played parallel so drives from both tees could end in the other's fairway.

The front 9 are nothing special, mostly short flat holes with a little elevation around hole 6. The back 9 add more challenge and more interesting shots, but no other holes to match hole 10. Most of the course is open with no shade.

No way to know which pin position the basket is in. Several pins are very different and both are blind, like 9 and 11 for example.
A few issues of confusion; Hole 5's tee pad is pointed at the visible #6 basket, so it is easy to throw at the wrong basket. Hole 16 is pointed at 13's basket and I did throw at the wrong basket. I did not know I had made a mistake until I walked to tee 17 and saw another basket. 11 was a little tough to find the tee pad. Hole 10 ends at hole 16's tee pad.
Other Thoughts: On hole 6 you can peak into the woods and see Wellspring and think, why the heck am I playing here? Cedarock is where you disc golf with your family, Wellspring is where you wish you were while you were playing Cedarock.

They tried to do too much and it gets cluttered and confusing.


4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 rare open course in NC

5+    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 31  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 17.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's all open holes! The kind of course that you don't see around these parts very much. Sometimes I just want to throw a disc without hoping to get lucky and miss all of those trees. Some holes have no obstacles and some have 1 or 2 trees.

There is a good variety of holes here. Long, short, uphill, downhill, over valley, left, right...

practice basket

red, white, blue, gold layouts, although maybe not all available on the day you play, depending on basket locations.

Pro shop at the park with many different discs for sale. (all profits go to course maintenance, or so I heard)

rest rooms, water fountains, benches

detailed signs, giving distance and par for every layout of the hole

Some holes are so long you can throw your longest shot ever, and not overthrow it.

There's also a wooded course in the same park; you can play both while you're here.
Cons: Short tees; most of them too short for a run-up.

It can be confusing trying to figure what basket goes with which tee if you're not familiar with the course.

The main parking lot has no shade.

The park has a closing time, and the rangers will ride around on carts telling people to move along.

18 runs right next to a road.
Other Thoughts: By the way, the hole info needs to be updated on this page. Next time I go, maybe I will write down everything... but at least a couple of holes have inaccurate distance and par info here. #3, for example, is shorter than indicated here.

I like wooded courses, but sometimes I'm in the mood to just let 'er rip. And this course is a welcome change of pace. Very few obstacles to dodge.

On the blind holes that have multiple pin locations, obviously you need to find out where the pin is before you tee off. I don't think the current pin location is indicated anywhere on the sign.

After hole 10, you need to walk down the hill to 11. The tee pad for 16 is right there next to 10 basket, and you can skip 5 holes if you're not careful. When you do get to 16, basket 13 looks like the one you'd throw at (at least in the configuration the baskets were in today), but 16 basket is actually to the left of the treeline that marks the left edge of the field. Blind hole.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 2 Courses, 1 Round

1    6/14/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 284  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 13.2 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Ball Golf Like. The grass fairways and scenery of the course give you that "ball golf" course feel. As a former ball golfer, I enjoy that aspect of the course. Plus, it's a beautiful park.
- Grip it and Rip it. Cedarock is a relatively wide-open, grass fairway course that allows you to grip it and rip it on several holes. However, that's not to say that the holes don't require you to shape shots around trees, or be conscious of thick rough. I can see why the course has the hype it does… very rarely in NC do you get an open, grass fairway, grip it and rip it hole... let alone a whole course worth.
- Two Courses, One Park. I love when I can bag two new courses in one great location. Especially two courses that are completely different from one another. At Cedarock / Wellspring, you can jump-on / jump-off of each course mid-round and hook into the other course to make a 36 hole round. Otherwise you'd have to drive to the other courses' parking lot to start your second round. To do so, after finishing Cedar's 8th hole, you can jump onto Wellspring at Hole 16… play out the course through Hole 15 and then jump back onto Cedarock at Hole 9. This worked for me… and helped to break up the monotony of the relatively wide-open Cedarock.
Cons:
- Confusing Tee-Signs. Let me start off by saying that the tee-signs are beautiful and work well once you understand how to interpret them. With that said:
The tee-signs are confusing at first, showing two pin positions and two (sometimes more) tee-pad locations. The pins and tee-pads are color coded (red, white, blue, gold… and sometimes a blend of two colors) to help you understand what's what. However, the tee-signs make it appear as though there are 4 options per hole (Short Tee to Short Pin, Short Tee to Long Pin, Long Tee to Short Pin and Long Tee to Long Pin)… which may seem normal, but 4-option holes are commonly seen at Charlotte courses, so that's how I was interpreting the signs. However, there are really only 2 options. This is because there is really only 1 pin in the ground (either in the long or short), giving you two options (short-pad to pin placement, or long-pad to pin placement). And, depending upon the pin placement the pin is in, and the tee-pad you choose to play from, you will be playing a certain color hole (red, white, blue, gold).
Also note: on the holes where there is only 1 pin position and the basket never moves, there are up to 4 tee-pad locations.
- The Wrong Basket. There are too many holes where you can see a different hole's basket from the tee-pad. I threw at the wrong basket on a few holes and had to backtrack down the fairway to re-play the holes properly. Hole 10 comes to mind: you're looking through a nice gap in the trees directly at a basket. It looks like a great shot, until you park it and then realize when you arrive on scene that it's 15's basket and that 10's basket is tucked down to the left.
- Tee-Pads: Slivers of Concrete. The tee-pads were 3' x 4' slivers of concrete. You can easily do a run up from behind the tee-pad and smoothly transition onto the sliver… however, when you're trying to have a championship(-ish) level course, nothing beats LARGE concrete tees. The problem at Cedarock seems to be that they wanted to install multiple, tee-pads for each hole instead of one really nice one.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Cedarock was a good time. I certainly wasn't mad at it… except for when I had to walk back down fairways after throwing to the wrong baskets. The open, grass fairway, ball-golfish, bombers are a welcome sight (especially in NC); however, that alone doesn't make a course great, or even hype-worthy. The multiple small concrete tee-pads are decent for throwing from, but could have been improved upon if they were larger… and if there were simply fewer of them (the excess of tee-pads get kind of ugly as you look across the park). The combination of having two distinctly different courses in one park definitely adds to the flavor of the location and desirability to bag it. For me, Cedarock did not live up to the hype… but then again, with two courses in one location and both being pretty decent, maybe it does / they do.
My Score: -6 (Whites: Short Tees to Long Pins)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.