Burlington, NC 
Cedarock Park Share
Uploaded By: Bigbob777 Hole #15 (Taken 4/2015)
3 / 295ft.   4 / 432ft.   3 / 345ft.   4 / 482ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 White/Red Tee

Reviews: 52
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers

1    8/5/2012   8/14/2012
Review By: pxdevil
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Clean, well maintained course! Better bring the POWER! She's Long & Windy! Most holes are open with sparse trees near or around the baskets! There's a creek running thru the middle of the land & the holes weave back & forth around it! Lots if elevation changes & a few technical holes!
Cons: Cramped! Some baskets are to close to other fairways! Gotta keep an eye out for incoming discs if one gets wayward! Very busy course also! Played on a Saturday & it was a little crowded!
Other Thoughts: A real scenic layout! Good use of the land & terrain! Has several memorable holes! Pro-shop a block away that has discs for sale! Good place to bring the family for fun & a pic-nic!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Let it fly

1    8/4/2012   8/10/2012
Review By: Drew.S
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 3.8 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2012
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: It is my favorite course i have played. Its a generally wide open course, Perfect for seeing the full flight of the disc without the worry of trees to impede the disc. It has clearly marked tees and baskets. The signs on each tee designate which pad to use, where the basket is, the distance to each basket from each pad, and where the next hole is in relation to the basket. A truly awesome course that anyone can enjoy.
Cons: Some of the teepads are small, limiting the run up distance.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Learn to play here and move on to Wellspring

1    8/5/2012   8/7/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 234  Reviewed: 215  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: small concrete tees provide a clear starting area. Excellent tee signs even though the color system is a little confusing with the multiple tees and pin possibilities.
Discatchers are in great shape.
Hole 10 is a great hole! It is an elevated, sneak it through a small window, hole.
Very family friendly design. It is a solid course great for learning how to play.
Another course is onsite with in walking distance.
Cons: Tee pads were a little too small. The entire course was cramped and crowded, numerous times people from other holes were on other fairways.
People putting at basket 2 and basket 12 were in each other's way. On #15 I nailed #11's tee hard, luckily no one was around. 7 and 8 played parallel so drives from both tees could end in the other's fairway.

The front 9 are nothing special, mostly short flat holes with a little elevation around hole 6. The back 9 add more challenge and more interesting shots, but no other holes to match hole 10. Most of the course is open with no shade.

No way to know which pin position the basket is in. Several pins are very different and both are blind, like 9 and 11 for example.
A few issues of confusion; Hole 5's tee pad is pointed at the visible #6 basket, so it is easy to throw at the wrong basket. Hole 16 is pointed at 13's basket and I did throw at the wrong basket. I did not know I had made a mistake until I walked to tee 17 and saw another basket. 11 was a little tough to find the tee pad. Hole 10 ends at hole 16's tee pad.
Other Thoughts: On hole 6 you can peak into the woods and see Wellspring and think, why the heck am I playing here? Cedarock is where you disc golf with your family, Wellspring is where you wish you were while you were playing Cedarock.

They tried to do too much and it gets cluttered and confusing.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 rare open course in NC

5+    7/8/2012   7/8/2012
Review By: logjammin
Played: 32  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It's all open holes! The kind of course that you don't see around these parts very much. Sometimes I just want to throw a disc without hoping to get lucky and miss all of those trees. Some holes have no obstacles and some have 1 or 2 trees.

There is a good variety of holes here. Long, short, uphill, downhill, over valley, left, right...

practice basket

red, white, blue, gold layouts, although maybe not all available on the day you play, depending on basket locations.

Pro shop at the park with many different discs for sale. (all profits go to course maintenance, or so I heard)

rest rooms, water fountains, benches

detailed signs, giving distance and par for every layout of the hole

Some holes are so long you can throw your longest shot ever, and not overthrow it.

There's also a wooded course in the same park; you can play both while you're here.
Cons: Short tees; most of them too short for a run-up.

It can be confusing trying to figure what basket goes with which tee if you're not familiar with the course.

The main parking lot has no shade.

The park has a closing time, and the rangers will ride around on carts telling people to move along.

18 runs right next to a road.
Other Thoughts: By the way, the hole info needs to be updated on this page. Next time I go, maybe I will write down everything... but at least a couple of holes have inaccurate distance and par info here. #3, for example, is shorter than indicated here.

I like wooded courses, but sometimes I'm in the mood to just let 'er rip. And this course is a welcome change of pace. Very few obstacles to dodge.

On the blind holes that have multiple pin locations, obviously you need to find out where the pin is before you tee off. I don't think the current pin location is indicated anywhere on the sign.

After hole 10, you need to walk down the hill to 11. The tee pad for 16 is right there next to 10 basket, and you can skip 5 holes if you're not careful. When you do get to 16, basket 13 looks like the one you'd throw at (at least in the configuration the baskets were in today), but 16 basket is actually to the left of the treeline that marks the left edge of the field. Blind hole.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 2 Courses, 1 Round

1    6/14/2012   6/21/2012
Review By: DSCJNKY
Played: 331  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 14.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
- Ball Golf Like. The grass fairways and scenery of the course give you that "ball golf" course feel. As a former ball golfer, I enjoy that aspect of the course. Plus, it's a beautiful park.
- Grip it and Rip it. Cedarock is a relatively wide-open, grass fairway course that allows you to grip it and rip it on several holes. However, that's not to say that the holes don't require you to shape shots around trees, or be conscious of thick rough. I can see why the course has the hype it does... very rarely in NC do you get an open, grass fairway, grip it and rip it hole... let alone a whole course worth.
- Two Courses, One Park. I love when I can bag two new courses in one great location. Especially two courses that are completely different from one another. At Cedarock / Wellspring, you can jump-on / jump-off of each course mid-round and hook into the other course to make a 36 hole round. Otherwise you'd have to drive to the other courses' parking lot to start your second round. To do so, after finishing Cedar's 8th hole, you can jump onto Wellspring at Hole 16... play out the course through Hole 15 and then jump back onto Cedarock at Hole 9. This worked for me... and helped to break up the monotony of the relatively wide-open Cedarock.
- Confusing Tee-Signs. Let me start off by saying that the tee-signs are beautiful and work well once you understand how to interpret them. With that said:
The tee-signs are confusing at first, showing two pin positions and two (sometimes more) tee-pad locations. The pins and tee-pads are color coded (red, white, blue, gold... and sometimes a blend of two colors) to help you understand what's what. However, the tee-signs make it appear as though there are 4 options per hole (Short Tee to Short Pin, Short Tee to Long Pin, Long Tee to Short Pin and Long Tee to Long Pin)... which may seem normal, but 4-option holes are commonly seen at Charlotte courses, so that's how I was interpreting the signs. However, there are really only 2 options. This is because there is really only 1 pin in the ground (either in the long or short), giving you two options (short-pad to pin placement, or long-pad to pin placement). And, depending upon the pin placement the pin is in, and the tee-pad you choose to play from, you will be playing a certain color hole (red, white, blue, gold).
Also note: on the holes where there is only 1 pin position and the basket never moves, there are up to 4 tee-pad locations.
- The Wrong Basket. There are too many holes where you can see a different hole's basket from the tee-pad. I threw at the wrong basket on a few holes and had to backtrack down the fairway to re-play the holes properly. Hole 10 comes to mind: you're looking through a nice gap in the trees directly at a basket. It looks like a great shot, until you park it and then realize when you arrive on scene that it's 15's basket and that 10's basket is tucked down to the left.
- Tee-Pads: Slivers of Concrete. The tee-pads were 3' x 4' slivers of concrete. You can easily do a run up from behind the tee-pad and smoothly transition onto the sliver... however, when you're trying to have a championship(-ish) level course, nothing beats LARGE concrete tees. The problem at Cedarock seems to be that they wanted to install multiple, tee-pads for each hole instead of one really nice one.
Other Thoughts:
- Overall. Cedarock was a good time. I certainly wasn't mad at it... except for when I had to walk back down fairways after throwing to the wrong baskets. The open, grass fairway, ball-golfish, bombers are a welcome sight (especially in NC); however, that alone doesn't make a course great, or even hype-worthy. The multiple small concrete tee-pads are decent for throwing from, but could have been improved upon if they were larger... and if there were simply fewer of them (the excess of tee-pads get kind of ugly as you look across the park). The combination of having two distinctly different courses in one park definitely adds to the flavor of the location and desirability to bag it. For me, Cedarock did not live up to the hype... but then again, with two courses in one location and both being pretty decent, maybe it does / they do.
My Score: -6 (Whites: Short Tees to Long Pins)

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Home on the Range

5+    5/4/2012   5/31/2012
Review By: New013
Played: 150  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 5.2 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Layout - One of the best designed open courses I've played so far. With Cedarock what you see is what you get. Rolling hills and sparse trees with a more wooded small creek area that runs right through the middle of the course. The layout uses all of these features exceptionally to create a fun and still challenging course from the longer tees.

There are multiple teepads for each hole and moving basket locations that creates 4 possible layouts. The two shorter layouts are not very challenging and give you a bunch of open birdie runs mixed with some technical shots that are shaped out of the sparse trees and treelines that run through this part of the park.

The longer configurations can give you quite a challenge by making you shoot through gaps and bend discs around trees while trying to get the distance you need. If you like to bomb and let shots rip this place is for you.

The elevation is used very well along with treelines to create risk/reward within a mostly open course. There's baskets that are big downhills with a thick treeline on the backside that punishes you for going to long. You'll need precision and distance to do well on the longs.

Again, great basket locations on slopes and tucked in to trees that make placement on your drive key. It's a placement type course because of this but there are a few areas where you'll have to hit some gaps.

The layout flows really well, no long walks and for the most part it's pretty obvious where you're going next.

Equipment - New baskets and that's a huge plus. There's excellent signage out there to explain a tricky layout configuration for first timers. A practice basket, bathroom facilities and gazebo near #1. Trashcans and benches throughout the course.

Atmosphere - Cedarock park is a beautiful place. A lot of shots are very scenic.
Cons: Layout - For many it'll be to open, if you like really wooded technical dg this isn't it. I love to let discs fly and this is one of a few in my general area where you can; but I know for many it's not what they're looking for.

The shorter layouts for me are almost to easy, it's really just a pitch and putt out there even though the greens are well designed.

Equipment - The pads are so small it's ridiculous. For a course where you're throwing for D those pads just aren't enough.

Atmosphere - Ticks can be a huge problem here in the summer, also watch out for snakes.
Other Thoughts: The great thing about this course is it's brother Wellspring sitting right next to it. It's a perfect combination of disc golf. You've got the open long shots of Cedarock combined with the technical wooded short shots on Wellspring and you can play these courses as one big course by playing 1-8 on Cedarock then jumping to 16 on Wellspring and playing back through 15 then jumping back on to 9 and finishing out.

This course is a ton of fun, and the enjoyment factor is why I'm giving it a 3.5. Normally I really penalize courses for not mixing it up but it's done so well here it's hard to complain, especially with Wellspring being right there.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.


1    3/31/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: swatso
Played: 401  Reviewed: 356  Exp: 7.2 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Teepads - multiple concrete tees per hole.

Teesigns - show all the tee locations, and the various pin positions.

Practice basket. Plenty of benches and trashcans. Bathroom near large parking lot.

Complementary course Wellspring literally just a few yards away at some points.
Teepads - variable in size, from too small to way too small.

Teesigns - variably located, at red tee at times, sometimes white, otherwise blue - if not gold; no indication of current basket location

Some baskets/fairways/tees quite close to other tees/baskets/fairways. The day I played, baskets 2, 12, and 14 were nearly co-located. Hole-9 required a long, blind left-turner, with a good chance of buzzing players at tee-10. From tee-10, the obvious basket was ... #15.
Other Thoughts:
The course is located in a tremendously large, very beautiful park. Rolling, grassy terrain, with scattered trees, tree groupings, and lines of trees along the small creek define the fairways and create obstacles. A few holes are wide open, sheer length being the "obstacle". The most common hole-type is primarily open, with elevation change and trees somewhat guarding the basket providing the challenge. There are some holes which use the trees to force certain line/windows to be hit, in addition to dealing with moderate elevation changes, and finally, a couple touch/tightish holes.

With 2-4 tee locations per hole, and most every hole having multiple pin positions, there are lots of different ways this course can play, from a distance perspective. However, with the teesigns being located at variable locations, it is tough for a first-time visitor to play a particular colour layout.

If reaching back and letting your favourite distance driver loose rates high on your fun factor, you'll enjoy this course, as you'll have plenty of chances to grip-n-rip. If technical control is your preference, only a few holes in the middle, playing near the denser lines of trees lining a small creek, will provide this type of challenge.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 My Review

1    12/31/2011   1/2/2012
Review By: BHDragn4207
Played: 8  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very open. This course has, in my opinion, a nice flow to it. The fairways are mostly very open and there are brand new disc catcher baskets on the course making it easier to find and see them.
Cons: There is quite some distance between some of the tees and baskets. I think some of the pars on certian holes should be different. There is a horse trail along the 1st, 2nd, 3rd, 8th and 9th holes. Watch for riders.
Other Thoughts: This is a very nice course and is a good challenge to play.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cedar rocks!

1    12/3/2011   12/5/2011
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 191  Reviewed: 124  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/21/2013
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A nice spread of land in a quiet remote location is perfect for disc golf. Nice hilly grassy terrain is interspersed with clumps of cedar trees and the like.

Nice variety of shots with 3 or 4 choices of tee pads on most holes. I played a mix of the reds and blues and was pleased to find you can make the course as easy or hard as you like.

Most of the fairways are on the open side with trees to navigate between, but never gets thick (go over to Wellspring if you like woods). Those who like to really crank out some longer shots and not worry about a few degrees of stray will like this course. The elevation changes exist on most holes and make the course quite well-rounded.

The baskets looked brand new and the signs were very nice and helpful. They helped me to seek out all the options for tee pads.
Cons: The tee pads are very short - too short for a reasonable X-Step in many cases.

Holes 7 & 8 are the most open on the course and to me, the only place where the course suffers. They would not be so noticeable if they weren't back to back. At least hole #8 is tucked into a corner that is roped (O.B?) with a few trees to complicate an overthrow - making up for its shortcomings. I apologize, but I just don't care for wide open holes.

Perhaps it's just me, but tee #13 and basket #12 seem to be perilously in line of stray drives from hole #2. Maybe locals are well aware of this and know to pay attention.
Other Thoughts: I very much enjoyed playing here, and am excited to try Wellspring next time- I tried a hole there and it has a whole different flavor.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Cedarock N'Roll

5+    5/8/2011   6/3/2011
Review By: vonDrehle
Played: 46  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 9.4 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Cedarock plays over some very nice rolling hills that was once used for farmland and offers a variety of elevations. The park it is in is very well maintained.
- Almost every hole has multiple Tees and Pin positions so even if you play a couple rounds a day you can still play a different course each time. They have also recently switched to the more universal Red/Blue/White/Gold color scheme so it is easier to judge the difficult of the layout you are choosing to play.
- There is now new signage throughout the course that makes it much easier to navigate for the first time players and shows all the hole information. (Signs located at the longer of the teepads on each hole)
- The course is open so it allows for some long drives but control is definitely still necessary. This is very nice since most of us NC people are used to being in the woods :D.
Cons: - First thing you will notice is the tiny tee pads. While most of the time the tee is on flat land so running up from behind is really no problem they can still cause a problem for those with very long fast run ups. Personally I don't have a large run up so I have never had a problem with them.
- They are still using the older baskets so the occasional spit out will happen and they can be a little harder to spot from the tee pad.
Other Thoughts: Cedarock was one of the first courses I played aside from my home course and I have always enjoyed it. While the short layout can give you multiple birdies the longer layout will test both your long accuracy from the tee and your ability to make a good upshot. When combined with Wellspring this park can make a great day of disc golf. If you are traveling in or around Burlington I highly recommend you get out and try both Cedarock and Wellspring and I guarantee you will not be disappointed.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.